Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: lurganblue on August 28, 2018, 03:35:28 PM

Title: The Official EFL Championship
Post by: lurganblue on August 28, 2018, 03:35:28 PM
I was looking for a thread on this but one must not exist! Amazing.  Surely there is at least some interest if only to abuse the teams that knock your accumulator!?

Do super Leeds have it won already since they're are now playing the best football in England under Bielsa? Will Villa finally buy their way out of the league? Will Lampard be sacked before Steve McClaren?
Title: Re: The Official EFL Championship
Post by: shark on August 28, 2018, 04:18:08 PM
Championship is a long slog. Early season form can be misleading, as Fulham showed last season. There is no Wolves 17/18 or Newcastle/Brighton 16/17 to run away with it this time I suspect.
Not convinced Leeds will last the distance, but have a strong chance of making the playoffs. Middlesbrough will be right up there, but will bore everyone to tears. West Brom should be thereabouts for top 2 too. Villa will make playoffs comfortably but can't see them making top 2. Swansea's squad looks too thin. Stoke are struggling and look like Villa in 16/17 season, but have plenty of time to put it right yet. Lampard will do fine with Derby, with the help of his Chelsea connections as Mason Mount rips up the league. Brentford to continue to be the most interesting team, and miss playoffs again.
Post by: rodney trotter on August 28, 2018, 04:55:22 PM
McClaren keeps getting into jobs after being sacked from whatever club he is at. He was sacked twice in 2 Spells with Derby, then Newcastle in between Derby.

Bamford a good signing for Leeds,decent player at Championship level. Villa holding onto Grealish a boost for their promotion chances.
Post by: ziggy90 on August 28, 2018, 05:02:29 PM
As long as the Vile don't get promoted and Birmingham manage to avoid relegation it will be a good season for me.
The football might not be up to top PL standard but that's more than made up in the passion shown by most club's fans and the fact that the Championship is completely unpredictable.
Well done lurganblue for starting this thread.
KRO.
Post by: Denn Forever on August 28, 2018, 05:02:58 PM
Quest do highlight on Sat. at 9.00 pm. Do the promoted teams do a refresher course in rolling around when tackled during the summer before the Premier starts?
Post by: shark on August 28, 2018, 05:14:53 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on August 28, 2018, 05:02:58 PM
Quest do highlight on Sat. at 9.00 pm. Do the promoted teams do a refresher course in rolling around when tackled during the summer before the Premier starts?

They don't need to, as they (Cardiff excluded) realise you need to buy new players when promoted.
Post by: lurganblue on August 28, 2018, 05:51:13 PM
Am I right in saying Bielsa is known for burning his players out? Leeds usually aren't to keen on strengthening in Jan. Could be a problem. I was reminded today that this time last year Leeds were also top. I agree though that Brentford play some great football. Only a matter of time before Dean Smith is nabbed away.

QPR look horrendous. Maybe Wells will get them some goals now though.

Birmingham still suffering since 'Arry over extended?
Post by: ziggy90 on August 28, 2018, 07:04:22 PM
Zola, 'Arry and Cotterill were all calamitous appointments. Monk is a very good young manager but has his work cut-out   with Birmingham's toxic board.
KRO.
Post by: lurganblue on September 01, 2018, 07:33:29 PM
Feckin joke from Bruce today. 3 defenders out of position again. Could very easily be sacked over the international break.

Watched some of the Leeds match last night and have to say I wasn't that impressed. Hard to express yourself v a Pulis side though.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 02, 2018, 10:03:15 AM
All Birmingham's previous good play this season went to pot today. Back to relegation fodder methinks.
Isn't Bruce blaming his defenders?
KRO.
Post by: lurganblue on September 02, 2018, 10:53:36 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on September 02, 2018, 10:03:15 AM
All Birmingham's previous good play this season went to pot today. Back to relegation fodder methinks.
Isn't Bruce blaming his defenders?

Bruce setting up that defence beggars belief. And that is supposed to be his niche as a manager! He's on very thin ice.  He has a midfielder playing CH. A right back playing left back and a CH playing right back. Chester is the only player in his natural position.
Post by: extra time on September 02, 2018, 11:04:24 AM
Well done Lurganblue. Good thread and i suspect there is a lot of championship supporters out there. WBA, Boro, Leeds and Brentford wont be far away and at the bottom QPR will improve after 3 good loan signings.
Post by: ziggy90 on September 02, 2018, 11:15:55 AM
Dean Smith to Vile Park?
If I was a Brentford fan I'd be a bit worried right now.
Post by: lurganblue on September 02, 2018, 12:05:57 PM
Smith would be my choice if there is to be a change. Villa fan, apparently, and has worked wonders at Brentford.

Swansea should still be in the mix too I'd say.
Post by: Syferus on September 08, 2018, 08:47:10 PM
Do You Want to Win? about Howard Wilkinson's Leeds team is a really great documentary. It's on Prime Video for anyone that's interested.
Post by: lurganblue on September 19, 2018, 09:54:53 AM
Brentford let that slip last night and feckin ruined my accumulator into the bargain.

West Brom seem to have settled.
Post by: An Watcher on September 19, 2018, 04:03:38 PM
Best division of the whole lot. 
Post by: ziggy90 on September 23, 2018, 10:34:29 AM
Well that was a turn-up for the books but not totally unexpected as we've played very well this season but just haven't been able to score.
KRO.
Post by: lurganblue on September 24, 2018, 10:08:17 AM
Big surprise that. Coupon buster too. Some other strange results too. Brentford beat and Stoke beat at home.

Bruce has to go, but what about that goal by Super John McGinn!  ;D
Post by: ziggy90 on September 24, 2018, 10:13:53 AM
Goal of the season Lurganblue, it was fit to win any game?  ;D
Post by: laoislad on September 28, 2018, 08:33:26 PM
Fantastic goal scored for Sheffield Wednesday just now  :o
Post by: lurganblue on October 03, 2018, 09:40:40 AM
Steve Bruce is surely on his last legs with the stadium in full voice calling for his head. Villa actually played well the first half and well deserved to be 2-0 up. Second half was a disaster from word go as they allowed Preston to take the initiative.

How the f**k does Glenn Whelan get to take a last minute pen to win the match? Madness

Brentford have hit the skids a little but I'd still try to poach their manager.
Post by: laoislad on October 03, 2018, 04:49:54 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 03, 2018, 09:40:40 AM
Steve Bruce is surely on his last legs with the stadium in full voice calling for his head. Villa actually played well the first half and well deserved to be 2-0 up. Second half was a disaster from word go as they allowed Preston to take the initiative.

How the f**k does Glenn Whelan get to take a last minute pen to win the match? Madness

Sacked.
Post by: Boycey on October 03, 2018, 05:17:30 PM
JT to get the job now surely?
Post by: ziggy90 on October 03, 2018, 09:07:02 PM
Savoy Milosevic, Robbie Cabbage and Leek Clark are amongst the early favourites. My personal choice would be  Special Agent Jasper Carrot.
Post by: extra time on October 03, 2018, 10:08:04 PM
Perfect fit for Harry,    Trific.
Post by: lurganblue on October 04, 2018, 09:08:24 AM
Would be very surprised if it is any of the old guard. Too similar to the shite that Bruce has delivered. 
Post by: lurganblue on October 11, 2018, 10:01:27 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on October 03, 2018, 09:40:40 AM

And so it has came to pass. Happy with that appointment and Terry as number 2 could be a bonus. Just a pity that he hasnt brought his boots because the villa defence is a shambles.
Post by: lurganblue on October 21, 2018, 01:08:53 AM
Good win for Blackburn. They're a machine at home. Think it's over a year unbeaten. f**k knows what way the league will go yet, with about 7 points separating half the table.
Post by: ziggy90 on October 21, 2018, 10:33:42 AM
Agreed, this division hasn't settled down at all. Im beginning to believe we mightn't get relegated after all.  :)
On another note: gamblers must steer well clear of the Championship?
Post by: lurganblue on November 26, 2018, 12:43:24 PM
Bragging rights for villa in the derby. City could have been 2 up which may have put a different spin on it. What about that goal by the Scottish Cafu though!

The league is still very close with results very hard to predict.  Norwich on a great run but for some reason i dont expect that to be sustained. If i had to predict the top 2 at the minute i think i would go for West Brom and Middlesbrough.
Post by: ziggy90 on November 26, 2018, 01:51:10 PM
And don't I know it!!
The best team won alright with no little help from a ref  who was clueless. If Adams had put away that chance I think we might have won easily as the Vile were on the ropes but fine margins and all that?
According to the Vile fans celebrating with a gay fest last night they're certainties for automatic promotion.  ::)
Post by: laoislad on December 23, 2018, 01:53:19 PM
Lovely goal from Conor Hourihane there for Villa against Leeds.
Post by: extra time on December 23, 2018, 02:45:13 PM
Qpr win at Florist for the first time ever. Great away win after beating Boro last week. One of the surprise teams this season.
Post by: lurganblue on December 23, 2018, 03:32:21 PM
Fair play to Leeds. I think that rules villa completely out of a chance at automatic. They're just too short at the back (thanks Brucie). Kick in the stones not to get a point there but the defending was a shambles.
Post by: Insane Bolt on December 23, 2018, 03:45:40 PM
Some comeback from Leeds....hope they get promoted.
Post by: ziggy90 on December 24, 2018, 08:04:08 AM
4,500 Birmingham fans in the away end at Wigan on the last Saturday before Christmas. An emphatic 0-3 win, can we dare to dream?
Before yesterday I thought the Vile, WBA and Stoke would be the three teams batting out for automatic promotion but those lot from B6 are a defensive shambles and I think their fans better resign themselves to another season in the Championship.
Norwich are sailing blissfully on and not a word about them?
Leeds I fear have too many injuries (is this because of the way they play?) Derby will be in the mix too.
Anyway it's been a very good season up 'til now and the Christmas fixtures always throw up a few surprise results.
KRO.
Post by: lurganblue on December 27, 2018, 10:05:54 AM
Mad day in the championship again yesterday.  Leeds and Norwich giving other teams a bit of hope only to snatch it back with 2 late goals in both games!
Post by: rodney trotter on December 27, 2018, 02:39:37 PM
It would be good to see Leeds back up. I wouldn't be as keen to see the likes of Norwich or West Brom back up. Yo yo clubs who were dire to watch when they were in the Premier League.

Derby are a good team to watch. Harry Wilson scoring some wonder free kicks.
Post by: rodney trotter on January 14, 2019, 11:46:41 AM
Martin O Neill to be confirmed as Nottingham Forest manager today. Keane likely to be alongside him.
Post by: lurganblue on January 14, 2019, 12:23:50 PM
Quote from: rodney trotter on January 14, 2019, 11:46:41 AM
Martin O Neill to be confirmed as Nottingham Forest manager today. Keane likely to be alongside him.

Forest fans weren't happy that Karanka was forced out. Wonder what they feel about this appointment. Wonder would they buy Glenn Whelan off Villa?
Post by: lurganblue on February 01, 2019, 09:16:57 AM
Well how did the transfers go for your team? I'm slightly surprised by the lack of business by Norwich and Leeds. The goalkeeper was essential for Leeds but i just thought they may have pushed the boat out a little considering where they are sitting.

Hogan (in form) could be an asset to Sheff Utd who already play decent football. West Brom did ok too. Johansen is good at this level.

Swansea seem to have just said everyone can leave. Birmingham's best business was keeping Adams.
Post by: extra time on February 01, 2019, 12:22:18 PM
Qpr had their best transfer window for a long time :) ;D :D
Post by: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 09:56:12 AM
Big day in the Championship yesterday with the top three all winning again. It's looking like a real dog-fight now between them and the one that misses out will be gutted come the play-offs?
On a sour note: WBA sack their manager even though they're  sitting in 4th. Wtf.
Blues v the Vile today. We owe them big-time but it looks as if "Jack the Rat" has come back to fitness at just the wrong time for us. We can but hope.
KRO.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 10, 2019, 12:23:11 PM
Grealish attacked by a fan in the Birmingham derby. Haven't seen anything like that in quite a few years. The fan subdued quick enough though.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2019, 12:32:19 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 10, 2019, 12:23:11 PM
Grealish attacked by a fan in the Birmingham derby. Haven't seen anything like that in quite a few years. The fan subdued quick enough though.

The sad thing is the dickheads in the crowd cheering him as he waved to them being taken away. Fair play to the Villa players for not absolutely milling him when he was on the ground. Cowardly p***k.
Post by: JoG2 on March 10, 2019, 12:37:06 PM
https://twitter.com/AdzMcGoo/status/1104717251914145792

Absolute madness
Post by: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 12:56:06 PM
In my over fifty years of watching Birmingham I can't ever remember a player being attacked on the pitch, (I do remember a referee getting a belt however) where else has this happened?
Disgusting, cowardly act.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2019, 01:30:50 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 12:56:06 PM
In my over fifty years of watching Birmingham I can't ever remember a player being attacked on the pitch, (I do remember a referee getting a belt however) where else has this happened?

Dickheads follow every club. I can't understand the applause though.
Post by: gawa316 on March 10, 2019, 01:38:32 PM
And Grealish scores!
Post by: Cunny Funt on March 10, 2019, 01:48:04 PM
Quote from: gawa316 on March 10, 2019, 01:38:32 PM
And Grealish scores!

It just had to be. Hopefully that idiot fan gets a lifetime ban.

Post by: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 01:53:48 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 10, 2019, 01:30:50 PM

d**kheads follow every club. I can't understand the applause though.
To be fair Birmingham have more than their fair share of d##kheads.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 10, 2019, 02:16:18 PM
Quote from: hardstation on March 10, 2019, 02:02:18 PM
A steward attacked him too.

?
Post by: Boycey on March 10, 2019, 02:27:34 PM
Do the Zulu Warriors still exist??
Post by: Insane Bolt on March 10, 2019, 02:52:45 PM

It happened when Celtic played Rapid Vienna at Old Trafford 1984....
https://www.northsection.co.uk/blogs/north-section-blog/celtic-rapid-vienna-1984-cup-winners-cup

Post by: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 02:57:05 PM
Quote from: Boycey on March 10, 2019, 02:27:34 PM
Do the Zulu Warriors still exist??
Yes, is the answer to that question. He's definitely not one of them. The steward on the other hand..
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 05:42:33 PM
What a bunch

Check out @alfieperkins_'s Tweet: https://twitter.com/alfieperkins_/status/1104736113208541184?s=09
Post by: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 05:55:21 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 05:42:33 PM
What a bunch

Check out @alfieperkins_'s Tweet: https://twitter.com/alfieperkins_/status/1104736113208541184?s=09
You're as bad as, if not worse than, the cretin that posted that!!
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 06:00:30 PM
Sorry but are you defending what he posted?
Post by: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 06:19:12 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 05:55:21 PM
What a bunch

You're as bad, as if not worse, than the cretin that posted that!!
[/quote.
No. Why would you think so?
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 06:24:23 PM
I fail to understand why I'm as bad as the lad who posted that.
Post by: trailer on March 10, 2019, 07:49:14 PM
Thought Jack made the most of it. English players tend to do that.
Post by: Boycey on March 10, 2019, 08:11:25 PM
If you look back through that lads Twitter he was at it before the game even started. It's still up 6 hours after it was posted too. 
Post by: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 08:17:57 PM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 06:24:23 PM
I fail to understand why I'm as bad as the lad who posted that.
Say's it all.
Post by: laoislad on March 10, 2019, 08:21:25 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 05:55:21 PM
What a bunch

You're as bad, as if not worse, than the cretin that posted that!!
What a f**king stupid thing to say.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 08:24:55 PM
Ok you've got to explain it to me. I'm getting old now. I shared what I believed to be an example of hatred. I wouldn't be proud of defending that. You appear to be.
Post by: Boycey on March 10, 2019, 08:28:56 PM
I'm guessing he's annoyed cause he thinks you're tarring all the Birmingham fans with the same brush by beginning your post with 'what a bunch'

*I'm not saying you are, in fact I'm sure you're not but it's happened on other football threads.
Post by: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 08:40:08 PM
Thanks Boycey. My use of the word bunch was not directed at fans of Birmingham it was directed at 1. The clown who ran on the pitch.2 the lad who tweeted about Jack Grelishs brother and 3. The Steward who had a kick a Grelish.
Post by: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 06:55:00 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 08:24:55 PM
Ok you've got to explain it to me. I'm getting old now. I shared what I believed to be an example of hatred. I wouldn't be proud of defending that. You appear to be.
Your use of the word "bunch" is to my mind an attempt to make all Birmigham fans look as guilty as the "cretin" who attacked Grealish.
If you looked at the comments I made earlier you would see that I don't condone or try to defend this individual's action.
That tweet is possibly the sickest thing I've ever seen (I'm too old to learn to trawl the internet) so to my mind it's totally unacceptable to repeat something like that.
Post by: Taylor on March 11, 2019, 08:11:04 AM
Quote from: gerrykeegan on March 10, 2019, 08:40:08 PM
Thanks Boycey. My use of the word bunch was not directed at fans of Birmingham it was directed at 1. The clown who ran on the pitch.2 the lad who tweeted about Jack Grelishs brother and 3. The Steward who had a kick a Grelish.

You could add the 'fans' in the stand applauding him when he was being taken away.

Certainly didnt sound like a handful of them either
Post by: TabClear on March 11, 2019, 08:25:47 AM
Authorities have a real problem in how to deal with this. Plenty of calls for point deductions but I do not see how this could be enforced. Clubs cannot legislate for every moron in the crowd (unless you go back to fences). Potential for rival fans to "infiltrate" as well in extreme scenarios.  I can see all sorts of legal repercussions, say where a team gets relegated due to a deduction and loses millions as a result. Closing of  stadiums is potentially an option but again, you are penalising a club for the actions of one individual.

The only way to address it in my view is to make the criminal repercussions so severe that it acts as a proper deterrent. A lifetime ban from stadiums etc is unlikely to deter cowardly c***ts like that guy yesterday but the thought of 10 years in jail might stop him. Hes likely to get a suspended sentence however.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 11, 2019, 09:19:27 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 10, 2019, 01:53:48 PM

My daughter was telling me that there was chaos in Birmingham city centre yesterday - perhaps it was to coincide with the match, but there was a far-right 'protest' about something around mid-day, as well as a counter-protest by someone else.  She reckons that the two protests 'met' close to the grounds.  Anyhoo, there were cops in abundance around until round 6 o'clock last night. 
Post by: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 10:10:21 AM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 11, 2019, 09:19:27 AM

My daughter was telling me that there was chaos in Birmingham city centre yesterday - perhaps it was to coincide with the match, but there was a far-right 'protest' about something around mid-day, as well as a counter-protest by someone else.  She reckons that the two protests 'met' close to the grounds.  Anyhoo, there were cops in abundance around until round 6 o'clock last night.
I haven't heard anything about that Boots but staying that I went to a local pub after the game where there was probably a 50/50 mix of fans of both clubs and except for the usual "slagging" there wasn't even a hint of trouble.
Birmingham is a very "moody" place to live right now (according to some people who'd know better than me what's going on around the city centre), there's a very toxic mix of disadvantaged Black, White and Asian youths who just have no respect for anyone or anything.
It's definitely not the same place I was brought up in.
Post by: lurganblue on March 11, 2019, 11:43:02 AM
Disgraceful actions at Birmingham yesterday. Grealish took a few kicks on the pitch, punched, hit by a steward and then had his family abused. A sad day in fairness.  Why is the lad hated so much? Ok he is a villa boy etc but so was Gabby for example (who also had a knack for scoring v the blues) but i don't remember him on the receiving end of that volume of hate?
Post by: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 12:23:05 PM
That I cannot explain. I know his maternal family (went to school with them), as nice a family as you could meet. I also know people who went to school with him and by all accounts he's a sound lad.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 11, 2019, 12:30:25 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 10:10:21 AM

I haven't heard anything about that Boots but staying that I went to a local pub after the game where there was probably a 50/50 mix of fans of both clubs and except for the usual "slagging" there wasn't even a hint of trouble.
Birmingham is a very "moody" place to live right now (according to some people who'd know better than me what's going on around the city centre), there's a very toxic mix of disadvantaged Black, White and Asian youths who just have no respect for anyone or anything.

I spent a weekend in Birmingham recently, and while I acknowledge that it's hardly enough time to form a rounded opinion, I found it to be extremely hospitable/friendly.  I was very impressed, to be honest, not having visited in nearly 20 years.  A much more pleasant place to visit than London, Manchester or Liverpool, in my view. 
Post by: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 12:45:33 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on March 11, 2019, 12:30:25 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 10:10:21 AM

I spent a weekend in Birmingham recently, and while I acknowledge that it's hardly enough time to form a rounded opinion, I found it to be extremely hospitable/friendly.  I was very impressed, to be honest, not having visited in nearly 20 years.  A much more pleasant place to visit than London, Manchester or Liverpool, in my view.
Whereabouts were you?
Post by: Billys Boots on March 11, 2019, 01:25:44 PM
I was upstairs in The Old Crown in Digbeth, ziggy. 
Post by: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 01:44:08 PM
Ah the good Old Crown of The Wolfe Tones fame? It would've been lively in there yesterday?
I hope you weren't drinking any of that Amstel beer they serve in there, tastes like it was brewed in 1368. :)
In fairness you were in as good a spot as any to appreciate the (very) wide range of cultures in Birmingham.
Did you go anywhere else?
Post by: Billys Boots on March 11, 2019, 02:08:38 PM
Quote from: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 01:44:08 PM
Ah the good Old Crown of The Wolfe Tones fame? It would've been lively in there yesterday?
I hope you weren't drinking any of that Amstel beer they serve in there, tastes like it was brewed in 1368. :)
In fairness you were in as good a spot as any to appreciate the (very) wide range of cultures in Birmingham.
Did you go anywhere else?

Ah yeah, got a brilliant curry in Manzil's, ate out in the Digbeth Dining Club, and had a few pints in one of the pubs on the canal behind the conference centre.  Watched 'Green Book' in a very old style cinema (The Electric), and wandered around generally.  I liked The Old Crown - good atmosphere in it, and a decent range of beers. 
Post by: ziggy90 on March 11, 2019, 02:23:21 PM
The Manzil, every Irishman's first taste of a "proper" curry.  ;)
I've never eaten in the DDC but I've heard great reports of it. The Electric Cinema would be known in my day as an "alternative" venue. There's some nice places to wander about around the back of the NIA alright.
The Crown does have a good atmosphere but I hope you wandered a bit further up the road and went into the Big Bull and/or The Kerryman for a real Birmingham Saturday night out (not).
Glad you enjoyed yourself.
Post by: Dire Ear on March 11, 2019, 03:43:42 PM
A Birmingham City fan has been jailed for 14 weeks for attacking Aston Villa captain Jack Grealish during the second city derby.

Paul Mitchell, of c**k Hill Lane, Rubery, Worcestershire, hit Grealish from behind on the pitch about 10 minutes into Sunday's game
Post by: TabClear on March 11, 2019, 04:03:12 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 11, 2019, 03:43:42 PM
A Birmingham City fan has been jailed for 14 weeks for attacking Aston Villa captain Jack Grealish during the second city derby.

Paul Mitchell, of c**k Hill Lane, Rubery, Worcestershire, hit Grealish from behind on the pitch about 10 minutes into Sunday's game

Cowardly **** should have got ten times that. Hopefully he's sharing a cell with "The Kitten"
Post by: macdanger2 on March 12, 2019, 12:22:18 AM
Quote from: TabClear on March 11, 2019, 04:03:12 PM
Quote from: Dire Ear on March 11, 2019, 03:43:42 PM

Cowardly **** should have got ten times that. Hopefully he's sharing a cell with "The Kitten"

I appreciate that he's surely a sc**bag and what he did was fairly unprecedented but essentially it was a fairly minor assault - say he'd been in a chipper or a pub and clocked someone behind the counter, would he have gotten jail time? The level of outrage about it seems excessive to me
Post by: ziggy90 on March 12, 2019, 07:12:54 AM
Here's as honest a synopsis (from a Birmingham fan's point of view)of the Grealish incident that I've read.
https://www.wearebirmingham.co.uk/post-punch-pr/
Post by: lurganblue on March 12, 2019, 09:18:56 AM
"I actually laughed. I regret it now, but in the moment the thought that someone had run on and taken a swing at the most detestable man on the pitch was humorous to me.

We hate Grealish and in that moment the incident added to the drama of the day.

Though I do not condone the event for a single second, I still hate Grealish with a burning passion "

Harsh i would say. I understand football rivaries of course but for me this goes further.
Post by: ziggy90 on March 12, 2019, 09:28:38 AM
As I said above: I just can't explain this  hatred for Grealish but I do know one thing, it's only going to get worse. I think a move away from Villa is inevitable as the lad will just be tortured if he stays around Birmingham.
Post by: lurganblue on March 12, 2019, 10:14:09 AM
He is 100% gone in the summer anyway if Villa dont go up, which is looking very likely.  He will go with a pat on the back from everyone at the club i'd say.
Post by: shark on March 12, 2019, 10:22:04 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 12, 2019, 10:14:09 AM
He is 100% gone in the summer anyway if Villa dont go up, which is looking very likely.  He will go with a pat on the back from everyone at the club i'd say.

100% will be gone if Villa don't go up. So >95% chance he will be gone. He's too good to be in the Championship and is 23 now so needs to be moving up. Plus, Villa will need the cash as parachute payments disappear after this season. Him leaving might mean being able to hold on to McGinn, hopefully.
Nobody at Villa will begrudge him.
Post by: Billys Boots on March 12, 2019, 11:58:58 AM
What is the 'problem' with Grealish in Birmingham?
Post by: rodney trotter on April 01, 2019, 06:09:11 PM
 McClaren sacked again.  Tim 'geezer' Sherwood lined up to replace him.
Post by: lurganblue on April 02, 2019, 10:11:02 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 01, 2019, 06:09:11 PM
McClaren sacked again.  Tim 'geezer' Sherwood lined up to replace him.

McClaren was a poor appointment from the start.  Tactics Tim would be another one.
Post by: Denn Forever on April 02, 2019, 01:49:13 PM
On an aside, the league cup final between Sunderland and Portsmouth looked have been exciting (highlights  on Quest).
Post by: ziggy90 on April 02, 2019, 05:41:45 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on April 02, 2019, 01:49:13 PM
On an aside, the league cup final between Sunderland and Portsmouth looked have been exciting (highlights  on Quest).

A brilliant day out for the "lesser" clubs.
I never thought I'd see Birmingham in a Wembley Cup Final and this moment made all my (football) dreams come true.
Arguably the best winning goal in a Wembley Cup Final.

https://youtu.be/yWLYOocAGs8
Post by: rodney trotter on April 14, 2019, 09:44:08 AM
Joey Barton still a loose cannon as a manager. Punched and headbutted the Barnsley manager in the tunnel after yesterdays game.
Post by: lurganblue on April 15, 2019, 10:14:07 AM
Quote from: rodney trotter on April 14, 2019, 09:44:08 AM
Joey Barton still a loose cannon as a manager. Punched and headbutted the Barnsley manager in the tunnel after yesterdays game.

The man is unhinged.
Post by: lurganblue on April 19, 2019, 05:37:27 PM
Horrific from Leeds. Have they blown automatic?
Post by: laoislad on April 28, 2019, 05:06:25 PM
Just seen what happened at the Leeds Villa game today some craic. Play to the whistle is what we were always told as kids and Leeds did that, whether you think they were right or wrong is another matter I suppose.
I wonder would Leeds have been as quick to let them score if they were still within a chance of automatic promotion
Post by: general_lee on April 28, 2019, 07:51:14 PM
Thought they were acting as if they were gonna put it out of play? Then went ahead and scored. Gaffer was none too pleased anyway
Post by: lurganblue on April 29, 2019, 09:52:14 AM
Did look like they were gonna put it out of play (villa put one out a few minutes beforehand for an injured player). I think Beilsa made the right decision in the end but I suppose I would say that. I think that match would make a quality playoff final but I suppose there is still a few very big matches to play before that is possible.

Villa v the Tesco bags is a difficult one to call.

Derby seem to be hitting a bit of form now that their injuries have cleared up.  If they secure 6th I'm sure they would fancy giving Leeds a good rattle.
Post by: shark on April 29, 2019, 10:52:36 AM
I disagree with players kicking the ball out of play when a player is injured. The referee is well placed to see if an injury is so serious as to need immediate attention. In both cases on Sunday the injured player (Forshaw and Kodjia) was genuine in hitting the deck. They both hurt themselves in 50/50 tussles. But neither was fouled, nor claimed to be fouled.
The problem originated by Villa kicking the ball out when Forshaw went down. They were in an attacking position, albeit on the wing with loads of Leeds players goalside. The expectation is then there that Leeds would reciprocate. That expectation should not be there. However Roberts did make it look like he was about to tap the ball out, right up until the second he played the through ball for Klich. That was the problem.
El Ghazi should have his red card rescinded. However (and I'm not sure of the exact laws pertaining to a brawl) Hourihane can count himself lucky not to have seen red as he instigated it. Although I can understand why.
A messy situation in a messy game, that actually had very little riding on it.

Derby should take the 6th place now. The 4 teams are of a much higher standard than last season. Both Derby and Villa are better than they were last year. Fulham were obviously strong, but Middlesbrough were hopeless. Any of the 4 could go up.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 04, 2019, 06:49:24 PM
Not a Championship related post, but I must say I am sad that Notts County have been relegated from League 2.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on May 04, 2019, 07:14:05 PM
as am i. As a Notts County supporter of 21 years its a very sad day for the club. gutted but its been coming despite last season making the playoffs.
Post by: laoislad on May 05, 2019, 01:49:36 PM
Squeaky bum time for Derby and Middlesbrough. Derby need to score in the next 30 mins to get a playoff place or else Middlesbrough are in the playoffs.
Post by: lurganblue on May 05, 2019, 08:35:26 PM
Playoffs now set then. Leeds West Brom Villa and Derby. Anyone's guess.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2019, 10:44:37 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 05, 2019, 08:35:26 PM

Good. Never warmed to M'boro for some reason.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 05, 2019, 11:06:35 PM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2019, 10:44:37 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 05, 2019, 08:35:26 PM

Good. Never warmed to M'boro for some reason.

I like to see Darren Randolph in the premiership!
Post by: lurganblue on May 12, 2019, 07:30:46 PM
1st leg done and it looks like it's a big advantage to Leeds! Really can't see them being beaten at home.

The Villa game is still in the balance.
Post by: ziggy90 on May 13, 2019, 07:22:35 AM
Huge advantage to the Vile LB. Gayle is a massive loss to the Veggies.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on May 13, 2019, 09:05:49 AM
Quote from: ziggy90 on May 13, 2019, 07:22:35 AM
Huge advantage to the Vile LB. Gayle is a massive loss to the Veggies.

predictive text on the phone i assume ;D
Post by: ziggy90 on May 13, 2019, 12:43:22 PM
It was HF but it's kind of apt too.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 13, 2019, 01:14:04 PM
Dunno why, but I'd like to see Villa get promoted again.
Post by: Over the Bar on May 14, 2019, 10:48:57 PM
Entertaining peno shoot-out by West Brom and Villa.  Villa just shaded it but should have won the game playing against 10 men for 45 mins!
Post by: lurganblue on May 14, 2019, 11:03:41 PM
Yeah really played below par this evening and should be finishing that game off before pens. Brunt should have went twice before he did. That performance wouldn't be good enough for villa in the final but it's great to still be in it.
Post by: ziggy90 on May 15, 2019, 06:29:24 AM
WBA got their tactics dead on last night but their captain let his teammates down (he should've been substituted).
Too many of that Vile team thought the tie was over after the first leg and were extremely lucky to come through it..
The penalty shoot-out although agonising for the fans makes for great drama
Post by: Hound on May 15, 2019, 08:21:28 AM
First championship game of the season I've watched. The playoffs are great fun. Didn't really care who won, but probably ended up more cheering on Villa because of Hourihane. He played reasonably well and took a fine pen. I found Tammy Abraham very unlikeable, though not sure why!

I thought Grealish really stood out. It was like going to a club game and being able to easily pick out the intercounty player.

If I was a West Brom fan I would have been really annoyed at Holgate. After being under the cosh for a long period of the second half, but defending for their lives, as the game heads into injury time (90 mins) they get a free kick in a decent area. All their big men go forward, and they've a genuine chance to snatch the game (probably better in the air than Villa and already scored a header).

Holgate's attempted cross is ballooned over everyone and into the crowd. Camera pans back to Holgate and he's laughing as his jogs back to his full back position!
Maybe I'm hyper critical, but I wasn't sorry to see him miss his pen!
Post by: ziggy90 on May 15, 2019, 09:01:32 AM
I thought McGinn was Vile's standout player. Hourihane, Grealish, Abraham and Adomah were very poor (by their standards) last night. I'd forgotten about that Holgate free-kick, I'd say he he won't be let forget that for a while.
Brunt would've taken it if his stupidity hadn't seen him sent off.
Post by: lurganblue on May 15, 2019, 02:12:55 PM
I'd agree that McGinn was probably Villa's best player last night.  I can certainly understand why anyone watching Villa for the first time this season would say that Grealish stood out though. He has a very classy style of play. He beats players with ease and dictates play from many different areas of the pitch.  In saying that though I though by his standards be was probably slightly below par.  Credit to West Brom.  They were very hard to break down.  I expect a completely different type of game in the final whoever makes it with Villa.  It will be a lot more open and I am hoping the likes of Grealish gets a little more freedom to operate.

Tonight's game looks like it should be Leeds all over, even with there absences. If Derby do manage to get the first goal though it will certainly be a big test of character.
Post by: shark on May 15, 2019, 03:14:47 PM
Villa were poor over both games, when compared to their March and April form. However, a lot of that was due to West Brom's setup, which was perfect from a defensive perspective.
Decisions for Smith ahead of the final. Hourihane or Whelan? Adomah, Green or Kodjia? The second decision doesn't seem to have any good option right now.
Post by: ziggy90 on May 15, 2019, 09:09:19 PM
Pick a winner now? Proper cup football.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2019, 09:24:13 PM
Berardi lost his head there.
Post by: shark on May 15, 2019, 09:42:20 PM
Richard Keogh was outstanding. Thoroughly entertaining game.
Post by: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2019, 09:45:26 PM
Play off final between 5th v 6th. Finishing 3rd and 4th wasn't much use this season in the championship.
Post by: lurganblue on May 16, 2019, 09:24:55 AM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on May 15, 2019, 09:45:26 PM
Play off final between 5th v 6th. Finishing 3rd and 4th wasn't much use this season in the championship.

I'll not complain.  It was between 3rd and 4th last season with 3rd going up.

Enjoyed that game last night.  Both teams went for it and I expect the final to be something similar. Jansson could have made a big difference for Leeds I feel.  Roofe too of course. 

Villa beat Derby quite easily twice in the league but this game will be a completely different.
Post by: lurganblue on May 16, 2019, 09:29:02 AM
I must say though too that I thought Dallas was absolutely superb all night.
Post by: lurganblue on May 27, 2019, 11:16:22 PM
Yehoo! Where's that Premier League thread  ;D

I had been quietly confident about this match all week but I tried to keep a lid on it. The last 15 mins was horrific to sit through as a Villa fan. Overall I thought they deserved it. McGinn was outstanding again. He covers every blade.

Derby will do well to keep the standard of loans again next season.
Post by: Capt Pat on May 27, 2019, 11:54:43 PM
Will villa spend the money to stay up. Who is the chairman now?
Post by: ziggy90 on May 28, 2019, 06:07:16 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on May 27, 2019, 11:16:22 PM
Yehoo! Where's that Premier League thread  ;D

I had been quietly confident about this match all week but I tried to keep a lid on it. The last 15 mins was horrific to sit through as a Villa fan. Overall I thought they deserved it. McGinn was outstanding again. He covers every blade.

Derby will do well to keep the standard of loans again next season.

Breaks my heart to say it but the Vile deserved that all day long. Derby offered nothing until the last 15 and even then I couldn't see them getting anything out of that game
Lampard has an awful long way to go to prove himself as a manager.
On another note; I'm glad to see the back of the Vile,  the derby's were just getting too toxic. Hopefully you'll be relegated and we'll be promoted next term.  ;)
KRO.
Post by: shark on May 28, 2019, 07:52:45 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 27, 2019, 11:54:43 PM

Nassef Sawiris, an Egyptian worth $7bn, and Wes Edens who also owns the Milwaukee Bucks. They'll have money to spend for sure. Doesn't guarantee anything though as Fulham proved.
Post by: Denn Forever on May 28, 2019, 10:02:26 AM
So it's not an urban myth.  William Windsor does support Villa.
Post by: lurganblue on May 28, 2019, 10:21:01 AM
Quote from: Capt Pat on May 27, 2019, 11:54:43 PM

Id say they will spend a bit of money ok.  They'll look to tie down a few of the loans first.  Mings, El Ghazi, Abraham and possibly Tuanzebe, although I think Utd might want him back. Chelsea may look to keep Abraham with their transfer ban but I doubt it.

Too many signings can also be a problem so it's about balance.

Post by: BennyCake on May 28, 2019, 10:28:19 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 28, 2019, 10:02:26 AM

I think that was old footage from a Polo match.
Post by: ziggy90 on May 28, 2019, 02:02:08 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on May 28, 2019, 10:28:19 AM
Quote from: Denn Forever on May 28, 2019, 10:02:26 AM

I think that was old footage from a Polo match.
[/quote

No the bollix really does along with David Cameron, George Osborne, Nigel Kennedy and a host of other Eton educated chinless parasites.
Oh, and not forgetting the man who made such a brilliant and natural performance of Forrest Gump.
Yep, all-in-all a great addition to the PL and no loss at all to the Championship.. 
Post by: Denn Forever on July 31, 2022, 11:11:02 AM
High lights of the EFL are on ITV now it seems.
Post by: RedHand88 on July 31, 2022, 01:38:03 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on July 31, 2022, 11:11:02 AM
High lights of the EFL are on ITV now it seems.

Good show, I enjoyed it. Good to see the lower tiers getting exposure on a big channel.