Longford Football (& Hurling) Thread

Started by North Longford, November 17, 2006, 09:47:45 AM

LaurelEye

Killoe 1-13 Colmcille 1-7
Dromard 1-11 Clonguish 1-12 a.e.t. (1-8 each at end of 60 minutes)
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

Gallowglass

Quote from: LaurelEye on September 29, 2023, 01:01:16 AMSemi-finals at all three levels this weekend, meaning six matches in Pearse Park over the course of what is expected to be a wet weekend:

Killoe v Colmcille, Sat, 5pm
Dromard v Clonguish, Sun, 5pm

Killoe had to come from behind against Slashers but were clearly the better team overall in that match whereas Colmcille had an easier time in their quarter-final and the match is likely to be close. Dromard had a comfortable win against an under-form Rathcline and meet Clonguish who were the stronger side in the second-half against Mullinalaghta but who show signs off the field of an older presumption and obnoxiousness resurfacing. (Realistically, we had lost too many players to long-term injury and Australia this year for us to have much chance in the absence of luck and favourable decisions and we certainly have had none of the latter since Tullamore.)

Paddy Power odds (https://www.paddypower.com/gaelic-games/longford-club-football?tab=outrights):

Killoe 5/2 2/1 15/8 7/4 15/8 8/11
Colmcille 11/2 9/1 8/1 7/1 11/2 7/2
Dromard 11/2 5/1 11/2 5/1 6/1 5/1 4/1
Clonguish 16/1 10/1 14/1 16/1 9/1 11/2

Boylesports (https://www.boylesports.com/sports/gaa/outrights)

Killoe 3/1 13/8 6/4 10/11
Dromard 6/1 11/2 15/2 6/1 4/1
Colmcille 3/1 6/1 5/1 4/1
Clonguish 12/1 6/1 7/1 12/1 4/1

I would still just favour Killoe overall but not on those odds.

Obnoxiousness?
I think you need to look closer to home after what I witnessed 2 weeks ago in Pearse Park!

LaurelEye

I think Clonguish deserved their win and are a talented team who are likely to dominate Longford football over the next decade but the old disrespect and presumption towards other clubs has been on view from some of their officials and followers in print and online both before and after the quarter-final.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

Gallowglass

All clubs have a few lads who are a bit over the top and I agree we have one or two.
We all know who you are on about in the official capacity and what he does sometimes is not 100% backed by all Clonguish folk.
The lad who wrote up the report is a previous news reporter who has moved out to Newtownforbes and got involved with the club.
The majority of our supporters have huge respect for other teams, including yourselves for what ye have achieved.

LaurelEye

Finals weekend:

Intermediate final:

Seán Connollys v Kenagh, Sat, 4.30.

Both of these had comfortable wins in their semi-finals - Connollys over Killashee and Kenagh over former Senior kingpins Fr. Manning Gaels. Based on the relative strength of their opponents I might fancy Kenagh although Connollys have flown Dessie Reynolds back from Australia for the final.

Junior final:

Ballymore v Killoe 'B', Sun, 1.45.

Ballymore performed well in Division 2 and should make it third time lucky for the Junior title.

LaurelEye

Senior final:

Killoe v Clonguish, Sun, 4pm

Paddy Power odds (https://www.paddypower.com/gaelic-games/longford-club-football?tab=outrights):

Killoe 5/2 2/1 15/8 7/4 15/8 8/11 3/10
Clonguish 16/1 10/1 14/1 16/1 9/1 11/2 9/4

Killoe 3/1 13/8 6/4 10/11 2/7
Clonguish 12/1 6/1 7/1 12/1 4/1 9/4

"I would still just favour Killoe overall but not on those odds."

Still hold to that, just about. As for the "respect" shown to other clubs, I noticed that there was another jibe aimed at Francis McGee in last week's official Clonguish notes so I'm afraid I'll take that bit of plámás with all the seriousness it deserves.

LaurelEye

Intermediate Final:

Seán Connollys 0-13 Kenagh 2-9

16 years after losing to Mullinalaghta in the last minute of a replay, Kenagh finally make it up to Senior.

Poor aul Connollys. Not even the bridesmaid.

Killoe should do the business today but keep an eye out for an appeal.........

LaurelEye

Junior Final:

Ballymore 1-10 Killoe 'B' 1-5

LaurelEye

Senior Final:

Killoe 1-8 Clonguish 0-10

Sideliner

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 15, 2023, 11:49:53 AMPoor aul Connollys. Not even the bridesmaid.

No need for the sneery comment.
Well done to Killoe. It could have gone either way but a bit of experience from Killoe in the end proved telling.

Gallowglass

Quote from: LaurelEye on October 14, 2023, 12:39:26 AMSenior final:

Still hold to that, just about. As for the "respect" shown to other clubs, I noticed that there was another jibe aimed at Francis McGee in last week's official Clonguish notes so I'm afraid I'll take that bit of plámás with all the seriousness it deserves.

I had to get the Leader out to see what this jibe was as I didn't recall one the first time I read it and when I read it again I still didn't see any jibe!!
So please enlighten me as to the jibe thrown at Francie McGee.
You are a great one to go on about not showing respect considering the club you are from!!
It's well known what antics Mullinalaghta got up to on the field the year they won Leinster!!

Gallowglass

Quote from: Sideliner on October 15, 2023, 11:57:52 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 15, 2023, 11:49:53 AMPoor aul Connollys. Not even the bridesmaid.

No need for the sneery comment.
Well done to Killoe. It could have gone either way but a bit of experience from Killoe in the end proved telling.

I wouldn't pass much remarks on what that poster said.....a lot of hot air spoken.
Hard luck to both Connollys. I thought they were well on top in the first half, but that first goal brought Kenagh back into it.
I thought the year in Div 1 would just about shade it for Connollys but Kenagh are a good team.
It will be interesting to see if they go Senior or stay Intermediate.
Ballymahon will not want to stay Senior o I wonder if that will have any bearing on it.
Well done also to Ballymore and Killoe seniors.
I thought a draw would have been a fair result in our game but experience is a huge thing when the game is in the melting pot.
I think ourselves are about 3 years ahead of schedule, hopefully the lads won't be too downhearted after yesterday as they were a credit to the parish.
4 minors starting and another 4 just a year out of minor, the future is bright.
There should be another 3 or 4 lads from this years minor team that will be added to the senior panel as well as the 2 younger Shields lads coming back from long term injuries.
Best of luck to all the teams representing the county.
Under 21 championship should be starting now in a week or 2.

LaurelEye

Quote from: Gallowglass on October 16, 2023, 09:37:20 AM
Quote from: LaurelEye on October 14, 2023, 12:39:26 AMSenior final:

I had to get the Leader out to see what this jibe was as I didn't recall one the first time I read it and when I read it again I still didn't see any jibe!!
So please enlighten me as to the jibe thrown at Francie McGee.

"Francis McGee was one of the best free takers in the county for many years but this time, it wasn't to be, as his effort drifted off to the left of the uprights."

I wouldn't have seen McGee as being past it, which is the clear implication. You put up a good show yesterday but the better team won it on the day.

QuoteYou are a great one to go on about not showing respect considering the club you are from!!
It's well known what antics Mullinalaghta got up to on the field the year they won Leinster!!

I'm so shocked to see the mask drop and the bile pour out. Totally shocked.

Gallowglass

Lol is that what has you getting your knickers in a twist. Jaysus you are easily offended. I'm going to leave you and your friend Shamrock to talk to each other on here for the next year or so, seeing as no one else takes parts in your chats! Good luck to yous.... All the best for 2024 season.