Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Denn Forever on March 13, 2019, 04:28:36 PM

Title: Most hated phrase.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 13, 2019, 04:28:36 PM
He didn't show any signs....
Title: Re: Most hated phrase.
Post by: ziggy90 on March 13, 2019, 04:37:53 PM
So.
Post by: Itchy on March 13, 2019, 04:40:58 PM
I was literally ......

Example

I was literally frozen with fear.
Post by: TheOptimist on March 13, 2019, 04:51:51 PM
Quote from: Itchy on March 13, 2019, 04:40:58 PM
I was literally ......

Example

Check your dictionary. The word has two opposite meanings these days it has been used that much in this context. Literally everyone is doing it.
Post by: Itchy on March 13, 2019, 04:57:38 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on March 13, 2019, 04:51:51 PM
I was literally ......

Example

Check your dictionary. The word has two opposite meanings these days it has been used that much in this context. Literally everyone is doing it.

Check the title of the thread.
Post by: weareros on March 13, 2019, 05:18:42 PM
At this point in time...

Just waffle really when you think about it.
Post by: Stall the Bailer on March 13, 2019, 05:22:34 PM
Fake news
Post by: Jim Bob on March 13, 2019, 05:24:05 PM
When I came to....... (meaning when I woke up after being knocked out)
Post by: red hander on March 13, 2019, 05:28:47 PM
Iconic... pass me a baseball bat
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 13, 2019, 05:29:47 PM
Quote from: weareros on March 13, 2019, 05:18:42 PM
At this point in time...

Just waffle really when you think about it.

At this particular moment in time
Post by: armaghniac on March 13, 2019, 05:31:10 PM
the Americans and their "reach out".
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 13, 2019, 05:34:45 PM
Roll-aboards must be stowed in the overhead lockers wheels first.

We do invite you to look in the in-flight menu where you will find the range of in-flight meals and snacks that we do provide.

We do ask that you do stow your tray tables in the fully upright and locked position. We also do ask that you do bring your seat to the upright position in preparation for landing. All electronic devices must be powered down or put into flight mode at this time.

Please exercise caution when opening overhead lockers as items may have shifted during the flight.

We do understand that you have other options and we do appreciate you flying with us.

We do wish you a good day here in San Francisco and we do wish you a safe onward journey to your final destination.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 13, 2019, 05:35:07 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 13, 2019, 05:31:10 PM
the Americans and their "reach out".

I'll touch base with you on that
Post by: HiMucker on March 13, 2019, 05:35:43 PM
"Not tonight honey"
Post by: Dolph1 on March 13, 2019, 05:35:52 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 13, 2019, 05:34:45 PM
Roll-aboards must be stowed in the overhead lockers wheels first.

We do invite you to look in the in-flight menu where you will find the range of in-flight meals and snacks that we do provide.

We do ask that you do stow your tray tables in the fully upright and locked position. We also do ask that you do bring your seat to the upright position in preparation for landing. All electronic devices must be powered down or put into flight mode at this time.

Please exercise caution when opening overhead lockers as items may have shifted during the flight.

We do understand that you have other options and we do appreciate you flying with us.

We do wish you a good day here in San Francisco and we do wish you a safe onward journey to your final destination.

Should have known you are an air steward ;)

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRBdCfNJV2w33Ffy5EgHWRbT0GVNhtpYuJE9_gNZnhdlh-akP8M0w)
Post by: JohnDenver on March 13, 2019, 06:10:54 PM
Lookit
Post by: seafoid on March 13, 2019, 06:20:10 PM
The reality of the situation
This is the last and final call for flight
This is the last Sunday Game of the season
Post by: BennyCake on March 13, 2019, 06:45:20 PM
Me Too
Post by: Dolph1 on March 13, 2019, 06:54:55 PM
intersectionality
diversity

Post by: From the Bunker on March 13, 2019, 07:09:02 PM
We are where we are.

Post by: Main Street on March 13, 2019, 07:11:33 PM
moving forward
Post by: David McKeown on March 13, 2019, 08:18:02 PM
Very unique
Particularly unique
Extremely unique
Etc
Post by: Over the Bar on March 13, 2019, 08:20:24 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 13, 2019, 06:45:20 PM
Me Too
#Me Too
Post by: Over the Bar on March 13, 2019, 08:21:33 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on March 13, 2019, 07:09:02 PM
We are where we are.

It is what it is...
Post by: Over the Bar on March 13, 2019, 08:33:43 PM
Quote from: TheOptimist on March 13, 2019, 04:51:51 PM
I was literally ......

Example

It didn't have 2 meanings when Barry McGuigan had to pay $700k libel damages to Barney Eastwood. The thick twat thought literally meant the same as practically when he claimed he 'literally got down on his knees begging BJ not to have to fight'.  On realising his mistake, rather than back down and apologise for bring a stupid Monaghan clampet who didn't fully understand English he foolishly decided to stick with the story and got fleeced in court.
Post by: Tubberman on March 13, 2019, 09:19:34 PM
Do you know that sort of way?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 13, 2019, 09:28:20 PM
What it is is...
Post by: AZOffaly on March 13, 2019, 10:00:55 PM
Quote from: David McKeown on March 13, 2019, 08:18:02 PM
Very unique
Particularly unique
Extremely unique
Etc
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 13, 2019, 10:39:15 PM
Brexit.

Just be done witg it one way or the other!
Post by: laoislad on March 13, 2019, 10:41:55 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 13, 2019, 10:00:55 PM
Very unique
Particularly unique
Extremely unique
Etc
0 3 Arena
Post by: The Subbie on March 13, 2019, 10:50:17 PM
That's a really good question , I'm glad you asked that..... ( bluffers code for"  f**k , think of a suitably bullshit laden explanation faster" )

Going forward

Protecting the union

Anything Arlene/ Ian Og/Nigel / etc etc says

Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 13, 2019, 11:30:12 PM
Londonderry.

Name-dropping "Northern Ireland" six times into every sentence for a grand total of a hundred mentions in the space of a few minutes. Peter Punt was the worst offender for that.
Post by: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 06:44:58 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 13, 2019, 09:19:34 PM

I only ever heard it in Dublin

Post by: Never beat the deeler on March 14, 2019, 06:46:20 AM
Quote from: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 06:44:58 AM
Quote from: Tubberman on March 13, 2019, 09:19:34 PM

I only ever heard it in Dublin

and that other one

Janoworrimeayenn
Post by: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 06:47:29 AM
That's the why.
Post by: Insane Bolt on March 14, 2019, 07:03:27 AM
To die for.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 14, 2019, 08:09:43 AM
GOAT.
Post by: Jim Bob on March 14, 2019, 08:22:28 AM
.....and push on from there.  (GAA spake)
Post by: trailer on March 14, 2019, 09:00:22 AM
We go again.

We go again where? To defeat?
Post by: imtommygunn on March 14, 2019, 09:04:12 AM
It's all good.
Post by: Franko on March 14, 2019, 09:10:15 AM
Fixed that for you (followed by some supposedly funny remodelling of a GAA Board post)

17.4m people

The democratic will of the people

Post by: illdecide on March 14, 2019, 09:27:59 AM
This really pisses me off, when you purchase something from a shop and you're paying by card and the person behind the counter says...
"put your we card in the we machine" (my card is not we, it's the same size as the rest and so is your machine)
"Put your we pin number in" (my pin is 4 digits like everyone's)
Urgghhh >:(
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 09:30:52 AM
'We'
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 14, 2019, 10:01:41 AM
Quote from: illdecide on March 14, 2019, 09:27:59 AM
This really pisses me off, when you purchase something from a shop and you're paying by card and the person behind the counter says...
"put your we card in the we machine" (my card is not we, it's the same size as the rest and so is your machine)
"Put your we pin number in" (my pin is 4 digits like everyone's)
Urgghhh >:(

Surely you mean 'wee'?
Post by: laoislad on March 14, 2019, 10:07:31 AM
Couples calling each other babe or love.
Post by: general on March 14, 2019, 11:11:41 AM
So it is
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 11:14:02 AM
British Isles
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 14, 2019, 11:24:37 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 11:14:02 AM
British Isles

The mainland
Post by: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 11:27:28 AM
Bleedin culchies

Is you from Northern Ireland or Southern Ireland

I bet you like Guinness 

We beat Arsenal 2-0 (insert team name, insert score) on Saturday
Post by: Antrim Coaster on March 14, 2019, 11:31:19 AM
Here's me, whaaaaaaa.
Post by: Leftmidfield on March 14, 2019, 11:38:50 AM
Massive
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 11:45:07 AM
Bellacky, Mackerafelt etc
Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 14, 2019, 11:53:49 AM
At any local football / soccer game on a Saturday

Come on *Insert Team Name* we haven't started here
Post by: spuds on March 14, 2019, 12:14:34 PM
Any fuel with that?
Post by: laoislad on March 14, 2019, 12:26:53 PM
Quote from: spuds on March 14, 2019, 12:14:34 PM
Any fuel with that?
>:(
I dunno why but that drives me nuts as well.
Post by: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 01:11:33 PM
Leisure Centre
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 01:27:09 PM
The Great War

What was great about it?
Post by: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 01:31:44 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 01:27:09 PM
The Great War

What was great about it?
Great as in big

like Grand in French
La grande guerre

It was supposed to be the war to end all wars

Except it wasn't
Post by: awideisneverasgood on March 14, 2019, 01:41:41 PM
Lets do this thing....

Post by: passedit on March 14, 2019, 01:46:44 PM
with all due respect, not meaning to be funny/rude, for the day that's in it.

we won't stand idly by.
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 01:52:32 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 01:31:44 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 01:27:09 PM
The Great War

What was great about it?
Great as in big

like Grand in French
La grande guerre

It was supposed to be the war to end all wars

Except it wasn't

Yeah I figured that, but still, it's not really appropriate.

Anyway, I think they knew even after WW1, there was a sequel in the pipeline.
Post by: sensethetone on March 14, 2019, 02:03:18 PM
How ye doing, We're selling tickets...
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 02:09:42 PM
D'ya have any scrap?
D'ya wanna boy any tools?
D'ya want your driveway tarred?

And so on.
Post by: Dire Ear on March 14, 2019, 02:33:32 PM
Stormount........
Post by: laoislad on March 14, 2019, 02:35:27 PM
Alrite bud
Do ya know what I mean.
Post by: general_lee on March 14, 2019, 02:50:46 PM
When smicks say "parful"
Post by: sensethetone on March 14, 2019, 02:56:24 PM
Mayo for Sam lol
Post by: general_lee on March 14, 2019, 03:02:43 PM
When English people say they're poorly.

Why not just say you're sick
Post by: seafoid on March 14, 2019, 03:11:47 PM
Northern Ireland

An Tuaisceart is much better
Post by: Hardy on March 14, 2019, 03:19:21 PM
"... and Martin Carney"
Post by: LooseCannon on March 14, 2019, 03:22:04 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 14, 2019, 03:19:21 PM
"... and Martin Carney"
Or Dessie Dolan or Tommy Carr for that matter.
Post by: spuds on March 14, 2019, 03:29:27 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on March 14, 2019, 03:22:04 PM
"... and Martin Carney"
Or Dessie Dolan or Tommy Carr for that matter.
And now we go over to Newbridge where we are joined by Brian Carthy and Bernard Flynn.

Post by: From the Bunker on March 14, 2019, 03:42:15 PM
"... and Martin Carney"

you can add ''Very much so'' to the list
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 04:15:09 PM
Worst of all is "Your commentator, Ger Canning"  >:(
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 14, 2019, 04:23:10 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 14, 2019, 10:07:31 AM

I once had a GF who started calling me 'babe.' I put a stop to that immediately.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 14, 2019, 04:26:33 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on March 14, 2019, 11:24:37 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 11:14:02 AM
British Isles

The mainland

The province
Post by: Dolph1 on March 14, 2019, 04:53:39 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 14, 2019, 04:23:10 PM
Quote from: laoislad on March 14, 2019, 10:07:31 AM

I once had a GF who started calling me 'babe.' I put a stop to that immediately.

LOL. Of course you did ;)
Post by: The Subbie on March 14, 2019, 07:53:38 PM
Will you work the early shift on Sat
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 14, 2019, 08:00:01 PM
Who all's going/doing? etc.
Post by: Mossy Bruce on March 14, 2019, 08:05:41 PM
(Too) popular in The States:

"Back in the day..."

[what frikkin' day?!?!)
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 10:31:15 PM
Paddy's Day
Post by: Gmac on March 14, 2019, 10:46:35 PM
Without a doubt
Without a shadow of a doubt
In America
What's cooking chief
What's shaking
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 15, 2019, 12:03:26 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 10:31:15 PM
Paddy's Day

St. Patty's Day.

(https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/shopping?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ-NwH2aTTSyG18DFfOVwPyo05_FoLBw8IS2MHDTuuwRPpGKJwmp6PhEoyebFazwbqmK397S9df4A&usqp=CAc)

When you eat corned beef and cabbage.
Post by: Owenmoresider on March 15, 2019, 09:57:32 AM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 14, 2019, 04:15:09 PM
Worst of all is "Your commentator, Ger Canning"  >:(
Still regard Morrissey as worse. Especially now he does the hurling final and he goes off into a prepared monologue in a blatant but feeble attempt to be seen as the voice or concience of the sporting public or some sort of self-aggrandising thing like that. And as for all the Dolores O'Riordan references in last year's final  ::)

Find most of the stuff listed above are really words rather than phrases. There's plenty of those that could be listed here but one that I had heard recently from some post-match interview to remind me of it was "From the Get Go". Can youse not just say "from the beginning/start" like the people who aren't reduced to being walking cliches?
Post by: BennyCake on March 15, 2019, 10:00:00 AM
Yup Marty can be a bit of a bollix, but Canning I just can't stand commentating.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 15, 2019, 10:01:12 AM
Early doors.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on March 15, 2019, 10:01:41 AM
"....In the end it was Dublin's bench that made the difference...."

Pesky subs.
Post by: tbrick18 on March 15, 2019, 11:01:56 AM
Brexit
Brexit means Brexit
Backstop
Meaningful vote....are all votes not meaningful?
Tyrone for Sam
Another meaningful vote....wtf?
Strong and stable
Post by: seafoid on March 15, 2019, 11:56:25 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on March 15, 2019, 10:01:12 AM
Early doors.

There is also a special soccer tense -eg  he's come in and he's crossed it and I've headed it in
Post by: Denn Forever on March 15, 2019, 12:01:28 PM
I was just thinking of  him/her.
Post by: johnnycool on March 15, 2019, 12:03:10 PM
Quote from: tbrick18 on March 15, 2019, 11:01:56 AM
Brexit
Brexit means Brexit
Backstop
Meaningful vote....are all votes not meaningful?
Tyrone for Sam
Another meaningful vote....wtf?
Strong and stable

You forgot "precious union"

Post by: imtommygunn on March 15, 2019, 12:03:29 PM
The mainland
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 15, 2019, 01:47:12 PM
"social media influencer"
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 15, 2019, 02:03:13 PM
Quote from: seafoid on March 15, 2019, 11:56:25 AM
Early doors.

There is also a special soccer tense -eg  he's come in and he's crossed it and I've headed it in

That'd be the perfect tense.
Post by: Dolph1 on March 15, 2019, 02:07:16 PM
Social Justice Warrior (when the word Twat will suffice)
Post by: BennyCake on March 15, 2019, 02:39:40 PM
Alan Shearer and Ian Wright are with us
1966 World Cup
Putting 'Sir' before some dudes name who has a knighthood
Post by: gallsman on March 15, 2019, 02:41:20 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 13, 2019, 10:00:55 PM
Very unique
Particularly unique
Extremely unique
Etc

:) :) :)
Post by: Hardy on March 15, 2019, 02:48:41 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 15, 2019, 02:03:13 PM
Early doors.

That'd be the perfect tense.

There's also the use of the present tense instead of perfect conditional(?).

'The keeper saves that they're in the final' instead of 'if the keeper had ... they'd be ...'
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 15, 2019, 03:32:45 PM
Quote from: Dolph1 on March 15, 2019, 02:07:16 PM

* yawn*

f**k, you are boring
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on March 15, 2019, 03:46:44 PM
you aren't far behind him
Post by: APM on March 15, 2019, 03:53:49 PM
Early doors.

Arrrgghhhh - ridiculous
I think it probably comes from somewhere in England, but it now pervades soccer commentary - really annoying.

Also, the intellectual explaining "So" - as in:

Question: Interviewer asks an academic a question:
Answer: "So"....... + the actual answer
Post by: Dolph1 on March 15, 2019, 04:41:55 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 15, 2019, 03:32:45 PM
Quote from: Dolph1 on March 15, 2019, 02:07:16 PM

"Catching the world in my headlights of justice"

Sounds like a Social Justice Warrior to me!! and a real narcissistic one.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 15, 2019, 06:06:38 PM
"Trump 2020"

That says it all.
Post by: theticklemister on March 16, 2019, 02:41:22 PM
Island of Ireland
Post by: BennyCake on March 16, 2019, 03:18:19 PM
Women actresses being called actors.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 16, 2019, 03:40:27 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 16, 2019, 03:18:19 PM

Why?  All the wo.rld's a stage
Post by: Itchy on March 17, 2019, 11:17:51 PM
Northern Irish something or other.

There's no such nationality
Post by: BennyCake on March 17, 2019, 11:44:43 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 16, 2019, 03:40:27 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 16, 2019, 03:18:19 PM

Why?  All the wo.rld's a stage

Women are actresses.
Post by: michaelg on March 18, 2019, 07:33:02 AM
Quote from: Itchy on March 17, 2019, 11:17:51 PM
Northern Irish something or other.

There's no such nationality
You're right.  Everyone knows it's North of Irish.
Post by: MoChara on March 18, 2019, 08:36:58 AM
At the end of the Day

and GAA interviews were boys say Lookit about 4 or 5 times
Post by: Hardy on March 18, 2019, 10:31:46 AM
Quote from: MoChara on March 18, 2019, 08:36:58 AM
At the end of the Day

- but still not as often as they say "I suppose".
Post by: seafoid on March 18, 2019, 11:49:28 AM
Neil Francis saying that so and so rugby player can really play football.
Post by: Sandy Hill on March 18, 2019, 11:27:46 PM
An Radio Ulster London based correspondent today described something about Brexit as being "incredibly unlikely"
What the f><k does this mean.
Post by: From the Bunker on March 18, 2019, 11:44:53 PM
Teams love to play Dublin in Croke Park.
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 19, 2019, 07:55:03 AM
There won't be a(n) (insert noun) (insert past tense) in (insert appropriate winning place) for a week.
Post by: trueblue1234 on March 19, 2019, 08:55:50 AM
Quote from: Hardy on March 18, 2019, 10:31:46 AM
Quote from: MoChara on March 18, 2019, 08:36:58 AM
At the end of the Day

- but still not as often as they say "I suppose".

That's if you are lucky enough to get the "I" bit. "Suppose it was the ........ etc etc"
Post by: highorlow on March 19, 2019, 09:34:29 AM
Martin "that there" McHugh