Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on March 24, 2024, 10:20:37 PM

Title: Petrolhead culture
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 24, 2024, 10:20:37 PM
Is it just me or do a lot of young fellas in Ireland get involved in an unhealthy petrolhead culture? I remember ripping and tearing around the roads with my mates as soon as we could drive, and we had a whole language built around the act of unsafe driving. It's like the part of our brain that dealt with consequences hadn't developed yet. I look back in horror at some of the stuff we used to get up to in motors.

Every time I hear about roads deaths in the wee hours of the morning and "single vehicle collision" I feel like it could have been any of us back in the day.

"Thoughts and prayers" are all well and good, but I think we need to talk about the culture that surrounds driving, as well as the lack of enforcement of traffic laws at night time when the roads turn into racetracks.
Title: Re: Petrolhead culture
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2024, 10:46:32 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 24, 2024, 10:20:37 PMIs it just me or do a lot of young fellas in Ireland get involved in an unhealthy petrolhead culture? I remember ripping and tearing around the roads with my mates as soon as we could drive, and we had a whole language built around the act of unsafe driving. It's like the part of our brain that dealt with consequences hadn't developed yet. I look back in horror at some of the stuff we used to get up to in motors.

Every time I hear about roads deaths in the wee hours of the morning and "single vehicle collision" I feel like it could have been any of us back in the day.

"Thoughts and prayers" are all well and good, but I think we need to talk about the culture that surrounds driving, as well as the lack of enforcement of traffic laws at night time when the roads turn into racetracks.

Awful deaths.. putting a curfew on lads driving after a certain time? Or insurance incentives to reduce speed?

Should be a control box with speed restrictions..

Post by: Harold Disgracey on March 24, 2024, 11:35:23 PM
Absolutely horrific accident. One of the girls was in my son's class at school and the other girl had a little 3 year old son.
Post by: Saffron_sam20 on March 25, 2024, 08:24:37 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 24, 2024, 10:46:32 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 24, 2024, 10:20:37 PMIs it just me or do a lot of young fellas in Ireland get involved in an unhealthy petrolhead culture? I remember ripping and tearing around the roads with my mates as soon as we could drive, and we had a whole language built around the act of unsafe driving. It's like the part of our brain that dealt with consequences hadn't developed yet. I look back in horror at some of the stuff we used to get up to in motors.

Awful deaths.. putting a curfew on lads driving after a certain time? Or insurance incentives to reduce speed?

I genuinely believe a good fix would be you cant drive anything over 1.2 until you have your test 1 or 2 years. one of the main problems is young lads(and girls) with a motor with a lot of power and cant handle it and push it on.
Post by: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 08:43:46 AM
On  similiar vein to this road safety issue, I think it should be complusory that anyone out walking, day or evening, should have a hi-viz vest on.

The amount of people I see out at dusk walking, wear black/dark clothes is scary.

Plus all school uniforms and bags should have a few hi-viz strips or reflections on them.  I'd say it'd be simple enough to design and install.
Post by: clonian on March 25, 2024, 09:20:27 AM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on March 25, 2024, 08:24:37 AM

I genuinely believe a good fix would be you cant drive anything over 1.2 until you have your test 1 or 2 years. one of the main problems is young lads(and girls) with a motor with a lot of power and cant handle it and push it on.

Cars are faster now than the bangers we drove when young. Insurance is very high for young ones but it doesn't seem to have a lot to do with the engine in the car etc. Young lads at 18 in A4s and 3 series BMWs. Parents want them in a 'safer' car but that usually means its faster than they should have. The tracking box would be a good start
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 09:35:02 AM
Quote from: clonian on March 25, 2024, 09:20:27 AM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on March 25, 2024, 08:24:37 AM

Cars are faster now than the bangers we drove when young. Insurance is very high for young ones but it doesn't seem to have a lot to do with the engine in the car etc. Young lads at 18 in A4s and 3 series BMWs. Parents want them in a 'safer' car but that usually means its faster than they should have. The tracking box would be a good start

Daughter had the tracker box in car for that first year or so. Insurance was cheaper, also she had to drive sensibly.

That said once it was taken out, I was parked at the shop and I seen this car flying round a junction, it was my daughter! Even though I gave her a rollicking it took her actually having a bumper hit (minor no damage) and the lady gave her such a telling off that it calmed her.

Unfortunately those involved in this accident won't have that chance!
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 09:39:39 AM
The black box thing is a load of shite. Driving too slow is hazardous as well. Limiting young ones to 1.2 litre would make more sense.
Post by: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 09:49:55 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 09:39:39 AMThe black box thing is a load of shite. Driving too slow is hazardous as well. Limiting young ones to 1.2 litre would make more sense.

Good idea, Very hard to police though.

I see vans are limited to 50mph. 
Post by: Saffron_sam20 on March 25, 2024, 10:00:39 AM
Quote from: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 09:49:55 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 09:39:39 AMThe black box thing is a load of shite. Driving too slow is hazardous as well. Limiting young ones to 1.2 litre would make more sense.

Think it be handy enough to police, when getting insurance and your licence issue date is within the last 2 years when the insurer puts the vehicle reg in it gives you the vehicle details. if its engine size is over 1.2 then they cant offer a policy. honestly, the saying speed kills is so true, not saying it'll solve everything but it would certainly cut down on how severe some accidents are.
Post by: gallsman on March 25, 2024, 10:01:20 AM
There's something about the nature of youth though as well. Haven't done any research to back this up, but gut feel to me is vast majority of accidents like these are on country roads? Culchies need cars and the ability to drive from a younger age to maintain a degree of independence. Once the roads aren't as busy and they open up in front of you without a light or junction for miles, there seems to be an irresistible urge to put the foot down.
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 10:11:26 AM
A very very dark time for that area of Armagh after 3 road deaths back in November. That's a very bad bend the accident happened at but these were locals and would have known all about it so I suspect speed will be the cause. The word locally is that one fella was able to get out of the car before it went on fire but have heard nothing on the news so it could be a load of balls.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 10:16:47 AM

The box is to keep within the speed limits, are you encouraging driving over the limits?

Talk me through that
Post by: general_lee on March 25, 2024, 10:17:50 AM
Teaching learners how to drive on the motorway would be a start. Absolutely ridiculous 1. That they aren't and 2.
They're restricted to 45mph on a road where most users bomb on at 80+
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 10:19:35 AM
Quote from: general_lee on March 25, 2024, 10:17:50 AMTeaching learners how to drive on the motorway would be a start. Absolutely ridiculous 1. That they aren't and 2.

There are less deaths on a motorway than country roads I'd imagine. It's country roads which are killing people
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on March 25, 2024, 10:19:52 AM
In my view sometimes it takes a close call or a friend/family/community member to unfortunately lose their lives on the roads for it to hit home to young ones what impact driving can have, not even dangerous driving at that. 

For young ones, possible overconfidence can lead to accidents.  Like driving down a familiar road at speed etc.  I know a few that have written off cars on roads less than a mile from home, just because they think they know every inch of it, gives them the right to drive it how they please. 
Post by: gallsman on March 25, 2024, 10:21:08 AM
Completely agree, that's absolute moronic and shocking that's never been looked at. I'm driving 20 years at this stage and I still remember being a touch nervous the first time I was on the motorway by myself. My father made it clear, in no uncertain terms, that despite the fact I'd got my licence, I wasn't too go near the motorway until I'd done it first with him.

That said, I don't think too many of these accidents are happening on motorways.
Post by: general_lee on March 25, 2024, 10:22:21 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 10:19:35 AM
Quote from: general_lee on March 25, 2024, 10:17:50 AMTeaching learners how to drive on the motorway would be a start. Absolutely ridiculous 1. That they aren't and 2.

There are less deaths on a motorway than country roads I'd imagine. It's country roads which are killing people
Motorways are the safest roads to travel on but where else are they going to learn how a vehicle handles at 70mph?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 10:27:00 AM
Country roads are in poor enough shape after the winter so if you're bombing around a corner and you hit a pothole the margin for error is pretty small.

I wonder was it a 3 door car, which prevented people in the back getting out. The eldest fella has a 3 door car and I f**king hate it for that reason. I'm seriously considering swapping it.
Post by: Eire90 on March 25, 2024, 10:27:49 AM
if you say you dont care about cars and have no intrest  in  cars they look at you like you are an alien with 6 heads  you will see these types at the donegal  rally in june they have no intrest in rallying either just there to show off

i dont mind motorsports  but have no interest in cars they really are just a thing to get from a to b but there is big car worship culture in this country another false idol you could say and people just except road traffic deaths like its some sacrifice to some car god.
Post by: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 10:42:10 AM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 10:27:00 AMCountry roads are in poor enough shape after the winter so if you're bombing around a corner and you hit a pothole the margin for error is pretty small.

I wonder was it a 3 door car, which prevented people in the back getting out. The eldest fella has a 3 door car and I f**king hate it for that reason. I'm seriously considering swapping it.

Fair point Tony.

Never thought about it in them terms.

Post by: tonto1888 on March 25, 2024, 10:44:08 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 10:16:47 AM

The box is to keep within the speed limits, are you encouraging driving over the limits?

Talk me through that

the lad just likes to be controversial. Thinks it makes him look cool
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 10:49:54 AM
Quote from: general_lee on March 25, 2024, 10:22:21 AM

Motorways are the safest roads to travel on but where else are they going to learn how a vehicle handles at 70mph?

Country roads are 60 for large parts, dropping to 50, 40 and 30 coming into towns. No need to learn to be at 70mph, I'm not sure there is evidence that learning to drive at 70mph on the safest roads (motorways) will help youngsters on country roads with blind spots, dips and exits/entry roads
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 11:11:12 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on March 25, 2024, 10:44:08 AM

Talk me through that

A young driver sitting at 45 mph on a main road with a queue of traffic behind them isn't a good thing for any road user.
Post by: tonto1888 on March 25, 2024, 11:17:36 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 11:11:12 AM

Talk me through that

A young driver sitting at 45 mph on a main road with a queue of traffic behind them isn't a good thing for any road user.

the black box doesnt limit you to that
Post by: general_lee on March 25, 2024, 11:24:00 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 10:49:54 AM
Quote from: general_lee on March 25, 2024, 10:22:21 AM

Country roads are 60 for large parts, dropping to 50, 40 and 30 coming into towns. No need to learn to be at 70mph, I'm not sure there is evidence that learning to drive at 70mph on the safest roads (motorways) will help youngsters on country roads with blind spots, dips and exits/entry roads
I think there is every need for a new, inexperienced driver to learn what it's like to have control of a machine at 70mph in a supervised environment, surely that's infinitely better than just letting them f**k around and find out once they've passed.
Post by: whitey on March 25, 2024, 11:38:24 AM
The technology is there to prevent these tragedies

Post by: ShutterinbyDayGAAbyNight on March 25, 2024, 11:58:56 AM
Our roads are full of gobshites who would rather risk their own (and others) life than arrive at a destination 10 minutes late.
Post by: lurganblue on March 25, 2024, 12:10:55 PM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on March 25, 2024, 10:19:52 AMIn my view sometimes it takes a close call or a friend/family/community member to unfortunately lose their lives on the roads for it to hit home to young ones what impact driving can have, not even dangerous driving at that. 

For young ones, possible overconfidence can lead to accidents.  Like driving down a familiar road at speed etc.  I know a few that have written off cars on roads less than a mile from home, just because they think they know every inch of it, gives them the right to drive it how they please. 

I think about this sometimes now when I'm driving as I have certainly changed now that I have gotten older. Now i'm not saying I was a complete tube in my early 20s but I didnt like to be stuck behind someone that I perceived to be crawling. I did have a very near miss while overtaking on a straight section of a country road that I thought I knew well.  A car came out of the hidden dip straight on and I was so lucky to avoid a serious collision. I was in the car by myself too so it isn't as if I was playing the big one to peers.  It certainly put manners on me.

Age has certainly also changed my need to drive on the upper side of the speed limit, and the mythical 10% you are allowed.
Post by: Would ye whist on March 25, 2024, 12:18:01 PM
He knows everything, or at least thinks he does, could start an argument in an empty house

Talk me through that

Post by: snoopdog on March 25, 2024, 12:19:56 PM
Quote from: Saffron_sam20 on March 25, 2024, 10:00:39 AM
Quote from: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 09:49:55 AM

Think it be handy enough to police, when getting insurance and your licence issue date is within the last 2 years when the insurer puts the vehicle reg in it gives you the vehicle details. if its engine size is over 1.2 then they cant offer a policy. honestly, the saying speed kills is so true, not saying it'll solve everything but it would certainly cut down on how severe some accidents are.
The 1.2 will soon be nulled when everyone is in an electric car that goes from 0 to 60 in 2 seconds. 
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 12:29:51 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on March 25, 2024, 12:18:01 PMHe knows everything, or at least thinks he does, could start an argument in an empty house

Talk me through that

Who the f**k are you lol
Post by: tyrone08 on March 25, 2024, 12:55:03 PM
Simplest thing to do is upon passing your test you have to sit through a 2 hour speed course showing the real life consequences. Actual local stories with photos would soon make a few young ones pay att.
Post by: armaghniac on March 25, 2024, 01:08:30 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on March 25, 2024, 12:55:03 PMSimplest thing to do is upon passing your test you have to sit through a 2 hour speed course showing the real life consequences. Actual local stories with photos would soon make a few young ones pay att.

Would it though? Everyone knows of these accidents, but they carry on regardless anyway.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on March 25, 2024, 01:23:22 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 25, 2024, 01:08:30 PM
Quote from: tyrone08 on March 25, 2024, 12:55:03 PMSimplest thing to do is upon passing your test you have to sit through a 2 hour speed course showing the real life consequences. Actual local stories with photos would soon make a few young ones pay att.

Would it though? Everyone knows of these accidents, but they carry on regardless anyway.

I agree, and ties in with the point I had made earlier, some people don't learn until they go through it unfortunately, and some people will never learn and wise up. 

Not to go down the route of the law, or to open that can of worms too much, but some of the sentences for driving offences are pish poor and wouldn't discourage offenders in the slightest.   

Post by: WeeDonns on March 25, 2024, 02:16:21 PM
Extend the "R" period to 3 years
Nothing over 1.2 in that period & no unrelated passengers 10pm – 7am

Government are never going to introduce rules like that, so its up to parents really.
Although in this most recent accident they may have already been driving 3+ years, so would make no difference

I rolled a car when 30, driving too hard in slippery conditions on a road I was familiar with, so can't lecture.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 02:23:49 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 12:29:51 PM
Quote from: Would ye whist on March 25, 2024, 12:18:01 PMHe knows everything, or at least thinks he does, could start an argument in an empty house

Talk me through that

Who the f**k are you lol

He can't read a post properly, he's old, he couldn't wait to jump in thinking it was me the other poster was posting about, when it was you lol! Ah god love him!
Post by: thewobbler on March 25, 2024, 02:49:57 PM
I'm sure I posted this on another thread, but in this era of mollycoddling our children to the nth degree - in effect elongating their childhoods for as long as possible - our willingness and encouragement for them to facilitate them driving as soon as they turn 17, doesn't make any sense.

——-

Fwiw, in my experience the petrol head culture is dwindling, certainly around here. It's been replaced by a an image culture of needing a car that looks the part - the right car brand, nice alloys and calipers, personalised plates, and so on. Which again is only possible because parents facilitate it. I suppose this doesn't do any harm apart from every youngster forced into a 1 litre on passing the test, upgrades to 2+ litre land a year later. Part of the brand and all that.

——-

Key solutions i'd recommend:

1. Until 3 years of a clean driving is completed (however long that takes), then points on the licence equate to months off the road. So a 3 point penalty becomes 3 months banned from driving. And when you start driving, it's back to day 1.

2. Until 3 years of a clean driving licence is completed, driving without a tracker is illegal. No mucking around, no exceptions. If you're pulled over and can't produce a track, then you lose the books.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2024, 03:23:56 PM
Quote from: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 08:43:46 AMOn  similiar vein to this road safety issue, I think it should be complusory that anyone out walking, day or evening, should have a hi-viz vest on.

The amount of people I see out at dusk walking, wear black/dark clothes is scary.

Plus all school uniforms and bags should have a few hi-viz strips or reflections on them.  I'd say it'd be simple enough to design and install.

If roads are so dangerous that people have to dress like construction workers just to go about their daily business then we've got a serious problem that no amount of high-viz is going to fix.
Post by: AustinPowers on March 25, 2024, 03:34:45 PM
Speed is obviously a factor in accidents , but so is  not driving appropriately to the  weather conditions,  using a mobile etc

But the amount of people who do not stick to under 30 or 40 in a built up area  is unbelievable.  And that's all ages of drivers , not  just youngsters.

I would always do  my  utmost to adhere to 30/40 zones , but  I've lost count of the number  of times people have overtaken me  while in a zone , maybe  with a school, housing estate, children around  in plain sight
Post by: Milltown Row2 on March 25, 2024, 03:40:01 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on March 25, 2024, 03:34:45 PMSpeed is obviously a factor in accidents , but so is  not driving appropriately to the  weather conditions,  using a mobile etc

But the amount of people who do not stick to under 30 or 40 in a built up area  is unbelievable.  And that's all ages of drivers , not  just youngsters.

I would always do  my  utmost to adhere to 30/40 zones , but  I've lost count of the number  of times people have overtaken me  while in a zone , maybe  with a school, housing estate, children around  in plain sight

Would be guilty of pushing it to the outer limits of the speed laws. I've got better over the years though the older I get, as you say taking chances in built up areas and where kids are about is not on.

Post by: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 03:48:04 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2024, 03:23:56 PM
Quote from: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 08:43:46 AMOn  similiar vein to this road safety issue, I think it should be complusory that anyone out walking, day or evening, should have a hi-viz vest on.

If roads are so dangerous that people have to dress like construction workers just to go about their daily business then we've got a serious problem that no amount of high-viz is going to fix.

Bit arrogant that answer and not addressing the issue I raised about people out walking at dusk with dark clothes on nor re: school uniforms.

But hey anything for a quick quip.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 03:57:35 PM
Quote from: marty34 on March 25, 2024, 03:48:04 PM

Bit arrogant that answer and not addressing the issue I raised about people out walking at dusk with dark clothes on nor re: school uniforms.

yeah the school uniform is a good idea. Seen a  road safety video of a child about to cross a road, first clip shes in dark clothes and you cant see her at all but the second shes in reflective coat and can be seen. Scary the difference tbh.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2024, 04:01:14 PM
I'm not gonna lie. I distinctly remember myself and my mates getting into completely unnecessary situations on the road where we quite literally nearly killed people. Our reaction at the time was to laugh at it. I look back in horror at the way we behaved.

There is something about the teenage brain that leads to increased risk-taking.

A Teen's Brain Isn't Fully Developed Until Age 25 (https://paradigmtreatment.com/teens-brain-fully-developed-age/)

Regulation of teenage driving needs to be seriously tightened up. In California they're quite strict.

For the first 12 months after obtaining a provisional license, a teenager is not allowed to have passengers under the age of 20 in the car unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver 25 years or older.

There's also a curfew. Teen drivers with a provisional license are not allowed to drive between 11 pm and 5 am for the first 12 months after obtaining their license.

Teenagers can't use a mobile phone when driving, even with a hands-free device, except in an emergency.

Drink-driving laws for teenagers take a zero-tolerance approach. Teenagers caught driving with any amount of alcohol in their system will face severe consequences, including license suspension and possible criminal charges.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2024, 04:02:58 PM

So you want to live in a society where we all walk about our streets looking like we just stepped off a building site? Are you serious?
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 04:19:10 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2024, 04:01:14 PMI'm not gonna lie. I distinctly remember myself and my mates getting into completely unnecessary situations on the road where we quite literally nearly killed people. Our reaction at the time was to laugh at it. I look back in horror at the way we behaved.

There is something about the teenage brain that leads to increased risk-taking.

A Teen's Brain Isn't Fully Developed Until Age 25 (https://paradigmtreatment.com/teens-brain-fully-developed-age/)

Regulation of teenage driving needs to be seriously tightened up. In California they're quite strict.

For the first 12 months after obtaining a provisional license, a teenager is not allowed to have passengers under the age of 20 in the car unless they are accompanied by a licensed driver 25 years or older.

There's also a curfew. Teen drivers with a provisional license are not allowed to drive between 11 pm and 5 am for the first 12 months after obtaining their license.

Teenagers can't use a mobile phone when driving, even with a hands-free device, except in an emergency.

Drink-driving laws for teenagers take a zero-tolerance approach. Teenagers caught driving with any amount of alcohol in their system will face severe consequences, including license suspension and possible criminal charges.
i'd say most of us are guilty of driving faster or more recklessly than we should, especially as teens, but then you do wise up and sometimes it takes a scare or 2 or unfortunately someone you know to be hurt or die in a crash sometimes to wise you up. Think the phone is a massive thing now, the amount of people you see texting and driving is scary, it is a bad habit. 
Post by: clonian on March 25, 2024, 04:30:55 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2024, 04:02:58 PM

So you want to live in a society where we all walk about our streets looking like we just stepped off a building site? Are you serious?

I assume he's talking about people out walking on country roads with no footpath.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 04:40:50 PM
Quote from: clonian on March 25, 2024, 04:30:55 PM

I assume he's talking about people out walking on country roads with no footpath.
You really shouldnt be walking on roads like that without one imo.
Post by: clonian on March 25, 2024, 04:45:59 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 04:40:50 PM

Do you mean you shouldn't walk on a road without a footpath or you should be wearing hi-viz if doing so?
Post by: thewobbler on March 25, 2024, 04:48:56 PM

I walk bendy, hilly country roads every evening for 4-6 miles.

I will have a hi-vis on me if there's any chance at all, that I'll be out during or after dusk.

Why?

Because it requires no effort to do, but makes everyone else's life's easier who is using the same roads. Which means there's less chance of me getting killed.

But I suppose i am a rational person, capable of seeing the bigger picture. Cyclists like yourself Eamon, you're not rational people.
Post by: Applesisapples on March 25, 2024, 04:51:12 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 25, 2024, 12:10:55 PM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on March 25, 2024, 10:19:52 AMIn my view sometimes it takes a close call or a friend/family/community member to unfortunately lose their lives on the roads for it to hit home to young ones what impact driving can have, not even dangerous driving at that. 

I think about this sometimes now when I'm driving as I have certainly changed now that I have gotten older. Now i'm not saying I was a complete tube in my early 20s but I didnt like to be stuck behind someone that I perceived to be crawling. I did have a very near miss while overtaking on a straight section of a country road that I thought I knew well.  A car came out of the hidden dip straight on and I was so lucky to avoid a serious collision. I was in the car by myself too so it isn't as if I was playing the big one to peers.  It certainly put manners on me.

Age has certainly also changed my need to drive on the upper side of the speed limit, and the mythical 10% you are allowed.

The thing that slowed me down is the average fuel consumption gauge. I have noticed also the numbers of speedsters flying past me that I catch up with at the next junction/lights or village.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 05:44:45 PM
Quote from: clonian on March 25, 2024, 04:45:59 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 04:40:50 PM

Do you mean you shouldn't walk on a road without a footpath or you should be wearing hi-viz if doing so?
Well ideally you shouldn't walk in the dark/ near dark on a road with no footpath at all but definitely not without a hi viz. I've had a few near misses with idiots walking in dark clothes.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 05:45:36 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 25, 2024, 04:48:56 PM

I will have a hi-vis on me if there's any chance at all, that I'll be out during or after dusk.

Why?

Because it requires no effort to do, but makes everyone else's life's easier who is using the same roads. Which means there's less chance of me getting killed.

But I suppose i am a rational person, capable of seeing the bigger picture. Cyclists like yourself Eamon, you're not rational people.
Ahh. One of them...
Post by: AustinPowers on March 25, 2024, 05:48:42 PM
Quote from: Applesisapples on March 25, 2024, 04:51:12 PM
Quote from: lurganblue on March 25, 2024, 12:10:55 PM

The thing that slowed me down is the average fuel consumption gauge. I have noticed also the numbers of speedsters flying past me that I catch up with at the next junction/lights or village.

Yeah , that's the thing.  Most journeys people do are  only a  few miles from home. If you  set the shoe down  and fly home , how sooner will  you  arrive? 30 seconds? A minute?  What's the point? 
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 06:31:29 PM
Hard to drive on too much these days with the state of the roads. New pothole every day lol
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 06:42:51 PM
Port Sunday this weekend so you'll see local car culture in all its "glory". Port Sunday, Court Monday.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2024, 08:46:46 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 06:42:51 PMPort Sunday this weekend so you'll see local car culture in all its "glory". Port Sunday, Court Monday.

Christ. Seems like you're absolutely right.

Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 08:54:56 PM
Awk let them be. Wouldnt interest me but theres people that pour serious money into those cars. As long as they're modified safely theres no issue.
Post by: armaghniac on March 25, 2024, 09:03:39 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 08:54:56 PMAwk let them be. Wouldnt interest me but theres people that pour serious money into those cars. As long as they're modified safely theres no issue.

They also need to be driven safely.
Post by: gallsman on March 25, 2024, 09:32:46 PM
They just drive slowly and loudly up and down a street?! Had no idea this was a thing

Plenty of unsafe driving there in the middle of a traffic jam ffs. Imagine what they're like on open roads.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 25, 2024, 09:37:25 PM
In broughshane they do this in tractors...
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 09:38:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 25, 2024, 09:32:46 PMThey just drive slowly and loudly up and down a street?! Had no idea this was a thing
Round and round and round in a lap from Portrush to Portstewart. They'll do donuts and burnouts if the police don't catch them. There was a video last year of some boy revving the shite out of his car whilst some goon had his face up against the exhaust pipe.
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 09:45:55 PM
Eejits lol but not doing any harm. (Obviously like everything there'll be arseholes doing things they shouldn't)
Post by: gallsman on March 25, 2024, 09:49:50 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 09:45:55 PMEejits lol but not doing any harm. (Obviously like everything there'll be arseholes doing things they shouldn't)

There are lads doing controlled launches with another car 25 feet in front of them and then slamming on the brakes.

I'm sure it's all for the cameras though and they behave impeccably otherwise.

Each to their own and all that, and it's certainly not my bag (old man yells at cloud), but towards the end of that video Eamonn posted there's a few lads in a tired looking old flippin' Corsa that appears to have had nothing done to it other than a ludicrous aftermarket change of exhaust. Is this perceived as in some way cool or desirable?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 09:54:01 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 09:45:55 PMEejits lol but not doing any harm. (Obviously like everything there'll be arseholes doing things they shouldn't)
I agree - there are a lot of boys of a similar age doing much worse. The fellas I know that are into this (including cousins) work hard all week and spend their evenings and weekends doing up cars and then showing them at weekends at the Port or other meets. However it is a lot of these same fellas that are driving like eejits and putting others at risk.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 25, 2024, 09:56:49 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on March 25, 2024, 09:38:47 PM
Quote from: gallsman on March 25, 2024, 09:32:46 PMThey just drive slowly and loudly up and down a street?! Had no idea this was a thing
Round and round and round in a lap from Portrush to Portstewart. They'll do donuts and burnouts if the police don't catch them. There was a video last year of some boy revving the shite out of his car whilst some goon had his face up against the exhaust pipe.

Can confirm. Was down yesterday a scoot, plenty revving etc and souped up cars about and as someone said the likes of Easter weekend be bigger again. Few decent motors among all the boy racers. Always been a thing round the Port
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 25, 2024, 10:29:12 PM
These the lads, that put Insurance through the roof?
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on March 25, 2024, 11:15:11 PM
Can't see it helping thats for sure
Post by: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 11:16:44 PM
Or the greedy bastards who run the insurance racket using tragedies like the weekend to bump up prices while making record profits.
Post by: RedHand88 on March 26, 2024, 06:57:25 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 25, 2024, 11:16:44 PMOr the greedy bastards who run the insurance racket using tragedies like the weekend to bump up prices while making record profits.

But crashes do put premiums up. This isn't rocket science.
Post by: marty34 on March 26, 2024, 07:32:30 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 25, 2024, 04:48:56 PM

Why?

But Eamon knows best!

A simple cost effective way to help save lives.

I see agood few people wearing them...but not enough.

The reflective school uniform and school bags stripes is a no-brainer.
Post by: Eire90 on March 26, 2024, 07:32:36 AM
tyrone full of petrolhead types
Post by: marty34 on March 26, 2024, 07:34:59 AM
Quote from: Eire90 on March 26, 2024, 07:32:36 AMtyrone full of petrolhead types

I always thought Donegal would have been bigger.

Is the Donegal rally still going?
Post by: Eire90 on March 26, 2024, 08:17:04 AM
yes every june i think is yeah i think donegal might have an even bigger petrolhead community than tyrone
Post by: lurganblue on March 26, 2024, 08:47:58 AM
bundoran gets a hit every now and then
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 26, 2024, 03:59:50 PM
I see Donegal mentioned quite a bit in the "single vehicle collision" and "thoughts and prayers" reporting that goes around.