Assaults at GAA games

Started by Rudi, September 01, 2022, 11:57:55 AM

Quote from: Rossfan on November 13, 2022, 08:02:42 PM
I hear the soccerball "supporters" were at it in Dublin today!
Did they batter any refs Roscommon style?

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on November 14, 2022, 04:28:35 PM
That maniac with a hurl on the stand, swinging it like a, wikd thing, WTF, Assault with a weapon, unreal,
Was probably a soccer fan pretending to be a GAA fan.

Quote from: laoislad on November 14, 2022, 08:38:21 PM
Ref was pushed not battered.
Enjoy Division 4.

Quote from: Rossfan on November 14, 2022, 08:57:00 PM
Quote from: laoislad on November 14, 2022, 08:38:21 PM
Ref was pushed not battered.
Enjoy Division 4.
Last time I checked Laois were in Division 1...
Oh wait you meant bogball did you? Yeah sorry to burst your bubble, I couldn't give a f**k.
Now maybe if your players showed as much fight against Clare in Croke Park as that man who battered that Ref.. 

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 14, 2022, 05:17:48 PM
Quote from: Bord na Mona man on November 14, 2022, 03:00:55 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 14, 2022, 11:17:25 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on November 14, 2022, 10:20:58 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 14, 2022, 09:43:40 AM
Quote from: Hound on November 14, 2022, 08:36:48 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 13, 2022, 11:18:27 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on November 13, 2022, 10:15:19 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 13, 2022, 08:52:50 PM
The difference is

A. The cops and stewards stepped in.

B. There will be serious repercussions
Seems some of them were even fighting among themselves....

https://m.independent.ie/sport/soccer/league-of-ireland/fans-facing-bans-as-trouble-erupts-in-the-stands-and-outside-aviva-stadium-at-fai-cup-final-42141448.html

Headlines yesterday. Leinster Council awaiting referees report.

Headline today. Fans already banned.

Nobody is arguing that loons go to sport. The isduw is one sport deals with it. One doesn't.
So your taking 'some fans may face bans' as 'fans already banned'
Yep, the guards and stewards took the time to get the name of all the scum that were thrown out of the aviva, and the scum were polite enough to comply with names and addresses. 😝

But they were at least thrown out...

There was also trouble outside the stadium beforehand too

Public Order Unit were on standby,which you would never see at any GAA game

The argument the soccer heads are making, and it has validity, is both the GAA and soccer have a problem. It may manifest slightly differently but the problems exist.

Soccer takes it far more seriously in terms of reaction to and attempting to stop their problems. The GAA don't. The soccer lads problem is that the media and politicians jump all over their incidents and demand action, wheras the GAA just carry on. The GAA factuon that dismissed violence as handbags and part of the culture simply doesn't exist in soccer.

Admittedly what happened in Parnell Park has done that, but it was the most extreme crowd trouble in a while in any code due to the hurl being used and the complete lack of any response from stewards and guards.

Second year in a row that the FAI Cup finals has had scenes like these near the Aviva?
If they are taking it seriously, what action did the FAI take this year to try and stop a repeat?

https://twitter.com/dubslife1/status/1591792542974107648

I'm not sure what the FAI can do here....

The Derry fans were in a pub with some Gardai hanging about, as per. Another group of Guards escorted a march of the Shels pups past them. Some wires definitely seem to have gotten crossed

Maybe the Gardai were just used to policing the auld GAA matches and therefore expected two sets of fans to be able to *walk past each other* without a brawl ensuing?

Throwing shit in all directions, hoping something sticks

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 14, 2022, 05:15:20 PM
Quote from: full moon on November 14, 2022, 03:44:01 PM
I don't know why LOI fans consistently attack GAA when they have their own much worse violence issues.

Plus lots of people support LOI and GAA.

Is it worse though?

Without a doubt.

By your own admission, Gardai made a mistake in asking two groups of opposing fans to walk past each other  ;D - because of the risk of violence.

When said violence duly occurred - you all but blamed the Guards - making yourself exactly the person who (a few posts ago) you said didn't exist in soccer  ::)

Much as you'd love to will it into existence, the GAA simply doesn't have this kind of issue

Eire90

a lot of people that never go to Derry city games or watch them were there same in strabane when tyrone get to semis.

Jeepers Creepers

Maybe the Gardai were just used to policing the auld GAA matches and therefore expected two sets of fans to be able to *walk past each other* without a brawl ensuing?

Throwing shit in all directions, hoping something sticks

Could be as not one guard had a helmet on and all sorts were flying through the air

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Franko on November 14, 2022, 11:00:18 PM
I don't know why LOI fans consistently attack GAA when they have their own much worse violence issues.

Is it worse though?

Without a doubt.

By your own admission, Gardai made a mistake in asking two groups of opposing fans to walk past each other  ;D - because of the risk of violence.

When said violence duly occurred - you all but blamed the Guards - making yourself exactly the person who (a few posts ago) you said didn't exist in soccer  ::)

Much as you'd love to will it into existence, the GAA simply doesn't have this kind of issue

I never said 'it' doesn't exist in soccer. I said violence in that sport also exists but manifests itself differently. The GAA has a different kind of issue.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 15, 2022, 10:06:30 AM

Is it worse though?

Without a doubt.

I never said 'it' doesn't exist in soccer. I said violence in that sport also exists but manifests itself differently. The GAA has a different kind of issue.

Read what I said again

Baile Brigín 2

Quote from: Franko on November 15, 2022, 10:30:56 AM

Is it worse though?

Without a doubt.

Read what I said again

Read what I said. Soccer has a problem, same nonsense in the same spot last year. But that doesn't mean the GAA doesn't have a problem. In fact, why are we even talking about soccer?

We usually talk about soccer because you bring it up.

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 15, 2022, 10:32:17 AM

Is it worse though?

Without a doubt.

Read what I said again

Read what I said. Soccer has a problem, same nonsense in the same spot last year. But that doesn't mean the GAA doesn't have a problem. In fact, why are we even talking about soccer?

Basic comprehension issues

You said "Soccer takes it far more seriously in terms of reaction to and attempting to stop their problems."

When confronted with evidence as to a brawl that occurred (for the second year in a row) when fans *walked past each other* you basically blamed the Gardai for asking the poor innocent fans to walk past each other lol

Doesn't sound like someone taking things 'far more seriously' to me

Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on November 15, 2022, 10:32:17 AM

Is it worse though?

Without a doubt.

Read what I said again

Because fellas on here who bury their heads in the sand and turn a blind eye when it comes to GAA violence like to get all smug about it when it happens in Soccer.
The oh look what the soccer crowd are at again brigade.