Leinster Senior football championship 2024

Started by Blowitupref, April 01, 2024, 09:25:11 PM

Quote from: thejuice on April 14, 2024, 05:22:35 PM21,000 at this game. Leinster Championship is alive and kicking.

Many in Portlaoise yesterday and today?

The one game that might have filled Portlaoise played in Croke Park.

The other Counties should surely have home and away arrangements so that 1 set of supporters wouldn't have to travel.

Quote from: Rossfan on April 14, 2024, 07:38:10 PM
Quote from: thejuice on April 14, 2024, 05:22:35 PM21,000 at this game. Leinster Championship is alive and kicking.

Many in Portlaoise yesterday and today?

The one game that might have filled Portlaoise played in Croke Park.

The other Counties should surely have home and away arrangements so that 1 set of supporters wouldn't have to travel.

Home and away is only a thing in mini provinces.

We all know the Leinster championship has not always been fair or competitive.

But this is the roll of Honour since 2005

Dublin (18) 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023

Meath (1) 2010 and that was an unholy mess.

Two decades of this dominance, and it will only continue.....

Quote from: From the Bunker on April 14, 2024, 10:16:52 PMWe all know the Leinster championship has not always been fair or competitive.

Dublin (18) 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023

what odds that Dublin win the next 10, or 20?

AustinPowers

Paul Flynn says  the likes of Meath and  Kildare  more or less need to get the finger  out if they want to be competitive  ::)

Aye and a few  million quid!

But  nobody  seemed to address that bit on TSG

Quote from: armaghniac on April 14, 2024, 10:22:31 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on April 14, 2024, 10:16:52 PMWe all know the Leinster championship has not always been fair or competitive.

what odds that Dublin win the next 10, or 20?

There is nothing coming. Kildare had a burst in 2017, They scored 1-17 in the Leinster Final v the Dubs. But still lost by 9 points.

Quote from: AustinPowers on April 14, 2024, 10:25:07 PMPaul Flynn says  the likes of Meath and  Kildare  more or less need to get the finger  out if they want to be competitive  ::)

No body addresses that in newspapers, radio, other TV stations and so on. Because Dublin have more than a quarter of the population. You don't want to affect that when it comes to sponsors and advertisers. Plus corporate boxes and other money making outlets have to be kept onside.

Dublin playing all their important games in Croke Park is as logical as Music promoters holding concerts in Dublin, rather than anywhere else in the country, Dublin is where the mass density of people are.

I know Dublin supporters who have never seen Dublin play a game outside of Croke Park.

Quote from: AustinPowers on April 14, 2024, 10:25:07 PMPaul Flynn says  the likes of Meath and  Kildare  more or less need to get the finger  out if they want to be competitive  ::)

Are we back to the "lazy volunteers" argument again....?

onefineday

The Derry county board is notoriously tight fisted, yet have managed to navigate a path to competitiveness.
Meath and Kildare have no excuses for failing to put up a fight to Dublin.

They have more than adequate playing populations, I imagine in the top 10 at worst?

They have facilities aplenty and aren't faced with the issues that many counties have trying to get players down from Dublin for training.

So even if that argument around funds being pumped into Dublin creating this situation had some validity (it doesn't in my experience), it still would not account for the inability of another Leinster team to field 15 players able to compete with 15 dubs at senior level every once in a while.....

Eire90

Dublin would probably beat a rest of leinster team

Quote from: thejuice on April 14, 2024, 06:58:10 PMPerformance Enhancing Drugs.

Tactically we did nothing wrong. There was a lot of positives but there seems to be a gap in terms of strength and conditioning.

Your players kept making unforced errors, continually hand-passing and kicking the ball to Dublin players when under zero pressure, absolutely nothing to do with S&C.

It was clear they did not believe they could beat Dublin. Until that mindset changes they [and the other leinster teams] will stay in the same place.

mup

Leinster is broken. The millions that the Gaa pumped into Dublin is now coming back to bite them in the ass. 21000 at Dublin/Meath game is pathetic. I don't feel one bit sorry for them. In fact I'm delighted fans have decided to vote with their feet.

Quote from: Keyser soze on April 15, 2024, 09:59:16 AM

Tactically we did nothing wrong. There was a lot of positives but there seems to be a gap in terms of strength and conditioning.

Your players kept making unforced errors, continually hand-passing and kicking the ball to Dublin players when under zero pressure, absolutely nothing to do with S&C.

It was clear they did not believe they could beat Dublin. Until that mindset changes they [and the other leinster teams] will stay in the same place.

Disagree. Our players were running out of steam by the end they looked like they could play for another 20 minutes.

Mistakes were made as we got tired. Unless you're a mind reader you can't claim to know the mindset of players. I'm sick of bluffers spouting this shite like they were in the dressing room and all week at training.

It's not mindset. It's coaching. And we've been doing it wrong for about 10 years. These lads have beaten Dublin at Minor and U20's and have Siegerson medals.

Once we get to senior there's a drop off and our promising players development plateaus. It's 100% coaching and S&C.

Quote from: onefineday on April 15, 2024, 12:52:58 AM

The Derry county board is notoriously tight fisted, yet have managed to navigate a path to competitiveness.
Meath and Kildare have no excuses for failing to put up a fight to Dublin.

They have more than adequate playing populations, I imagine in the top 10 at worst?

They have facilities aplenty and aren't faced with the issues that many counties have trying to get players down from Dublin for training.

So even if that argument around funds being pumped into Dublin creating this situation had some validity (it doesn't in my experience), it still would not account for the inability of another Leinster team to field 15 players able to compete with 15 dubs at senior level every once in a while.....

That's not quite a fair comparison.
Derry are competitive now for about 3 seasons - for the previous 25 we were not.
It might just be a purple patch....it'll be 10 years before we know what the landscape of Derry football is really like. We've had a perfect storm of restructuring at CB level, 2/3 exceptional club teams in Slaughtneil, Glen and Magherafelt and a string of strong county minor teams - this didn't happen overnight. Realistically it'll take 10 years for any of the Leinster teams to hit the heights again if they are only starting today. In the noughties when Tyrone/Armagh were lording it in Ulster - Derry were one of the top spenders and it didn't bring success.
It requires the right underage structures and CB structures and funding - and proper governance of that funding so that it's spent on the right things.
It requires players at the top level (which I think Meath actually have - Kildare not so much) and a management team that can focus the players and devise a game plan that works for the players available.
Before Rory Gallagher came into Derry, we were not on the landscape - Meath/Kildare need a Rory Gallagher drive them.

For what it's worth, I thought Meath were decent in the first half until the goal went in, then heads dropped a bit.
They got plenty of turnovers, and frustrated Dublin. They struggled making the right decision in attack. But they looked better than the last time I watched them, so perhaps progress despite the result? Dublin just wore them down I think.

How do we make provinces competitive again - maybe put a spending cap on county boards to level the playing field?
Ulster works (unless you are Antrim/Fermanagh and to a lesser extent Cavan) - what do they do in Ulster that they don't in other provinces?

The complaint used to be it was unfair on teams that they only had one chance and the year could be over, so the back door came in. Then super 8s. Now another iteration with people saying if you want to win an AI it might be better to not contest the provincials and with uncompetitive nature of 3/4 of the provincials there's a call to scrap them. If the the old system was returned, with only provincial winners getting through to AISFs, it adds weight to the provincials, declutters the calendar and 9 times out of 10 the top teams win. The weaker teams are not progressing in the current setup anyway - so why bother with the seeding etc?

What I'm getting at is that there's no perfect solution. Keep messing with structures, the problems just move around. The real question is why are so many counties not progressing or improving? Improve individual counties and the quality of championships improve.
The question of footfall falling is a combination of issues on the inevitability of some games and the costs. With the increased number of games, the cost for a family to attend is pricing many out of it. It doesn't matter if its value for money or not, the cost is still the cost.

Quote from: thejuice on April 15, 2024, 11:15:01 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on April 15, 2024, 09:59:16 AM

Disagree. Our players were running out of steam by the end they looked like they could play for another 20 minutes.

Mistakes were made as we got tired. Unless you're a mind reader you can't claim to know the mindset of players. I'm sick of bluffers spouting this shite like they were in the dressing room and all week at training.

It's not mindset. It's coaching. And we've been doing it wrong for about 10 years. These lads have beaten Dublin at Minor and U20's and have Siegerson medals.

Once we get to senior there's a drop off and our promising players development plateaus. It's 100% coaching and S&C.

Ach come on man, yous gave the ball away under zero pressure a dozen times in the first half and kicked 3 or 4 good point chances into their  keepers hands.

The first thing good coaching does is establish the right mindset.