All Ireland u17 & u20 2022

Started by omagh_gael, April 22, 2022, 04:39:18 PM

full moon

They've given the U20s championship the two fingers, much like they ruined the minor championship putting it to u17. No curtain raisers to senior matches either anymore it seems.

I'm not surprised they didn't do the double header in Croke Park with Kildare seniors. Would love justification from Central committee on these decisions but GAA don't do transparency.

full moon

They've shafted so much of the football and hurling competitions with awful scheduling, promotion, and formats.

Imagine how bad it's going to get when they merge with the LGFA and Camoige associations and they have to be accommodated. They'll demand peak scheduling times and equality treatment.

Quote from: Main Street on May 09, 2022, 10:33:43 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 09, 2022, 02:35:31 PM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on May 08, 2022, 09:57:55 PM
Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 08, 2022, 09:55:36 PM
Tyrone lads, ye hardly fancy Croker on Sunday...
Joking aside would that be an option?

Already pencilled in for Breffni Park on Saturday next at 5pm, I believe.
It will be played in páirc Seán Mac Diarmada in Carrick-on-Shannon at 5pm.
Why not Croker?  the u20 AI final is a showpiece game, deserves the full royal treatment, not to be shafted to the sidelines. Last year's game was superb.
Don't know and it never seemed to be in the running to host it. 

You would have to say the people currently running the gaa are either incredibly clueless or want to ruin inter county gaa.

Change after change in recent years and none of them for the better. Messing about with minors by changing the age and then removing it as curtain raisers to the senior games. There is no logic in this and takes away the prestige of playing underage football for your county. Instead of being watched by thousands the games are now played out in front of a few hundred people maximum with little or no coverage.

Then you have the scheduling of this u20 final. A great opportunity to put the final in croke park and get a decent Kildare support in. Instead they seem to be trying to get the lowest attendance possible. Scheduling it for 5pm on a Saturday and then charging 25 euro in to a game on tv is a crazy call. Never mind picking Leitrim as the venue which is handy for no one.

At senior level next years format is the most ridiculous they could have came up with. Currently there are too many warm up games in the calendar. Currently you have pre season games which are a warm up for the league which itself is a warm up for the championship. None of the games mean anything in the grand scheme of the season. Instead of trying to link the league to the championship they have come up with this crazy format of keeping it and then playing a provincial championship which will become redundant as you will get to the same place in the championship anyway. Then after that you have group stages with only 1 team out of 4 getting elimated.

Onthe40

agree on the youth piece at least..shambolic decision to play that game in Leitrim..

full moon

Another absurd decision by the mysterious Central Competition Control Commitee. Where nobody knows who is on the commitee and we can only guess from newspaper reports.

Democracy GAA style.

What wrong with playing it in Navan?

I'd imagine neither team wanted to play in the other's Province?

Redhand Santa

Quote from: Rossfan on May 10, 2022, 12:34:24 PM

Isn't a factor at senior level and Kildare already played a semi final in Cavan so presumably would have been happy to go back there for a final.

They played a Connacht team at an Ulster venue.

Cavan19

Quote from: Rossfan on May 10, 2022, 12:34:24 PM

Aw here that's hardly an issue.

Finals should be played in Croke park. Double or triple them up with ladies or other underage fixtures in other codes. This isn't difficult the GAA just make it so.

God14

Quote from: trailer on May 10, 2022, 03:13:36 PM
Finals should be played in Croke park. Double or triple them up with ladies or other underage fixtures in other codes. This isn't difficult the GAA just make it so.

Exactly

It wouldnt have done any harm spacing it out another week either

Tyrone GAA should protest against this insult, Croke Park or No Park.

Needed both teams to request Croke Park for it even to be considered. Tyrone did not make the request as I understand it. Ticket prices for fans would presumably be more expensive as part of the triple bill.

But it's rare for the U20/21 final to be played in Croker.