The Official Euro 2016 Thread

Started by laoislad, May 22, 2016, 12:34:16 PM

Have yis heard Ireland's official Euros song yet?

It's no "Put 'Em Under Pressure" that's for sure.

Sounds like a Eurovision entry alright.

Although there's some good bits of commentary laced throughout it, and some Bill O at the end.  Chorus is shite though.  Doubt it'll get sung in the stands.

the commercialism of the big soccer tournaments is sickening

There's a lot that sickens or annoys you seafoid. You need to chill out a bit. I never met such a wound up man from west of the Shannon :)

No great surprise I suppose, but Marc Wilson confirms he won't be fit for Euros.  Antrim still well represented by OWC of course

Quote from: AQMP on May 23, 2016, 04:51:28 PM
No great surprise I suppose, but Marc Wilson confirms he won't be fit for Euros.  Antrim still well represented by OWC of course
I'd say we'll cope alright without him.....

Quote from: laoislad on May 23, 2016, 04:55:45 PM

I'd say we'll be struggling to cope with or without him

Brick Tamlin

Why do you show such an obvious disdain for all things associated with The North.
After a while you come across a bit of a p***k to be fair.

Quote from: Brick Tamlin on May 23, 2016, 05:02:49 PM

Why do you show such an obvious disdain for all things associated with The North.
After a while you come across a bit of a p***k to be fair.
Bit over sensitive there are you?
I don't care where he's from. He's not a very good player imo.

Quote from: BennyCake on May 22, 2016, 01:23:08 PM
Belgium, me hole.

They're totally over rated. They'll be nowhere near winning it. There's only 2 contenders for me: Germany and Spain. I think Germany will win it though

Spain's preliminary 25 man squad has named forwards Pedro (Chelsea) Morata (Juventus), Nolito, a 29 year old who plays for Celta Vigo and 35 year old Aduriz of Bilbao.  Pedro isn't an out and out goalscorer, OK, Morata is a prospect but the other two aren't exactly household names.  I'd worry about where the goals might come from.

Brick Tamlin

Not sensitive but its noticeable that every other comment you make on the board usually has a snide remark or slant of that kind.
Not referring specifically to Wilson but in general.
Gets tiresome. But work away if that's how ye get your kicks.

R o Oireland could be looking at a repeat of 2012.
They should cut the numbers for the finals down by half to avoid such embarrassment. I think Europe had 31 countries in 1988 when we made the last 8. Now there are 55 countries. Most of the new ones are shite at soccer, with some honourable exceptions. The group stages are a joke.

JPGJOHNNYG

The new song gets better the more you here it. It was dog turd first time round. Dont know why they dont just make up to date lyrics for the game the memories.

michaelg

Quote from: seafoid on May 23, 2016, 05:26:04 PM
R o Oireland could be looking at a repeat of 2012.
They should cut the numbers for the finals down by half to avoid such embarrassment. I think Europe had 31 countries in 1988 when we made the last 8. Now there are 55 countries. Most of the new ones are shite at soccer, with some honourable exceptions. The group stages are a joke.
The Republic would not have qualiied had that been the case.