Enda Kenny steps down

Started by Gabriel_Hurl, May 17, 2017, 04:46:19 PM

Quote from: Captain Scarlet on May 18, 2017, 07:03:08 PM
Fair play on the story of him delivering the key and he genuinely seems like a decent man, but as was pointed in that piece by Callan, he had a serious majority and could have done more.
This is a genuine question in terms of the economic recovery. Did Enda and Co not just follow orders from the Troika? There seems to be a story everywhere from within friendly media and FG that he ran the Troika out of town...
The economy recovered thanks to Draghi's Quantitative Easing which got the bond yields down. There is still way too much debt and there was no reform. The recovery included another stupid housing bubble.
When the next crash comes the country will be right in the middle of it.

Avondhu star

Quote from: foxcommander on May 18, 2017, 08:04:45 PM
A gobshite Taoiseach for a gobshite people. Freestaters got what they voted for.

You're the one with the inside knowledge of gobshitery
Lee Harvey Oswald , your country needs you

The Subbie

Quote from: Syferus on May 18, 2017, 02:24:56 PM
Quote from: The Subbie on May 18, 2017, 01:35:20 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/oliver-callan-why-i-won-t-miss-the-accidental-taoiseach-1.3085369?mode=amp

This is an ample epitaph for Enda the spoofer.

Callan isn't good at comedy, nevermind trying to be serious.

Care to point out what parts are factually incorrect ?

Or is this like the hunting thread where you disappear as soon as it's put up to you?

Quote from: The Subbie on May 18, 2017, 10:46:07 PM
https://www.irishtimes.com/opinion/oliver-callan-why-i-won-t-miss-the-accidental-taoiseach-1.3085369?mode=amp

Or is this like the hunting thread where you disappear as soon as it's put up to you?

Too many people on forums mistake lack of interest with lack of ammunition.

foxcommander

Quote from: Avondhu star on May 18, 2017, 09:03:03 PM
Quote from: foxcommander on May 18, 2017, 08:04:45 PM
A gobshite Taoiseach for a gobshite people. Freestaters got what they voted for.

You're the one with the inside knowledge of gobshitery

Top notch retort. You're a witty lad.
Every second of the day there's a Democrat telling a lie

The Subbie

Quote from: Syferus on May 18, 2017, 10:58:06 PM

Or a simple lack of knowledge??

In any case please outline where Callan was factually incorrect please?
I'm genuinely curious

Callans article is nail on the head stuff. Kenny was a nothing Taoiseach with a really disastrous Minister for Finance. The only thing in his favour is that he may just have been better than his two predecessors who are possibly the two worst taoisigh in the history of the State.

Kenny and Noonan going is a good day but they've caused a lot of damage.

Quote from: Syferus on May 18, 2017, 10:58:06 PM

You seemed to have it the other way around with Tyrone's U21 AI a wile back

So I presume its Varadkar as successor then?

Whats the deal with Coveney dont really know much about him? Seems more like traditional FG stock than his rival, apart from getting expelled from Clongones Woods  :o

Quote from: magpie seanie on May 19, 2017, 05:33:22 AM
Callans article is nail on the head stuff. Kenny was a nothing Taoiseach with a really disastrous Minister for Finance. The only thing in his favour is that he may just have been better than his two predecessors who are possibly the two worst taoisigh in the history of the State.

Bang on seanie.

I don't have much time for him, but I have to admit he steadied the ship

He could have stood up to Europe a bit more, but in hindsight he did do a lot of diplomatic work in the EU and they will be hopefully be helping us out with this Brexit mess

Noonan has been an excellent Minister for Finance in my opinion. Do you remember the state of the economy when he took office? Do you recognise the state of it today?

The Subbie

Quote from: Tubberman on May 19, 2017, 08:34:42 AM

Noonan has been an excellent Minister for Finance in my opinion. Do you remember the state of the economy when he took office? Do you recognise the state of it today?

Vulture funds running wild with no control on them whatsoever, homelessness rampant , property bubble Vers. 2 being pumped and primed by all and sundry as if the years 2008-2013 never happened, national debt growing out of control entirely, yes Noonan has been great hasn't he , it says so in the Sunday independent so it must be true.  ::)

Jaysus you mayo boys are true Fine Gaelers...maybe that's the answer to the AI woes, change the jersey colours to blue!!

The Subbie

Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on May 19, 2017, 09:51:36 AM
Jaysus you mayo boys are true Fine Gaelers...maybe that's the answer to the AI woes, change the jersey colours to blue!!

It's posts like this that need a like button !!!
A parochial crowd the aul Mayo blueshirts are aren't they !!!
But the again wasn't Enda a fierce man for the parochial pump  :o ;D 8)