Started by here comes 6, September 27, 2012, 08:37:09 PM

Quote from: screenexile on November 19, 2015, 11:40:14 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 19, 2015, 10:49:09 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on November 19, 2015, 10:45:31 PM
Quote from: INDIANA on November 19, 2015, 09:59:07 PM
Quote from: J70 on November 19, 2015, 08:08:39 PM
All of that stuff was in place long before McGuinness. Christ, Ger Loughnane was putting Clare hurlers through the torturous training 20 years ago. And people have been complaining for years about club championships being put on hold for the county team. As for the funding, McGuinness raised the money himself for the team. It was the only way to get the players together for proper training and nights before games as the CB didnt have it. And given some of the gobshites on the Donegal CB and their disgraceful treatment of various senior county managers and candidates over the years, not just Jim himself, I wouldn't blame him for his antipathy towards them.

No it wasn't please don't distort the facts. There has never been any team that has been pushed into the ground like the Donegal team Mc Guinness trained. And please don't insult professional sports scientists by saying it was a professional athlete's regime. It wasn't- you wouldn't train a cart-horse as much as he ran lads into the ground.

He took a team going nowhere to the holy grail ffs.. It was scientific enough!

Big deal- he had a professional Gaelic Football team- it was the minumum expected

**Cough Cough**

Yeah says the Dub with all the money, population, and the high performance centre and only 4 paltry All Ireland's in 30 plus years!!!

Your level of begrudgery towards Donegal knows no bounds Indiana get over it they won't be a threat to you lads again it looks like you've finally pulled the fingers out of your holes for the first time in those 30 odd years!!!

Our lads work for a living . Very few of his did. Let's stick to the facts .

Quote from: INDIANA on November 19, 2015, 11:44:07 PM
All of that stuff was in place long before McGuinness. Christ, Ger Loughnane was putting Clare hurlers through the torturous training 20 years ago. And people have been complaining for years about club championships being put on hold for the county team. As for the funding, McGuinness raised the money himself for the team. It was the only way to get the players together for proper training and nights before games as the CB didnt have it. And given some of the gobshites on the Donegal CB and their disgraceful treatment of various senior county managers and candidates over the years, not just Jim himself, I wouldn't blame him for his antipathy towards them.

No it wasn't please don't distort the facts. There has never been any team that has been pushed into the ground like the Donegal team Mc Guinness trained. And please don't insult professional sports scientists by saying it was a professional athlete's regime. It wasn't- you wouldn't train a cart-horse as much as he ran lads into the ground.

Big deal- he had a professional Gaelic Football team- it was the minumum expected

**Cough Cough**

Yeah says the Dub with all the money, population, and the high performance centre and only 4 paltry All Ireland's in 30 plus years!!!

Your level of begrudgery towards Donegal knows no bounds Indiana get over it they won't be a threat to you lads again it looks like you've finally pulled the fingers out of your holes for the first time in those 30 odd years!!!

Seriously Indiana my sides are sore here please stop!!

**Cough Cough**

God I love a good fact!!

Cluxton - Teacher
McMahon - Fitness Coach (work? Lol)
O'Carroll - Student (He's twenty f**king five come on!)
Fitzsimons - Proper job
McCaffrey - Student
O'Sullivan - Proper job
McCarthy - Student (another middle aged student)
Bastick - Proper job
Fenton - Student (I'm sensing a theme here)
Connolly - Proper job
Kilkenny - Student
Flynn - Proper job
Brogan- "Entrepreneur" (interesting and mysterious)
Rock - Student
Andrews - Proper job

6 proper jobs out of the starting 15

Subs:
McManamon - Proper job
McCauley - Student
Cooper - Student
Small - Student
Daly - Proper job
Brogan- Proper job

3/6 on the subs

At least another 9 of the panel also students!!!

Beffs

Screenexile - Where are you getting these Dublin players job "facts" from?

Brian Fenton isn't a student. He is a physiotherapist in the Mater Hospital. As you can clearly see from his Twitter account, when he got to bring Sam into work one day.

Rory O'Carroll is a social worker, as covered by an article in the Indo, which covered his bringing Sam into a homeless shelter, that he does work in.

Brogan is a fully qualified chartered accountant, who worked for FGS for years, before setting up his own business, a couple of years ago.

MDMA is a teacher and works in a primary school in Rathfarnham.

McMahon counts Shamrock Rovers as one of the clients that he has been hired to do your "lol" fitness coaching for.

If you want to portray them all as a bunch of playboy students with faux "jobs" on the side, you are going to have to try a wee bit harder.

Quote from: Beffs on November 20, 2015, 01:11:16 AM

Brian Fenton isn't a student. He is a physiotherapist in the Mater Hospital. As you can clearly see from his Twitter account, when he got to bring Sam into work one day.

Rory O'Carroll is a social worker, as covered by an article in the Indo, which covered his bringing Sam into a homeless shelter, that he does work in.

Brogan is a fully qualified chartered accountant, who worked for FGS for years, before setting up his own business, a couple of years ago.

McMahon counts Shamrock Rovers as one of the clients that he has been hired to do your "lol" fitness coaching for.

If you want to portray them all as a bunch of playboy students with faux "jobs" on the side, you are going to have to try a wee bit harder.

Fenton only graduated a few weeks ago so was a student last season!

O'Carroll fair enough but Wikipedia and the Dubs website both have him as a student.

Brogan is listed as an 'Entrepreneur' on the Dubs site as well.

MDMA is listed as a student teacher but what of it he still has summer off to concentrate on football!!

You can get into semantics if you want but the point still stands that the majority of the Dublin team do not have full time all year round employment. Most definitely Donegal had at least as many of not more lads working full time than the Dubs currently do

**Cough Cough**

You Dubs are like big weans. You know the scales are so unbelievably tipped in your favour, yet you take every opportunity to go on the ultra defensive..But..... But.... But.... Everything has been handed to your county on a plate and yet the return in the last 20/30 years is truly scant. It has all changed now though, all the pieces of this very lop sided jigsaw puzzle are in place. So sit back and enjoy the conveyor belt of Sams. Just hope it doesn't get boring for ye  ;)

The level of training and commitment has been building up for years. If McGuinness hadn't pushed it on another notch, another county would have (and they have). It's the way it's been going.

QuoteOur lads work are employed for a living

Let's stick to the facts

Quote from: Tony Baloney on November 19, 2015, 11:09:49 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on November 19, 2015, 08:38:02 PM
Agree with J70. He's not been doing anything revolutionary in relation to asking the limit from players. Miko was doing it in the 70's and early 80's. McGuinness does not play the nice/fun guy to the media. JMG is a driven man. And this comes across in interviews and general comments. He does not do small talk and the GAA world like small talk. Ger Loughnane could do small talk. Sean Boylan could do small talk. Miko was the king of small talk.

Anyway back to JMG. Winning the AI in 2012 was no fluke. The systems and belief were put in place by McGuinness.
He was never driven enough to get himself a proper job before the age of 30.

In fact he never had a job before the age of 40. Celtic is his first full time salary. How he managed from 30 (when he left college) to 40 I don't know. Mystery.

Quote from: screenexile on November 20, 2015, 01:38:48 AM

O'Carroll fair enough but Wikipedia and the Dubs website both have him as a student.

MDMA is listed as a student teacher but what of it he still has summer off to concentrate on football!!

You can get into semantics if you want but the point still stands that the majority of the Dublin team do not have full time all year round employment. Most definitely Donegal had at least as many of not more lads working full time than the Dubs currently do

You didn't even know Fenton was working . several of the Donegal weren't even students . They had no job , no college course and were ahem " looked after". Now run along

Quote from: INDIANA on November 20, 2015, 05:25:07 PM

You didn't even know Fenton was working . several of the Donegal weren't even students . They had no job , no college course and were ahem " looked after". Now run along

"Several"?

Ryan Bradley was out of work (not uncommon in a place like Donegal were many of us have had to leave for that very reason, even in the good times) and ended up having to leave the sqyad and emigrate. I remember  Neil Gallagher, I think, losing his job at one point, not sure for how long. Who else?

The key here is,  an emigration and employment ravaged rural county like Donegal,  lead by Mcguinness,  with the help of a few business men won the AI against all odds.  There's a chance they may not ( like the vast majority of counties)  win Sam again. The type of investment needed is not sustainable in virtually all counties with the exception of Dublin,  maybe Kerry with Kerry Gold. Dublin will never want for the type of cash needed to win Sam.  That's a fact.  The rest will go door to door,  run competitions,  ask supporters to debit a £10 / month,  have a shirt sponsor giving a few thousand / season. This is just to be competitive without really having a snowballs chance in hell of winning the darn thing. Dublin,  the swipe of a pen and the coffers are bursting.  It's not even in the realm of being a fair contest. 

Quote from: JoG2 on November 20, 2015, 06:16:59 PM

The key here is,  an emigration and employment ravaged rural county like Donegal,  lead by Mcguinness,  with the help of a few business men won the AI against all odds.  There's a chance they may not ( like the vast majority of counties)  win Sam again. The type of investment needed is not sustainable in virtually all counties with the exception of Dublin,  maybe Kerry with Kerry Gold. Dublin will never want for the type of cash needed to win Sam.  That's a fact.  The rest will go door to door,  run competitions,  ask supporters to debit a £10 / month,  have a shirt sponsor giving a few thousand / season. This is just to be competitive without really having a snowballs chance in hell of winning the darn thing. Dublin,  the swipe of a pen and the coffers are bursting.  It's not even in the realm of being a fair contest.

Our players work for a living too. Despite all the mud that's thrown at them- it's the other counties who swing the lead with largely professional athletes on their roster. The fact that they are no good in a lot of cases is not our fault.

The training Donegal did in one season would be a 3 year professional athlete workload. I'm not surprised the players were all out of work- i don't know how you could hold down a job training like a Navy SEAL. But Jim got what he wanted out of it. Fame to boost the ego. The players will all be on first name terms with the orthopaedic surgeons in the Sports Surgery Clinic in their 40's . That's for sure

Jim's Donegal really spanked Dublin that joyful day.

Quote from: Main Street on November 20, 2015, 11:04:46 PM
Jim's Donegal really spanked Dublin that joyful day.

True but they won the same as we did that year.

Nothing. ;D

Bit like Monaghan every year