Official Gooners Thread - A New Hope

Started by Dinny Breen, November 10, 2006, 09:10:06 AM

It must be a personal thing then. I could say that 10 years ago with Tyrone, Arsenal and whoever else it affected me. Whether it was fatherhood, wising up or realising these fcukers are earning millions and don't really give a shit (not Tyrone I think), I'm only annoyed for about 5 minutes before re-focusing on more important things.

Quote from: ONeill on February 17, 2017, 03:57:33 PM
It must be a personal thing then. I could say that 10 years ago with Tyrone, Arsenal and whoever else it affected me. Whether it was fatherhood, wising up or realising these fcukers are earning millions and don't really give a shit (not Tyrone I think), I'm only annoyed for about 5 minutes before re-focusing on more important things.

Yeah, I tell myself to cop on, and I'm grand, but either way, I'd prefer them to win 1-0 rather than play brilliant football and lose 4-3.

Winning 4-3 is ideal :)

And I'm contradicting myself by getting annoyed at the current state of affairs.

See. See what The Professor has done to us?

Quote from: AZOffaly on February 17, 2017, 04:02:53 PM

Yeah, I tell myself to cop on, and I'm grand, but either way, I'd prefer them to win 1-0 rather than play brilliant football and lose 4-3.

I'm with you on winning being all that counts when the game is on but like ONeill I (nowadays) shrug off any defeat with ease and 5 minutes later its gone. I sometimes have a read on here and laugh at the annoyance some people carry around for days (weeks, months even for some people)

The Stallion

Amazing how angry people get over what is after all only a game.

As a Liverpool supporter I'd take Arsenal's years of great football with no trophies to show for it over the 2005 Champions League and years of awful football under Rafa, Hodgson, Dalglish, Rodgers and Klopp any day.

Winning trophies is second to quality entertaining football for me. Both together is the ultimate goal of course.

Quote from: Boycey on February 17, 2017, 04:09:14 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 17, 2017, 04:02:53 PM

I'm with you on winning being all that counts when the game is on but like ONeill I (nowadays) shrug off any defeat with ease and 5 minutes later its gone. I sometimes have a read on here and laugh at the annoyance some people carry around for days (weeks, months even for some people)

Don't get me wrong, I don't go around cursing at the wife and kids or anything, but I definitely am pissed off more than I should be about a team from a city that I visit once or twice a year :)

Not just you. I'd imagine it happens to most.

I thoroughly enjoy when Liverpool play well and win, and I enjoy reading about it and watching the highlights of the games again while exercising and so on. I get frustrated as f**k watching them when they're shite, but the minute its over, I shrug it off. If Liverpool f**king up is the worst thing to happen to me that week, it'll have been a very good week. Basically, its a hobby to be either savoured or forgotten about, depending on how it goes. Its not real life.

I'd have a similar enough attitude to the Donegal county team as well, although there is obviously more of a personal connection when you come from and, in some cases, know the people involved (or at least their families).

Wouldn't mind seeing a Sutton goal here. They were 25-1 after all...

Plenty of nice 1-2s but a dearth of technical skill you'd expect from Arsenal players.

Was hoping he'd wash her down with a stout.

Quote from: Minder on February 20, 2017, 09:58:13 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 20, 2017, 09:40:51 PM
The big lad munching the pie has the right idea.

"Banter" staged by the S*n

The Sun is pretty good for soccer coverage in fairness.