Monaghan v Derry USFC SF Sunday May15th 16.00

Started by Main Street, May 02, 2022, 04:24:44 PM

upmonaghansayswe

Was Brolly A Tool the last time Monaghan played Derry?

restorepride

Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on May 09, 2022, 04:25:48 PM
Yes - but no more than Dick Clerkin was.

Derry Optimist

In the press over the years successive Monaghan County teams have always  been portrayed as the great overachievers.This simplistic statement  is rather unfair as it hides the undoubted fact that every Monaghan player has always given his utmost for his team on the field of play.The current team and their loyal supporters have always done likewise. Given their size this is a phenomenal achievement.

By the same token, over the same period, Derry have been looked upon as the great under achievers.Again this is not entirely accurate as there were often real mitigating factors which hastened Derry's hasty descent into Division Four of the League. Slaughtneil's outstanding achievements at Provincial and All Ireland club level,in two codes, meant that at least a third of the starting fifteen were missing from the Derry County team for most of the league.An inintended cosequence of their success was that because the County had to field a weakened team especially in defence, they suffered the humiliation of rapid,successive  relegations.

Having watched Derry develop as  a well organised and competitive team very significantly under Rory Gallagher, I have no doubt that the Divisional gap between both teams, for the last seven years,has narrowed to such an extent that Sunday's encounter can be justifiably termed as a a fifty fifty contest.Hopefully, when the final whistle is blown next Sunday in the Athletic grounds Derry's resurrection will be complete and we will all be celebrating a famous victory.

Quote from: Derry Optimist on May 09, 2022, 09:10:56 PM
In the press over the years successive Monaghan County teams have always  been portrayed as the great overachievers.This simplistic statement  is rather unfair as it hides the undoubted fact that every Monaghan player has always given his utmost for his team on the field of play.The current team and their loyal supporters have always done likewise. Given their size this is a phenomenal achievement.

By the same token, over the same period, Derry have been looked upon as the great under achievers.Again this is not entirely accurate as there were often real mitigating factors which hastened Derry's hasty descent into Division Four of the League. Slaughtneil's outstanding achievements at Provincial and All Ireland club level,in two codes, meant that at least a third of the starting fifteen were missing from the Derry County team for most of the league.An inintended cosequence of their success was that because the County had to field a weakened team especially in defence, they suffered the humiliation of rapid,successive  relegations.

Having watched Derry develop as  a well organised and competitive team very significantly under Rory Gallagher, I have no doubt that the Divisional gap between both teams, for the last seven years,has narrowed to such an extent that Sunday's encounter can be justifiably termed as a a fifty fifty contest.Hopefully, when the final whistle is blown next Sunday in the Athletic grounds Derry's resurrection will be complete and we will all be celebrating a famous victory.

Very well written and thoughtful post.

Derry have improved but we don't have the more natural scoring forwards that Monaghan, Donegal, Galway, Kerry even Roscommon have. They are a few players not playing county fball I have in the Derry panel but there attitude likely can't match what's required. Hopefully a few of the Downeys and Murray increase scoring power in the nxt few years.

Quote from: upmonaghansayswe on May 09, 2022, 04:25:48 PM
2009 was  annus horribleness, to get beaten once by Derry was bad enough but to get beaten twice was a horror revisited.
Thank feck there's no Paddy Bradley this time around.

toby47

Quote from: Wildweasel74 on May 09, 2022, 09:48:23 PM
Derry have improved but we don't have the more natural scoring forwards that Monaghan, Donegal, Galway, Kerry even Roscommon have. They are a few players not playing county fball I have in the Derry panel but there attitude likely can't match what's required. Hopefully a few of the Downeys and Murray increase scoring power in the nxt few years.

Names please

Estimator

Both sides will have their work cut out with the matchups.

Monaghan will be looking at curbing the scoring threat of McGuigan, but maybe more concerned about the runners from defence - Rogers, Doherty and McKinless. I'd suggest that McKinless might be the man targeted for some close attention.

Derry will be very worried about a ff line that scored 14pts the last day out against Down, and had 11 different scorers that day. I think Monaghan's entire fb line got on the score sheet as well.

Derry scored 1-18 against Tyrone.
Monaghan scored 0-23 against Down.

So this game will probably end up something like 0-12 v 0-09 :o
Ulster League Champions 2009

God14

Stand tickets sold out
weather forecast favourable
Interest has peaked in Derry / see schools doing the red & white days
Huge neutral interest in this one
Id say we could get close to a sell out here?

Estimator

Quote from: God14 on May 11, 2022, 12:04:17 PM
Stand tickets sold out

Looks like the stand and the opposite covered terrace are sold out.
Can only get tickets for the terraces behind the goals now.
Ulster League Champions 2009

Always said a strong AI needs a good Derry team in it 😉😃

Stand tickets sold out

No-one does a bandwagon like us. Plenty of new jersey wearers about the town the last couple of weeks. If we did win on Sat, Clones will be a sea of red and white! Up Derry

The red/white days in schools are great BTW.

I mind when Armagh win Ulster in 99, it stopped a 17 year wait. Some jubilant crowd that day in Armagh. Fantastic to see. I can't see Derry doing that if we win even though it would be 24 years.

Mind you, Jesus it seems we are world beaters. We won one game against a shite Tyrone team. Give it a bit of time lads.

Quote from: Estimator on May 11, 2022, 12:56:46 PM
Stand tickets sold out

Be careful where you stand there, there are no nets behind the goals and you could get a clatter of the ball.

Quote from: armaghniac on May 11, 2022, 02:24:00 PM
Quote from: Estimator on May 11, 2022, 12:56:46 PM
Stand tickets sold out

Be careful where you stand there, there are no nets behind the goals and you could get a clatter of the ball.

We always stand behind the goals when possible as the kids want a chance and catching a ball!  ;D