Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Eamonnca1 on March 07, 2018, 12:27:17 AM

Title: Formula 1
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 07, 2018, 12:27:17 AM
Any fans on here?

I thought it was a bit dull during the Schumacher years, and the year when the Mercedes Silver Arrows were ahead of the pack was a bit predictable. Seems to be a bit tighter now though. Merc and Ferrari are a bit closer in standard. Will be interesting to see if Red Bull can close the gap. McLaren has gone to the dogs but there's hope of a comeback this year. Hamilton and Vettel seem to have a nice little rivalry going.

I think I might pay it a bit of attention. Could be a better use of time than watching pro cycling where the result is always in doubt even years after the fact because of doping.
Title: Re: Formula 1
Post by: LooseCannon on March 07, 2018, 07:36:00 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 07, 2018, 12:27:17 AM
Any fans on here?

I thought it was a bit dull during the Schumacher years, and the year when the Mercedes Silver Arrows were ahead of the pack was a bit predictable. Seems to be a bit tighter now though. Merc and Ferrari are a bit closer in standard. Will be interesting to see if Red Bull can close the gap. McLaren has gone to the dogs but there's hope of a comeback this year. Hamilton and Vettel seem to have a nice little rivalry going.

I think I might pay it a bit of attention. Could be a better use of time than watching pro cycling where the result is always in doubt even years after the fact because of doping.

I used to think that it was boring, but after looking at one race for a while, I was and still am glued to it.
Forza Ferrari!
Post by: sensethetone on March 07, 2018, 08:12:35 AM
First F1 grand prix I watched Senna was killed, although the race resumed I wanted the Ferrari's to win but Schumacher won I think. From then on the BBC coverage was all Damon Hill vs Schumacher which converted me to a Schumacher fan. last year certainly seemed like the gap between the top two was closing, think Mercedes probably are ahead.
Anyone on a F1 fantasy league?
Post by: GJL on March 07, 2018, 08:53:05 AM
I think it will be tighter this year and also think/hope Vettel will win the Championship. It should of been a lot closer last year only for him loosing his head in a few races mid season. Would also be a big fan of Alonso and would love to see him in a competitive car. IMO he is the most talented driver on the grid..
Post by: trailer on March 07, 2018, 09:12:21 AM
Agree Alonso is the most talented driver. Would love to see Red Bull make a real push this year. Thoughts on the Toro Roso and their switch to Honda? The engine looks more reliable this year.

McLaren don't seem to have made any reliability gains even with the switch to Renault? Surely it's not McLaren's fault. We were led to believe they had one of the best chassis last year and it was all Honda's fault......  :o
Post by: Hound on March 07, 2018, 01:17:19 PM
Verstappen and his Aussie team mate are my favourites. Presume they haven't moved?

I watch most of the races, but would always record and watch later rather than watch live. I'd always watch the Brundle pit walk, and then first 2 laps. Then fast forward through the rest of the race, back to normal speed around the time of the pit stops.

Easy Sunday afternoon viewing. Helps pass the time so I don't have to watch the soccer live and so can fast forward through that.
Post by: Windmill abu on March 07, 2018, 03:27:41 PM
Alonzo has been the most talented driver. But he seems to have become a bit jaded during his time at McLaren. I think his ambitions lie elsewhere in the motor racing world. The most talented of the younger drivers is Verstappen. I admire his loyalty to Red Bull but I can see him winning several world championships in the future behind the wheel of the prancing horse.
I hope the new HALO systems introduced this year don't take away from the excitement. (It's Health & Safety gone mad let me tell you)
Post by: illdecide on March 07, 2018, 03:56:36 PM
I used to love the sport but have fallen by the wayside...the days of Eddie Irvine, Schumacher etc was great. Eddie would have taken out anyone, was dangerous. The refueling was great as someone always made a cockup but they took that out of it too, very boring now but maybe things have changed now as it's been a few years from i actually watched a race live.
Used to love playing the F1 on the playstation...
Post by: GJL on March 07, 2018, 04:02:32 PM
Quote from: illdecide on March 07, 2018, 03:56:36 PM
I used to love the sport but have fallen by the wayside...the days of Eddie Irvine, Schumacher etc was great. Eddie would have taken out anyone, was dangerous. The refueling was great as someone always made a cockup but they took that out of it too, very boring now but maybe things have changed now as it's been a few years from i actually watched a race live.
Used to love playing the F1 on the playstation...

Biggest sin of all is that they are taking away the grid girls! :'( :'(
Post by: Rich Ricci on March 07, 2018, 04:11:06 PM
Always been a fan of Ferrari so hoping Vettel can secure their 1st title since 2007. Can't stand that p***k Hamilton either so that would be another bonus to a Vettel victory.  ;D
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 07, 2018, 05:29:55 PM
I quite like this Daniel Ricciardo fella, would like to see him progressing. 

One to watch could be the rookie Charles Leclerc. I recently watched him nailing it in the F2 World Championship in 2017 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z7yhzysphIg) and he seems to be a very talented fella. Racing with Sauber this year, will be interesting to see if any rainy days help him out. He's only 20.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 07, 2018, 06:27:39 PM
From a racing point of view, F2 is more racing than F1 for me. 
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 07, 2018, 07:16:58 PM
There's some great Formula Ford stuff on YouTube too. Very interesting to see how that wheel-to-wheel racing looks from the driver's POV.

Speaking of YouTube, F1 has their own YouTube channel and there's some great stuff in there! Check out the funny team radio compilations!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 07, 2018, 07:38:34 PM
Quote from: Windmill abu on March 07, 2018, 03:27:41 PM
I hope the new HALO systems introduced this year don't take away from the excitement. (It's Health & Safety gone mad let me tell you)

I'm willing to give it a chance. Sure the first wings in F1 were ugly as sin, but it's hard to imagine the cars without them now.

(https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Bpr90PRCQAA0xRh.jpg)

And what if we had better head protection in 1994 at Imola? Senna would still be around and we'd have gotten to see how much potential he really had.

Anyway, I hear they're still working on head protection and they might come up with a good clear screen that can take the same pounding. So the halo might be temporary.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2018, 09:28:44 PM
Good start to the season for Vettel. Looking like a bit of competitiveness between the top 3 teams. Hopefully it won't be so predictable.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SONGEiVMygg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SONGEiVMygg)
Post by: GJL on March 26, 2018, 10:28:33 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 25, 2018, 09:28:44 PM
Good start to the season for Vettel. Looking like a bit of competitiveness between the top 3 teams. Hopefully it won't be so predictable.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SONGEiVMygg (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SONGEiVMygg)

Good start surely but he had no shortage in luck the way things worked out for him. The merc still seems to be the fastest car. I hope the other cars can find a bit more speed over the next few races.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 26, 2018, 05:29:09 PM
True. I'd hate to be that Haas mechanic, but Grosjean was a class act consoling him afterwards. Oftentimes it's the drivers who make mistakes out on the track, it's not often it's the mechanics who mess up.
Post by: GJL on March 27, 2018, 09:23:37 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 26, 2018, 05:29:09 PM
True. I'd hate to be that Haas mechanic, but Grosjean was a class act consoling him afterwards. Oftentimes it's the drivers who make mistakes out on the track, it's not often it's the mechanics who mess up.

I could be wrong but I think it involves 2 mechanics. The same thing happened both cars (crossed thread on wheel nut) but back left on one car and front right on the other. Very unusual.

Agreed about Grosjean...class act.
Post by: NAG1 on March 27, 2018, 10:13:26 AM
Quote from: GJL on March 27, 2018, 09:23:37 AM

I could be wrong but I think it involves 2 mechanics. The same thing happened both cars (crossed thread on wheel nut) but back left on one car and front right on the other. Very unusual.

Did they not find a fault in the air pressure system which the guns run off? Thats what they seemed to be looking at after the race was over in the pitlane. Could be wrong but thats what I picked up on, on Sky coverage.
Post by: GJL on March 27, 2018, 12:30:23 PM
Quote from: NAG1 on March 27, 2018, 10:13:26 AM
Quote from: GJL on March 27, 2018, 09:23:37 AM

Did they not find a fault in the air pressure system which the guns run off? Thats what they seemed to be looking at after the race was over in the pitlane. Could be wrong but thats what I picked up on, on Sky coverage.

I hope that is the case for the mechanic's sake.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2018, 07:39:43 PM
I hope so too and it's the more likely explanation. Those mechanics train until they're able to do these moves on autopilot, so I'd be surprised if it were the mechanic at fault.
Post by: thebigfella on March 27, 2018, 09:12:40 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 27, 2018, 07:39:43 PM
I hope so too and it's the more likely explanation. Those mechanics train until they're able to do these moves on autopilot, so I'd be surprised if it were the mechanic at fault.

https://www.autosport.com/f1/news/135034/haas-blames-lack-of-practice-for-pit-blunders
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 28, 2018, 12:34:38 AM
Interesting. Damned if I know how you could cross thread those nuts though, you'd think they'd be designed to slide in perfectly.
Post by: thebigfella on March 28, 2018, 12:45:57 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 28, 2018, 12:34:38 AM
Interesting. Damned if I know how you could cross thread those nuts though, you'd think they'd be designed to slide in perfectly.

You could cross thread anything with torque of >4000Nm
Post by: Denn Forever on March 28, 2018, 12:02:55 PM
It would be interesting to see a Formula E car race against a Formula 1 car.  Maybe at Monaco or any other twisty track.  No long straights.
Post by: thebigfella on March 28, 2018, 12:56:49 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 28, 2018, 12:02:55 PM
It would be interesting to see a Formula E car race against a Formula 1 car.  Maybe at Monaco or any other twisty track.  No long straights.

Not really at all. Massive difference in to downforce levels even if you disregard the obvious power/acceration differences.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 28, 2018, 01:23:25 PM
Do electric motors  not give immediate power?  I know these are road cars but acceleration figures/power figures look good.

http://uk.businessinsider.com/5-electric-cars-giving-supercars-a-run-for-their-money-2017-5?r=US&IR=T
Post by: thebigfella on March 28, 2018, 01:45:46 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 28, 2018, 01:23:25 PM
Do electric motors  not give immediate power?  I know these are road cars but acceleration figures/power figures look good.

http://uk.businessinsider.com/5-electric-cars-giving-supercars-a-run-for-their-money-2017-5?r=US&IR=T

They do but a formula 1 car acceleration is limited by the ability to use the massive torque generated by the power train - they could theoretically accelerate to 60mph in under 1 sec if the drive could get the power down. There is no comparison to a Formula 1 car and super car.
Either way the acceleration and traction far outweighs what a Formula E car can deliver. Also there a top speed disparity of close to 100mph currently - will come in a tiny but with the introduction of the new Formula E regs.

On top of the above Formula 1 cars have much more downforce and mechanical grip, shorter braking distances due to better braking systems, lower min weight etc....
Post by: Denn Forever on March 28, 2018, 01:49:42 PM
Would be interesting.
Post by: thebigfella on March 28, 2018, 05:51:26 PM
Quote from: Denn Forever on March 28, 2018, 01:49:42 PM
Would be interesting.

If you find a super car vs Ford Focus worth watching, then maybe it would be to you.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 06:46:34 PM
Are F1 cars much quicker than Nascar cars?
Post by: thebigfella on March 28, 2018, 11:23:34 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 06:46:34 PM

Top speed of a NASCAR is > 200mph but the power to weight ratio is vastly superior for the F1 car. I suspect round a traditional circuit the F1 car would destroy it's times.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 29, 2018, 06:18:00 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 28, 2018, 06:46:34 PM

Depends what you mean by "quicker." F1 cars are better at braking and accelerating because of the kind of tracks they have to race on, plus they have massive levels of downforce. A Nascar car on an F1 track wouldn't be very fast. As for an F1 car on a banked Nascar track, I'm not sure if it'd be faster. Horses for courses.

One thing I find interesting is the comparison of pit stops across different motorsport disciplines.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Rp_FtFCs54 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Rp_FtFCs54)
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2018, 10:58:58 AM
I mean average MPH. Who is going quicker, on their own courses?
Post by: turk on March 30, 2018, 11:33:45 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2018, 10:58:58 AM

AZ
any of us with four massive lads drinking cans in the back and three bags of cement in the boot would hammer a Nascar.
Post by: Denn Forever on March 30, 2018, 11:35:37 AM
At the end of long straights, F1 cars are doing at least 200 mph.
Post by: AZOffaly on March 30, 2018, 11:35:42 AM
Quote from: turk on March 30, 2018, 11:33:45 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on March 30, 2018, 10:58:58 AM

AZ
any of us with four massive lads drinking cans in the back and three bags of cement in the boot would hammer a Nascar.

Jesus. The dead arose and appeared to many!
Post by: Hardy on March 30, 2018, 02:10:35 PM
And two days early.

Anyway, for me, the most important difference between a Nascar redneck buggy and an F1 trolley is that I don't think you can recycle the stuff the make the F1s out of.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 31, 2018, 11:27:32 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 30, 2018, 02:10:35 PM
And two days early.

Anyway, for me, the most important difference between a Nascar redneck buggy and an F1 trolley is that I don't think you can recycle the stuff the make the F1s out of.

Not necessarily. https://www.compositesworld.com/columns/recycled-carbon-fiber-its-time-has-come- (https://www.compositesworld.com/columns/recycled-carbon-fiber-its-time-has-come-)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 07, 2018, 11:53:29 PM
Ferrari 1 and 2 on the grid tomorrow in Bahrain. This should be good.
Post by: GJL on April 09, 2018, 09:21:10 AM
Brilliant win for Vettel yesterday. getting to the end on the soft tyres took a bit of intelligent driving. Fair play to Hamilton as well to get up to 3rd from such a poor starting position.
Post by: Capt Pat on April 09, 2018, 12:40:03 PM
That was a bad accident the mechanic had yesterday. How could that have happened?
Post by: GJL on April 09, 2018, 12:43:22 PM
Quote from: Capt Pat on April 09, 2018, 12:40:03 PM
That was a bad accident the mechanic had yesterday. How could that have happened?

Not sure exactly but one person who is not to blame is the driver. Either the lollypop man fecked up or the go lights faulted. Bad result for the mechanic who has a badly broken leg.
Post by: Franko on April 09, 2018, 12:43:32 PM
Guy on the lollipop f**ked up badly.

It's his SOLE job to hold the driver until all work is done and the mechanics are clear.
Post by: NAG1 on April 09, 2018, 03:42:37 PM
The new system is on the steering wheel and when the light goes green thats the release for the driver.

Post by: Eamonnca1 on April 09, 2018, 06:00:07 PM
3 pit lane f***-ups in two grands prix. Interesting times we live in. I'd hate to see the FIA introducing rules to slow pit stops down, those 2-second changes are a thing of beauty.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 19, 2019, 12:54:47 AM
Leclerc going to Ferrari the year. He'll go far, that lad.
Post by: trailer on March 19, 2019, 09:20:32 AM
Didn't catch the Aussie GP as I was too fond of me bed. But had hoped for Red Bull, Ferrari and McLaren (I know, I know) would close the gap on the Mercs but it would appear not.
Post by: thebigfella on March 19, 2019, 11:44:43 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 19, 2019, 12:54:47 AM

Have you any more wonderful insights?  ::)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on March 19, 2019, 04:09:45 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on March 19, 2019, 11:44:43 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on March 19, 2019, 12:54:47 AM

Have you any more wonderful insights?  ::)

Yes I do. He reminds me of Senna. Getting into a big team like that in his second year in F1 is impressive, don't you think?
Post by: Denn Forever on March 19, 2019, 04:37:35 PM
Maybe Alonzo will got to Formula E.  Be a way of settling how good he is.

That would be a big Coup for Formula E.