Barriers to keep the dubs in.

Started by Mid Mon, August 07, 2010, 02:50:17 PM

Mid Mon

Des Cahill sports show had story on the installation of 2 and a half metre tall barriers around Hill 16 to prevent pitch invasions.

Mid Mon

The Central Council of the GAA have endorsed a recommendation to increase the height of the front barrier at the Hill 16 end in Croke Park to 2.8metres.

The decision has been made after the unsavoury incidents that followed Meath's victory in the Leinster Senior Football final as referee Martin Sludden was attacked by supporters.

GAA President Christy Cooney warned last month that something had to be done about pitch invasions for the safety of players and fans.

Dont Matter

Quote from: Mid Mon on August 07, 2010, 02:50:17 PM
Des Cahill sports show had story on the installation of 2 and a half metre tall barriers around Hill 16 to prevent pitch invasions.

Sure most of the Dubs on the hill are used to being locked behind bars.
'Dublin is not a national problem, it's a national opportunity.'
Peter Quinn

Must think the Dubs are gonna win Sam this year.
Tellin' youse now
NOT A CHANCE !!!

If Dublin beat Cork expect a pitch invasion as it will be there first final for 15 years

Quote from: Mid Mon on August 07, 2010, 02:51:37 PM
The Central Council of the GAA have endorsed a recommendation to increase the height of the front barrier at the Hill 16 end in Croke Park to 2.8metres.

The decision has been made after the unsavoury incidents that followed Meath's victory in the Leinster Senior Football final as referee Martin Sludden was attacked by supporters.

GAA President Christy Cooney warned last month that something had to be done about pitch invasions for the safety of players and fans.
Those pesky Dubs, eh?

Quote from: Dont Matter on August 07, 2010, 02:55:03 PM

Sure most of the Dubs on the hill are locked.

Fixed that for ye Dont Matter.

Quote from: Dont Matter on August 07, 2010, 02:55:03 PM

Sure most of the Dubs on the hill are used to being locked behind bars.

Well if the Gaa want to create another Hillsborough this is the way to do it. This is a disgrace. Cooney is easily the worst president we've had. He has achieved nothing in his tenure. Nothing.

cornafean

I cant see this getting planning permission.
Boycott Hadron. Support your local particle collider.

Very stupid, they are raising the fence to a height that no-one could scale in an emergency and its only on the hill, what they don't think people can enter the pitch from the other stands. It is beyond braindead.

To be honest how is a pitch invasion any more dangerous than a concert, a victory celebration in a town or city park, a road-race etc. There should be sufficient Gardai and stewards to protect players, patrons and officials, but fences are not the answer.

Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on August 07, 2010, 10:53:54 PM
Very stupid, they are raising the fence to a height that no-one could scale in an emergency and its only on the hill, what they don't think people can enter the pitch from the other stands. It is beyond braindead.
Agree completely.

QuoteTo be honest how is a pitch invasion any more dangerous than a concert, a victory celebration in a town or city park, a road-race etc. There should be sufficient Gardai and stewards to protect players, patrons and officials, but fences are not the answer.
This is what Sean Cavanagh said about the pitch invasion after the 2008 All Ireland Final:

I remember I was around the 14-yard line in front of the Hill and for about two seconds I think I got to hug Phillip Jordan and Kevin Hughes but that is all you get - two seconds - and then all of a sudden there were floods of people around us and we were on our knees surronded.

After that we were pushed and shoved for the next 10 minutes while we tried to make our way to the presentation area, which obviously took the shine off that first initial reaction that we had won the All Ireland.

Hand on heart, it is quite scary. At that stage your legs are tired, your body is tired and all you want to do is go and lie somewhere or even just take a minute to yourself.

I know now you can't afford to drop to your knees because if you do, you get knocked around like a rag-doll and that's a recipe for disaster and if something doesn't change there will be a tragedy and change will be forced on us after that.

Just when you think you couldn't be amazed anymore by the stupidity....

This crazy proposal will be rejected on Health and Safety grounds

I can't understand why they would fence in the Hill and leave the rest - it doesn't seem to make any sense. If anything, the Hill should be the last place fenced as it's the most likely part of the ground to have a crowd surge / crush.