The Late Late show

Started by T O Hare, January 30, 2009, 01:50:33 PM

snoopdog

Paddy did well. Fair play.

Watched the toy show on the rte player on sat night as we'd the transfer test on Sat am.
It's the first time in years we watched the whole thing. It felt like it was about the children and the toys again.
Kielty has a much better persona and approach to this, he really was excellent. The children had a chance to talk without any condescending remarks from the presenter who just wanted attention on himself.
Still had the obligatory amount of cheese, which is actually great.

mrdeeds

Thought the tribute to Shane McGowan to open show last night was brilliant. Patrick Kielty was an excellent facilitator who just let the guests speak and remember without interruption.

What county inflicted The Tumbling Paddy's upon us?
I'm going to guess Tyrone.
Jesus they'd want to stop that singer with his faux American country accent, it's terrible shite

Quote from: Tubberman on December 31, 2023, 11:26:12 PMWhat county inflicted The Tumbling Paddy's upon us?
Jesus they'd want to stop that singer with his faux American country accent, it's terrible shite

Not guilty this time your honour. Blame the lakeland County for this.

Quote from: Tubberman on December 31, 2023, 11:26:12 PMWhat county inflicted The Tumbling Paddy's upon us?

Fermanagh I believe they are from. You ones love them, they even packed out the recent ploughing championships I attended in Ratheniska.

Quote from: Blowitupref on December 31, 2023, 11:34:26 PM

Fermanagh I believe they are from. You ones love them, they even packed out the recent ploughing championships I attended in Ratheniska.

I had to go to YouTube and get Dubliners/Pogues version afterwards to purge that shite from my head.

You can't blame Tyrone for everything.

Deerstalker

I had to switch over when I heard Paddy introducing three "influencers"  :o

Aye McManus and Maguire among their number. Not my cuppa tae but they draw big crowds amongst people who are into that stuff. I'd say the Venn Diagram of their fans and fans of Derek Ryan and Nathan Carter is a single circle.

Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 01, 2024, 12:05:56 AM

Aye McManus and Maguire among their number. Not my cuppa tae but they draw big crowds amongst people who are into that stuff. I'd say the Venn Diagram of their fans and fans of Derek Ryan and Nathan Carter is a single circle.
According to their own website each band member has won a medal for being All-Ireland Fleadh Champion in their own right. Derek Ryan wrote one of their hit songs  the way I am.

The Mary Wallopers over on Jools holland a band going places.

Jools also had a talented young singer from Donegal too - Muireann Bradley. RTE/LLS very disappointing. I even moved over to one hit wonder Rick Astley on BBC.

AustinPowers

Quote from: clarshack on December 31, 2023, 11:54:54 PM

You can't blame Tyrone for everything.

No, but I  certainly try!   ;D

Flip me , but that LLS was brutal tonight

snoopdog

Anyone who wants to see those guys they are in the INF in Hilltown soon. They love them out West. I was at the bunniconlan agricultural show in Aug and they were the headline act.

Quote from: weareros on January 01, 2024, 01:29:14 AMJools also had a talented young singer from Donegal too - Muireann Bradley. RTE/LLS very disappointing. I even moved over to one hit wonder Rick Astley on BBC.

Rick has a really strong back catalogue.