Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 10:44:52 AM

Title: Big Lottery Winners in Armagh
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 10:44:52 AM
See some couple from Armagh have won stg£115mill in the Euromillions.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2019/0104/1020268-armagh-euromillions/

A few questions.

(i) Anyone on here know them?
(ii) Why are the surnames not Fearon?
(iii) WTF go public? Jesus Christ, they'll be plagued for the rest of their lives..........
Title: Re: Big Lottery Winners in Armagh
Post by: gallsman on January 04, 2019, 10:46:48 AM
I believe you get more if you go public. The total jackpot publicised has small printing stating that it's conditional on the winners fully participating in media, interviews etc. as far as I'm aware
Post by: Armamike on January 04, 2019, 10:47:21 AM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 10:44:52 AM
See some couple from Armagh have won stg£115mill in the Euromillions.

https://www.rte.ie/news/ulster/2019/0104/1020268-armagh-euromillions/

A few questions.

(i) Anyone on here know them?
(ii) Why are the surnames not Fearon?
(iii) WTF go public? Jesus Christ, they'll be plagued for the rest of their lives..........

They get a lot more dosh for going public, not that they'll need it.   :P.   They'll be found out anyway so might as well go public.  Hard to keep 115 mill quiet!
Post by: trailer on January 04, 2019, 10:49:12 AM
Quote from: gallsman on January 04, 2019, 10:46:48 AM
I believe you get more if you go public. The total jackpot publicised has small printing stating that it's conditional on the winners fully participating in media, interviews etc. as far as I'm aware

No difference in money if you go public or not. Camelot will assist those who go public and the thought being it is difficult to keep that sort of wealth a secret when you get the gold plated triple glazing into the 2 up 2 down.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 10:52:58 AM
Mental money and fair fucks to them.. heard her speaking and she seems really nice and very deserving... hopefully they'll be well advised on their money and have a happy life together!

I personally wouldn't tell a soul if I could help it
Post by: balladmaker on January 04, 2019, 10:55:31 AM
Go public, enjoy the money and feck the many begrudgers that there will no doubt be ..... or keep it private, and try to enjoy the money without anyone copping on .... would be near impossible to keep that private, wouldn't take it long getting out .... you tell a family friend, who tells a friend to keep it a secret who tells someone else etc etc, impossible to keep it private I reckon.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 11:00:30 AM
What happens if a few yahoos with notions of finally freeing Ireland decide to kidnap the dog for a massive ransom?
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 11:12:02 AM
3 month world cruise before telling anyone, during that time you decide wtf you'd do with it! The problem of giving it to family is you'd end up destroying lives with that amount!
Post by: Insane Bolt on January 04, 2019, 11:16:13 AM
Good luck to them.....think they have drawn up a list of 50 plus who they are going to donate to.
Post by: illdecide on January 04, 2019, 11:22:01 AM
Yeah, they said they're going to dish it out among family and friends...fair play to them.

I know Moira is in Co Down but has a Co Armagh post code...They look familiar in fairness, def have seen their faces before but don't know them personally. Again fair play to them and if they do divide it out like they say then they deserve all the luck they got...
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2019, 11:43:29 AM
A teacher off work with a sore leg. Was able to stand to collect her cheque. Another public service malingerer.  ;)

They'll have every f**king sob story in the country looking for something. Would have been better keeping it private imo.
Post by: Dougal Maguire on January 04, 2019, 12:25:56 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on January 04, 2019, 11:16:13 AM
Good luck to them.....think they have drawn up a list of 50 plus who they are going to donate to.
Think they've reduced that to 49 following Tony Baloney's comment about her leg.
Post by: Aaron Boone on January 04, 2019, 12:27:34 PM
Uk will still be in Euromillions post-Brexit.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2019, 12:49:52 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on January 04, 2019, 12:25:56 PM
Quote from: Insane Bolt on January 04, 2019, 11:16:13 AM
Think they've reduced that to 49 following Tony Baloney'Okay comment about her leg.
;D No such luck to even be in the frame. That's some lift and good luck to their friends and family as they have the money to change a lot of lives.
Post by: Jim Bob on January 04, 2019, 12:58:11 PM
daft IMO to be stating that 50 people will be getting the phone call of their lives.
Just think of how many will think that they just may be in that 50.
There ll be some gutted people and fall outs you can be sure
Post by: TabClear on January 04, 2019, 01:06:51 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on January 04, 2019, 12:58:11 PM
daft IMO to be stating that 50 people will be getting the phone call of their lives.

Cannot for the life of me understand why you would go public. I take the point that it will in all liklihood leak out in due course but the volume of leeches who will now appear now because of the publicity and their (admirable) intentions to gift some money to people will be much higher than if they had stayed anonymous. Every scam artist in the UK and Ireland knows who they are now whereas had it been kept quiet it would have been a much smaller story a few months down the line. 

Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 04, 2019, 01:08:31 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 11:00:30 AM
What happens if a few yahoos with notions of finally freeing Ireland decide to kidnap the dog for a massive ransom?

Unfortunately,  the dog takes a hit & then they buy a new dog.
Post by: LeoMc on January 04, 2019, 01:12:46 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on January 04, 2019, 12:27:34 PM
Uk will still be in Euromillions post-Brexit.
They should have waited until after MArch 29th to cash in. The €30M would be worth £150m by then.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 01:21:25 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on January 04, 2019, 12:58:11 PM

Just think about how sad it will be for the Jehovah's Witnesses that don't get into heaven if they joined after the 144,000!
Post by: RedHand88 on January 04, 2019, 01:32:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 11:12:02 AM
3 month world cruise before telling anyone, during that time you decide wtf you'd do with it! The problem of giving it to family is you'd end up destroying lives with that amount!

I think that would be a deaaadddd giveaway.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 01:38:03 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 04, 2019, 01:32:58 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 11:12:02 AM

I think that would be a deaaadddd giveaway.

I wouldnt be saying i'm away on a cruise! Any social media would be wiped also..

In relation to winning the Lotto, I'd be happy to win enough to have no mortgage, and enough to buy my kids their first home, and allow my wife to stop working, after that I'd be content with working away, possibly more holiday leave but I'd stuggle if we were both off together for the rest of our lives! be murder  ;D
Post by: Aristo 60 on January 04, 2019, 01:53:06 PM
MR2, that lady in your profile pic would be sniffing around ye something shocking. Take her on a cruise.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2019, 02:07:08 PM
Divorce the wife, write her a cheque for 60 million and start the bachelor life with a fortune on the hip.
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 02:07:32 PM
Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 04, 2019, 01:08:31 PM

And if it's a grandchild......
Post by: Itchy on January 04, 2019, 02:16:42 PM
Fantastic story, best of luck to them.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2019, 02:19:18 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 02:07:32 PM

Does this say more about Ireland than the sum of money. It's the 4th largest win and I don't believe any of the bigger winners or their immediate family have been held ransom.
Post by: playwiththewind1st on January 04, 2019, 03:23:36 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 02:07:32 PM

Sorry, didn't foresee the supplementary. Was addressing the dog issue,  although I suppose there is the Shergar incident that we may refer to, in that context.
Post by: red hander on January 04, 2019, 04:24:52 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 10:52:58 AM
Mental money and fair f**ks to them.. heard her speaking and she seems really nice and very deserving... hopefully they'll be well advised on their money and have a happy life together!

Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 04:47:37 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on January 04, 2019, 01:53:06 PM
MR2, that lady in your profile pic would be sniffing around ye something shocking. Take her on a cruise.

She hates boats !
Post by: Itchy on January 04, 2019, 05:14:16 PM
Quote from: red hander on January 04, 2019, 04:24:52 PM
Mental money and fair f**ks to them.. heard her speaking and she seems really nice and very deserving... hopefully they'll be well advised on their money and have a happy life together!

I understand in euromillion you are contractually obliged to be open about your winnings
Post by: imtommygunn on January 04, 2019, 05:33:43 PM
Is a ticket deemed a contract?

I wouldn't say anyone is deserving of that amount of money but fair play to them and it's nice to see decent people win it and not someone like a mate of johnny adair's.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 05:40:19 PM
Do you win all of it? I mean does the tax man take some?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on January 04, 2019, 05:43:10 PM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 04, 2019, 05:40:19 PM
Do you win all of it? I mean does the tax man take some?

No tax on the winnings but there are the usual tax implications for gifts etc
Post by: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 06:21:11 PM
In 26 counties you get over the gift tax issue by saying all your lucky relatives were in a syndicate with you so they get the earnings tax free as they are winners as well.

Don't know the gift threshold amounts in Norn Iron for Capital Acquisitions Tax but I would imagine, lo and behold, a syndicate agreement will be located behind the couch pretty soon that will be very tax efficient.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 04, 2019, 06:44:54 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 06:21:11 PM
In 26 counties you get over the gift tax issue by saying all your lucky relatives were in a syndicate with you so they get the earnings tax free as they are winners as well.

Don't know the gift threshold amounts in Norn Iron for Capital Acquisitions Tax but I would imagine, lo and behold, a syndicate agreement will be located behind the couch pretty soon that will be very tax efficient.

A syndicate? So 50 people gave 4p each towards the ticket? How does that fly?
Post by: thewobbler on January 04, 2019, 06:49:22 PM
Quote from: RedHand88 on January 04, 2019, 06:44:54 PM
Quote from: Shamrock Shore on January 04, 2019, 06:21:11 PM

A syndicate? So 50 people gave 4p each towards the ticket? How does that fly?

The other 10 tickets in the syndicate didn't win.
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2019, 07:54:16 PM
Quote from: Itchy on January 04, 2019, 05:14:16 PM

I understand in euromillion you are contractually obliged to be open about your winnings
You're not. Purely choice, sure by their own admission the Moira winners said they considered keeping it private. One of the top 4 Euromillion winners opted not to have their identity revealed. I would say the Euromillion people strongly advise revealing your identity as it is great for their brand and a lot of people for resasons of pure vanity would love people seeing how rich they now were.
Post by: Olly on January 04, 2019, 08:12:48 PM
Excuse me but I smell a rat. I don't think they won it at all and are just courting publicity for a new business etc. Watch this space is my advice. I think the lottery people have been conned and haven't even asked to see the ticket. Why is there no screenshot of the ticket? And the man seemed very nervous. The woman even seemed a bit too comfortable with jokes etc and may be an actress. I don't buy it.
Post by: Targetman on January 04, 2019, 08:56:59 PM
Aye was thinking that myself!!
Post by: imtommygunn on January 04, 2019, 09:02:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2019, 07:54:16 PM

You're not. Purely choice, sure by their own admission the Moira winners said they considered keeping it private. One of the top 4 Euromillion winners opted not to have their identity revealed. I would say the Euromillion people strongly advise revealing your identity as it is great for their brand and a lot of people for resasons of pure vanity would love people seeing how rich they now were.

I think in the national lottery anyway you get a lot more for going public. It's maybe the same here if the contract thing is wrong.
Post by: RedHand88 on January 04, 2019, 09:08:29 PM
Quote from: Olly on January 04, 2019, 08:12:48 PM
Excuse me but I smell a rat. I don't think they won it at all and are just courting publicity for a new business etc. Watch this space is my advice. I think the lottery people have been conned and haven't even asked to see the ticket. Why is there no screenshot of the ticket? And the man seemed very nervous. The woman even seemed a bit too comfortable with jokes etc and may be an actress. I don't buy it.

Now thats a conspiracy theory
Post by: trailer on January 04, 2019, 10:13:35 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on January 04, 2019, 09:02:35 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on January 04, 2019, 07:54:16 PM

I think in the national lottery anyway you get a lot more for going public. It's maybe the same here if the contract thing is wrong.

You get no more money for going public? Like wtf? They tell you the prize before you play. Where does this bollocks come from?
https://www.businessinsider.com/what-lotto-winners-go-public-2016-1?r=UK&IR=T
(https://www.businessinsider.com/what-lotto-winners-go-public-2016-1?r=UK&IR=T)
Post by: Over the Bar on January 05, 2019, 02:17:26 AM
You do not get more money for going public. You get the sort and professional advice that Camelot provide Which most numpties winning the lottery will need.
Post by: From the Bunker on January 05, 2019, 02:41:16 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 05, 2019, 02:17:26 AM
You do not get more money for going public. You get the sort and professional advice that Camelot provide Which most numpties winning the lottery will need.

So, you'd surely be going public then?  ;D
Post by: armaghniac on January 05, 2019, 02:53:20 PM
Quote from: Over the Bar on January 05, 2019, 02:17:26 AM

How  much money could they give you to make it worthwhile anyway.
As for advice, I appreciate the average person wouldn't know where to start, but useful advice can be had for a fee they can well afford.
Post by: Jim Bob on January 05, 2019, 04:14:04 PM
Wonder when they start making the 50 phone calls?
Post by: Tony Baloney on January 05, 2019, 07:27:54 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on January 05, 2019, 04:14:04 PM
Wonder when they start making the 50 phone calls?
And who will be 51st?!
Post by: Wildweasel74 on January 05, 2019, 10:50:39 PM
How about this for professional advice! I don't f**king declare you won the lottery! No camelot advice required! She seems highly strung! She not hear of tiger kidnappings in the North.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2019, 11:19:16 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 05, 2019, 10:50:39 PM
How about this for professional advice! I don't f**king declare you won the lottery! No camelot advice required! She seems highly strung! She not hear of tiger kidnappings in the North.

That's those Strabane ones
Post by: Jim Bob on January 05, 2019, 11:30:39 PM
What's the Armagh connection considering Moira is in Co Down ?
Post by: illdecide on January 05, 2019, 11:39:08 PM
Quote from: Jim Bob on January 05, 2019, 11:30:39 PM
What's the Armagh connection considering Moira is in Co Down ?

Yes it is but the postal address is still Armagh
Post by: RedHand88 on January 06, 2019, 09:33:38 AM
There's a Twitter account claiming to be the husband asking for likes and retweets in exchange for money. 40k followers and rising. People will believe anything if they think there's money in it for them
Post by: Norf Tyrone on January 06, 2019, 10:20:48 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on January 05, 2019, 11:19:16 PM
Quote from: Wildweasel74 on January 05, 2019, 10:50:39 PM

That's those Strabane ones

She's actually from Sion Mills! Apparently she's a lovely woman. Good luck to them.

Post by: Aristo 60 on January 21, 2019, 04:48:20 PM
Previous winner...

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/strabane-lottery-winner-ordered-to-pay-exemployee-30k-in-bias-case-37730507.html

money doesn't change a person, it reveals them.

Post by: Rois on January 21, 2019, 08:58:37 PM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on January 21, 2019, 04:48:20 PM
Previous winner...

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/strabane-lottery-winner-ordered-to-pay-exemployee-30k-in-bias-case-37730507.html

money doesn't change a person, it reveals them.
The same woman had "verbals" with my dad too. Not the nicest.