Armagh v Kerry

Started by illdecide, July 01, 2024, 09:29:34 AM

Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 14, 2024, 05:54:00 PMWhy were Armagh playing in black?

They fell they play better in it according to RTE yesterday

Derryman forever

Quote from: David McKeown on July 14, 2024, 07:23:53 PM
Quote from: Dougal Maguire on July 14, 2024, 05:54:00 PMWhy were Armagh playing in black?

You know how paper wont refuse ink.
Rte pundits wont refuse bull.

Quote from: Derryman forever on July 14, 2024, 09:03:26 PM

Paddy heaney reckoned it's an All Black thing - joke with a jag presumably. All the penalty losses have been in orange so it quite possibly is a psychological thing but as I mentioned in the AIF thread what will happen v Galway in the final as Orange v Maroon was a bit of a clash and black v maroon would likely be worse.

Delgany 2nds

It got very cloudy & dark in extra time, it was hard enough to make out players. The floodlights would've helped!

Galway away strip white is it?

Quote from: bennydorano on July 14, 2024, 10:04:16 PM

Paddy heaney reckoned it's an All Black thing - joke with a jag presumably. All the penalty losses have been in orange so it quite possibly is a psychological thing but as I mentioned in the AIF thread what will happen v Galway in the final as Orange v Maroon was a bit of a clash and black v maroon would likely be worse.

What is Galway's change strip?

snoopdog

Quote from: tonto1888 on July 15, 2024, 07:14:01 AM
Quote from: bennydorano on July 14, 2024, 10:04:16 PM

What is Galway's change strip?
White.

Quote from: David McKeown on July 14, 2024, 11:09:32 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on July 14, 2024, 10:53:03 AM
Quote from: David McKeown on July 14, 2024, 10:45:50 AMA man who I don't think gets enough credit I'd Blaine Hughes who has been excellent all year. Obviously a very different type of player to Ethan and doesn't offer as much in an attacking sense but his distribution, shot stopping and calmness under the high ball have been excellent all year. Even yesterday when Kerry were really pushed up he was able to lead Armagh players into space in the way you would see a QB do in the NFL. Must be a real contender for an All Star this year and for me a big contributor to Armagh's slight improvement this season.
Blaine, Aaron, Rian, Barry, Turbo all definite all stars for me.

I still think Rory Grugan is Armaghs most important player but probably not in the all star conversation. Not sure that Aaron or Rían are definite all stars. Think both have been a little inconsistent this year to be considered shoo ins. Was reading yesterday before the game that nearly all Turbo's scores from play this year have come since the Ulster final. Not a bad time to come into form.

I genuinely think he's POTY material this year, never mind Allstar. He's different class

Whilst Rian make a great goal-mouth catch in the dying minutes of extra time, a Kerry player knocked the ball out of his hands and Blaine made a great save. Thank heavens for Blaine!

Quote from: Orior on July 16, 2024, 03:20:56 PMWhilst Rian make a great goal-mouth catch in the dying minutes of extra time, a Kerry player knocked the ball out of his hands and Blaine made a great save. Thank heavens for Blaine!
No idea how he ended up with thag ball in his hands but thank god he did.

Latest possible blow for Kerry from the Irish Examiner

AFL outfit Geelong believe they are in the box seat to sign rising Kerry starlet Cillian Burke.
Efforts are underway at Board executive level in the Kingdom to convince the Milltown-Castlemaine youngster to stay put following an excellent debut season with Jack O'Connor's senior squad.
However, people close to the situation fear it is an uphill battle and that the powerful young attacker is set to give the AFL professional path a go.
"There is nothing signed," a source close the situation stated.
The indication from Jack O'Connor that his management team intends to remain in charge for 2025 may be a help in convincing the young forward to stay put.
Burke isn't the only possible departure from Kerry's stock of nascent talent. At least two Aussie Rules clubs have been looking at Kerins O'Rahilly's youngster Tomas Kennedy, and Dr Crokes' Charlie Keating, both of whom were part of Tomás Ó Sé's Kerry Under 20 side that were beaten in the All-Ireland final.
Kennedy is a big, rangy midfielder or wing forward with serious aerial potential, while Keating has already been drafted into the senior set-up with Kerry after an impressive campaign from wing back with the Under 20's – his athleticism and serious pace a feature.
Losing Burke to Australia would be a significant blow, though, to O'Connor's Kerry. He produced a stellar cameo in the quarter-final against Derry and again was one of the big performers as the Kingdom wilted down the stretch in Saturday's All-Ireland semi-final defeat to Armagh.

statto

Quote from: Orior on July 16, 2024, 03:20:56 PMWhilst Rian make a great goal-mouth catch in the dying minutes of extra time, a Kerry player knocked the ball out of his hands and Blaine made a great save. Thank heavens for Blaine!
Can't say enough about Blaine this year.Walked away a few years ago as wasn't getting much ganetime and has improved significantly under high ball and with his kickouts when under pressure.Morgan might be the best keeper in country but due to how early Tyrone exited the competition he shouldn't really be in recognition for all star.

square_ball

Highly likely too he wouldn't have got a game this year either if Rafferty hadn't got that serious injury last year.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Have been a quiet boy since Sunday. A lot of soul searching to do in the Kingdom safe to say.

Fair play to Armagh though, even though I was sickened we lost I'm glad they are in the final. Geezer is a top man and deserves a bit of luck.

As for his opposite number and his geniuses with him, I wouldn't be as generous is all I'd say.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on July 16, 2024, 09:44:31 PMHave been a quiet boy since Sunday. A lot of soul searching to do in the Kingdom safe to say.

Fair play to Armagh though, even though I was sickened we lost I'm glad they are in the final. Geezer is a top man and deserves a bit of luck.

As for his opposite number and his geniuses with him, I wouldn't be as generous is all I'd say.
Fair play and cheers for that, Kerry fans in front of us shook hands and wished us the best.

What do you think O'Connor did wrong? Individual errors moreso than tactics probably let yous down, thought yous set up well and played some nice stuff all day.

Don't think a manager can legislate for a team messing up 2 goal chances and a keeper gifting us one. We got the rub of the green for once and you's didn't. Also not management fault that intercounty forwards are missing very very kickable scores.

2 things you probably could pin on management teams. 1 was the conditioning of players. Clifford was cramping up before 70 minutes and looked wrecked in injury time. Compare that to the man he was marking McCambridge and our marquee forward Turbo after 90 mins of football those 2 were sprinting up the field like 2 duracell bunnies for that last score. Clifford wasn't the only man that was gassed either. 

The other thing that management have to take some blame for is the stength in depth. Armagh have had little to no underage, schools and club success for years and I'd say our playing population is a fraction of Kerrys, but McGeeney has built a panel of what would be close to 40 lads who could all come in with not that much of a drop off, certainly anyone in that 26 is as good or better than the starting 15 and thats with 3 starting defenders out injured.

The best forward in the senior championship the last few years Cian McConville can't even make a 26 at the minute which shows the competitiveness. That credit absolutely has to go to Geezer and his team for getting those lads committed to the cause. Kerry obviously had decent forwards on the bench to come in but not to the level we did.

That's actually going to be a leveller in the final as Galway have a super squad as well and look well conditioned.

That's just my thoughts as an outsider looking in at Kerry, can be easy to blame management at times but sometimes the buck has to stop with players, at the end of the day he won an AI 2 years ago, was a kick of the ball away last year and this year a kick of the ball from a final.  Be interested to hear your thoughts and again thanks for the well wishes. Hope to meet yous next year in Croker for another battle!