Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Armagh18 - Today at 10:35:10 AM
Quote from: Estimator on Today at 10:12:31 AMWas in the O'Duffy Terrace with the family for the Ulster Final last year. Couldn't believe the amount of alcohol an Armagh fan in front of us managed to get into the ground. He'd a cool bag full of cans. Not that he needed any more ale.. he soaked everyone in his vicinity when Armagh equalised, shaking cans and spraying them everywhere.

Obviously no checking of the bags on the way in and stewards clearly didn't want to deal with it in any way.
Fair play to him for getting the drink in, garda were checking bags on the way up to the stadium last year and even though i wasnt drinking was made up the coat etc but maybe I'm just a dodgy looking fella!
General discussion / Re: Man Utd Thread:
Last post by AustinPowers - Today at 10:28:19 AM
WANTED - a  new manager and a whole new squad

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/ce96wzkgzpgo
GAA Discussion / Re: Leinster U20 football cham...
Last post by Rossfan - Today at 10:21:47 AM
I think Dunboyners always had Dublinish accents?
GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by Estimator - Today at 10:12:31 AM
Was in the O'Duffy Terrace with the family for the Ulster Final last year. Couldn't believe the amount of alcohol an Armagh fan in front of us managed to get into the ground. He'd a cool bag full of cans. Not that he needed any more ale.. he soaked everyone in his vicinity when Armagh equalised, shaking cans and spraying them everywhere.

Obviously no checking of the bags on the way in and stewards clearly didn't want to deal with it in any way.
Tyrone / Re: Tyrone County Football and...
Last post by thebigfullforward - Today at 10:06:00 AM
Quote from: Mikhailov on April 28, 2024, 11:08:28 PM
Quote from: square_ball on April 28, 2024, 08:51:06 PMLack of any sort of strength in depth killed us today. One enforced sub and another in the 63rd minute in normal time tells the tale.

Can't fault the effort and performance and probably should have seen it out in normal time. Once it went to extra time we were always going to struggle particularly with the lack of changes made.

Hopefully Meyler and Harte will be back for the group stage. I'd be expecting QF minimum and then after that who knows.

Our refusal by the management to use our bench killed us today. Yes, they may lack experience but if they were good enough in ET last week then surely they were today. To throw away a 3 point lead with 15 to go and then a 1 point lead deep into injury time was very disappointing.
Once Donegal went ahead, you never felt we would win
Agree with this. If they are on the county panel they should be good enough to play county games. Feel like some lads weren't given as much of a chance as they should have had
Hurling Discussion / Re: AI Hurling Championship 20...
Last post by imtommygunn - Today at 09:56:23 AM
I would doubt Shefflin would come anywhere near antrim. Gleeson has done a fantastic job in antrim. I hope we hold onto him for much longer.
Hurling Discussion / Re: AI Hurling Championship 20...
Last post by johnnycool - Today at 09:53:48 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on Today at 09:48:42 AM
Quote from: NAG1 on Today at 09:39:47 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on Today at 08:31:28 AMI'm not convinced Shefflin is cutting it with Galway.

Cork are really up against it now and will have to beat Limerick or I would say they're out. Waterford need to beat Tipp or they're likely out too and same if Tipp don't beat Waterford. Tipp beating Waterford would help Cork a bi though.

I think Galway and Dublin should switch managers, O'D looks completely lost with Dublin doesn't seem to know how to progress them. Shefflin doesn't seem to be getting a tune out of Galway and IMO hasn't improved them either.

O'D back to Galway where he at least was passionate about it and knows the players, Shefflin to Dublin to bring that big name bounce and attract more players to the Dublin set up.

Both currently treading water and going no where fast.

Would Henry look to come up to Antrim after Darren steps back?

Cork job beckons for Henry

Darren may get total redemption in Tipp if Cahill doesn't get them out of Munster
Quote from: NAG1 on Today at 09:39:47 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on Today at 08:31:28 AMI'm not convinced Shefflin is cutting it with Galway.

Cork are really up against it now and will have to beat Limerick or I would say they're out. Waterford need to beat Tipp or they're likely out too and same if Tipp don't beat Waterford. Tipp beating Waterford would help Cork a bi though.

I think Galway and Dublin should switch managers, O'D looks completely lost with Dublin doesn't seem to know how to progress them. Shefflin doesn't seem to be getting a tune out of Galway and IMO hasn't improved them either.

O'D back to Galway where he at least was passionate about it and knows the players, Shefflin to Dublin to bring that big name bounce and attract more players to the Dublin set up.

Both currently treading water and going no where fast.

Would Henry look to come up to Antrim after Darren steps back?
Antrim / Re: Antrim Hurling
Last post by imtommygunn - Today at 09:45:49 AM
No - major disappointment I would have thought though I think they were going backwards anyway but you would have thought he would have helped.
GAA Discussion / Re: Guide to the Sam Maguire a...
Last post by snoopdog - Today at 09:41:39 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on Today at 12:31:04 AM
Quote from: onefineday on Today at 12:22:28 AM
Quote from: yellowcard on April 29, 2024, 03:57:08 PMIt's a whole load of games to whittle the number of teams down from 16 to 12. And when the draw is made you will be able to predict the 4 teams who will be eliminated with a fair degree of certainty. The main interest will centre around which teams top their groups. 
That's true, because after last year, we all now realise what an advantage finishing top appears to be.

I said last year, if additional jeopardy is needed, we could have the four group winners and the best 2nd place team all progress directly to the quarters. The third place team with the worst record would be eliminated - that should mean little or no dead rubbers.

I'd also tweak it by giving the provincial winners and the 4 top league places (who weren't provincial winners) two home games and get rid of the neutral ground game - this would provide better incentives for provincial winners and league placings. It would also boost attendances as the neutral games last year were very poorly attended iirc.

But this scheme basically advantages Dublin and Kerry, if they didn't have enough advantages.
Everything the GAA do has Dublin and Kerry in its thinking. They wouldn't do it if it didn't give either an advantage.