GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: The PRO on December 16, 2021, 05:26:23 PM

Title: Club football managers 2022
Post by: The PRO on December 16, 2021, 05:26:23 PM
Any word on new appointments or existing guys staying on?
I presume Kieran Kelly and Martin Murphy are staying on but after that, I've heard absolutely nothing!
Title: Re: Club football managers 2022
Post by: town1980 on December 17, 2021, 12:44:23 AM
Who cares at the minute
Post by: The PRO on December 17, 2021, 09:46:42 AM
Quote from: town1980 on December 17, 2021, 12:44:23 AM
Who cares at the minute
Thanks for your very insightful contribution.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on December 17, 2021, 11:57:35 AM
I believe that Sevi Doogue won't be with Graiguecullen this year, they will be looking for a new manager.
Post by: tippmaninlaois on December 17, 2021, 03:54:34 PM
Quote from: town1980 on December 17, 2021, 12:44:23 AM
Who cares at the minute

You obviously did enough to type that much down,Son
Post by: SCFC on December 18, 2021, 11:16:13 AM
No change in Ballyroan I'm hearing.
Post by: Ballybrittas Boy on January 18, 2022, 01:36:28 PM
Paul Lawlor back for a second spell with Emo.
Post by: Robbo on January 19, 2022, 10:14:00 AM
Quote from: SCFC on December 18, 2021, 11:16:13 AM

Donncha Phelan joining Ballyroan apparently.
Excellent addition if it proves to be true.
Post by: Tintin84 on January 19, 2022, 10:43:29 AM
Quote from: Robbo on January 19, 2022, 10:14:00 AM

As Manager? Is Clancy gone?
Post by: Tintin84 on January 19, 2022, 10:44:52 AM
Clonaslee and Rosenallis are on the lookout for new managers.
Post by: Robbo on January 19, 2022, 11:11:24 AM
Quote from: Tintin84 on January 19, 2022, 10:43:29 AM
Quote from: Robbo on January 19, 2022, 10:14:00 AM

As Manager? Is Clancy gone?

Together. A coach I presume.
Post by: SCFC on January 21, 2022, 11:35:39 AM
Eoin Kearns with O'Dempseys for another year.
Post by: The PRO on February 21, 2022, 10:27:42 AM
Mick Lillis has left Ballylinan for Shamrocks in Offaly.
Post by: Gael85 on February 21, 2022, 12:52:07 PM
Quote from: The PRO on February 21, 2022, 10:27:42 AM
Mick Lillis has left Ballylinan for Shamrocks in Offaly.

Mick Lillis was also coaching his home club in Clare Cooraclare last year .
Post by: The PRO on October 09, 2022, 12:30:32 AM
A couple of managers gone. Pauric Clancy has left Ballyroan Abbey and Eddie Kinsella is finished in Courtwood. Both being replaced from within their own management teams I've heard.
Post by: Joeythelips on October 10, 2022, 10:36:34 AM
Well done to Lar Wall who led The Downs to Senior glory in Westmeath championship after a 17-year wait. 
Post by: SCFC on October 10, 2022, 11:10:52 AM
Quote from: The PRO on October 09, 2022, 12:30:32 AM
A couple of managers gone. Pauric Clancy has left Ballyroan Abbey and Eddie Kinsella is finished in Courtwood. Both being replaced from within their own management teams I've heard.
Port obviously looking to replace Martin Murphy and Killeshin obviously looking for something more permanent than two players in charge.
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on October 11, 2022, 10:23:49 AM
eddie done a great job, great servent. be hard replaced but great tools to work with. in a good place.
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 11, 2022, 01:15:30 PM
Quote from: georgedoylesrightleg on October 11, 2022, 10:23:49 AM
eddie done a great job, great servent. be hard replaced but great tools to work with. in a good place.

Many new lads eligible to play next year ? I know Alan Kinsella will be back and young Ryan Little will be up from minor . Both should add a few extra scores up front . Anyone else ?
Post by: Jd on October 11, 2022, 04:48:39 PM
They won the minor B as St Pauls and I think they had about 15 or 16 on that panel. Not too sure how many are eligible next year but their next few years look positive enough. Not sure if they have a new man in mind but its an important one for them
Post by: Spiritof86 on October 11, 2022, 05:28:15 PM

Eddie going in with Laois Seniors next year ?
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on October 11, 2022, 06:56:53 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on October 11, 2022, 05:28:15 PM

Eddie going in with Laois Seniors next year ?
doubt  knees are up to it
Post by: Tintin84 on October 21, 2022, 09:33:32 AM
Any more manager moves or clubs with new managers, I'd presume many clubs would want it all sorted before end of year.
Post by: Target Man on October 21, 2022, 03:41:35 PM
Vacancies in Ballyroan, Graigue, Ballyfin, Killeshin, Ratheniska , Courtwood from what I've heard. I assume will also be one in Port once Leinster campaign over given Martin Murphy involvement in new Offaly set up. Rumours John Sugrue set to be the new Ratheniska  manager
Post by: Spiritof86 on October 21, 2022, 03:49:30 PM
Sugrue taking over Park and Kieran Kelly off to Graigue?
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 23, 2022, 05:09:43 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on October 21, 2022, 03:49:30 PM
Was Kieran Kelly not involved with Graiguecullen for the past few years??
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on October 23, 2022, 06:40:19 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 23, 2022, 05:09:43 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on October 21, 2022, 03:49:30 PM
Was Kieran Kelly not involved with Graiguecullen for the past few years??
be fair shock to park ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: Spiritof86 on October 23, 2022, 07:53:55 PM
John Sugrue managing Park was always going to happen .
Post by: Blow-in on October 23, 2022, 11:09:36 PM
Big appointment if true
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 24, 2022, 01:10:41 AM
Bigger one on the way in the most unlikely place.
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 24, 2022, 01:12:48 AM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 24, 2022, 01:10:41 AM
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on October 24, 2022, 08:17:42 PM
we herd you the first time
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 24, 2022, 09:47:27 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 24, 2022, 01:12:48 AM

Could you give us some insight ?
Post by: SCFC on October 24, 2022, 11:08:04 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on October 24, 2022, 09:47:27 PM

Jim Gavin to Spink I'm hearing.
Post by: clonadmad on October 24, 2022, 11:55:47 PM
Quote from: SCFC on October 24, 2022, 11:08:04 PM
Quote from: Laoiseabu on October 24, 2022, 09:47:27 PM

Jim Gavin to Spink I'm hearing.

Jimmy winning match's with Annanough?
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on October 25, 2022, 12:03:54 AM
multi all Ireland winning manager - big signing by the roan
Post by: redsetanta on October 25, 2022, 10:18:39 AM
What's the connection?
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 25, 2022, 05:08:13 PM
Quote from: georgedoylesrightleg on October 25, 2022, 12:03:54 AM
multi all Ireland winning manager - big signing by the roan

Spill the beans George 😂😂
Post by: The PRO on October 26, 2022, 10:23:20 AM
I believe it's far from a done deal yet - this mystery man in line for the BA job!
Post by: Laoiseabu on October 26, 2022, 08:40:22 PM
Quote from: The PRO on October 26, 2022, 10:23:20 AM
I believe it's far from a done deal yet - this mystery man in line for the BA job!

Who is the mystery man ?
Post by: thegreeenandgold on October 27, 2022, 08:43:49 AM
Ballyroan say it's Shane Wall, considering his Paul Garrigan's pal.  I heard it's Paul Garrigan, something up here.  I am told  on good authority Paul Garrigan is BallyroanAbbey Manager, so now I'm wondering why are they naming Shane Wall who is Garrigan's right hand man.  Hardly paying €50,000 for Shane Wall.  Very Strange
Post by: Butch Cassidy on October 27, 2022, 10:46:56 AM
Is Paul not going in with Meath? Hardly have time for a club gig too
Post by: Laois man on October 27, 2022, 11:05:57 AM
Is Paul the manager that put 15 players behind the ball last Sunday trying to beat portarlington with his puke fball😂
Post by: Cavan19 on October 27, 2022, 12:04:22 PM
Quote from: thegreeenandgold on October 27, 2022, 08:43:49 AM
Ballyroan say it's Shane Wall, considering his Paul Garrigan's pal.  I heard it's Paul Garrigan, something up here.  I am told  on good authority Paul Garrigan is BallyroanAbbey Manager, so now I'm wondering why are they naming Shane Wall who is Garrigan's right hand man.  Hardly paying €50,000 for Shane Wall.  Very Strange

I have seen situations like this before where a club manger is involved in some other role which means he won't allow a club name him as manger but gets someone else in as a front man.
Post by: georgedoylesrightleg on October 27, 2022, 12:57:51 PM
Quote from: Laois man on October 27, 2022, 11:05:57 AM
Is Paul the manager that put 15 players behind the ball last Sunday trying to beat portarlington with his puke fball😂
yer fella who turned ladies football into shite
Post by: SCFC on December 03, 2022, 12:21:42 PM
Jason Ryan to Graiguecullen is a big appointment. Ballyfin have gone for ex Mountmellick player Shane Conlon. And Barrowhouse have brought in an Athy man, James Eaton who I know nothing about!
Post by: The PRO on December 03, 2022, 09:37:15 PM
Pat Ryan is back for another stint with Emo.
Post by: Spiritof86 on December 12, 2022, 08:49:30 AM
Big coup for PortArlington . Looks like Anthony Cunningham is new football manager .
Post by: SCFC on December 12, 2022, 12:50:29 PM
Must be pucks of money floating around. The likes of Jason Ryan, Anthony Cunningham and the Garrigan/Wall ticket don't come cheap.
Post by: Spiritof86 on December 12, 2022, 01:17:04 PM
How many former inter county managers operating in Laois now , Ryan at Graigue , Cunningham at Port , Sugrue at Park ...?
Post by: The Saint on December 12, 2022, 01:52:01 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on December 12, 2022, 01:17:04 PM
How many former inter county managers operating in Laois now , Ryan at Graigue , Cunningham at Port , Sugrue at Park ...?

Mick Dempsey St Josephs
Post by: portlaoisekid on December 12, 2022, 02:39:19 PM
Fair play to Port, if you going to pay big bucks then pay it to someone who is worth it.
Post by: Pugwash on December 14, 2022, 02:03:09 PM
It really is mind blowing that so many clubs would rather shell out €10,000 - €20,000 a year on a manager than try to develop coaches from within their own club. Never mind neglecting their underage teams and leaving many coaches with the bare minimum in terms of resources like cones, bibs, footballs etc.

I wouldn't mind if you traveled the length and breath of the county, the vast majority of these sessions ran by most of these coaches are still using archaic methods.

The standard of club football in Laois is woeful for the most part, mainly due to young players being neglected of proper coaching at underage level at their local club. It beggars believe why clubs aren't doing the opposite, i.e pouring resources into their underage teams as opposed to their senior team.
Post by: Laois fan on December 14, 2022, 08:23:27 PM
Don't agree at all the likes of port/ ballyroan have got in high profile managers as they want to win a Leinster /Laois championship .But to say they have neglected there underage is bshit  both clubs have also hired full time gdos this year and also have been two of the stronger underage clubs the last few years
Post by: Laois man on December 14, 2022, 08:50:55 PM
Best of luck with teams bringing in high profile managers but Portlaois could be the team to beat next year.
Post by: SCFC on December 15, 2022, 10:42:40 AM
Quote from: Pugwash on December 14, 2022, 02:03:09 PM
It really is mind blowing that so many clubs would rather shell out €10,000 - €20,000 a year on a manager
A lot more than €20k reportedly involved in the Port and BA management teams!
Post by: Chrimtain on December 15, 2022, 11:43:22 AM
Quote from: Laois fan on December 14, 2022, 08:23:27 PM
Don't agree at all the likes of port/ ballyroan have got in high profile managers as they want to win a Leinster /Laois championship .But to say they have neglected there underage is bshit  both clubs have also hired full time gdos this year and also have been two of the stronger underage clubs the last few years

I think Portarlington's underage performance this year has been disappointing. A case of taking their eye off the ball, perhaps?
Post by: Jd on December 16, 2022, 11:26:27 AM
I wouldn't necessarily sat the eye is off the ball at all in port. Sometimes you just have a barren spell when it comes to different teams. Port minors will prob produce 2 or 3 senior players from their minor team . They had 3 laois minors last year and naybe 2 this year Same with u20. If they can keep getting one or two every year and integrate  them into current teams theyll be fine. Ballyroan are on a full rebuild as fas as I can see nad placing massive hope on a bunch of players that have won a lot throughout underage. But I'd suuggest that it will be a few years yet before them lads mature enough as a group to start winning seniors. I hope they have the patience to wait cos it will eventually happen
Post by: clonadmad on December 16, 2022, 12:54:27 PM
Quote from: SCFC on December 15, 2022, 10:42:40 AM
Quote from: Pugwash on December 14, 2022, 02:03:09 PM
It really is mind blowing that so many clubs would rather shell out €10,000 - €20,000 a year on a manager
A lot more than €20k reportedly involved in the Port and BA management teams!

More £ than € in the case of Ballyroan?
Post by: Pugwash on December 16, 2022, 07:43:09 PM

My point was in general hence why I didn't name check any particular club, which I thought was pretty obvious.

The standard of the Laois Senior Championship at the moment is very poor, yet the majority of our clubs continue to spend ridiculous amounts of money on managers instead of investing in youth structures and infrastructure. Surely the main priority of every club should build from the ground up and not the other way around? When Laois were doing brilliantly at underage level in the late 90s, look at the knock on effect it had on our senior team? We were going toe to toe with the best sides in the country and our Senior Championship was imo a very good product too which helped.

A lot of clubs were just unlucky that Portlaoise for the best part of a decade were a once in a lifetime side, so unfortunately there wasn't a greater spread of county titles won by other clubs. But it still didn't take anything away from better the standard was back then compared to now.

Look at our flagship team, who are going to be in Division 4 alongside London, Carlow, Wicklow etc. An embarrassment but it's where we deserve to be.

Laois as a county are probably 10-15 years away from ever being truly competitive at senior intercounty level again and I reckon our Senior Championship is years off being what one could deem as a good product.

It's very much like the Irish Soccer Team, years of neglect at grassroots has caught up with them. Yet, while the rest of Europe had teams evolving with modern trends, our Senior Team were stuck in the dark ages.
Post by: Laoiseabu on December 16, 2022, 10:47:12 PM
Quote from: Pugwash on December 16, 2022, 07:43:09 PM

My point was in general hence why I didn't name check any particular club, which I thought was pretty obvious.

The standard of the Laois Senior Championship at the moment is very poor, yet the majority of our clubs continue to spend ridiculous amounts of money on managers instead of investing in youth structures and infrastructure. Surely the main priority of every club should build from the ground up and not the other way around? When Laois were doing brilliantly at underage level in the late 90s, look at the knock on effect it had on our senior team? We were going toe to toe with the best sides in the country and our Senior Championship was imo a very good product too which helped.

A lot of clubs were just unlucky that Portlaoise for the best part of a decade were a once in a lifetime side, so unfortunately there wasn't a greater spread of county titles won by other clubs. But it still didn't take anything away from better the standard was back then compared to now.

Look at our flagship team, who are going to be in Division 4 alongside London, Carlow, Wicklow etc. An embarrassment but it's where we deserve to be.

Laois as a county are probably 10-15 years away from ever being truly competitive at senior intercounty level again and I reckon our Senior Championship is years off being what one could deem as a good product.

It's very much like the Irish Soccer Team, years of neglect at grassroots has caught up with them. Yet, while the rest of Europe had teams evolving with modern trends, our Senior Team were stuck in the dark ages.

Great post I 100% agree with everything you said