GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 29, 2021, 12:06:54 AM

Title: O'Byrne Cup 2022
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on November 29, 2021, 12:06:54 AM
O'Byrne Cup 2022 fixtures:

Saturday January 8 (2pm)
Group A - Longford v Louth, Offaly v Dublin

Group B - Wicklow v Meath, Wexford v Laois

Group C - Kildare v Westmeath

Wednesday January 12 (7.30pm)
Group A - Dublin v Louth, Offaly v Longford

Group B - Wicklow v Wexford, Laois v Meath

Group C - Carlow v Kildare

Saturday January 15
Group A – Longford v Dublin, Louth v Offaly

Group B - Laois v Wicklow, Meath v Wexford

Group C - Westmeath v Carlow

Wednesday January 19
Semi-Final: Winners Group B v Winners Group C

Saturday January 22
O'Byrne Cup Final
Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 2022
Post by: The PRO on December 20, 2021, 12:17:29 PM
Playing Meath in Stradbally and Wicklow in Crettyard. Should draw a few dedicated supporters looking to see a few new faces and the new management.
Post by: Robbo on December 23, 2021, 03:12:13 PM
Big numbers training at the minute.
Lot of lads will get a chance during the O'Byrne Cup you'd imagine.

Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 03, 2022, 05:48:04 PM
Have all the old guard committed this year? Interesting to see what new names are on the team this weekend
Post by: The PRO on January 04, 2022, 10:51:27 AM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on January 03, 2022, 05:48:04 PM
Have all the old guard committed this year?
Mark Timmons and Colm Begley aren't back yet so I presume we've seen the last of them. Two fantastic servants for the county. Ross Munnelly is training.
Post by: Robbo on January 05, 2022, 09:43:36 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2022/01/05/21-fresh-faces-on-football-panel-as-new-look-laois-gear-up-for-2022-season/

Best of luck to them all.
Easy lament those who won't (or can't) commit but great to have new names and faces putting shoulder to the wheel.

There are some great experienced role-models there too.

Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 05, 2022, 11:48:27 AM
Nice mixture of youth and experience in that panel, best of luck to Billy and the management team..
Post by: Ballybrittas Boy on January 05, 2022, 12:41:52 PM
No harm taking a look at a few lads who never played county minor or under 20. Possibly shows that playing well for your club is taken into account rather than maybe a reputation.
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 05, 2022, 02:08:48 PM
Best of luck to the new management team, great to see so many new faces coming in...pity about a few not involved and a couple from my own club included.

To be picked for your county is still a fantastic honour and fair play to all those involved...
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 05, 2022, 02:14:14 PM
Good to see a decent county wide club representation.
Still a few lads on the panel living off past reputations that didn't exactly stand out in the club championships .
Post by: SCFC on January 06, 2022, 12:50:45 AM
I hear Graham Brody is back. Hope it's true.
Post by: High Fielder on January 06, 2022, 08:52:59 AM
We'll do well to stay out of Division 4 in my opinion. It would be an achievement just to do that. Not that that necessarily bothers me, because maybe we need to go as low as we can to build.

If this management team is to succeed, it needs to stop the revolving door that seems to swing every pre season. You're going nowhere if lads jump on and jump off depending on what's going on in their life. This is the problem for counties like us. In successful counties, players work around their commitment to the GAA. Here, and in many counties like us, the opposite is true. Just one of the disadvantages of being a small fish I suppose.

Whatever happens, good luck to the players and management. It's a big commitment to make in anyone's life, and even bigger in these strange times. Hopefully by the time we're talking next year, there'll be an air of optimism around our footballers
Post by: Robbo on January 06, 2022, 12:14:07 PM
Quote from: SCFC on January 06, 2022, 12:50:45 AM
I hear Graham Brody is back. Hope it's true.

I really hope it's true but I've heard differently.
It would strengthen us in goals and in the forwards.
Post by: Blow-in on January 08, 2022, 01:18:02 AM
Any team for today? Zero on Laois social media pages about the games. I'm told we still don't have a PRO so I hope this is something which is resolved
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 08, 2022, 03:39:53 PM
Awful beating for our lads today but it's something they'll have to face up to, learn from and try to improve for the next game.
Great start for Billy O'Loughlin and Longford with the comeback of the day whereas our Billy has the beating of the day to put up with...
Post by: Chrimtain on January 08, 2022, 04:19:38 PM
Who would be a Laois GAA supporter?  :-\
Post by: Smellyball on January 08, 2022, 04:20:16 PM
Shocking result, would be acceptable for hurling... not football.
Can't find any match report or lineup anywhere.
Post by: on the hop on January 08, 2022, 04:22:24 PM
Quote from: Smellyball on January 08, 2022, 04:20:16 PM

The Laois Today blog had the two teams, one in each half
Post by: Smellyball on January 08, 2022, 04:24:20 PM
Niall Corbett, Adam Campion, Trevor Collins, Conal Brennan; Sean O'Flynn, John O'Loughlin, Brian Byrne; James Finn, Brian Daly; Dylan Kavanagh, Dylan Doyle, Paddy O'Sullivan; Mark Barry, Evan O'Carroll, Sean Moore
Post by: town1980 on January 08, 2022, 05:30:41 PM
I won't comment until I see them Wednesday night but it doesn't look good reading unfortunately but early early days
Post by: clonadmad on January 08, 2022, 06:48:29 PM

and theres the issue right there

some in the Football Fraternity labouring under the impression that football in the county is better than what it actually is

The Footballers got torn apart by a Division 4 Team today

Thats the level they are at
Post by: SCFC on January 09, 2022, 12:53:58 AM
Early days I suppose but that was very worrying. Very few bright spots. Torn apart at the back in the first half leaving it very difficult for the second half team.
James Finn showed well in first half as did Mark Barry. Sean O'Flynn very energetic as always. Sean Moore had a few little flashes.
Second half as I said was a bit of a washout as the game was already over. Gary Walsh tried hard and Gareth Dillon improved things a bit.
Would be unfair to name lads but a few were very out of their depth. Kickout strategy was miles behind Wexford's. May not have been Corbett's fault.
We looked miles behind Wexford in strength and fitness levels but to be fair we had a lot of players 5 or 6 weeks into their inter county career. 
Hope to see a better game plan Wednesday night.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 09, 2022, 01:42:28 AM
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2022/01/09/six-talking-points-as-new-laois-football-season-begins-with-big-obyrne-cup-loss/

(https://www.laoistoday.ie/wp-content/uploads/2022/01/Laois-v-Wexford-e1641687250206-640x506.jpg)
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2022, 11:18:50 AM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 08, 2022, 06:48:29 PM

some in the Football Fraternity labouring under the impression that football in the county is better than what it actually is

Sounds like you are waiting a lifetime to say that, I think it's counter productive to get into basically how bad the other is.   Neither are in a particularly good place.

As I have said for a long time now we won't solve anything till we look at the foundations of which we are built on but nobody seems to want to get into that. 

P.S Can't say I did not see yesterday coming and there will be more pain.

Quote from: Smellyball on October 09, 2021, 07:44:30 PM
If only the world knew that all the oracle's of football reside in the Laois GAA forum, there would never be a mistake made.
For people to post in here that Sheehans appointment is doomed to failure is ridiculous.
He probably wouldn't have been my first choice but I don't claim to to foresee the future and know it won't end well.
Perhaps part of the problem in Laois is all the whingeing and moaning that goes on in the background. An appointment has been made, if the county got behind the team the chances of success may improve.
For those claiming this is an awful appointment - out of interest, who was the last manager you were happy with when they were announced?
Quote from:  BallyroanAbu on Oct 10th 2021, 2:47:59 AM
Happy to oracle it, complete shit show but the definition of madness is to repeat the same thing and expect different results.  We can do better,  Jesus they have dragged us to a point where we think we deserve it.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 09, 2022, 12:45:00 PM
https://www.leinsterexpress.ie/news/gaa/717285/i-have-to-take-this-one-on-the-chin-that-performance-wasn-t-acceptable-laois-boss-billy-sheehan.html?utm_source=dlvr.it&utm_medium=facebook
Post by: Pugwash on January 09, 2022, 01:13:26 PM
The O'Byrne is a pre season tournament, a blank canvas to try players out in new positions, to blood young players, experiment with tactics etc. Results in these type of competitions are irrelevant and if anything shipping a big defeat to Wexford (conceding 6 goals in the process) will mean the management/players will have learned a hell of a lot.

Laois are now firmly in transition, we need to accept that it will likely get worse, if not a lot worse before it will get better. We're at a very low ebb, so ignore short-termism and lets focus on mini victories or little gains. I don't mean results either btw, I mean the implementation of new tactics/brand of football, the emergence of new young players who may well catch the eye, an increased professionalism with a long term plan in place etc.

Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2022, 03:38:20 PM
Quote from: Pugwash on January 09, 2022, 01:13:26 PM
The O'Byrne is a pre season tournament, a blank canvas to try players out in new positions, to blood young players, experiment with tactics etc. Results in these type of competitions are irrelevant and if anything shipping a big defeat to Wexford (conceding 6 goals in the process) will mean the management/players will have learned a hell of a lot.

Laois are now firmly in transition, we need to accept that it will likely get worse, if not a lot worse before it will get better. We're at a very low ebb, so ignore short-termism and lets focus on mini victories or little gains. I don't mean results either btw, I mean the implementation of new tactics/brand of football, the emergence of new young players who may well catch the eye, an increased professionalism with a long term plan in place etc.

So when is this happening ?  I suppose I am trying to be smart but transition would be great if I could firmly see any plan to go forward.  There isn't and I am not sure anybody has the appetite or foresight to do this,  hopefully I am wrong. 
Post by: Heshs Umpire on January 09, 2022, 09:54:17 PM

I read that as it's more acceptable to lose by that margin in hurling than football not the way you did.
Anyway, I really doubt there are very few from the "football fraternity" who think our football team are currently anything other than in a bad way. We've haemorrhaged players from last year's squad and have seen countless lads turn down Sheehan's invite to play. I'll be thrilled if we stay up, beat Wicklow in championship and maybe win a game or two in the second tier championship.
It was a tough day for the lads who are on board yesterday. Not many bright spots. James Finn looks a good addition. And good to see his clubmate Sean Moore playing the full game. The more county football he gets, the better. Mark Barry was good too. He knows where the posts are. Hopefully we'll see a few more faces Wednesday night and also next Saturday.
Post by: Laois Rising on January 10, 2022, 11:15:49 AM
One game in early January and the knives already out. Can we give Billy a little time and lets judge things after 3 or 4 league games. Of the 20 or so new faces, our best hopes is that 4 or 5 of these younger players can step up to the mark of intercounty football, the likes of Paul Kingston, Evan Carroll, Trevor Collins etc peak as intercounty footballers and some of the old guard-Donie Kingston, Kieran Lillis and John O'Loughlin provide the necessary leadership needed. If he can achieve that, we should be competitive in division 3 (without necessarily winning promotion).
Post by: Joeythelips on January 10, 2022, 11:38:01 AM
Obviously a dreadful result, but as people are rightly stating it is only a pre season tournament. I guess the main issue is that we can see now why previous management teams were so dependent on our elder squad members. That would be the main worry from this in Billy and his team are trying to unearth a couple of players who may be able to reach the required standard and a hammering like that does not bode well.
Still it's a new management set up so will take time but not long until the league starts and that is when they will really be judged.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 10, 2022, 11:46:20 AM
I will personally judge Billy on his ability to stand up to / ignore the short timers who want results now.

We have to let to old guard retire gracefully. If we pick teams for the league that are the same as we had for the last few years we are going nowhere. Lads need to be given the chance to fail and gain experience. I would rather we drop to division 4 and slowly build momentum and experience with a pacey and predominantly new team than grind out a couple of wins with the old guard. We are already paying the price for choosing experience over youth in the last few years. Can't afford to keep doing it.
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 10, 2022, 12:08:57 PM
Judging this panel and mgt team after one result is nonsense.Yes its looks bad and is bad but the time will come to judge Laois at the end of the season.

Billy's job is a very simple one on the face of it, make this group of players better than the sum of its parts.It wont happen easy but its very achievable considering  the low base the county's at. If he can get a tune out of this panel then we should be aiming to get promoted from div 3 . We are no world beaters but then again very few are outside the big boys are. Get the spine right , get them super fit and a good defensive system we are half way there.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 10, 2022, 12:29:10 PM
Goalkeeping situation looks worrying amongst other things obviously. Hoping Bolger gets a start Wednesday night . Maybe Corbett is worth a go outfield .
Post by: Butch Cassidy on January 10, 2022, 12:53:38 PM
Sunday shows you can't just put a new lad in without the required levels of S&C. This cab take a number of years. Ideally you'd bring lads in from minor/u20 to a development panel so they get the same training/S&C as the seniors so its a smooth transition.

Only issue I would have is the goals that were conceded. At this level, you should not be conceding 6 goals and that falls on Billy to have them better prepared.
Post by: Pugwash on January 10, 2022, 02:29:05 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on January 10, 2022, 12:53:38 PM
Sunday shows you can't just put a new lad in without the required levels of S&C. This cab take a number of years. Ideally you'd bring lads in from minor/u20 to a development panel so they get the same training/S&C as the seniors so its a smooth transition.

Only issue I would have is the goals that were conceded. At this level, you should not be conceding 6 goals and that falls on Billy to have them better prepared.

Great point re the S&C especially in today's game whereby your athleticism is as important as your technical ability.

Something that I would love to see happening is Laois GAA giving all of our clubs templates that mirror exactly what our county teams are doing in terms of S&C. Not just in the off season, but in season too as lot of players nowadays will use the gym all year round.

You could also look at sending clubs lots of information in terms of sessions plans and stuff for kids to do at home to improve basic technical skills etc.

Creating a stronger link between club and county is absolutely vital, especially in the world we live in.

Post by: clonadmad on January 10, 2022, 07:01:13 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2022, 11:18:50 AM

Sounds like you are waiting a lifetime to say that, I think it's counter productive to get into basically how bad the other is.   Neither are in a particularly good place.

As I have said for a long time now we won't solve anything till we look at the foundations of which we are built on but nobody seems to want to get into that. 

If only the world knew that all the oracle's of football reside in the Laois GAA forum, there would never be a mistake made.
For people to post in here that Sheehans appointment is doomed to failure is ridiculous.
He probably wouldn't have been my first choice but I don't claim to to foresee the future and know it won't end well.
Perhaps part of the problem in Laois is all the whingeing and moaning that goes on in the background. An appointment has been made, if the county got behind the team the chances of success may improve.
For those claiming this is an awful appointment - out of interest, who was the last manager you were happy with when they were announced?
Happy to oracle it, complete shit show but the definition of madness is to repeat the same thing and expect different results.  We can do better,  Jesus they have dragged us to a point where we think we deserve it.

Will ya listen to yourself and cop on

We've been on the slide since we decided we knew more than Micko and got shut of him, that wasn't today or yesterday

if not delusions of grandeur then delusions of respectability with some of the football crowd on here

from what I've seen at underage, there a massive failing in a lot of clubs in even getting the basics into their juvenile players. We punched above our weight for a few years at minor etc but that's long gone now as well.

We haven't hit rock bottom yet but its coming.
Post by: The PRO on January 10, 2022, 07:59:45 PM
Anyone hear the Meath game is off?
Post by: BallyroanAbu on January 10, 2022, 09:44:08 PM
Quote from: clonadmad on January 10, 2022, 07:01:13 PM
Quote from: BallyroanAbu on January 09, 2022, 11:18:50 AM

Will ya listen to yourself and cop on

We've been on the slide since we decided we knew more than Micko and got shut of him, that wasn't today or yesterday

if not delusions of grandeur then delusions of respectability with some of the football crowd on here

from what I've seen at underage, there a massive failing in a lot of clubs in even getting the basics into their juvenile players. We punched above our weight for a few years at minor etc but that's long gone now as well.

We haven't hit rock bottom yet but its coming.

Don't disagree with you on the fact that we have not yet hit rock bottom,  I do agree our underage is struggling.  What I don't agree with is some sort who is better that who between Hurling and Football.  I would say both are not in a great place and needs massive investment and restructure.  How this is going to happen and when I have no clue.   
Title: Re: O'Byrne Cup 20
Post by: town1980 on January 10, 2022, 10:13:52 PM
Billy and his selectors will be judged on the teams fitness and application to certain tactics ,from what I read he holds his hands up regarding the way he set them up, this is the job of Chris and beno also anyone can coach ie do a drill etc tacticaly is the biggest thing for any inter county manager so I'm hoping Chris steps up ,it's a shocking start but they will have learnt a lot I hope from that defeat ,i am disappointed to see Ross our greatest footballer in my opinion playing he has shown a weakness there and no sign of a ruthlessness not to say your time is up ,again let's all hold fire , bad weekend for both codes
Post by: Laoiseabu on January 10, 2022, 10:50:28 PM
I can't say I'm surprised we lost at the weekend but I'm surprised that we were hit for 6 goals by an experimental division 4 Wexford outfit and they could of had more goals . If Dublin ,Kerry or Mayo done that to us it Would be a disaster but when you have an under strength Wexford doing it it's VERY worrying.
The reality is if Meath are anyway serious on Wednesday night it could be a lot worse than the Wexford game. Billy is obviously looking at new players and fair play to the players for committing but it's very hard to know where to go from here . I will be supporting Laois this year no matter the circumstances like I always do but . If Billy keeps us in division 3 and we get a first round championship win against Wicklow he has had a successful first year in charge in my opinion.

We are well and truly in transition and it will get worse before it gets better that's if it gets better at all. We still haven't hit rock bottom yet as D Kingston, G Walsh , Munnelly, Dillon , Lillis , OLoughlin are all still on the panel and will have to be replaced in the next couple of years too. When you have some lads who are definite starters that aren't committing like C Murphy , Byrne , Pigott etc it really kills us altogether on top of everything else
Post by: Robbo on January 10, 2022, 11:21:27 PM
Wasn't in wex so can't say much but few lads there will need a lot of gym time to make it. I know they have been training for a good few weeks now but the worry isn't just whether tje new lads are good enough but if they can get to proper senior physically.
Good to hear some of the forwards were lively. If we can get 4 scoring forwards on the pitch, get everyone fit and working hard then we'll have a chance at div3 and secondary all-ireland. Won't be able to play all of 2kingstons, barry, moore, evan and walsh. Need few workhorses there as well. Maybe that's why paddy O's was tried half forward.

I did hear that covid ripped thru the panel since Xmas so that maybe effected some of the positions. Big worried about full-back.

Tough game against a strong running team on wednesday. hopefully well see a competitive game and get some confidence going.
Post by: Smellyball on January 11, 2022, 09:43:48 AM
Quote from: Heshs Umpire on January 09, 2022, 09:54:17 PM

I read that as it's more acceptable to lose by that margin in hurling than football not the way you did.
Anyway, I really doubt there are very few from the "football fraternity" who think our football team are currently anything other than in a bad way. We've haemorrhaged players from last year's squad and have seen countless lads turn down Sheehan's invite to play. I'll be thrilled if we stay up, beat Wicklow in championship and maybe win a game or two in the second tier championship.
It was a tough day for the lads who are on board yesterday. Not many bright spots. James Finn looks a good addition. And good to see his clubmate Sean Moore playing the full game. The more county football he gets, the better. Mark Barry was good too. He knows where the posts are. Hopefully we'll see a few more faces Wednesday night and also next Saturday.
Yep, thankfully someone's has the brains to realise I was obviously referring to conceding 6 goals and losing by that margin to a traditional hurling county.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 11, 2022, 11:44:54 AM
Regardless of S&C , gym work or players missing/not committing Laois have conceded 16 goals in the  last  6 games . That's a worrying stat whether we are at division 4 level or not . A Distinctive lack of tactical acuteness . Really hoping the present management can change that .
Obviously not off to the most promising of starts .
Post by: Laois Rising on January 11, 2022, 12:44:29 PM
In order to play and compete in the modern game, James Horan made the point a few years ago the players need two full seasons of intercounty standard S&C behind them before they are physically capable of meeting the demands of intercounty football. Granted, he's talking about getting players to a position where they can compete with Dublin, Kerry and Tyrone. However, it does show that we will have to be patient with a lot of the newer faces to the panel. This year will be too soon to judge some of these players who have been asked to make a serious jump from being club footballers to playing intercounty football. The reality is they are going to take some hard knocks and learn some hard lessons as they hopefully develop over the next 12-24 months.
Post by: tippmaninlaois on January 11, 2022, 05:53:24 PM
Quote from: Smellyball on January 11, 2022, 09:43:48 AM

Yep, thankfully someone's has the brains to realise I was obviously referring to conceding 6 goals and losing by that margin to a traditional hurling county.

Ye Laois boys crack me up

Wexford have more of a recent and historical tradition in football than what Laois has, appearing in all ireland semi final in 2008

It must be nearly the centenary of ye last reaching one soon ?

but you wouldn't have "the brains" to know that either

I guess you'd have tipp down as a "traditional" hurling county too even though we have a much richer recent and historic football past as well

Bottom line

Ye seem to have this misguided notion that ye are more of a football county than Wexford

stop fooling yereselves

Post by: Smellyball on January 11, 2022, 07:10:37 PM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on January 11, 2022, 05:53:24 PM

Wexford have more of a recent and historical tradition in football than what Laois has, appearing in all ireland semi final in 2008

I guess you'd have tipp down as a "traditional" hurling county too even though we have a much richer recent and historic football past as well

Bottom line

Ye seem to have this misguided notion that ye are more of a football county than Wexford

stop fooling yereselves

Whooooo rich recent history alright, 1 provincial title in 80 odd years didn't realise the 2008 Footballers are all still playing on with their wealth of semi final experience.
Go back to hurling talk, I doubt you'd know a football if it jumped up and bit you on the mickey.
Post by: Robbo on January 11, 2022, 07:51:08 PM
He's right. What can we say?
Tipp are ahead of us in football and hurling. We're struggling and need to take stock. Big changes needed.
He's right. You'd wonder why he signed up to these boards just to ridicule and antagonise us but that's his choice I guess.

Hopefully we can get this topic back to the O'Byrne Cup.
There's a thread about the future of laois football where everyone can tell us how shite we are.

Team named on laoistoday.

Big challenge tomorrow. I like that we have pace at 5,7, 10 and 12. Lillis back should help Johnno. Need yo protect our full-back line. Port do it so well. Leave our inside forwards close to goal and hopefully get it to them quickly.

Looking forward to the game.
Post by: town1980 on January 11, 2022, 09:38:52 PM
What i will look to see is our defensive set up how our inside line defend and track all opposing backs attack,,,getting ball inside is about transitioning we could have 13/14 defending at some stage so it's how we counter and gets lads into position,,,a lot of lads here talk about inside forwards if we play 15 on 15 well I think we a gonner but looking forward to seeing the set time eve
Post by: Robbo on January 11, 2022, 09:55:00 PM
Nobody wants to see us play 15v15.
But inside forwards who should be able to score is maybe the one type of footballer we have a few of.

It's the only reason I can see why paddy o's is playing half forward. Let out half forwards go deep then try to break at pace. Paul k is a good kick passer, Lillis and finn  too and if we keep 3 (or at least 2) forwards inside, Barry, evan and Moore will cause some trouble.
It's nothing groundbreaking but it makes a certain sense.
Post by: Jd on January 12, 2022, 09:59:42 AM
Is Gary Saunders from Portlaoise on the radar at all for Co panel. I know he didn't commit for a few years but he's a really good defender
Post by: tippmaninlaois on January 12, 2022, 11:02:31 AM
Quote from: Smellyball on January 11, 2022, 07:10:37 PM

Bottom line

stop fooling yereselves

Whooooo rich recent history alright, 1 provincial title in 80 odd years didn't realise the 2008 Footballers are all still playing on with their wealth of semi final experience.
Go back to hurling talk, I doubt you'd know a football if it jumped up and bit you on the mickey.

Even as late as yesterday

Wexford proving it has a richer footballing pedigree than Laois

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2022/01/11/defeat-for-portlaoise-cbs-in-gorey-as-south-leinster-campaign-comes-to-an-end/
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 12, 2022, 11:10:15 AM
Mark Barry with 3 points after coming on in the second half last night for DCU . Probably out sharpest forward at the moment .
Post by: portlaoisekid on January 12, 2022, 11:42:14 AM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on January 12, 2022, 11:02:31 AM

Bottom line

stop fooling yereselves

https://www.laoistoday.ie/2022/01/11/defeat-for-portlaoise-cbs-in-gorey-as-south-leinster-campaign-comes-to-an-end/

For a person that thinks Laois are so pathetic in every way you spend an awful lot of time on this page fishing....you have little to worry about...
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 12, 2022, 01:24:28 PM
Here's the team for our game tonight against Meath, things can only get better..
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2022/01/11/laois-team-named-for-round-2-obyrne-cup-clash-against-meath-in-stradbally/
Post by: tippmaninlaois on January 12, 2022, 03:47:28 PM
Quote from: portlaoisekid on January 12, 2022, 11:42:14 AM
Quote from: tippmaninlaois on January 12, 2022, 11:02:31 AM

Bottom line

stop fooling yereselves

For a person that thinks Laois are so pathetic in every way you spend an awful lot of time on this page fishing....you have little to worry about...

I don't

But ye should

Biggest boys school in the county

Getting whipped by 20 points

In the B

And not even a full Leinster competition

By a Wexford school

Any proper GAA county would have serious alarm bells ringing as it's not a once off there either
Post by: The PRO on January 12, 2022, 04:03:47 PM
Ah look, we get it at this stage tippmaninlaois. You have a low opinion of the standards of the GAA in Laois and you think our senior hurling clubs aren't up to much. That's grand. Most of us are realistic about where things are at. Maybe just give us a rest?
Post by: Jd on January 12, 2022, 05:57:03 PM
Just ignore his posts from now and deprive him of any  argument
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 12, 2022, 09:25:45 PM
Good win tonight for Laois beating Meath by 6 points.
Tipmaninlaois, I think you should worry about your own footballers, they were given the mother of all beatings tonight by Kerry.. 😝
Post by: Laois man on January 12, 2022, 09:32:18 PM
Good win tonight hope all the people who were giving out about Billy and his team about Saturday result were there tonight to support there County👍
Post by: town1980 on January 12, 2022, 09:50:03 PM
Absolutely freezing did ok tried v hard I'm sure there happy to get the result to keep us all an bay I'm too cold at the minute to write what I think
Post by: Robbo on January 12, 2022, 10:44:44 PM
Very happy with that.
Worked so hard; really impressive at times and kept meath on the back foot. Good energy in the middle third and didn't overdo the hand-passing with some good deliveries into Barry, evan and Moore.
I thought Kames finn put in a great shift. Excellent on the ball and always in the right place. A run of games will bring the best out of him.
Mark B, dillon, flynn all had good games too

Nice little laois crowd there and lots of positivity.
Post by: The PRO on January 12, 2022, 10:49:32 PM
Danny Bolger deserves a mention. Excellent first half. Trevor Collins was really solid too and James Finn put in a very good shift. O'Flynn is a ball of energy. Great to watch. Mark Barry looks to be settling in to being a starter now which is good to see. Alex Mohan was on a tricky customer and looked in trouble early on but he settled down well.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 12, 2022, 11:03:01 PM
Good win with some decent performances . No goals conceded very important. Defence much more stable and Collins may be a option in there . Dillon excellent I thought  and O'Flynn is very tasty .
Finn promising at midfield  but thought Lillis struggled a little even though he kicked a lovely point near the end . Forwards went very well in the first half . Thought P Kingston was quite throughout.
Early days yet and cementing D3 status and a championship win priority.
Post by: Chrimtain on January 13, 2022, 09:16:33 AM
I was very impressed by the hard work displayed by the Laois team against Mesth last night. A lot of guys have not committed this year, but if Billy and company can continue to get his team to play in that manner, this may be a decent year and the long term future may be bright. Its early days, but continue to play like this and those not committing may come back eventually and the supporters should also come back.
Post by: redsetanta on January 13, 2022, 10:32:50 AM
Wasn't there but very good performance by all accounts. They have redeemed themselves somewhat after the shambles against Wexford. All these games will do is give Billy and his selectors a better idea of his best 15/18 for the start of the league. That's where they will be judged.
Post by: town1980 on January 13, 2022, 11:24:32 AM
very good first half and our transition was alot better im not getting carried away we scored 3 points in the second half and they had 7 i think so meath had our number in the second half,,but i enjoyed the effort the players brought ,,and evan worked harder than he had been doing off the ball,enjoyable i would like to see us get through and play kildare for a better gauge meath had know where near there team from last year ,but a work man like performance for 35 mins
Post by: Robbo on January 13, 2022, 11:31:38 AM
Nobody would want to get carried away but nice ti have something to hang our hat on.

We're a Div 3 team.

Priority needs to be developing a younger panel with the right foundations. Hard work and honesty are as good a place as any to start.
Post by: Laois Rising on January 13, 2022, 04:31:16 PM
After last night's game I'm going to say what everyone else is thinking- Laois for Sam!!!

In all seriousness though it was a good response from the Wexford game. Granted, it was Meath's first game and once they clicked more into gear in the second half they looked a much better side. I like the set up that Billy is going with-he is not trying to put square pegs in round holes. Simple game plan that reflects the strengths of the footballers at our disposal. It was important that Laois recorded a victory in at least one of the O'Byrne Cup agames s I think the last time we recorded a victory was the Longford game in the Leinster championship a few years back. Gives the players confidence and something to build upon moving forward into the league. Getting James Finn back involved is also a major boast. Excellent footballing brain and good to move the ball quickly into the forward line. He probably didn't get utilised as he as could have when in with Laois previously.     
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 14, 2022, 07:34:32 PM
Anyone know for certain what time tomorrows game v Wicklow is at?
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 14, 2022, 08:31:30 PM
I'm certain it's 2pm Junior
Post by: town1980 on January 14, 2022, 08:41:49 PM
Jesus billy billy Ross at just 40 it's time this ship has sailed thanks
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 14, 2022, 11:52:44 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on January 14, 2022, 08:31:30 PM
I'm certain it's 2pm Junior

Thank you Spirit..
Post by: Giovanni on January 15, 2022, 09:11:24 AM
Will be interesting to see how Alan Farrell goes at centre back. Could be a good move
Post by: The PRO on January 15, 2022, 10:26:06 AM
Quote from: Giovanni on January 15, 2022, 09:11:24 AM
Will be interesting to see how Alan Farrell goes at centre back. Could be a good move
Seems to be back from either injury or Covid. Hopefully his fitness levels are good enough.
Another start for Conall Brennan. The corner definitely didn't suit him down in Wexford so I hope he does better out on the wing.
It's definitely a more experimental team than Wednesday so hope they don't fold like the Wexford game.
Post by: Robbo on January 15, 2022, 06:02:33 PM
A really good response to the wexford game.

Not quite as sharp as Wednesday night but still very encouraging. Crucially it looks like we have a bit of depth to our panel. We got a great boost of the bench and ttheres definitely a sense that we have a system in place. Suits some players more than others.
Hopefully meath will hang on for the win as it'd be great to get another game in advance of the league starting.
But regardless, the o'Byrne cup has served us well so pretty happy.

Finally well done to both strafbally and crettyard.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 15, 2022, 06:54:52 PM
Kildare Wednesday night !
Post by: The PRO on January 15, 2022, 07:50:13 PM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on January 15, 2022, 06:54:52 PM
Kildare Wednesday night !
Home, away or neutral?
Post by: Robbo on January 15, 2022, 08:50:16 PM
Lillies seem to think its Portlaoise or Stradbally.
Post by: The PRO on January 15, 2022, 10:04:40 PM
Really enjoyed the first half. Some good football from both teams. Third quarter was poor fare and then a couple of well taken goals finished it.
Byron was very good in goals. Mohan, Trevor Collins and the other Collins U all very tight except when the lad slipped Trevor for their goal. Alan Farrell covered a lot of ground. Midfield was OK, nothing spectacular.
Cormac Murphy was a pleasant surprise. Very skilful. Game seemed to pass Dicey by but he has been injured for quite a while. Mark Barry, Evan, Sean Moore all class when introduced.
Kildare is a huge ask. They are well ahead of us in development. It will be an eye opener I think.
Post by: Chrimtain on January 16, 2022, 08:38:41 AM
Although Laois have used 34 players in the O'Byrne Cup thus far, we still haven't seen seven or eight who were also said to be part of the 40 plus panel in pre season training. Amongst those we have not seen tog out yet are the two Bennetts and Jake Foster of Portarlington. Another we have not seen is Donie Kingston. Does anyone know why we have not seen these guys yet? Are they still part of the panel? Might we see them against Kildare?
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 16, 2022, 09:07:31 AM
Donie Kingston is part of the panel . He's been on the line the past two games .Think he's carrying an injury . Not sure what's going on with the Port lads . No sign of Paddy O yesterday also .
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on January 16, 2022, 09:38:20 AM
Full-forward line of Barry, O'Carroll and Moore has potential to do damage against Division 3 sides.
Good mixture of pace, power and scoring ability split between the three.
Post by: The PRO on January 16, 2022, 10:16:56 AM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on January 16, 2022, 09:07:31 AM
Donie Kingston is part of the panel . He's been on the line the past two games .Think he's carrying an injury . Not sure what's going on with the Port lads . No sign of Paddy O yesterday also .
Paddy was there yesterday. Just rested.
Donie got married shortly before Christmas. He has trained I believe but you're possibly right that he may have a knock.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 16, 2022, 07:12:51 PM
Kildare match confirmed for 7:30 Carlow Wednesday night .
Post by: town1980 on January 16, 2022, 11:11:54 PM
Let's not run away with yereselves Wicklow are scutter so we are still learning ,, acid test I think we will win
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 17, 2022, 02:11:14 AM
Quote from: Spiritof86 on January 16, 2022, 07:12:51 PM
Kildare match confirmed for 7:30 Carlow Wednesday night .

Nice one Spirit, thanks
Post by: Ballybrittas Boy on January 17, 2022, 09:52:19 AM
Quote from: town1980 on January 16, 2022, 11:11:54 PM
Let's not run away with yereselves Wicklow are scutter so we are still learning ,, acid test I think we will win
No one is running away with themselves. it's the O'Byrne Cup for Jaysus sake! I think Kildare will be a bit too strong for us on Wednesday night.
Post by: Laois Rising on January 17, 2022, 01:05:41 PM
Kildare motoring at the moment but then they need to be as they try survive in division 1 of league this year. It's a real bonus game to test some players again before the start of the league. Winning games breathes confidence into a step up. A week ago, posters on this forum were already writing their epitaphs to the Billy Sheehan reign. Two games later and there is a sense of optimism that he is building something meaningful that players have bought into. The bookies have taken note with Laois now second favourites for promotion from Division Three (granted away games to Louth and Fermanagh not easy). When you look at the other sides in the division (Cavan being relegated to division 4 a real bonus) we still should be there or there abouts by end of competition. Louth and Longford have had poor O'Byrne Cup campaigns while Fermanagh easily beaten at home by Derry at weekend. 

Also, Ross Munnelly's performances in the O'Byrne games have not been acknowledged. I know some posters would prefer if he walked away but he has been excellent so far and as long as he is performing to the level required then we are lucky to have him. He is there on merit, it is up to the younger forwards coming through to step up to the mark and displace him. 
Post by: SCFC on January 17, 2022, 01:36:40 PM
Good point about Ross. I know "it's only the O'Byrne Cup" is a cliché by now but he's done nothing wrong either in Wexford or against Wicklow. He also is a brilliant lad to have in the dressing room, always positive and he's flying fit still.
Billy is going to have to cut a few players shortly. It's probably a horrible job but you'll also have a few lads who will walk away themselves. Feel sorry for Cathal Doyle of B Abbey. He got injured right before the Wexford game and he has missed valuable game time.
No idea what's going on with Jake Foster and the Bennetts.
A few lads have definitely come in and done well in the OBC and probably secured a place on the panel. Fennessy, Daly, Collins (Courtwood version not Trevor), Moore, Mohan, Finn, Kelly have surely all done enough. Pauric Dunne, Dylan Kavanagh and possibly Cormac Murphy should also have a decent chance of being kept.
There's a few others we didn't see much of. Joey Shelly, Adam Campion, Connall Brennan, Liam Senior, Dylan Doyle, Cian Doyle. Not sure what way some of them were with Covid and/or injury.
Post by: redsetanta on January 19, 2022, 06:02:50 PM
Best of luck to Laois this evening. A tough encounter in store as Kildare will be better than what they've faced so far. It will be a decent indicator as to where we are even if it is the O'Byrne cup.
Post by: Chrimtain on January 19, 2022, 09:48:33 PM
Time to start worrying? Forgive the pessimist in me but Laois doing well in the O'Byrne Cup doesn't augur well for a good year :D :D
Post by: SCFC on January 19, 2022, 10:13:46 PM
Best tenner I spent in years. Jesus, I'd actually forgotten how obnoxious some Kildare supporters are! 😀
Post by: recyclebin on January 19, 2022, 10:49:03 PM
When was the last time we bet Kildare? Seems like a long time ago.
Post by: Robbo on January 19, 2022, 10:59:37 PM
Ah that was great.
Only the O'Byrne Cup yeah yeah yeah but sport is great when you can go and forget yourself in the freezing cold like that.

Well done to everyine; you'd have to like what we're trying to do.
Post by: redsetanta on January 20, 2022, 09:41:12 AM
A great result and one thing that can be said is that there is serious fight in the Laois team. Billy and his selectors have to be thanked for that.

I was a 'we're heading for Div 4' doom merchant but on the basis of this competition I'd have to say things are looking a lot brighter.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 20, 2022, 10:41:49 AM
I was surprised and delighted at the intensity that Laois brought to the game. Right from the start they harried and hassled the man on the ball and closed down space very well.
The fitness levels were high on both sides and it made for a very exciting game.
Laois should have been well ahead at half time but some poor shooting and some wayward passes into the forward line let them down. They seem like a bunch of lads who don't give in too easy and that must come down to the manager and selectors. Great finish and an exciting penalty shoot-out to cap off a good evenings entertainment.
Post by: SCFC on January 20, 2022, 01:26:36 PM
You'd imagine the team that started last night will be close to the team for the first league game up in Louth. With probably Mark Barry and Paul Kingston coming into the forwards.
Post by: Spiritof86 on January 20, 2022, 03:41:28 PM
Whether it's a challenge match or O'Byrne Cup beating Kildare at any level is gratifying. There is a lot more fire in the belly from Laois this year and that's obviously down to the lads on the line . No offence to last years set up but the intensity on the line this year has translated to the pitch . This was hugely lacking last year . The past 3 three matches have shown that .

Saying that Kildare were poor enough last night . Looked very leggy and unsure at times . There playing division one this year so for us to be competitive with them last night was very satisfying.
We've tightened up considerably. Mohan is a proper corner back and I'm glad he's in there .
The forwards are beginning to click and you can see a rhythm developing .

Division 3 survival is still priority . Anything else would be great .
Saturday is a free hit . Interesting to see what team Dublin have out
Post by: Pugwash on January 22, 2022, 05:25:43 PM
A lot of positives can be taken from not only today's game but the O'Byrne Cup on the whole and it's really worked out well for the management team to have gotten to see the squad over 5 games.

It was very evident that a number of younger more inexperienced players especially will need at least another year if not two to bulk up where we can physically look to match sides allover the park, but that will come.

On the game itself, when Dublin went to 14 I'm not sure why we persisted with the long kick out? Or at least if we were going long to create an overload somewhere instead of going straight down the middle more often than not.

I admired how we tried to kick the ball into the full forward line as early as possible, but the constant high lofted ball gave our forwards very little chance to get shots away. By the time the ball landed near head height we were often bottled up, again maybe when you're playing with an extra man would going through the hand a bit more not have been more logical? Or if we were going direct, pop the ball into space as opposed to in the clouds.

Looking to the future, staying up in Div 3 would be great but I wouldn't be too fussed if we didn't. What I would like to see is Billy sticking with this group of players (especially the younger lads) and get them all to fully buy into the set up and let's try and build for the long term. Short termism is no good and once lessons are learned throughout 2022, who's to say come 2023/2024 with the further emergence of fresh faces we can't at least look to get back into being top 3 in Leinster.
Post by: Silkyskillssunshinee on January 22, 2022, 07:06:35 PM
I'm a lot more positive about the upcoming league campaign than I was before. Fair play to Sheehan and co. for the job they've done so far. The players already look a lot fitter than they did last year and I like the idea of O'Loughlin at centre-back. Doesn't involve as much running as midfield.

Mohan and Kelly in the corners were solid and held the Dublin forwards well I thought. Finn in midfield was up against the best midfielder in the country but did not look out of his depth at all. O'Flynn at wing-back has a great engine and a bright future.

I agree with the poster above that a few lads need to get that bit physically stronger. All of the Dublin lads, even the ones who won't see gametime in the league or championship and might be dropped off the panel, are in serious physical condition. S&C is one of the most important parts of the modern game. The likes of Barry and Moore are brilliant footballers but need to improve in this department if they want to compete at the top at inter-county level.

All in all a very enjoyable run in the O'Byrne Cup and I think that could help galvanise good crowds for the league campaign. Louth are a tricky opposition to start with though so the lads will need to be at the top of their game to take the points in that one.
Post by: Chrimtain on January 22, 2022, 08:16:23 PM
Watching the match today, I'm sure Mickey Harte will have learned a lot about Laois' strengths and weaknesses. However, win lose or draw tomorrow week, it seems to me that Billy Sheehan has Laois on the right path.
Post by: SCFC on January 22, 2022, 09:53:22 PM
Without going into the game in any depth, can I just say how enjoyable the brand of football Laois are playing is?
Jesus, you'd fall asleep looking at us for the last two years. It's far from perfect but it might bring some supporters back knowing that the style of football is reasonably attractive.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on January 23, 2022, 12:01:42 AM
A very satisfying O'Byrne Cup run for Laois and the new Management. The drubbing by Wexford in the first game was the best thing about it to be honest.
It made lads sit up and see what senior county football is all about and opened managements eyes of the task that lay before them. After that it was all uphill and fair play to all concerned they responded brilliantly.

The game against Wicklow was dogged and we found a way to win. The win against Meath was well merited through the hard work we put in and against Kildare we certainly had a plan with the quick ball into the forwards and great tracking back when needed. A few tweaks needed into that plan but that will come too.
Today against the Dubs we did a lot of things right but couldn't match their physicality and fitness and we tired near the end. That's understandable as it was a lot of tough games over a short period of time and the last time they played was 2 weeks ago.

Overall a great campaign and the management have learned a lot and hopefully will build on it during the league. Staying in the top half of Div3 would be good but winning it and promotion would be brilliant. 
Post by: The PRO on January 24, 2022, 10:36:51 AM
Considering we were without Gareth Dillon, Paul and Donie Kingston, Paddy O'Sullivan, Collins Ugochuku, Alan Farrell, Adam Campion and Niall Corbett, it was a decent performance. If we can get a few lads back for next Sunday in Ardee, I'd be hopeful we can get a result up there.
Post by: blueandwhite1 on January 24, 2022, 11:21:27 AM
In some ways, the intensity with which Laois played for spells on Saturday reminded me of the Micko years. Individual players seem to getting the best out of themselves and have a bit of belief. Loads to work on and far from having a settled team but definitely going in the right direction. A couple of early league wins would provide a nice panic-free platform for the Billy era.
Post by: Unlaoised on January 28, 2022, 08:03:28 AM
Good O Byrne cup run we learned loads .

One noticeable thing was the accuracy of James Finn 's kick passing especially to Evan .

Such a breath of fresh air to have that weapon in a Laois team .

He did well on Fenton in spells who is without a doubt the most complete footballer I've ever seen in the flesh.
The size of him aswell Finn and Lillis are big men but they looked like school kids beside him .