Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on July 27, 2017, 10:44:38 PM
Galway championship record v Kerry

Played - 20
Kerry wins - 11
Galway wins - 6
Draws - 3
http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/eoin-liston-bad-childhood-memories-ensure-that-im-always-wary-of-galway-35972233.html
One of my earliest childhood memories is sitting in front of a black and white television watching the three-in-a-row Galway team from '64-'66 and being inconsolable at the thought of Kerry greats like Mick O'Connell, Tom Long and Mick O'Dwyer finishing on the losing side.
I grew up with bad memories of that maroon and white jersey and will always be on guard against them, and for good reason. I'll never forget Michael Meehan's tour de force when he nearly beat Kerry by himself in 2008 and it's great to see him back in action.

DJGaliv

Eamonn fitzmaurice had a similar thing about how good galway are today.
The funny thing is when they are speaking about counties they actually do fear they never tend to pump them up. It's always like "we respect them but we won't worry about them and their players. We'll just worry about ourselves".

Sounds like Kerry are working hard trying to convince themselves to take Galway seriously. Maybe a truer reflection of Kerry mindset going in to this game.

An Fhairche Abu

It's hilarious, the Kerry pundits are a joke in the run up to matches, same claptrap prior to the Munster final. They are having to go back to the 60's for any sort of fear factor, easy known we haven't beaten them since.

The U21 semi final will be on their minds I can guarantee you. That was a highly fancied Kerry and Galway's young guns tore them apart at times.

Ciarrai_thuaidh

"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

You know Kerry aren't taking it seriously when Star is starting.

Hopeful Galway can surprise some people but that keeper/FB line is where something special needs to happen for them to have a chance.

mrhardyannual

Would love to see Galway do well but that full-back line needs the full Galway novena and more to have a chance.

Lads, Galway (and Mayo for that fact) have a sh1te record against the Kingdom. Sh1te! Kerry love playing both because both make an effort at playing open football and Kerry say thank you very much and win! Looking back at the romance of beating them in the 60's is the the same as Mayo lads looking back to '51!

It is over 50 years since Galway beat Kerry! It as much ancient history as Mayo last AI win! Of course Galway are always thanked for giving Kerry a nice game by the media every couple of years. Spillane loves ye! Probably because ye are as harmless as Mayo! Feck the 2008 game - ye lost! Do you think Kerry would talk in awe of a great game in 2008 if they lost?

mrhardyannual

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2017, 10:57:56 PM
Lads, Galway (and Mayo for that fact) have a sh1te record against the Kingdom. Sh1te! Kerry love playing both because both make an effort at playing open football and Kerry say thank you very much and win! Looking back at the romance of beating them in the 60's is the the same as Mayo lads looking back to '51!

It is over 50 years since Galway beat Kerry! It as much ancient history as Mayo last AI win! Of course Galway are always thanked for giving Kerry a nice game by the media every couple of years. Spillane loves ye! Probably because ye are as harmless as Mayo! Feck the 2008 game - ye lost! Do you think Kerry would talk in awe of a great game in 2008 if they lost?

I have to agree Bunker. Galway, like Mayo get pulled in by the talk of their lovely brand of football, kick-passing etc. They tend to forget that their greatest days were reached on the shoulders of the dog-tough Noel Tierney, Mattie Mac, Johneen & Pat Donnellan etc.

Re: Kerry starting team, FF line looks very good but the HF line looks ordinary enough. Ml Geaney is just poor and Donnacha Walsh is a long time on the go now. If they have no better, then their bench can't be as good as they may let on. Fionn Fitzgerald could be targeted for pace also. Still take a major leap of faith to see Galway pulling it off tho'.

Quote from: mrhardyannual on July 28, 2017, 11:12:25 PM

I have to agree Bunker. Galway, like Mayo get pulled in by the talk of their lovely brand of football, kick-passing etc. They tend to forget that their greatest days were reached on the shoulders of the dog-tough Noel Tierney, Mattie Mac, Johneen & Pat Donnellan etc.

Mayo don't have a lovely brand of football. Handball, maybe.

Quote from: Syferus on July 28, 2017, 11:14:54 PM

Was more talking about the 2004-06 era.

Quote from: From the Bunker on July 28, 2017, 11:18:40 PM
Quote from: Syferus on July 28, 2017, 11:14:54 PM

Was more talking about the 2004-06 era.

Fair enough

An Fhairche Abu

Christ almighty, have you read any of the rest of this thread? We're on about the 60's because that's how far back the Kerry lads are having to go for the plamas because of the horrific record Galway have against them. I literally posted on here the other day that Kerry love playing Galway because they always win.
The only one going on about the 3 in a row and 2008 as if it matters a jot is the Bomber.

Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on July 28, 2017, 11:32:44 PM

Christ almighty, have you read any of the rest of this thread? We're on about the 60's because that's how far back the Kerry lads are having to go for the plamas because of the horrific record Galway have against them. I literally posted on here the other day that Kerry love playing Galway because they always win.
The only one going on about the 3 in a row and 2008 as if it matters a jot is the Bomber.

Good!