Quote from: Itchy on October 14, 2023, 07:49:05 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 14, 2023, 06:44:47 PM
Quote from: Itchy on October 14, 2023, 06:10:24 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 14, 2023, 01:37:51 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 14, 2023, 01:11:05 PM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 14, 2023, 12:20:45 PM
Quote from: seafoid on October 14, 2023, 10:40:42 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on October 14, 2023, 06:15:05 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on October 14, 2023, 01:28:35 AMThere is no point in continuing with Kenny. It doesn't work at all
Yep. I've been a big supporter of his and trying to play the right way but it just isn't happening. For years we mightn't have been brilliant but opponents got nothing easy and knew they'd been in a game. As someone said above they barely need to break sweat now, even shite teams like Greece. In Ferguson we have a lad who is gonna be a top top player and probably go for £100m~, we also have 2 very good young goalkeepers. Get someone in who can build a team around Ferguson and play to our strengths.
Greece are not shite. Neither are Scotland. They both have good managers and well drilled players.
We don't even have a decent midfield. We are probably at least 2 years behind Greece.
Hardly world beaters are they? How many players do they have playing at the top level? Genuine question
Starting team last night.

1. Odysseas Vlachodimos - Notts Forest sub keeper
2. Lazaros Rota - AEK Athens
3. Konstantinos Mavropanos - West Ham sub
4. Panagiotis Retsos -  Olympiacos
5. Konstantinos Tsimikas - Liverpool sub
6. Anastasios Bakasetas - Trabzonspor
7. Dimitrios Kourbelis - Trabzonspor
8. Petros Mantalos -  AEK Athens
9. Giorgos Masouras - Olympiacos
10.Giorgos Giakoumakis - Atlanta United
11. Dimitrios Pelkas - İstanbul Başakşehir

Subs brought on

Konstantinos Koulierakis -  PAOK
Andreas Bouchalakis - Hertha Berlin
Fotis Ioannidis - Panathinaikos
Anastasios Chatzigiovanis - Ankaragucu
Emmanouil Siopis - Cardiff City

It does not matter who they play for. It is about how well they play together.

The point I'm sure he was making is that Greece players are pretty much playing at the same level as ours. Then we are both ranked in the early 50s in the world. Then why are Greece beating us with such ease in our own back yard?
Better class of player, better manager, more confident, better record than 5 wins out of 27
Greece are making progress. We are not

You're not following. Technically better players yes but they obviously have other weaknesses or theyd all be playing at top clubs. As it stands they are all playing at similar levels of clubs. Manager for sure is much better. The record you quote is the outcome of the above. The question is why?
You do not need superstars to beat Ireland.
It's about doing the simple things well.

Gus Poyet explains

"Poyet said his team expected Adam Idah to partner Evan Ferguson up front at the Opap Arena, suggesting that this played into Greek hands by allowing Liverpool wing back Kostas Tsimikas to expose a disconnect between Matt Doherty and Will Smallbone.
Converted full back Callum O'Dowda was also targeted with the Cardiff City winger at fault for the Greece goals in the 2-1 defeat that heaps pressure on Kenny to remain at the helm for a possible March 2024 playoff to qualify for Germany 2024.
"We prepared under [Ireland operating] their two main systems, 5-4-1 and 5-3-2," said Poyet. "We had the suspicion that it would be two strikers so we put a lot of emphasis on the size and the full backs, how to drag them one way and switch to the other side, to be able to attack.

"I am sure the gaffer [Kenny] saw that and tried to change a striker with a midfielder and tried to stop us and we were put under a bit of pressure but then they got weaker in the middle and we pressed through the middle to be able to play wide," Poyet continued.
"This team understands all this quickly and I am happily surprised because in a club training every day that can take you six or seven months, and here we trained four or five days and we are able to have the players to embrace it."
When asked to describe the Irish style of play under Kenny as a 'classic British way' or 'possession-based' or a constant state of flux, the former Chelsea midfielder leaned into option three.
"I understand that situation because when we were analysing the Republic of Ireland we had the impression that you were really playing football with the ball on the floor, playing through the thirds, going wide, putting players in the box and I was happy because of the way that you played.
"And then there were other games where depending on the result you become the Republic of Ireland, with all due respect. You depend on a corner, you depend on a long ball, you depend on fighting for second and third balls.
"But it's tough boys, it's tough. I remember many games with the national team where I was on the pitch thinking 'how are we going to win this?' And I don't know how they feel, but that succession of corners at the beginning of the game – five, six, seven, eight – you are playing away from home and you need to win and the ball is coming, coming, coming and it is corner after corner. How do you get out of that?
"If you have three points, or six points and have that bit more confidence it is a little bit easier. When you must win and there is a little bit of tension because you cannot concede, it is tough.
"You need a group who has been playing I don't know how many years.
"It is difficult, I have been in that situation and it is not for everyone."

Matt Doherty was woeful. I don't think it was a disconnect with him and anyone other than himself. I couldn't believe how bad he was.

Irish better than Gibraltar anyway.

Netherlands beat Greece 1-0 with added time penalty, they will finished the group in 2nd by beating Ireland next month.

Nanderson

Sad state of affairs for football on this island. Republics only 2 wins so far against Gibraltar and Northern Irelands only 2 wins so far are against San Marino

Good to see Calum Robinson back and score. What do you think of that Joe Duffy?

AustinPowers

Quote from: From the Bunker on October 16, 2023, 09:56:03 PMGood to see Calum Robinson back and score. What do you think of that Joe Duffy?

Don't you mean the  other joe?

Quote from: Nanderson on October 16, 2023, 09:50:54 PMSad state of affairs for football on this island. Republics only 2 wins so far against Gibraltar and Northern Irelands only 2 wins so far are against San Marino
You'll never beat the table. Greece are on 12, 6 points ahead of us because they beat us home and away

AustinPowers

Quote from: Blowitupref on October 17, 2023, 10:54:26 AMSo can still reach Euro 2024 via a play off just need to lose to the Netherlands

https://talksport.com/football/1603374/republic-of-ireland-need-to-lose-netherlands-euro-2024/

Wouldn't it be ironic (may not be the right  term ,  Must consult Alanis on that) if  Ireland beat the Dutch and  even though it would be a great result, Kenny  was sacked because it knocked Ireland out?

In reality,  Ireland are better off  being  nowhere near that tournament.  It would be a farce if they did get there , but I doubt we'll  need to worry about it

JPGJOHNNYG

Quote from: AustinPowers on October 17, 2023, 12:04:02 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on October 17, 2023, 10:54:26 AMSo can still reach Euro 2024 via a play off just need to lose to the Netherlands

https://talksport.com/football/1603374/republic-of-ireland-need-to-lose-netherlands-euro-2024/

Wouldn't it be ironic (may not be the right  term ,  Must consult Alanis on that) if  Ireland beat the Dutch and  even though it would be a great result, Kenny  was sacked because it knocked Ireland out?

In reality,  Ireland are better off  being  nowhere near that tournament.  It would be a farce if they did get there , but I doubt we'll  need to worry about it

Εxactly this we shouldn't be anywhere near the tournament. At least in 2012 we were stuffed by 3 very good teams this time literally anyone would beat us comfortably. Just show what a farce expanding the tournament was. 16 was great and I would argue that 8 was probably even better

I know you will say he can't win even after he wins...BUT...
Manning did grand at LB and should have been given more chances. Collins and O'Shea are both Premier League players and yet Duffy gets called back. Kenny said Collins wasn't to blame for goals the previous day but whipped him ashore and then drops him. Great for a young player's confidence, especially a manager who promotes youth.

And speaking of that, Festy is now a level above Doherty and has to be bedded in. The talk does not match the practice at all over his tenure.

Lookit, he seems like a nice man but he was never very inspiring and we need to get a more driven personality there. It also doesn't mean that we need to go with Big Sam, but we can get a pragmatist. Someone who actually sees what his players CAN do versus what he wants them to do.

Quote from: AustinPowers on October 16, 2023, 11:47:00 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on October 16, 2023, 09:56:03 PMGood to see Calum Robinson back and score. What do you think of that Joe Duffy?

No, Joe Duffy to be sure! The B*llocks on €350k a year and our COVID HERO (Remember that farce)!

AustinPowers

Quote from: From the Bunker on October 17, 2023, 06:46:44 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on October 16, 2023, 11:47:00 PM

No, Joe Duffy to be sure! The B*llocks on €350k a year and our COVID HERO (Remember that farce)!

To quote the  cinema manager in Fr Ted : oh, that gobsh1te!

Never listen  to him , can't stand his voice.  Let me guess though -  he had  an issue with Robinson refusing to get thon jab?

Kasey McAteer of Leicester is declaring for Republic. He scored against Liverpool in the League Cup .

Another option for whoever the new manager will be in 24.