Sinn Fein? They have gone away, you know.

Started by Trevor Hill, January 18, 2010, 12:28:52 AM

He have to go, but in general in northern Ireland could Potts, S Wilson, G Campbell, and a couple of sinners ever get voted in anywhere else but here, the lack of understanding or capability to carry out the role as a sensible politician is all but lost up here. We can have scandals like red sky, RHI, but no-one resigns, in England u be out the door in record time, (unless u T Blair). Sinn Fein and the DUP need a complete clean out and bring in sensible more educated people not so stuck in the past. John Taylor formerly of the UUP making a real tit of himself too this weather.

Even if a mistake/accident/confidence, which I really struggle to believe, he has to go. If the shoe was on the other foot "we" would all be up in arms. Embarrassing shite altogether.

Good that he's offered to meet the families and fair play to them for accepting, but that should be about doing the right thing and not saving his political skin.

playwiththewind1st

Pubs, clubs, taxis....whatever you say, use your loaf.

I think he has to go.

However up here there are repeated "has to go" incidents and they never do.

playwiththewind1st

Apparently Paul Hollywood has invited Barry "The Loaf" McElduff on to the Great British Bake Off, to discuss bread making.
Barry refused & said he strongly objected to the name of the programme & that they had absolutely no sovereignty over Irish loaves.

Quote from: playwiththewind1st on January 07, 2018, 10:46:39 AM
Apparently Paul Hollywood has invited Barry "The Loaf" McElduff on to the Great British Bake Off, to discuss bread making.
Barry refused & said he strongly objected to the name of the programme & that they had absolutely no sovereignty over Irish loaves.

McElduff's video was funnier  :(

StGallsGAA

I expect he's saving whatever excuse he has for Stephen Nolan show on Monday.

Owen Brannigan

Quote from: Seany on January 06, 2018, 09:44:24 PM
What a load of complete nonsense. Barry McElduff is an excellent public representative for the people of Tyrone who have great affection for him. He interprets his role differently and perhaps better, than other politicians. He doesn't take himself seriously, he isn't precious about himself and is fearless in assisting both sides of the community.

He only is elected by those in West Tyrone. Even the people of West Tyrone do not have a 'great affection for him', 49.3% of the electorate voted against him even where none of their favoured candidates could beat the SF vote.

Within SF, he has been moved to being the SF MP to take him out of the Assembly and hopefully the public view. Most people never saw or knew the previous SF MP for WT.

What has he ever done for his constituency that has had a major effect on bringing employment to the area or improved the health system?  Nothing.  He allowed his party to remove the local hospital to Enniskillen where it is now a white elephant greatly under used and a huge waste of £300m.  He sat back when his party moved the construction of the A5 from Omagh-Ballygawley to Derry-Strabane instead of continuing a dual carriageway to the centre of his constituency which would deliver jobs to this area.

Maybe he should show some of this fearlessness in his own party to represent the people of his constituency when moves are made to buy votes in FST and Foyle in Westminster elections at the expense of those in WT.

Quote from: general_lee on January 07, 2018, 12:40:39 PM
Shinner bashers having a field day!

That's how it works in politics, if he wasn't a moron there would be no field day

LCohen

Quote from: Minder on January 07, 2018, 12:44:50 PM

That's how it works in politics, if he wasn't a moron there would be no field day

You can't blame them.

SF making it easy

Il Bomber Destro

It doesn't look good and you can understand the anger the Kingsmill families will feel but the opportunistic way the usual elements have jumped on the offended bus is nauseating.

Only McElduff will know whether it was an accident or not. If he's sincere in his apologies and the families can accept that then a line should be drawn under it.

Quote from: LCohen on January 07, 2018, 12:45:58 PM

You can't blame them.

SF making it easy
It was at best utterly stupid but whether it was deliberate or not is questionable. The criticism coming from Unionism is a bit rich and outrage from stoops laughable.

LCohen

Quote from: general_lee on January 07, 2018, 01:06:40 PM
Quote from: LCohen on January 07, 2018, 12:45:58 PM

You can't blame them.

SF making it easy
It was at best utterly stupid but whether it was deliberate or not is questionable. The criticism coming from Unionism is a bit rich and outrage from stoops laughable.

Don't buy that line at all.

Only the wee fella himself knows if was deliberate. So its easy to argue that it is questionable. But once you look at the issue of probability then your argument becomes wafer thin. The chances of his actions not being deliberate are fantastically remote.

Criticism of his actions is very understandable. An argument that you cannot or should not criticise him because you are either a unionist or a SDLP member/voter has no basis in logic

playwiththewind1st

It's the slack news time of the year. If Barry posts something that most people would deem to be spectacularly stupid, then political opponents, of all shades, will milk it, for all it's worth.

It's always interesting that, when there's always a lot of talk about the Kingsmills incident, it's often overlooked that 5 Catholics were butchered the night before & another died later. The DUP, in particular, sought to seriously damage the reputation of one of those families.