Dublin V Kerry 28/08/16 3.30pm RTE/SKY.

Started by The Aristocrat, August 08, 2016, 02:50:36 PM

Kerry will need to match Dublin in the middle third, and that's hard to see happening. They won't play 13 behind the ball, which means positions will be slightly more orthodox, but I can't see how Kerry will negate the athleticism of the middle third for Dublin. David Moran is probably as athletic as Fenton, but McCauley would run someone like Maher or Sheehan or Donaghy into the ground. It might be an option to have a Donnacha Walsh on McAuley. Darren O'Sullivan will run and track all day, so he'd be okay for Small or Kilkenny if Kilkenny plays in the half back line, but I don't think Stephen O'Brien would do as much on the other side. Gooch has to be a luxury player, he can't allow himself to be picked up by McMahon or Johnny Cooper and end up following them up the field. I'd almost tell Gooch to operate as an 'attacking sweeper' and try just float around the 40 to get on ball and feed the inside lads of Geaney and O'Donoghue. Tell the Kerry half forwards and half backs that an overlapping Cooper or McMahon is their responsibility. Paul Murphy might do a man marking job on Connolly, and possibly Marc Griffin might play centre back, and hold the centre, let Murphy as the nominal 'sweeper' pick up Connolly. Enright and Young or Begley will have to go man to man on Brogan and Rock.  I don't think Kerry have the legs, but if they do the usual Kerry thing of trying to hammer the hammer (i.e. Brogan, Cian O'Sullivan, Connolly, Kilkenny, and the midfield area) I think they will cause problems. They will try to isolate O'Donoghue and Geaney on the inside backs, and if Gooch floats and thereby occupies Cian O'Sullivan, I think they have a chance.

Maybe something like this

Kelly

Young    O'Se (maybe)   Enright

Crowley      Griffin      Murphy    Begley

Moran    Walsh

O'Sullivan           Gooch           Geaney

O'Donoghue         Geaney

Quote from: Jinxy on August 09, 2016, 12:04:24 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on August 09, 2016, 10:54:43 AM
Wouldn't be at all surprised if Kerry were to win this match. Dublin have been over hyped and are on a long unbeaten run in League & championship (something like 27 wins in a row) but this will all suit Kerry and I think they are vulnerable. Kerry's forwards are dangerous, Geaney is one of the best forwards in the country this year and O'Donoghue is back fit and if those 2 can perform Kerry have a great chance. This is a game where Dublin will feel the loss of McCaffrey, O'Carroll and possibly McCarthy. I wouldn't like to call the result either way yet but I think it will be close and I don't see the gulf between Dublin and Kerry that others do. Kerry need to match Dublin for athleticism and mobility however and that means no starting places for the likes of Donaghy, Sheehan or O'Mahoney.

I think that's a bit of an oxymoron.
Ogie was a great player. Kerry have nobody like him now.

If Kilkenny lines out at wing-back, Kerry will go after him and make him defend first and foremost.
He doesn't have the same pace as McCarthy so I don't think he is a 'line-breaker' from his own half.
I think Dublin might bring in a specialist wing back like Lowndes and put Kilkenny back in the HF line.

The Aristocrat

Wouldn't be at all surprised if Kerry were to win this match. Dublin have been over hyped and are on a long unbeaten run in League & championship (something like 27 wins in a row) but this will all suit Kerry and I think they are vulnerable. Kerry's forwards are dangerous, Geaney is one of the best forwards in the country this year and O'Donoghue is back fit and if those 2 can perform Kerry have a great chance. This is a game where Dublin will feel the loss of McCaffrey, O'Carroll and possibly McCarthy. I wouldn't like to call the result either way yet but I think it will be close and I don't see the gulf between Dublin and Kerry that others do. Kerry need to match Dublin for athleticism and mobility however and that means no starting places for the likes of Donaghy, Sheehan or O'Mahoney.

Quote from: pointman2 on August 09, 2016, 12:03:47 PM
Dublin are good, but over-hyped.
They are not as good as last year as they are short 3 all-star defenders. Also, McAuley is not playing well and Fenton might have a broken jaw. Their strength is their forward line, and their bench.
Kerry need to match their mobility so team selection is crucial. But I have a sneaking feeling that the Kerry forwards can get the better of the Dublin defence, and Dublin are not so good when the game is not going their way.

That is the reason they are hyped, but not over-hyped, 7th Semi in a row, 3 all Ireland since 09, 4 leagues in a row, 7 Leinsters in a  row. A good team. The over hype or don't believe the hype rubbish was spouted as anti-Dub rhetoric in the noughties by country folk and media.

Quote from: Jinxy on August 09, 2016, 12:48:11 PM
If Kilkenny lines out at wing-back, Kerry will go after him and make him defend first and foremost.
He doesn't have the same pace as McCarthy so I don't think he is a 'line-breaker' from his own half.
I think Dublin might bring in a specialist wing back like Lowndes and put Kilkenny back in the HF line.

If you are Kerry how do you make him defend without going man to man all over the park?

Quote from: seafoid on August 09, 2016, 12:44:26 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 09, 2016, 12:04:24 PM

Ogie was a great player. Kerry have nobody like him now.

Only the older folk on this thread will get that one Sea!

Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on August 09, 2016, 01:07:22 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on August 09, 2016, 12:48:11 PM

If you are Kerry how do you make him defend without going man to man all over the park?

You consistently attack down his 'channel' to use a rugby term.
The last time I saw a team getting Dublin to react to what they were doing was the semi-final in 2013.
Walsh made hay on Jack McCaffrey in the first half, who up until then had been having an incredible season.
The Kerry forwards were constantly rotating and making space for support runners.
Now, you can argue that Kerry are 3 years older and Dublin are 3 years wiser, but that is what Kerry will have to do again.

kerryforsam16

We will get revenge for 2011, 13 and 15. Fitzy will go out on high with Jack returning as manager next year.

Quote from: AZOffaly on August 09, 2016, 12:30:33 PM
Kerry will need to match Dublin in the middle third, and that's hard to see happening. They won't play 13 behind the ball, which means positions will be slightly more orthodox, but I can't see how Kerry will negate the athleticism of the middle third for Dublin. David Moran is probably as athletic as Fenton, but McCauley would run someone like Maher or Sheehan or Donaghy into the ground. It might be an option to have a Donnacha Walsh on McAuley. Darren O'Sullivan will run and track all day, so he'd be okay for Small or Kilkenny if Kilkenny plays in the half back line, but I don't think Stephen O'Brien would do as much on the other side. Gooch has to be a luxury player, he can't allow himself to be picked up by McMahon or Johnny Cooper and end up following them up the field. I'd almost tell Gooch to operate as an 'attacking sweeper' and try just float around the 40 to get on ball and feed the inside lads of Geaney and O'Donoghue. Tell the Kerry half forwards and half backs that an overlapping Cooper or McMahon is their responsibility. Paul Murphy might do a man marking job on Connolly, and possibly Marc Griffin might play centre back, and hold the centre, let Murphy as the nominal 'sweeper' pick up Connolly. Enright and Young or Begley will have to go man to man on Brogan and Rock.  I don't think Kerry have the legs, but if they do the usual Kerry thing of trying to hammer the hammer (i.e. Brogan, Cian O'Sullivan, Connolly, Kilkenny, and the midfield area) I think they will cause problems. They will try to isolate O'Donoghue and Geaney on the inside backs, and if Gooch floats and thereby occupies Cian O'Sullivan, I think they have a chance.

Kelly

Moran    Walsh

Is there 2 Geaneys?

mrhardyannual

Is that a thick cow?

KellySheehan

Moran    Walsh

Yerra :-X

Ciarrai_thuaidh

Kelly

Moran    Walsh

Sorry AZ, but that is all over the shop (much like the actual Kerry team will probably be) and it won't happen in any case. Mikey Geaney isn't related to an intercounty player but Fitz loves him for some reason. He was injured for Clare game, hoping he doesn;t recover.
Walsh midfield? Maher, Moran and Buckley (named 11/12) is the best possible midfield, but Buckley hasn't played in 3 months so prob won't make it. No use playing Walsh there as he can't do anything that Moran won't do.
Jameso and Geaney (the real Geaney) will be inside alright, but not just 2 v 4 Dubs, need 3 in there to even it out, so the big fella will hopefully be there.
Marc ain't going to start at this stage, time has passed.
If this thing about Sheehan in goals is true, I give up aswell. Kicking the ball 65 yards is a lot different to giving accurate mid or short range kickouts.

I've a feeling this game will be similar enough to 2013 semi, just not as good quality-wise. Kerry may get some joy up front but will drop off a bit late on and with the lack of real midfield or half forward legs to come on, Dublin will end up 5 point + winners. I'd love if I was wrong but can't see it tbh.
"Better to die on your feet,than live on your knees"...

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 12, 2016, 11:39:09 PM

Kelly

Moran    Walsh

Sorry AZ, but that is all over the shop (much like the actual Kerry team will probably be) and it won't happen in any case. Mikey Geaney isn't related to an intercounty player but Fitz loves him for some reason. He was injured for Clare game, hoping he doesn;t recover.
Walsh midfield? Maher, Moran and Buckley (named 11/12) is the best possible midfield, but Buckley hasn't played in 3 months so prob won't make it. No use playing Walsh there as he can't do anything that Moran won't do.
Jameso and Geaney (the real Geaney) will be inside alright, but not just 2 v 4 Dubs, need 3 in there to even it out, so the big fella will hopefully be there.
If this thing about Sheehan in goals is true, I give up aswell. Kicking the ball 65 yards is a lot different to giving accurate mid or short range kickouts.

I've a feeling this game will be similar enough to 2013 semi, just not as good quality-wise. Kerry may get some joy up front but will drop off a bit late on and with the lack of real midfield or half forward legs to come on, Dublin will end up 5 point + winners. I'd love if I was wrong but can't see it tbh.

Dublin are missing 50% of their AI defence

Fenton is struggling with a jaw injury but will play

Kerry have a real chance in this one. They also have put younger legs into the team.

If they are smart they won't start Gooch and will use the experenced lads as cavalry from the bench

Quote from: Ciarrai_thuaidh on August 12, 2016, 11:39:09 PM

Kelly

Moran    Walsh

Maybe  it's my imagination but isn't it so that Kerry are playing a much more aggressive game this year than in previous. Even with Clare, they battered them blue before piling on the points.