GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Peter Solan the Great on September 22, 2010, 01:52:27 PM

Poll
Question: GAA parentage rule
Option 1: Good votes: 7
Option 2: Bad votes: 5
Option 3: For Div 3/4 teams only votes: 3
Option 4: A limit of 2 per county votes: 4
Title: GAA Parentage rule: Clare footballers plan to enlist from Dublin Club scene
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 22, 2010, 01:52:27 PM
According to Hoganstand. The Clare manager Michael McDermott plans to utilise the GAA parentage rule to enlist from the Dublin Club scene. The Dublin players in Question are Shane McGrath, Pat Burke, Aidan Downes, Brian Downes and David O'Connor.

I know nothing about the Clare club scene bar the champions Kilmurry-Ibrickane, but surely its a big two fingers to them if there heading to Dublin for Players. The manager is a Cavan man also and i cant see the local Clare clubs being too happy. We'll see if he lasts the year.
Title: Re: Clare footballers plan to enlist from Dublin Club scene
Post by: Canalman on September 22, 2010, 02:01:53 PM
By that course, Jim Gavin, Senan Connell , Brian Mullins and others could have played for the Banner.
Can't really see the Clare public that upset if it improves the team.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on September 22, 2010, 02:11:30 PM
Is that how your man Nesty from Plunketts ended up with Cavan this year? Name escapes me...
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 22, 2010, 02:15:33 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on September 22, 2010, 02:11:30 PM
Is that how your man Nesty from Plunketts ended up with Cavan this year? Name escapes me...

Gareth Smith is the man alright.  I wouldnt like to be busting myself in the Senior Championship in Clare to try to get on the inter county panel, then having my place going to a Dub with Clare Parents. A few of the lads mentioned above made the dublin panel on occasion. It they were so interested in Clare they should of made contact from the start. Declan Darcy did it with with Leitrim so no excuse. Its getting a bit like the Irish soccer team it seems.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 22, 2010, 02:18:52 PM
Coughlan from Sylvesters is playing with Offaly under that rule.
Post by: mannix on September 22, 2010, 02:36:19 PM
if Mayo could pick a few kerry lads with mayo parents would Mayo fans mind?
didn't think so.And for what its worth Clare could really do with some help.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 22, 2010, 02:51:14 PM
Quote from: mannix on September 22, 2010, 02:36:19 PM
if Mayo could pick a few kerry lads with mayo parents would Mayo fans mind?
didn't think so.And for what its worth Clare could really do with some help.

I would mind. Its disrepectful to players in the County having to go outside it. Isnt that what the GAA is about playing for your own parish/county? not some form of transfer season aka the english premiership. A few of the lads mentioned have already given allegiance to Dublin i think its wrong that they may now jump ship when they cant get a game for their own county.
Post by: JMohan on September 22, 2010, 02:53:48 PM
I think it's a great idea.

Is it only limited to Div 3 or 4 teams or all teams?

I can see a race to sign players from some Dublin clubs in a few years.
Post by: Bogball XV on September 22, 2010, 03:01:44 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 22, 2010, 02:15:33 PM

Gareth Smith is the man alright.  I wouldnt like to be busting myself in the Senior Championship in Clare to try to get on the inter county panel, then having my place going to a Dub with Clare Parents. A few of the lads mentioned above made the dublin panel on occasion. It they were so interested in Clare they should of made contact from the start. Declan Darcy did it with with Leitrim so no excuse. Its getting a bit like the Irish soccer team it seems.
As a derry man living in dublin, i'd like to think my kids would be every bit as proud of their Derry heritage as their cousins back in derry.  I'd be encouraging them to wear the oakleaf if at all possible.
Post by: Lone Shark on September 22, 2010, 03:08:58 PM
It would depend entirely on the attitude of the recruitment process, and of the players that are brought in. I wouldn't be a big fan of casting the net and taking all comers, as appears to be the case in Clare, but one or two players who show an interest in playing county GAA and have an interest in the county would generally be well received.

In the case of John Coughlan this year, his attitude is exemplary and he had spent a lot of time in Offaly as kid, and had always shown an interest in the local scene. Any of the players who knew him previously knew that he wasn't just joining Offaly because he could, but because he had an interest in the county. We're not flattering ourselves into thinking that he'd have come on board if Dublin wanted him too, but he's fitted in well. Equally David Henry is of Offaly origin if I'm not mistaken and has often referred to it - I presume he's happy where he is but a guy like that would be welcome too.

On the other hand if you have players who just see it as a way to play county football and don't treat it with respect, or who are just brought in with little or no scouting other than "this guy is playing SFC in Dublin, he must be good" then of course people won't llike that. Five players being brought in would be a little bit much as far as I'd be concerned.
Title: Re: GAA Parentage rule: Clare footballers plan to enlist from Dublin Club scene
Post by: fearglasmor on September 22, 2010, 09:24:15 PM
A maximum of two players per county. Anymore would undermine the very nature of intercounty football and the club players in the receiving county.
Title: Re: GAA Parentage rule: Clare footballers plan to enlist from Dublin Club scene
Post by: INDIANA on September 22, 2010, 09:26:53 PM
Both are good players. Playing div 4 in the NFL is a lower standard then Dublin SFC. So they should be well able for it.

Still a mystery to everyone in Dublin how Coughlan isn't on the squad. The mind absolutely boggles. He'll make a huge impact with Offaly next year. He cleaned everyone out in the club championship this year. Unfortunetely Syls can't quite good enough even with the signings they've made. Maybe if they picked a few more of their own they'd do better
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on September 22, 2010, 09:31:29 PM
Nesty was a huge addition to the Cavan team this year,its beyond me how he has not gotten on a Dublin Panel(outwith the O Byrne Cup Trial one).
Id like INDIANA's opinion on him not making the Dublin Panel, if hes reading this thread????
Post by: INDIANA on September 22, 2010, 11:12:40 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on September 22, 2010, 09:31:29 PM
Nesty was a huge addition to the Cavan team this year,its beyond me how he has not gotten on a Dublin Panel(outwith the O Byrne Cup Trial one).
Id like INDIANA's opinion on him not making the Dublin Panel, if hes reading this thread????

Listen lets not go there :), Mindboggling.
Post by: JMohan on September 23, 2010, 12:32:51 AM
Quote from: fearglasmor on September 22, 2010, 09:24:15 PM
A maximum of two players per county. Anymore would undermine the very nature of intercounty football and the club players in the receiving county.
Yes, good point.
How will it be or how long before it's abused?
Post by: SLIGONIAN on September 23, 2010, 12:46:03 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 22, 2010, 01:52:27 PM
According to Hoganstand. The Clare manager Michael McDermott plans to utilise the GAA parentage rule to enlist from the Dublin Club scene. The Dublin players in Question are Shane McGrath, Pat Burke, Aidan Downes, Brian Downes and David O'Connor.

I know nothing about the Clare club scene bar the champions Kilmurry-Ibrickane, but surely its a big two fingers to them if there heading to Dublin for Players. The manager is a Cavan man also and i cant see the local Clare clubs being too happy. We'll see if he lasts the year.
This has to be WUM a mayoman giving out about another county going outside the border to get its players... ffs would you ever fcking cop on to yourself.

You have some cheek having a go at clare, with a far smaller footballing base to pick from. People in glass houses.. there in mayo.[
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 23, 2010, 09:14:23 AM
Quote from: SLIGONIAN on September 23, 2010, 12:46:03 AM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 22, 2010, 01:52:27 PM

This has to be WUM a mayoman giving out about another county going outside the border to get its players... ffs would you ever fcking cop on to yourself.

You have some cheek having a go at clare, with a far smaller footballing base to pick from. People in glass houses.. there in mayo.[

What are you on about. What player from a Club that doesnt plays in the Mayo county championship has played for Mayo? name one
Post by: Canalman on September 23, 2010, 09:48:49 AM
Dermot Flanagan Jnr................ played  club football in Dublin. Civil Service GFC.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 23, 2010, 09:58:46 AM
Quote from: Canalman on September 23, 2010, 09:48:49 AM
Dermot Flanagan Jnr................ played  club football in Dublin. Civil Service GFC.

Yes a Mayo man born and bred.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2010, 10:02:45 AM
That's not the question you asked :D
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 23, 2010, 10:15:15 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on September 23, 2010, 10:02:45 AM
That's not the question you asked :D

You know as well as i do what that little p rick sligoman is talking about. Not my fault Sligo men want to play there club football in Mayo.
Post by: AZOffaly on September 23, 2010, 10:24:50 AM
Why the aggression?
Post by: clareman on September 23, 2010, 10:30:09 AM
Would normally be against something like this myself but I do know that in Clare over the last few years plenty of lads have been asked onto the county panel and refused. Can't see too many club players in the county giving out too much to be honest...
Post by: Maiden1 on September 23, 2010, 11:25:00 AM
It will end up like the Ireland soccer team with anyone who has ever visited the Cliffs of Moher eligible to play for Clare
Post by: Rossfan on September 23, 2010, 07:32:43 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 23, 2010, 09:58:46 AM
Dermot Flanagan Jnr................

Whereabouts in Mayo was he born and reared ?
Post by: tyssam5 on September 23, 2010, 08:39:26 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 22, 2010, 03:01:44 PM

As a derry man living in dublin, i'd like to think my kids would be every bit as proud of their Derry heritage as their cousins back in derry.  I'd be encouraging them to wear the oakleaf if at all possible.

Good luck with that if Dublin start winning. Kids are pretty fickle that way.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 23, 2010, 08:57:19 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 23, 2010, 07:32:43 PM

A proud mayo family are the Flagnagans, dont let the fact that an English land lord wanted wanted to pay cheaper rates get in the way of that. Ballaghadreen is and always will be Mayo.
Post by: snoopdog on September 23, 2010, 09:08:26 PM
Quote from: Bogball XV on September 22, 2010, 03:01:44 PM

Indeed i know it would kill me to see any son of mine if good enough wear anything other than the Red and Black. Lets hope that horrible yella thing wore on sunday will never get another outing.
Post by: heffo on September 23, 2010, 09:31:07 PM

Great time to kick points - successive Dublin managers didn't rate him because of a lack of pace.

There is nothing new in this - we've had Cooke & Brennan from St Marys go to Laois, Donnacha Corcorcan go to Longford, Coughlan to Offaly, O'Donoghue to Roscommon & Darcy to Leitrim.

Post by: Bogball XV on September 23, 2010, 11:45:05 PM
Quote from: tyssam5 on September 23, 2010, 08:39:26 PM
Good luck with that if Dublin start winning. Kids are pretty fickle that way.
I should be safe enough :D

But my point is that half the gaa players in dublin have parents from the around the country and they'll have been heading home to club matches and county games from they were no age, they'll probably have seen as much of their parent's county playing as they'll have seen the dubs play and in many cases have a greater affinity with that county than with the dubs.  Living in Dublin, I come across piles of dubs who support other counties.  If the player is only doing it to get playing intercounty football (and really, how appealing is the prospect of travelling the country thrice weekly to be a Clare footballer), then i'd disagree, but if there's a genuine connection, why not?
Post by: Mike Sheehy on September 24, 2010, 04:23:36 AM
Quote from: heffo on September 23, 2010, 09:31:07 PM

Great time to kick points - successive Dublin managers didn't rate him because of a lack of pace.

There is nothing new in this - we've had Cooke & Brennan from St Marys go to Laois, Donnacha Corcorcan go to Longford, Coughlan to Offaly, O'Donoghue to Roscommon & Darcy to Leitrim.

and Vinny Murphy to Kerry hurlers
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2010, 01:00:08 PM
Quote from: Peter Solan the Great on September 23, 2010, 08:57:19 PM

. Ballaghadreen is and always will be Mayo.
Ballaghadereen CO ROSCOMMON  
The land of the RN cars, Roscommon Library, the man who kissed the ground in McHale after the Connacht final ,

Ya right it's in Mayo  ::)
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 24, 2010, 02:44:52 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2010, 01:00:08 PM

The land of the RN cars, Roscommon Library, the man who kissed the ground in McHale after the Connacht final ,

Roscommon by Default because the Brits wanted cheaper rates and well you know it.
Post by: ross4life on September 24, 2010, 03:01:36 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2010, 01:00:08 PM

I can imagine peter has never step foot in Ballagha never mind spell it! whatever you like to believe Ballaghadereen is & forever will be Roscommon

(http://i1227.photobucket.com/albums/ee432/ross4life/kiss.jpg)
Post by: Rossfan on September 24, 2010, 03:59:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 24, 2010, 03:01:36 PM

I can imagine peter has never step foot in Ballagha never mind spell it! whatever you like to believe Ballaghadereen is & forever will be Roscommon

What a legend .  ;D
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 24, 2010, 04:32:32 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on September 24, 2010, 03:59:58 PM
Quote from: ross4life on September 24, 2010, 03:01:36 PM

What a legend .  ;D

Well I'm not as patriotic as the man picture. Well done to him for kissing the soil of his native county
Post by: ross4life on September 24, 2010, 04:43:42 PM
He's known as ballaros & i would like to see you telling that to his face peter! i would suggest a good pair of runners if you do  :D
Post by: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2010, 04:46:10 PM
Lads Ballaghadereen maybe we should just call it the Mayo-Roscommon Neutral Zone.
Post by: Peter Solan the Great on September 24, 2010, 07:54:46 PM
Quote from: mayogodhelpus@gmail.com on September 24, 2010, 04:46:10 PM
Lads Ballaghadereen maybe we should just call it the Mayo-Roscommon Neutral Zone.

No Surrener mayogodhelpus i think you are a west Ros by all accounts
Post by: ludermor on September 25, 2010, 12:48:26 AM
Clare were happy enough to take a couple of players that was born and bred in London to play for them a few years back so i cant see them fussing over a lad born in Dublin