GAA Discussion => Local GAA Discussion => Laois => Topic started by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 16, 2017, 01:30:46 AM

Title: Video's
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 16, 2017, 01:30:46 AM
There are a lot of video's out there of all things Laois. This is a place where you can post them.

I'll get the ball rolling with this tribute in song to the great Tommy Murphy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GGpxBUPQais
Title: Re: Video's
Post by: Tony on February 16, 2017, 10:44:31 AM
I'll just post this here so   ;)

Great moment for Laois .... here's to it happening again shortly! ;D ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Xq8awLDVIg
Post by: SCFC on February 16, 2017, 12:35:41 PM
Quote from: Tony on February 16, 2017, 10:44:31 AM
I'll just post this here so   ;)

Great moment for Laois .... here's to it happening again shortly! ;D ;D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5Xq8awLDVIg
Feck you Tony. There's actually a few little tears in my eyes looking at that! What a magical day that was.
Post by: redsetanta on February 16, 2017, 01:40:10 PM
Was there anyone left in Laois that day??
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 17, 2017, 12:55:05 AM
I only ever cried twice at a football match, '86 when I stood in the Cusack stand beside my father in law and saw tears in his eyes when we won the league
and the second time was that great day, boy did the tears flow straight from my heart and out through my eyes when he lifted the cup.

Thank god I lived to see that day and hopefully I'll see at least one more before I go....
Post by: Tony on February 17, 2017, 11:50:10 AM
Obviously we had a great team in 03 and it's also the year one of my kids was born so great memories.

One thing though, while it was a great team in 03, I honestly think a lot of our 2017 team would get on that team. Timmons in at full back definitely. Begley definate. Probably strong. Jol and quig. . . We always seem pretty well taken care of at midfield so toss up between garvan clancy and them two. Attride the way he's performing would have a chance over rooney. Donagher, donie and walsh also. Maybe evan o carroll. I know the 2003team is overall superior, but imho, we're not too far behind now in terms of talent. It's just that the game has developed and it doesn't really suit a natural traditional style football team like laois as much as it did. Maybe I'm off my rocker today. Anyway here's to many more good memories with laois. They are few and far between. . .but when they happen. . It's an amazing feeling. Any more good videos? 8)
Post by: town1980 on February 17, 2017, 12:12:48 PM
tony your a great poster your off your rocker today is right,,,timmons for me yes at 3 ,,begley yess and kingston,,,afterthat i seen so many games pre 03 then from 03 on we became a power house o byrne cups leagues and 4 leinster finals,,,the commitment of that 03 era was second to none and living in portlaoise i see the current group out and about more than i ever seen our 03 panel,,03 have the medal rest dont and it took us along time to get another leinster medal,,,so no argument for me comparing a div 3 team to the one who competed div 1 div 2 for so long
Post by: County Man on February 17, 2017, 02:51:25 PM
Great new topic. Cheers for sharing.

2003 what a year to support Laois football. We were spoilt that year! A national league final appearance, followed up by a powerful Leinster campaign. Thrashed Wexford in Croke Park a week after that national league final defeat to Tyrone.

Snatched a draw off Offaly in O'Moore Park, thank you Mick Lawlor for banging that goal in late on to force a replay. Won the replay in O'Connor Park.

The biggest win was against the Dubs in the semi final. Awesome performance. The hill was closed that day. What about Padraig Clancys scud missile to seal it. One of the great Laois points scored in Croker!

We were hot favourites to win the final against Kildare. And we delivered! 2-13 all scored from play. Beano and Ross Munnelly getting the goals. Credit to Ross that he is still around the Laois panel 14 years later.

Great buzz around the county. Everyone had a Laois flag attached to the car.

Pity we didnt see off Armagh. We were bloody close!

If that wasnt enough we grabbed the All Ireland minor football title as well- boom times :)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 18, 2017, 01:33:41 AM
Quote from: County Man on February 17, 2017, 02:51:25 PM
Great new topic. Cheers for sharing

Snatched a draw off Offaly in O'Moore Park, thank you Mick Lawlor for banging that goal in late on to force a replay. Won the replay in O'Connor Park

And here is that replay...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VDC-NO9hPFk
Post by: Butch Cassidy on February 18, 2017, 12:56:25 PM
Our minors weren't too bad in 03 too https://youtu.be/mjxYJHjWoWI
Post by: redsetanta on February 18, 2017, 02:02:10 PM
The Rory's stories fella tells a great one about the day Meath played that minor team and they were skinned.
Post by: Tony on February 18, 2017, 02:46:16 PM
Just watched the 2007 U-21 All Ireland football final highlights when we should have beat Cork. Very soft goal at the end shaded it for them. I wont post the link, it'd put anyone in a bad mood to be fair  :-\. MJ Tierney was immense that day.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 19, 2017, 01:16:51 AM
When Men Were Men ...  Laois v Louth 1991   :o :o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N1s6JY_ey6o
Post by: Butch Cassidy on February 19, 2017, 11:24:43 AM
Another great minor team https://youtu.be/8tRjzO2n1bI
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 20, 2017, 01:45:55 AM
Just for a break, a nice little Laois song...
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KYbNj_J8Zeg
Post by: redsetanta on February 21, 2017, 12:03:45 PM
A day never to forget. Over 30 years ago now jaysus!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_9q7feh7sw (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f_9q7feh7sw)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on February 22, 2017, 02:07:39 AM
Great day, to win the league from operating in Div3 was some achievement. It was the first day I saw grown men cry in Croke Park, I was a young man then but still couldn't hold back the tears.
Oh for a few more days like that....
Post by: Tony on February 22, 2017, 09:55:37 AM
Browne was some operator. A great win; back when the league meant a lot more than it does now.
Post by: redsetanta on February 22, 2017, 10:33:35 AM
Posted it here before but O'Dempseys have some great stuff on their website about that league win with newspaper cuttings etc from the quarter and semi final wins.
That win also shows you what we were capable of when we actually put our minds to it. A team winning a national league title from such a lowly position would be unthinkable nowadays. We had the talent but we didn't have the application as a team on a regular basis. Some cracking players on that team.
Post by: Tony on March 20, 2017, 02:56:41 PM
I'll just leave this here so on my sandwich lunchbreak at the office. Hopefully days like these will return someday. I remember being in the Cusack for this one, great day out and some team, flying fit.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yq4jf-f8feE (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Yq4jf-f8feE)
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on March 21, 2017, 12:27:17 AM
Thanks for that one Tony, Emmerson was some operator back then. That's what Donie Kingston should be able to do these days, win your ball and bury it... no messing about.
Post by: redsetanta on March 21, 2017, 09:10:11 AM
When Emerson was on form there was no stopping him. Just didn't happen enough. Back in the nineties we regularly finisd in the top half of Div 1. In fact I think we topped it one year but lost in the play offs. Serious team that never really clicked come championship time bar Meath in Navan.
Post by: les Antiques on March 21, 2017, 01:33:49 PM
Agree redsentanta ! We got to three League Semi finals around that era and were beaten by Armagh, Donegal and Kerry . We could never cross that line . A pity as there were some fine players around the County scene back then . The league back then was a different kettle of fish than it is now .
Post by: redsetanta on March 21, 2017, 02:46:48 PM
Think I remember Monaghan beating us in a quarter or semi final in Croke Park aswell around that time.
Post by: Tony on April 05, 2017, 10:27:04 AM
This is the kind of fight we need.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qnnNYurWFYA
Post by: Don Draper on April 05, 2017, 10:29:14 AM
Didn't we draw that and fall to shit in the replay?
Post by: Tony on April 05, 2017, 10:34:09 AM
Not really. Kieran Lillis was sent off in the replay and that didn't help us at all but we'll blame management for that.
Post by: Unlaoised on April 05, 2017, 02:38:44 PM
Quote from: Butch Cassidy on February 19, 2017, 11:24:43 AM
Another great minor team https://youtu.be/8tRjzO2n1bI

Decent Carlow team aswell on another day we would have been beaten.
Post by: Keyser Söze on April 05, 2017, 05:31:16 PM
Quote from: Tony on April 05, 2017, 10:34:09 AM
Not really. Kieran Lillis was sent off in the replay and that didn't help us at all but we'll blame management for that.

Was there a player sent off in each of the preceding 4 games also?
Post by: Tony on April 05, 2017, 06:09:30 PM
Different era - some craic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kd19zRk1u4A
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 06, 2017, 12:19:19 AM
God be with the days. Thank God I was there to see this great Laois team take on the best in the country..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KimwOqnKz7M
Post by: Don Draper on April 06, 2017, 08:55:39 AM
Quote from: Tony on April 05, 2017, 06:09:30 PM
Different era - some craic

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Kd19zRk1u4A
Colm Maher, a f**king whippet back then, sadly missed. I'd almost forgotten how tasty Sprattles was in his day.

Some crowd on a wicked day, the wind and rain was f**king awful.
Post by: Joeythelips on September 19, 2019, 11:01:57 AM
Is there any videos of the Leinster final win v Kildare?? I could not find any online.
Post by: SpeculativeEffort on September 19, 2019, 10:38:24 PM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on April 06, 2017, 12:19:19 AM
God be with the days. Thank God I was there to see this great Laois team take on the best in the country..
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KimwOqnKz7M

Good to have the footage but hard to watch as the editing is truly woeful
Post by: Joeythelips on September 24, 2019, 12:24:28 PM
Looked like good craic in Portlaoise that night https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=U0r8ZnmgAng (https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=U0r8ZnmgAng)
Post by: Don Draper on September 24, 2019, 12:29:12 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on September 24, 2019, 12:24:28 PM
Looked like good craic in Portlaoise that night https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=U0r8ZnmgAng (https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=1&v=U0r8ZnmgAng)
Poor form from Killian in the title there.
Post by: Joeythelips on October 11, 2019, 01:41:35 PM
Quote from: Joeythelips on September 19, 2019, 11:01:57 AM
Is there any videos of the Leinster final win v Kildare?? I could not find any online.

I guess that's a no.
Post by: steven seagal on October 11, 2019, 04:15:36 PM
The GAA announced earlier this year that a load of clips from finals were being put up on their website. If you follow this link - https://www.gaa.ie/gaa-now/ - you might find it. If you click on 'archive' on the right hand side of the screen you'll find clips of old finals. Not sure if 2003 is on it, you might need to set a bit of time aside and go scrolling through all the archive to find it.
Post by: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 17, 2019, 12:40:57 AM
Quote from: Joeythelips on October 11, 2019, 01:41:35 PM

I guess that's a no.

Joey, check your messages..
Post by: Joeythelips on October 17, 2019, 09:04:17 AM
Quote from: Junior Ex Laoistalk on October 17, 2019, 12:40:57 AM
Quote from: Joeythelips on October 11, 2019, 01:41:35 PM

I guess that's a no.

Joey, check your messages..

Cheers for this mate, a great watch. For anyone else the same video is also here to relive a great day.
https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/06/03/looking-back-14-years-since-memorable-victory-kildare/ (https://www.laoistoday.ie/2017/06/03/looking-back-14-years-since-memorable-victory-kildare/)