Longford Football (& Hurling) Thread

Started by North Longford, November 17, 2006, 09:47:45 AM

LaurelEye

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 05, 2018, 04:56:13 PM
I'm heading down on Sunday to cast a cold eye on proceedings.

Stand has been refurbished (apart from the birdshite) so that will be something.

Good luck for the 3-in-a-row Laurel. If yiz win would there be room on the lorry for me?

I'm afraid we haven't booked a lorry. If needs be I suppose we could borrow Abbey's  ;D
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

LaurelEye

Quote from: seafoid on October 07, 2018, 04:50:25 PM
Abbeylara aren't too shabby

Abbeylara 0-6 Mullinalaghta 0-6

3.45 next Sunday. We will need to improve markedly, wind or no wind.
Leader Cup winners: 1945, 1947, 1948, 1949, 1950, 1951, 2013, 2016, 2017, 2019, 2021, 2023.

Wasn't the greatest game ever but had enough to keep the attention.

Wind was horrible and made a heames of the game but Abbey will see this as an opportunity lost while the Columbas will thank the Lord for another chance.

Abbey will be missing one of the Smyths next week as he got a straight red (note to him - running up the far end of the field after your indiscretion does not absolve you). While the injured Robbie did make an appearance alot of his energy was wasted waving his arms and pleading to umpires and linesmen for fouls only he could see - he got a nice belt for his troubles from one of the Columbas lads (more accidental than deliberate).

Abbey picked up a fair few yellows, there were 2 blacks (one each) and the straight red at the very end.

Triple header next Sun with the U20 final, the intermediate and senior replays.

As a final note it's madness having the showpiece of the year in Oct - no reason why the county final cannot be in September.

QuoteAs a final note it's madness having the showpiece of the year in Oct - no reason why the county final cannot be in September.

Logical example of why September isn't the same as October.  And why the AI club championship is a competition of endurance rather than skill. 

The Insider

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 08, 2018, 08:45:00 AM
Wasn't the greatest game ever but had enough to keep the attention.

Wind was horrible and made a heames of the game but Abbey will see this as an opportunity lost while the Columbas will thank the Lord for another chance.

Abbey will be missing one of the Smyths next week as he got a straight red (note to him - running up the far end of the field after your indiscretion does not absolve you). While the injured Robbie did make an appearance alot of his energy was wasted waving his arms and pleading to umpires and linesmen for fouls only he could see - he got a nice belt for his troubles from one of the Columbas lads (more accidental than deliberate).

Abbey picked up a fair few yellows, there were 2 blacks (one each) and the straight red at the very end.

Triple header next Sun with the U20 final, the intermediate and senior replays.

As a final note it's madness having the showpiece of the year in Oct - no reason why the county final cannot be in September.

2 Black cards for Abbey , Michaael Mc Hugh and P J Masterson . James Mc Givney for St Columba's although a clip of his incident posted on Facebook made it look very harsh .

LaurelEye

And just when we thought it was finally over:

Abbeylara v Mullinalaghta, Sun, 3.45pm

Latest odds:

PaddyPower (https://www.paddypower.com/gaelic-games/longford-club-football?tab=outrights):

Mullinalaghta 9/4 5/4 11/10 10/11 8/11 5/6 2/5
Abbeylara 5/1 6/1 15/2 7/2 6/4 7/4

Boyle Sports (http://www.boylesports.com/betting/sports-a---z/gaa---football/club-football/longford-sfc-2018/?navigationid=24.1,86196.1,86603.1,3779214.1):

Mullinalaghta 7/4 13/8 5/4 11/10 8/11 4/6 8/11 1/2 8/15
Abbeylara 5/1 7/1 13/2 7/1 9/2 13/8 6/4 11/8

Ladbrokes (https://sports.ladbrokes.com/en-gb/betting/gaa-gaelic-football/gaelic-football/club-football/2018-longford-sfc/226932231/):

Mullinalaghta 13/8 5/4 Evens 4/6 8/11 2/5 1/2
Abbeylara 6/1 11/2 15/2 7/2 13/8 7/4 6/4

Let's hope it's more watchable than last Sunday's offering.

Well done the half parish.
Poor ould Abbeylara. What a 4 in a row.

Aye Seafoid.

An awful record.

But they had their chances last week - you really don't give champions twice bites of the cherry.

Today Abbey were bet out the gate - they scored a goal in the first minute or so and then 2 points the remaining hour.

Well done to Mullinalaghta and we hope to see a march on Leinster now.

Quote from: Shamrock Shore on October 14, 2018, 08:49:59 PM
Aye Seafoid.

An awful record.

But they had their chances last week - you really don't give champions twice bites of the cherry.

Today Abbey were bet out the gate - they scored a goal in the first minute or so and then 2 points the remaining hour.

Well done to Mullinalaghta and we hope to see a march on Leinster now.
They should give Leinster a good rattle

Qwerty28

Is Mikey Graham staying around for Leinster campaign?

LaurelEye

Quote from: Qwerty28 on October 14, 2018, 09:47:16 PM
Is Mikey Graham staying around for Leinster campaign?

Yes. He's there until we finish up in the Leader Cup and Leinster.

Fair play to the half-parish, should have the experience and nous for a good stab at a provincial title now, you'd think.

LaurelEye

Thanks for the good wishes lads

We had a wide range of support in all sorts of unexpected places.

RTE

« In Cavan, Castlerahan will be out to avoid a fourth final defeat on the spin « 

It must be fashionable.