GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 02, 2008, 01:36:33 AM

Title: What changes to Dublin team/squad this year can/should we expect??
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 02, 2008, 01:36:33 AM
What can we hope for this year in order to improve us even further and hopefully help us make the Final and ideally beat Kerry in the final if possible???

Keeper - Obviously Cluxton will still be keeper so no change needed.....will Leonard get a runout as keeper in the league to get more experience?

Full back line - Obviously is likely to be the same as last year with McConnell having a full years experience - would like to see Shaughnessy/O'Shea getting runouts though in the league to keep in contention

Half back line - Not sure what will happen here but I would like to see Cahill, Brennan, Moran as the half back line....bring Moran back to wingback and put Brennan in as centreback...a more defensive centre back than Cullen...keep Casey and possibly Paul Brogan as options for wingback...

Centrefield - Whelan/Ryan/Magee will be the first 3 and would be good if O'Mahoney gets an injury free season and gets a good runout in the league...

Half forwards - Brogan, Cullen, Lally, Connolly, Pat Burke, Sherlock should all get runouts in the league

Full forwards - Vaughan, Keaney, Brogan, Quinn, Bonnar (if allowed), Barry Kennedy, Kevin Leahy should all get runouts in the league

Cullen able to drop back to provide a spare man in the halfbacks without having the man-marking duties if required....Cahill I think better on the right and Moran a good passer from left halfback...

Championship team if all goes well

Cluxton

Henry, McConnell, Griffen

Cahill, Brennan, Moran

Whelan, Ryan

Brogan, Cullen ,Connolly

Brogan, Keaney, Vaughen

Leonard, Shocko, O'Shea, Casey, O'Mahony, Magee, Sherlock, Quinn, Kennedy, Lally, Bonner, Burke, Leahy
Title: Re: What changes to Dublin team/squad this year can/should we expect??
Post by: pintsofguinness on January 02, 2008, 01:37:32 AM
Local discussion.
Post by: mannix on January 02, 2008, 09:08:40 AM
Still not good enough to beat the best. Until they start importing lads they are also rans for sam.
Post by: INDIANA on January 02, 2008, 09:40:47 AM
coming from a corkman  considering the state of your sorry outfit that's quite something.

Keeper: Michael Savage to give Cluxton a serious challenge for his money.

Full Back line: In serious trouble here - no natural full back and Griffin is gone and probably won't be back till next season. Only Shaugnessy offers a viable alternative other than that we're screwed.

Half Back line: could field 3 half back lines of equal standard. I don't believe this mangement will move Cullen to number 11. Expect Casey to be ousted by Brennan.

Midfield : 2 from the 3 named by DSFM - with Whelan and Ryan as good as anything out there

Half Forward Line: The other problem zone as I call it. Cullen may play at 11. Connolly needs a serious change in attitude to make the adjustment this season. the best forward by a mile in the county but no application and i don't expect him to start come championship time- maybe 2 years down the line when he matures. Bernard Brogan will get one slot - with either Bonner/Moran the number 10 slot. Lally if used his head more could make the number 10 his own but this management don't fancy him. Pat Burke is a number 11 but again i don't think this mangement will pick him. Garret Smith would be wortha  look but again this management won't.

Full forward line: vaughan/keaney/alan brogan would be my optimum. But with the lack of half forwards expect brogan to be pushed to 11 with either Quinn/Sherlock starting. Need to see more from Vaughan from play - again i'm sure he's anywhere near as fit as he could be. Paddy Andrews needs to be looked at in my view. Excellent in the county championship and has a far bit of muscle for a young lad. Leahy and Kennedy will get a run in the O Byrne cup to see where they are. After that maybe the league if they do well.

Believe we'll fall slightly short again but i'd expect us to win leinster again but that's means f*** all to us at this stage. But if Kerry drop 10-15% we may have a chance.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 09:44:16 AM
Connolly the best in the county by a mile???

The guy has potential ok but anytime I have seen him (except last years O'Byrne cup) for both club and county I have been dissapointed. Yes he may well get there, but he aint near the best.
Post by: INDIANA on January 02, 2008, 09:55:16 AM
easily the most naturally gifted forward in 20 years in the county- nobody kicks from 40-45 yards off both feet in the county - he does in his sleep- i don't say any of that lightly as i'm a cynic by nature. Just doesn't have the application - hopefully he'll mature over the next couple of years. But he won't make anywhere near the impact he could make until his attitude changes..if it does. and because of that i don't think he'll start.
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 02, 2008, 10:02:59 AM
doubt very much if Caffrey will make too many changes.
Could see the team listed by DFS as being the one that starts the championship.

Its not the one I'd pick, but I am sure we all have our own opinions on our starting 15.

Will be interesting to see if Ger Brennan has the pace for intercounty. Brilliant at club level, but people have doubts on whether he can step up.
Might be too loose at CHB like cullen for intercounty, but if pace doesnt get him, then a wing half back position might suit him (and Dublins gameplan) better esp with Cahill to go CHB.
Also have been touting Moran to wing half back.
A lot of decent forwards, need to pick the best mix and the attacking style to suit them.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 10:04:00 AM
Yes he can kick from 40-45 yards off both feet, but from what I have seen, the problem is most of these are going wide  ;)
Post by: INDIANA on January 02, 2008, 10:17:42 AM
well i wouldn't agree with that he's been absolutely brilliant at times for vincents this year - a different class and then other days -shite. Same for Dublin and that's because of the lack of application- if he ever decided to apply himself- there is no limit to how far he could go but whether he will remians to be seen. And it's a huge pity for Dublin because with him in full form we'd win the all-ireland.
Post by: tayto on January 02, 2008, 10:19:12 AM
Connolly lurches from the sublime one match to below average the next, suppose he's the type of player that tries things so they wont always come off but he needs to get a level of consistency to his game.
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 10:21:21 AM
Biggest change i think they need to make and this is not a dig it's the truth in my opnion is for them to stop acting the mick with Hill 16 with all their saluting them and marching towards them as one before the match,If they put the same effort they put into courting the Hill onto the pitch during a match instead they would have a great chance of winning a All Ireland
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 02, 2008, 10:21:57 AM
Quote from: INDIANA on January 02, 2008, 10:17:42 AM
well i wouldn't agree with that he's been absolutely brilliant at times for vincents this year - a different class and then other days -shite. Same for Dublin and that's because of the lack of application- if he ever decided to apply himself- there is no limit to how far he could go but whether he will remians to be seen. And it's a huge pity for Dublin because with him in full form we'd win the all-ireland.

don't think its at full forwad that you have the problem Indiana you have a pretty good one there in Keaney
Post by: tayto on January 02, 2008, 10:23:53 AM

not FF full form!
Post by: the Deel Rover on January 02, 2008, 10:24:58 AM
Quote from: tayto on January 02, 2008, 10:23:53 AM

not FF full form!

:D :D :D still not fully awake Tayto
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 02, 2008, 10:27:16 AM
Connolly has great potential.
Doesnt help him when he is moved into different positions all the time to firefight problems in various games.
Needs some kind of continuity both with Vincents and Dublin.
He is still young and very grean and has a lot to learn yet, so I dont think its fair to criticise him too much.

Plus he's a dual player which makes it all the more difficult.

I would like to see Shane Ryan tried at CHB or even Full back.
Post by: Gnevin on January 02, 2008, 10:31:20 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 10:21:21 AM
Biggest change i think they need to make and this is not a dig it's the truth in my opnion is for them to stop acting the mick with Hill 16 with all their saluting them and marching towards them as one before the match,If they put the same effort they put into courting the Hill onto the pitch during a match instead they would have a great chance of winning a All Ireland
Well whats it problem solved , roll on the  5 in a row  ::)
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 10:34:06 AM

I actually agree with that. That and Kerry having an off day!
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 10:38:45 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 02, 2008, 10:31:20 AM
Typical Gnevin response  ::)

Quote from: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 10:34:06 AM

I actually agree with that. That and Kerry having an off day!

Much more mature response!

Maybe your right His Holiness all Dubs aren't the same   :D ;)
Post by: tayto on January 02, 2008, 10:39:58 AM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on January 02, 2008, 10:24:58 AM
:D :D :D still not fully awake Tayto

Know what you mean, had to read it twice myself.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 02, 2008, 10:42:21 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 10:38:45 AM
Maybe your right His Holiness all Dubs aren't the same   :D ;)

Post by: Gnevin on January 02, 2008, 10:43:15 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 10:38:45 AM
Quote from: Gnevin on January 02, 2008, 10:31:20 AM
Typical Gnevin response  ::)

I just don't think its as simple as that . Dublin are short of key personal . A Midfielder , a Full back , Half forwards and a tactision on the side line but if all we have to do is stop walking to the hill and we win Sam then great. A far easier problem to solve than a lack of personal i dont think it has much if any bearing on Dublins performances (with the possible exception of the Mayo game)
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 02, 2008, 10:46:49 AM
think Whelan and Magee with a third midfielder would help a lot -  plus create space for the fast hard running Dublin forwards.
Half forwards/third midfielders could be Lally, Cullen or Mahoney (maybe even McConnell if Shane Ryan slots into Full back) - would guarantee Dublin the greater share of the ball at midfield
imo
Post by: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 10:49:20 AM
Gnevin i couldn't give a rats arse about what players ye need and don't feel the urge to start thinking about what players ye need as i don't really give a f**k so i gave my opinion that all this making love to the Hill doesn't help the players when the game starts especially as when ye are actually behind in a game the Hill aren't at their most vocal so it must affect the players seeing as they try so hard to please them,Maybe if they forgot about the fair weather supporters in the Hill and concetrated on the match they might have a better chance..
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 02, 2008, 10:52:59 AM
Quote from: The Real Laoislad on January 02, 2008, 10:49:20 AM
Gnevin i couldn't give a rats arse about what players ye need and don't feel the urge to start thinking about what players ye need as i don't really give a f**k so i gave my opinion that all this making love to the Hill doesn't help the players when the game starts especially as when ye are actually behind in a game the Hill aren't at their most vocal so it must affect the players seeing as they try so hard to please them,Maybe if they forgot about the fair weather supporters in the Hill and concetrated on the match they might have a better chance..

I'd agree with your sentiment LL....cut out the play acting and concentrate on the football...it would be to Dublin's benefit (not in Leinster , as I cant see any decent challengers there - sorry)
by the same token, I hope Laois continue to stop their diving antics of a couple of years ago.....last year they were not as bad and I am delighted with the improvement.
Lets hope they (and other sides) eradicate this oul diving sh*te out of football altogether !
Post by: Gnevin on January 02, 2008, 10:56:13 AM

So you have your opinion and i have mine . As usual they don't see quite eye to eye   :D.

However i can see what your saying and it wouldn't bother be either way . March to the hill or not or not would be my preferred option but I don't think it this one chance will have me in Croker on the 3rd Sunday on September watching a Dub lifting Sam
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 02, 2008, 04:52:25 PM

Maybe if Laois and the other counties in Leinster actually gave Dublin challenging matches it would also help Dublin.....but then again Laois supporters are more interested in complaining about Dublin players pointing to the scoreboard instead of complaining about their football team being easily beaten again!!!
Post by: Declan on January 03, 2008, 10:33:38 AM
Quotebirth control man
:D :D

The rhythym method always produces great results!!
Post by: Hardy on January 03, 2008, 11:02:31 AM
Quote from: Declan on January 03, 2008, 10:33:38 AM
Quotebirth control man
:D :D

The rhythym method always produces great results!!

I'd say the get-rid-of-him method would produce even better results for Dublin.
Post by: Barney on January 04, 2008, 08:06:42 AM
Dublin will win nothing with Pillar. Period.
Post by: his holiness nb on January 04, 2008, 08:17:06 AM
Quote from: Barney on January 04, 2008, 08:06:42 AM

I think we still have a chance with him there. Certainly not favourites, but an outside shot.

Without him, Id say we'd have a better chance.
Post by: Barney on January 04, 2008, 08:26:21 AM
From Mayo Advertiser

QuoteWith the Christmas celebrations still a near memory it's time to get back to the action on the GAA fields across the country. In Ulster the McKenna Cup kicked life back into the inter-county action earlier this week and on Sunday Mayo will get their 2008 campaign under way in Ballinrobe when they line up against NUIG in the first round of the FBD Connacht League.

The crowds came out in force last year to welcome back John O'Mahony to the fold in Ballinode against Sligo IT and this Sunday the dedicated are sure to come along to Flanagan Park in Ballinrobe to witness the start of the TD's second year in charge of the side, in his second coming as Mayo boss.

It will be a somewhat depleted Mayo side who take to the field as O'Mahony, Tommy Lyons and Kieran Gallagher run the rule over the fringe players in the open-ended squad as Mayo will be forced to line out without a number of players who will be displaying their wares for their colleges in the FBD League, McKenna Cup, O'Byrne Cup and McGrath Cup as they get ready for Sigerson Cup action in the near future.

O'Mahony sees the league as an extension of the trials that have been ongoing in the county for the past number of months as Mayo look to pick up the pace from a fairly uneventful championship run last year.

"It's a new year and new start, the players have been working on gym programmes for the past number of months and we had our first proper outdoor session on Wednesday night, so it really starts from here on in. We'll be missing about 14 players from the panel because they will be involved with their colleges but it will give us a chance to see what is out there. We've watched a lot of lads in club championship action and had a number of trial games and this is I suppose an extension of the trials, albeit in a more public arena. It's a competition and that's something for them to get excited about."

It will be a new-look Mayo side who take to the field on Sunday in Ballinrobe and it will be a few weeks before O'Mahony gets to have his full squad together but he is looking forward to seeing some of the fringe players in action on Sunday.

"It gives them a chance to show themselves in competitive football, because the colleges are all deep in preparation for the Sigerson so they'll be well keyed up for the game. It will be a stepping up in intensity from the trial games. The first time I'll be able to get the full squad together is just before the start of the league (which throws in for Mayo away to Derry, the scene of their championship elimination in 2007 on Saturday February 2 at 7pm) which is not ideal, because it doesn't really let the side settle into a pattern and to play as a unit. We'll also be playing against a number of lads in the FBD league who we would be wanting to have a look at ourselves, but it's a competition and we'll be out to win."

With the league only a month away and the early season national attention that it brings, O'Mahony is hopeful that he will be able to call on a number of Ballina players to take part in the competition as they prepare for their All Ireland Club semi-final clash with Nemo Rangers on Sunday February 24. "We're talking with Ballina about having some of the lads available for the early games, but we're in no way going to interfere with the their preparations for the All Ireland semi-final which is a massive game for the club."

Players who are expected to make an appearance in the FBD League include a few returning faces such as James Gill and Pat Kelly, with Knockmore full back John Brogan, Shrule's David Geraghty, Charlestown's Tony Mulligan and Westport net minder Tom Higgins.

Senior absentees from the side will include Conor Mortimer who will be in O'Byrne Cup action with DCU, and Barry Moran will be sporting the colours of UL in the McGrath Cup. One of last year's major bright points was the displays of Castlebar Mitchels' Tom Cunniffe in the qualifiers when he was thrown into the cauldron but he will also be unavailable for Mayo duty as he lines up for GMIT in the competition.

Mayo face three weekends of action over the month of January starting against NUIG on Sunday, the following week they they will entertain Sligo in Charlestown and wrap up the FBD League against Roscommon in Ballinlough on Sunday January 20 against John Maughan's Roscommon, leaving them with a two-week break before the NFL gets under way on Saturday February 2.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 04, 2008, 09:43:07 AM

Its amazing - we hear all year long about Dublin players are overrated, they are no good, Whelan is useless, Brogan is only average and yet now the conclusion seems is that the players are good enough it is just the manager that is holding them back...

You couldn't make it up if you tried.....
Post by: his holiness nb on January 04, 2008, 09:50:12 AM
Ah but wouldnt it be dull without it Dubsforsam!!

Heading to the nell tomorrow?
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 04, 2008, 09:56:13 AM
Unfortunately not Holiness.....am back over in Edinburgh working for the moment on another consulting project (have to get them out of the way before the summer).....the Blue Stars game will have to ease the withdrawel symptoms until the league starts....
Post by: INDIANA on January 04, 2008, 11:24:06 AM
unfortunately Pillar and co are tactically suspect.

2005- put lally wing back against tyrone having never played him there at any time in the past.
2006- took off shane ryan when he was having a stormer
2007- left casey on too long- and brought on cosgrove for some reason.

i don't believe other selection panels make that many mistakes.
Post by: Gnevin on January 04, 2008, 12:38:32 PM
3 provincial titles are nothing? But i agree with wont get the big prize with him but its very hard for the CB to justify getting rid of the most successful manager in 12 years 
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 04, 2008, 03:12:50 PM
Who would replace Pillar if he was to go???
Post by: never kickt a ball on January 04, 2008, 03:19:00 PM
Quote from: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 04, 2008, 03:12:50 PM
Who would replace Pillar if he was to go???

Tommy Lyons
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 04, 2008, 03:25:10 PM
Would like to see Micko win the All-Ireland with Dublin... ;D
Post by: Grantsman on January 04, 2008, 05:43:49 PM
Didn't he win the last Leinster Final for ye when he told Bailey in the K Club the way to play the ball into the Laois half back line and the changes ye needed to make to win Sam. In his book he said that himself and that after their chat Bailey said the job was his if he wanted it. But, (after thinking about it if you don't mind) he decided to go back to Laois.  I would ask him for the 100 grand back !  I don't know which of them was worse, O'Dwyer for his involvement in discussions with Bailey or Bailey for going behind Pillars back.  I was in O'Mahoneys builders there one day and a fella behind the counter was giving it loads about Pillar and how bad he was, next thing after the Leinster Final he was singing his praises.  I think he is OK and ye will have a fair go at it this year.
Post by: heffo on January 04, 2008, 06:15:45 PM
Quote from: Grantsman on January 04, 2008, 05:43:49 PM
Didn't he win the last Leinster Final for ye when he told Bailey in the K Club the way to play the ball into the Laois half back line

Indeed. The record between Laois and Dublin in head to head games certainly indicates that we require the tactical assistance of a Kerry mercenary to tell us how to beat ye.
Post by: Grantsman on January 05, 2008, 12:37:35 AM
Heffo is back !! The "County Board Man"  (Fixture man as he admitted himself) is back  :)  Now, I can only deduce that facts are annoying him.
Post by: INDIANA on January 05, 2008, 12:35:48 PM
yeah the fact that laois can't beat dublin at senior level despite having a fantastic record in leinster at underage level. i'll never understand what happens to footballers in laois time and again they produce some of the best minors in the country and you never hear of them again.i was sitting near liam kearns at the recent vincents v portlaoise game and you could just see how disappointed he was in the manner of their defeat and how they just packed it in with 20 to go.
I don't believe Kerry are a great team in comparison to others they've had- they are extremely good though and probably 10% better than anything else. it will be interesting to see how hungry they are though and that might give others a chance. I don't think we're tight enough at the back though and because of that i think we'll fall slightly short again.
Post by: orangeman on January 05, 2008, 03:35:15 PM
It sounds as if another Leinster is only a minimum requriement this year DFS ?

Are you saying that Dublin will not be fully prapared for Louth by leaving a bit for later in the summer ?? Dangerous ??? Or are Dublin now so confident in their own ability having taking three Leinsters in a row ??
Post by: BallyhaiseMan on January 05, 2008, 03:38:24 PM
Dublin are very very close to that breakthrough.

id like to see them Trying Shane Ryan at Centre Half back

Darren Magee and Whelan at midfield

and pick Bryan Cullen at number 15 and give him a free role .

Leaving space for Vaughan and Keaney inside.

Like to see Vaughan contribute more from play,he has the ability we just need to see it.

Obviously i dont want to see any of this when you "dirty jackeens" come down to Cavan to play under Lights in the home of football in a month or two.
Post by: Zulu on January 05, 2008, 04:14:24 PM
Dublin are definately close and a bit of luck is certainly due but full back is still a problem area for them and Cullen has yet to fully settle into a position. I'd also like to see Caffrey settle on a centre and full forward, let the others rotate about them if he wants but keep the spine of the forward line intact, this will give them structure and stability.
Post by: INDIANA on January 05, 2008, 04:40:44 PM
dubs forum o shaughnessy didn't get back in because he went on holdays last january and upon his return was blanked for the season despite being given permission to go holidays prior to departure- that isn't conjecture but a fact.
Quite simply if Pillar picked the best half back line available to him last year we'd have beaten Kerry and issue of why Cosgrove was brought on when there were better options were all the managements decisions and despite what you say they were all wrong.
Look there are far roo many selectors on the line and i firmly believe that is having a major impact on decisons being made.
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 05, 2008, 05:16:22 PM
Quote from: orangeman on January 05, 2008, 03:35:15 PM
It sounds as if another Leinster is only a minimum requriement this year DFS ?

Are you saying that Dublin will not be fully prapared for Louth by leaving a bit for later in the summer ?? Dangerous ??? Or are Dublin now so confident in their own ability having taking three Leinsters in a row ??

Orangeman - Yes a Leinster is the absolute minimum requirement - As Caffrey says to be considering being the best in the country you have to be considered the best in your province and I support that view....

Yes I would expect Dublin to be leaving room for improvement during the summer. You can't be at your peak for 3 months and I would be very confident that barring serious injuries they will win Leinster...
Post by: Zulu on January 05, 2008, 05:40:59 PM
Dublin 1-6 Wicklow 0-4 at half time. I'd say Dublin will pull away in the second half and win this handy, they are well on top.
Post by: Zulu on January 05, 2008, 06:13:24 PM
Goal for Dublin ( Pat Burke), it's now 2-7 to 0-6.
Post by: orangeman on January 05, 2008, 11:37:06 PM
DFS - Leinster being a minimum requirement is ok - but that means you HAVE to win it - so if you don't win Leinster is the season a failure if you don't go on to win the AI instead ? That's a lot of pressure !
Post by: DUBSFORSAM1 on January 06, 2008, 12:13:03 AM
Quote from: orangeman on January 05, 2008, 11:37:06 PM
DFS - Leinster being a minimum requirement is ok - but that means you HAVE to win it - so if you don't win Leinster is the season a failure if you don't go on to win the AI instead ? That's a lot of pressure !

Orangeman - I don't see that as being a lot of pressure to be honest.
Post by: heffo on January 06, 2008, 04:37:59 PM
Quote from: Grantsman on January 05, 2008, 12:37:35 AM
Heffo is back !! The "County Board Man"  (Fixture man as he admitted himself) is back  :)  Now, I can only deduce that facts are annoying him.

I've never been away. Not that it's any of your business, but I am a county board officer and a member of a few different committees. If you still doubt this, pm me your email address and we can exchange details.

Why don't you answer my original question? Are the 'facts' annoying you?
Post by: lynchbhoy on January 12, 2008, 02:07:46 PM
Quote from: BallyhaiseMan on January 05, 2008, 03:38:24 PM
Dublin are very very close to that breakthrough.
id like to see them Trying Shane Ryan at Centre Half back
Darren Magee and Whelan at midfield
and pick Bryan Cullen at number 15 and give him a free role .
Leaving space for Vaughan and Keaney inside.
Like to see Vaughan contribute more from play,he has the ability we just need to see it.
Dublin are close to the breathrough, but its prob having Caffrey that stops them from winning an AI. Who to replace him, well that is the big question.
I'd agree with most of that above. Apart from Keaney as part of a two man FF line - I dont think that would suit him
Vaughan and a Brogan would be my choice (have said so for the past couple of years)
Lally and Cullen for either roving number 15 and the other playing wing half forward role
Post by: Zulu on January 12, 2008, 04:50:48 PM
I was just checking out the reservoirdubs site and they are picking a best Dublin 15 for 2008, I have to say some of the possible teams look very strong. If McConnell can do a job at full back (I'd doubt it personally) and Cahill, Brennan or Ryan could free up Cullen from centre back I'd say they would have enough elsewhere to win the AI. On paper they look well equipped to put in an almighty challenge next year.