Peter Canavan:Ditching league finals would benefit integrity of the competion

Started by dec, March 18, 2024, 02:32:26 PM

Quote from: JoG2 on March 19, 2024, 04:39:45 PM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 19, 2024, 12:48:52 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on March 19, 2024, 11:48:57 AM
Quote from: thewobbler on March 19, 2024, 08:22:42 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on March 19, 2024, 08:09:31 AMDo away with the only chance of a day out in croke pk for silverware for most duv 3 and 4 teams. Again the bugger counties always push for what suits them.

There are too many matches in too little time. Another month would solve a lot of problems

For the absolute life of me, I'll never understand why anyone would want to play in front of 5-10k people in Croke Park. The atmosphere is shit at these games. Absolute shit.

Tell me you've never played gaelic football without telling me........

Eh... okay then.

——-

The "every player's dream" nonsense peddled by pundits about Croke Park, comes from the same pond as the soccer lads when they used to peddle "every player's dream" is to play at Wembley.

They don't do that so much over the water now. For they found out that playing the FA Cup final in Cardiff didn't change the occasion a tap. And they kind of worked out the "scoring in a cup final" dream is stadium independent.

You might actually be covering about 1 or maybe 2% of footballers. Why you have to bring English professional soccer into this I'll never know.
County footballers, the vast majority will win nothing. A number will maybe get to play a league decider in Croke Pk. This will be their pinnacle, same goes for club players. The fact that you're sitting on your backside having to deal with looking at empty seats and a quiet atmosphere won't really come into their thinking. What will, is the fact they've put in a mountain of work and will be pulling up to HQ in their team bus surrounded by their team mates to be supported my family and friends.

onefineday

As someone said earlier, the prize below div 1 is promotion. I know as a Derry fan, I had little interest in the league finals over the past few years after promotion had been achieved.  I can see the argument for giving teams the chance to play their final in Croker, but with the condensed nature of everything nowadays, you'd have to question the interest that teams have in being there.  If they want to play them, that's grand, I've no objection, I just don't see the attraction myself.

Some interesting proposals around increasing the incentive to win the league too - I'd be hugely in favour of something that really rewards league performance and allows us to move on from this attitude of survival is the perfect outcome from a div 1 campaign.

snoopdog

Quote from: onefineday on March 20, 2024, 12:52:49 AMAs someone said earlier, the prize below div 1 is promotion. I know as a Derry fan, I had little interest in the league finals over the past few years after promotion had been achieved.  I can see the argument for giving teams the chance to play their final in Croker, but with the condensed nature of everything nowadays, you'd have to question the interest that teams have in being there.  If they want to play them, that's grand, I've no objection, I just don't see the attraction myself.

Some interesting proposals around increasing the incentive to win the league too - I'd be hugely in favour of something that really rewards league performance and allows us to move on from this attitude of survival is the perfect outcome fr
om a div 1 campaign.
The Div 3 final will have a real say in who might get that Sam maguire place.

I think the GAA season is too condensed and needs to go back to the old format of September finals, this leaves enough time between games and allows for replays etc. As someone mentioned the club Championships are only kicking into gear around late Aug and September anyway and by that stage there are only 2 teams left in the Championship so it has minimal effect on the Club scene.
Regarding the League finals this will allow the finals to be played leaving 3-4 weeks before Championship time and giving teams a good quality game leading into Championship, some years the league will go the wire and some years it can be wrapped up with a game or 2 to spare but I suppose that's the luck of the draw...we got relegated last year because  of that which was a bit unfair but if we'd taken care of business earlier then it wouldn't have mattered.
Ohh...and while you are at it Jarleth can you please dump that stupid "Mark" rule, we have a good product so stop ruining it.

Quote from: illdecide on March 20, 2024, 09:39:10 AMI think the GAA season is too condensed and needs to go back to the old format of September finals, this leaves enough time between games and allows for replays etc. As someone mentioned the club Championships are only kicking into gear around late Aug and September anyway and by that stage there are only 2 teams left in the Championship so it has minimal effect on the Club scene.
Regarding the League finals this will allow the finals to be played leaving 3-4 weeks before Championship time and giving teams a good quality game leading into Championship, some years the league will go the wire and some years it can be wrapped up with a game or 2 to spare but I suppose that's the luck of the draw...we got relegated last year because  of that which was a bit unfair but if we'd taken care of business earlier then it wouldn't have mattered.
Ohh...and while you are at it Jarleth can you please dump that stupid "Mark" rule, we have a good product so stop ruining it.

A rule (advanced mark) that 99% is against! Get rid Jarleth!

Quote from: JoG2 on March 20, 2024, 10:05:24 AM
Quote from: illdecide on March 20, 2024, 09:39:10 AMI think the GAA season is too condensed and needs to go back to the old format of September finals, this leaves enough time between games and allows for replays etc. As someone mentioned the club Championships are only kicking into gear around late Aug and September anyway and by that stage there are only 2 teams left in the Championship so it has minimal effect on the Club scene.

If he does nothing but scrap it (and penalties obviously ;)) it'll be a great term.

Jarlath is a figurehead President of a big co op for 3 years not a dictator who can rule by decree.

Quote from: Armagh18 on March 20, 2024, 10:14:47 AM

If he does nothing but scrap it (and penalties obviously ;)) it'll be a great term.

I'm not a while man for the penalties and don't think it's a great way for teams to go out, but they're very exciting

Quote from: JoG2 on March 20, 2024, 10:28:03 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 20, 2024, 10:14:47 AM

I'm not a while man for the penalties and don't think it's a great way for teams to go out, but they're very exciting
I've too much ptsd from them!

But yeah be very exciting for the neutral alright!

Quote from: armaghniac on March 20, 2024, 11:46:28 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 20, 2024, 10:36:45 AMBut yeah be very exciting for the neutral alright!

But fairly shite for Armagh fans.
We'll get to the all ireland final this year having won all our games on penalties ;).

Quote from: Armagh18 on March 20, 2024, 12:10:00 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on March 20, 2024, 11:46:28 AM
Quote from: Armagh18 on March 20, 2024, 10:36:45 AMBut yeah be very exciting for the neutral alright!

But fairly shite for Armagh fans.
We'll get to the all ireland final this year having won all our games on penalties ;).

I'll take that!

I doubt if anyone in Croke Park can argue with this reality.
just stupid.
Make the all-Ireland third sunday in August, they will still have time for concerts in Late August/September

Quote from: joemamas on March 20, 2024, 01:30:15 PM

I doubt if anyone in Croke Park can argue with this reality.
just stupid.
Make the all-Ireland third sunday in August, they will still have time for concerts in Late August/September

The split season is one of the best things that was introduced into the GAA in recent years. It put the emphasis back onto clubs and players overwhelmingly are in favour of it.

This agenda has been pushed by media with a vested interest and it normally only surfaces around the start of August every year when they are struggling for content. I think the AI football final could be pushed back a week to the August bank holiday weekend but other than that it works very well. The game to training ratio has improved for players and they are mostly not having to wait 3/4 weeks between fixtures.