Recent posts

GAA Discussion / Re: Ulster Senior football cha...
Last post by tonto1888 - May 12, 2024, 08:30:25 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 12, 2024, 07:24:43 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 12, 2024, 07:21:54 PMAbsolutely devastated. No words.
Well done Donegal. Hope the lads and lassies form here enjoy the night

Really sore on youse tonto1888.. Won't mean a while pile now, but Armagh are winning games and have reached 2 Ulster finals in a row

Cheers mate. Will take a while to get over that one alright
Last post by yellowcard - May 12, 2024, 08:21:40 PM
Well done to Donegal, they somehow found a way to win even though I can't say they necessarily deserved it on the balance of play. Neither did Armagh though as others have stated.

Yet again we found an ourselves in a tight game going down the stretch. It was always likely to end up in such an outcome when you engage in a low risk, possession style game of you attack, we attack. Then it becomes a 50/50 game of nerve and long distance kicking contest. Our efficiency was off the charts for 45/50 minutes but deserted us as the game wore on.

We can look back with regret on marks not taken, a missed mark, a gilt edged goal chance not taken and a few questionable refereeing decisions but ultimately we didn't do enough to win the match. The fear of losing took over again going down the stretch as I feared it might. Horrible to lose on penalties again but the rules are the same for both sides so no complaints, we didn't do enough to win the game even though I felt we were the better side for large parts.

It will be a tough ask to lift the team for the qualifiers now and unfortunately it might be the last chance some of those players had of lifting silverware.

Fair play to Donegal though they won that Ulster the hard way from a very difficult draw and even though it's not a pretty style of football I doubt if they'll care one jot now. McGuinness has proven himself as an elite manager again. 

General discussion / Re: Premier League 2023-2024
Last post by Jell 0 Biafra - May 12, 2024, 08:14:32 PM
Fergie's tears?
Last post by Wildweasel74 - May 12, 2024, 08:08:24 PM
When it comes to Penalties, normally a goalkeeper has to pull u out of a hole. Most penalties are scored, so keeper needs save a few. Armagh keeper kept repeatly going early, before the ball was kicked, left it easy for the kicker to go the other way. There always a 1 or 2 straight down the middle, best way to save a penalty is to stand u ground.
Last post by An Watcher - May 12, 2024, 08:04:54 PM
Little sympathy for Armagh for a number of reasons:-
(i) they've had the handiest draw in ulster for 2 years and still couldn't win it
(ii) they keep renewing geezers contract despite him NEVER getting over the line
(iii)  every one of those games that they lost on penalties should never have went to penalties in the first place as they should have won in normal/extra time
Last post by RedHand88 - May 12, 2024, 07:53:19 PM
Quote from: JoG2 on May 12, 2024, 07:24:43 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on May 12, 2024, 07:21:54 PMAbsolutely devastated. No words.
Well done Donegal. Hope the lads and lassies form here enjoy the night

Really sore on youse tonto1888.. Won't mean a while pile now, but Armagh are winning games and have reached 2 Ulster finals in a row

They have had very easy runs to these finals don't forget.
Last year it was Antrim, Cavan, Down. Then they beat both Galway and the mighty Westmeath by a single point to qualify for the knockouts.
This year it was Fermanagh and Down in Ulster.
I think that may be giving them a sense of unwarranted swagger.
Last post by Sportacus - May 12, 2024, 07:41:44 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 12, 2024, 07:32:09 PMA few things after  watching all that:

Football as a spectacle is  pathetic.

Penalties need to go

I think McGeeney has taken Armagh as far as he  can. I expect change  there
1. It is so bad, but sadly if you're under 30 it's all you know.  That said, the shooting today was very good.
2. Jarlath rightly highlights that we have a unique sport, and he's right, so get rid of penalties.
3. I'll be amazed now if Armagh retain McGeeney.  An amazing footballer in his day, but his team are so scarred now mentally that they just can't do it.  Jarly Og declining the free perfectly illustrated the problem.
Last post by thewobbler - May 12, 2024, 07:41:21 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on May 12, 2024, 07:32:09 PMA few things after  watching all that:

Penalties need to go

Would those first two thoughts not be in competition with each other? 

One thing we don't need is more games of football.

Another thing we don't need is teams that do not push for a win, are rewarded with a replay.
Last post by AustinPowers - May 12, 2024, 07:32:09 PM
A few things after  watching all that:

Penalties need to go