Official Irish Football Association Thread (Northern Ireland)

Started by Mentalman, September 04, 2007, 11:39:59 AM

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 10:57:56 PM
Unfortunately finishes 10th July 2016. Thought we might have a quiet 12th next year!

Nor Iron fans might book their trips the wrong week.  ;D

Quote from: muppet on October 08, 2015, 11:01:22 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 10:57:56 PM
Unfortunately finishes 10th July 2016. Thought we might have a quiet 12th next year!

Nor Iron fans might book their trips the wrong week.  ;D
He's now an ex-Norn Iron fan.

Anyway how many do we need to go to France for us to establish a majority in the North?

michaelg

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 09:53:20 PM
Quote from: give her dixie on October 08, 2015, 09:50:05 PM
Well done indeed. Scored a lot of goals and they did the business. Local lad McGinn played his part and i'm proud of him.

I remember 82 and 86 and the buzz was great, even if I was a lad.......

Listening to the radio for the game, and the fans are fair belting out Sweet Caroline and The road to Amarillo.........
No Sash or Billy Boys?
Kind of seems that this is what you would like to hear.

Quote from: michaelg on October 08, 2015, 11:04:31 PM
Well done indeed. Scored a lot of goals and they did the business. Local lad McGinn played his part and i'm proud of him.

Listening to the radio for the game, and the fans are fair belting out Sweet Caroline and The road to Amarillo.........
No Sash or Billy Boys?
You lot are sticklers for tradition so it would a shame for youse to shun your past now.

michaelg

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 11:05:37 PM

No Sash or Billy Boys?
You lot are sticklers for tradition so it would a shame for youse to shun your past now.
If you know nothing about it, say f**k all.

Quote from: michaelg on October 08, 2015, 11:07:01 PM

No Sash or Billy Boys?
Now don't be like that.

michaelg

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 11:09:43 PM

No Sash or Billy Boys?
Now don't be like that.
Whatever. Maybe see you in France.

Quote from: michaelg on October 08, 2015, 11:10:24 PM

No Sash or Billy Boys?
Now don't be like that.
I'll know youse by your noise ;)

No Sash or Billy Boys?

Ah now, that's a shit argument. And it doesn't reflect well on progressive nationalism. If you provide proof those sectarian songs exist in 2015 @ Windsor Park then you're correct .

If not, it comes across a bit plastic and tired.

michaelg

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 11:12:32 PM
Quote from: michaelg on October 08, 2015, 11:10:24 PM

No Sash or Billy Boys?
Now don't be like that.
I'll know youse by your noise ;)
Your noise too big lad!

michaelg

Quote from: ONeill on October 08, 2015, 11:12:52 PM

No Sash or Billy Boys?

Ah now, that's a shit argument. And it doesn't reflect well on progressive nationalism. If you provide proof those sectarian songs exist in 2015 @ Windsor Park then you're correct .

Fair play.  Good point, well made.  No sectarianism at WP these days.  Once we sack off GSTQ, or at the very least sing another anthem alongside it like the rugby, hopefully we will attract more nationalist fans.  I think today's team had 9 out of 11 born in NI, so be good if everyone could get behinf local lads doing well.

It'll be another generation before any significant numbers from a nationalist background support NI. Even then it is unlikely to be children from working class areas. I wouldn't let my wains anywhere near the place and I say that as someone married to a prod.

michaelg

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 11:26:57 PM
It'll be another generation before any significant numbers from a nationalist background support NI. Even then it is unlikely to be children from working class areas. I wouldn't let my wains anywhere near the place and I say that as someone married to a prod.
What exactly do you think is going to happen?  Other than getting to see the best European footballers on their doorstep at an affordable ticket price? 

michaelg

Quote from: Tony Baloney on October 08, 2015, 11:26:57 PM
By the way, I'm pretty sure plent of kids from working class areas used to attend Ireland / Northern Ireland games in the past.  The  Sash / Billy Boys shite only started as far as I'm aware when there was civil strife on the streets of Belfast / NI.

Quote from: michaelg on October 08, 2015, 11:23:32 PM
Quote from: ONeill on October 08, 2015, 11:12:52 PM

No Sash or Billy Boys?

Fair play.  Good point, well made.  No sectarianism at WP these days.  Once we sack off GSTQ, or at the very least sing another anthem alongside it like the rugby, hopefully we will attract more nationalist fans.  I think today's team had 9 out of 11 born in NI, so be good if everyone could get behinf local lads doing well.
Good point.. but in the meantime whilst more and more unionist backgrounds  play gaelic sports I think the norn irish gael can row in behind the norn irish and give them their moment in the sun.