GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Orior on June 09, 2017, 09:20:21 AM

Title: Armagh v Fermanagh - Sunday 25th June at 6:30pm
Post by: Orior on June 09, 2017, 09:20:21 AM
Any Fermanagh men here want to tell us how they're going to bate Armagh?
Title: Re: Armagh v Fermanagh - Sunday 25th June at 6:30pm
Post by: illdecide on June 09, 2017, 09:43:41 AM
It's hard to believe your summer will/could be over by June, for me it's def a 50/50 game. Surely with no safety net of the back door this time they will take the shackles off and just go for it, if we lose and we played rightly and went for it not too many will complain but if we lose and sit back playing sideways and backwards it will be a fecking disaster
Post by: Erne Man on June 09, 2017, 09:50:38 AM
This game will be another non-event as the lower profile championship games between us and Armagh tend to be i.e. 3-5pt win for Armagh.
This is more about the managers to be honest - McGeeney needs this win to preserve his employment, while McGrath has pretty much switched off as Fermanagh manager at this point.
Post by: illdecide on June 09, 2017, 11:08:32 AM
Quote from: Erne Man on June 09, 2017, 09:50:38 AM
This game will be another non-event as the lower profile championship games between us and Armagh tend to be i.e. 3-5pt win for Armagh.
This is more about the managers to be honest - McGeeney needs this win to preserve his employment, while McGrath has pretty much switched off as Fermanagh manager at this point.

you can say that all you want but if you think for one minute that Pete McGrath and the Fermanagh men will sit back and take a beating you're on drugs, a chance to send Armagh out of the Championship in their own back yard is mouth watering stuff and i bet Fermanagh will be well up for this match.
Post by: tonto1888 on June 09, 2017, 04:57:08 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 09, 2017, 09:20:21 AM

Fermanagh don't have to do anything sure we will beat ourselves
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 09, 2017, 10:43:22 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 09, 2017, 04:57:08 PM

Fermanagh don't have to do anything sure we will beat ourselves

And the game is fixed for the Athletic Grounds.
Post by: tintin25 on June 10, 2017, 11:35:39 AM
Quote from: Erne Man on June 09, 2017, 09:50:38 AM

Pretty much this, though  I think Armagh will win by more.  Wee Pete has taken this team as far as he can.
Post by: mcklatchee on June 11, 2017, 01:05:37 PM
Tough draw for Armagh. It shouldn't be though.

The whole country knows how to beat Armagh and Fermanagh are already drilled in those defensive tactics. The speed of the transition to the half forwards is key. We have the time to sort that. We have the players to sort that.
Post by: stew on June 11, 2017, 06:30:11 PM
Quote from: mcklatchee on June 11, 2017, 01:05:37 PM

The whole country knows how to beat Armagh and Fermanagh are already drilled in those defensive tactics. The speed of the transition to the half forwards is key. We have the time to sort that. We have the players to sort that.

Fermanagh will win this by a point or two, we are shite under this manager.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on June 11, 2017, 06:34:36 PM
Fermanagh to me is currently a better team than Armagh
Post by: mcklatchee on June 11, 2017, 07:49:19 PM
Quote from: stew on June 11, 2017, 06:30:11 PM

You could be right. Time will tell.

Any fool could see what was wrong in the marshes. It should have been put right on the day but you can't tell me it can't be put right in 3 weeks if the focus is put on the right things in training. I would love to know what messages were passed to the players in newry
Post by: illdecide on June 12, 2017, 12:17:14 PM
Surely if you play with a few more forwards then the 2 men playing sweeper will have to man mark, I think some managers haven't got the balls to push another forward or two up onto the free men.

Now i'not naive enough to think if u done this against the likes of Dublin with their attacking half backs you'd be cleaned out but surely against lesser opposition then take a chance and push up and don't let the opposition have free men, takes balls i know but if you're going to get beat anyway you might as well do it having a go
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 12, 2017, 12:34:10 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 12, 2017, 12:17:14 PM
Surely if you play with a few more forwards then the 2 men playing sweeper will have to man mark, I think some managers haven't got the balls to push another forward or two up onto the free men.

Now i'not naive enough to think if u done this against the likes of Dublin with their attacking half backs you'd be cleaned out but surely against lesser opposition then take a chance and push up and don't let the opposition have free men, takes balls i know but if you're going to get beat anyway you might as well do it having a go

Fully agree...engage the sweepers...as well to be hung for a sheep as a lamb!!!  You need to have confidence on your defenders though to do their jobs. Unfortunately with the prevalence of defending through systems the individual defensive qualities are not practiced as much....
Post by: Sandy Hill on June 12, 2017, 09:37:38 PM
Quote from: mcklatchee on June 11, 2017, 07:49:19 PM
Quote from: stew on June 11, 2017, 06:30:11 PM

You could be right. Time will tell.

Any fool could see what was wrong in the marshes. It should have been put right on the day but you can't tell me it can't be put right in 3 weeks if the focus is put on the right things in training. I would love to know what messages were passed to the players in newry

What was wrong in the Marshes and how could it have been put right?
Post by: macdanger2 on June 13, 2017, 12:08:29 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 12, 2017, 12:34:10 PM

Fully agree...engage the sweepers...as well to be hung for a sheep as a lamb!!!  You need to have confidence on your defenders though to do their jobs. Unfortunately with the prevalence of defending through systems the individual defensive qualities are not practiced as much....

Dunno about that, in such a situation your forwards end up playing in a congested area while theirs end up playing in acres of space
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 13, 2017, 09:16:05 AM
Quote from: macdanger2 on June 13, 2017, 12:08:29 AM

Dunno about that, in such a situation your forwards end up playing in a congested area while theirs end up playing in acres of space

You engage them and draw them away from the front of the goals. If they don't go with you the call goes through the hands of the player the sweeper should be marking
Post by: illdecide on June 13, 2017, 11:17:49 AM
Correct...there is no way a sweeper is going to let a free man go unmarked and if he stays to sweep then he's a fool, you push up on the free men and it'll cause chaos. A good manager with a set should be able to reverse that situation if he feels he has the forwards to execute and the defence to hold their own when the opposition is attacking.
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 13, 2017, 11:32:19 AM
You would have to assume that various managers have tried that in challenge games on a number of occasions over the past few years and it hasn't worked out well or it would have been implemented in a competitive match by now. If the ball is turned over (through a bad pass, through tackling, whatever) you're f*cked as you've left three defenders marking three forwards with half a pitch to wander about in.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 13, 2017, 11:39:54 AM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 13, 2017, 11:32:19 AM
You would have to assume that various managers have tried that in challenge games on a number of occasions over the past few years and it hasn't worked out well or it would have been implemented in a competitive match by now. If the ball is turned over (through a bad pass, through tackling, whatever) you're f*cked as you've left three defenders marking three forwards with half a pitch to wander about in.

That's why i said about the defenders being able to do their own jobs. System remove the responsibility on individuals to do their own jobs. I have seen teams losing games by 5-6 points and still relying on sweepers(Armagh v Donegal a number of years ago springs to mind). I'd more time was spent on coaching players to do their individual jobs rather that 'systems' this fad would pass. Too much money on the table for managers to get instant results and as a consequence they all have developed the 'defensive systems ' to avoid defeat...have some f**king balls and go and win the bloody game rather than not lose it!!
Post by: OgraAnDun on June 13, 2017, 12:28:19 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 13, 2017, 11:39:54 AM

That's why i said about the defenders being able to do their own jobs. System remove the responsibility on individuals to do their own jobs. I have seen teams losing games by 5-6 points and still relying on sweepers(Armagh v Donegal a number of years ago springs to mind). I'd more time was spent on coaching players to do their individual jobs rather that 'systems' this fad would pass. Too much money on the table for managers to get instant results and as a consequence they all have developed the 'defensive systems ' to avoid defeat...have some f**king balls and go and win the bloody game rather than not lose it!!

You have a point but I think that even with a forward and a defender matched 50/50 in terms of ability and physical prowess, the attacker will come out on top more often than not if they're given that much space to work in. It might only be 6 times out of 10 or 55 times out of 100 but those two scores will be enough to win the game.

EDIT: Also, as regards instant success - people criticse the managers for wanting instant success, and then they criticise them for talking about a three/five year process. They need success within a year or two or they're out the door, and even if you're doing it on the free, it's a failure that you don't want.
Post by: illdecide on June 13, 2017, 02:56:14 PM
http://gaeliclife.com/2017/06/exclusive-armagh-edge-closer-centre-excellence/ (http://gaeliclife.com/2017/06/exclusive-armagh-edge-closer-centre-excellence/)
Post by: Il Bomber Destro on June 13, 2017, 07:43:30 PM

Precisely and combine that with the modern day athleticism of players then you are asking for bother. Any team who doesn't play with adequate numbers in defence will be destroyed by a well drilled counter attacking side.
Post by: LCohen on June 14, 2017, 09:47:48 PM
Quote from: OgraAnDun on June 13, 2017, 12:28:19 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 13, 2017, 11:39:54 AM

You have a point but I think that even with a forward and a defender matched 50/50 in terms of ability and physical prowess, the attacker will come out on top more often than not if they're given that much space to work in. It might only be 6 times out of 10 or 55 times out of 100 but those two scores will be enough to win the game.

EDIT: Also, as regards instant success - people criticse the managers for wanting instant success, and then they criticise them for talking about a three/five year process. They need success within a year or two or they're out the door, and even if you're doing it on the free, it's a failure that you don't want.

Of course people want instant success. It's natural.

Not everyone will get what they want.

3 and 5 year plans are not in themselves bad ideas. The aimed for success does not need to be delivered in 1 or 2 years but you have to have interim targets and be chalking them off. Think about the 25 year old establishing themselves at IC level. A 5 year plan that is allowed to run its course but delivers nothing. As that player moves on to deal with family and real life we just shrug our shoulders and say ok that 5 year plan didn't work - anybody got a new one?
Post by: LCohen on June 14, 2017, 09:51:09 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 13, 2017, 02:56:14 PM
http://gaeliclife.com/2017/06/exclusive-armagh-edge-closer-centre-excellence/ (http://gaeliclife.com/2017/06/exclusive-armagh-edge-closer-centre-excellence/)

Any word on where this thing is going to be?

Serious work will need to be done on establishing the full cost and the funding plan. Volunteers need to know the full details and the impact on the clubs and their own fundraising capabilities before getting involved
Post by: LCohen on June 14, 2017, 09:54:58 PM
Quote from: Il Bomber Destro on June 13, 2017, 07:43:30 PM

Precisely and combine that with the modern day athleticism of players then you are asking for bother. Any team who doesn't play with adequate numbers in defence will be destroyed by a well drilled counter attacking side.

I remember Crossmaglen going with 7 forwards to rob Errigal Ciaran of using Peter Harte as a play making sweeper. They used the full width of the pitch.  Worked a treat
Post by: macdanger2 on June 14, 2017, 10:02:54 PM
I could see it working on a one off basis against a team whose manager fails to react but on an ongoing basis I think it would come a cropper
Post by: illdecide on June 15, 2017, 11:20:27 AM
You are all confident that it wouldn't work and if it did it would only work once...Cross have proved it can work, if you have the players to carry it out it almost certainly can work. As said previously majority of managers haven't the balls to carry it out for the fear of getting beat and the keyboard warriors tearing them apart for trying it.

The defence need to be capable of taking care of their own men, remember the attackers play a massive role in this as they too play technically as defenders stopping their men breaking out with the ball. Diarmaid Marsden was probably the best tackler you would find and was a top forward, and if you've seven men up in forward line there will almost definitely be no short kick outs.
Post by: mackers on June 15, 2017, 11:48:17 AM
Was this not the type of tactic that got Paul Grimley lambasted by all and sundry after Martin Dunne scored umpteen points against us in Breffni Park?  From memory it was a Crossmaglen player (Paul McKeown)that was hung out to dry that day.
Post by: FermGael on June 15, 2017, 12:02:13 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 15, 2017, 11:20:27 AM
You are all confident that it wouldn't work and if it did it would only work once...Cross have proved it can work, if you have the players to carry it out it almost certainly can work. As said previously majority of managers haven't the balls to carry it out for the fear of getting beat and the keyboard warriors tearing them apart for trying it.

The defence need to be capable of taking care of their own men, remember the attackers play a massive role in this as they too play technically as defenders stopping their men breaking out with the ball. Diarmaid Marsden was probably the best tackler you would find and was a top forward, and if you've seven men up in forward line there will almost definitely be no short kick outs.

As a Fermanagh man I think Armagh should play this way.

Cross have always played a sweeper, if not two.
They were the first team to do this IMO.
Post by: Avondhu star on June 15, 2017, 12:54:38 PM
Where did you get the idea that anyone cares about it?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 15, 2017, 01:42:33 PM
Quote from: FermGael on June 15, 2017, 12:02:13 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 15, 2017, 11:20:27 AM

As a Fermanagh man I think Armagh should play this way.

Cross have always played a sweeper, if not two.
They were the first team to do this IMO.

Never played a sweeper as a tactic. Play a 3 man midfield which is different. Always played with at least 5 men in the opposite half.

Markets The problem that Armagh had against Cavan that day was not the battle between Dunne and Paul McK but rather the failure of the rest of the defenders to do their roles and stop the runners/passers further out the field. Dunne got the scores that day but Mackey was the game winner with his work between the defence and forwards
Post by: FermGael on June 15, 2017, 11:35:09 PM
Okay you played a 3 man midfield with one of those midfielders in a purely defensive role as an extra center half back.
Post by: FermGael on June 15, 2017, 11:40:15 PM
Honestly lads as other Fermanagh men have said on here I can't see anything other than an Armagh win.
We have turned over a lot of players even since last years league meeting and it looks like we have a few key men missing due to injury. 
The Athletic grounds has never been a happy hunting ground for Fermanagh Gaa.
Our defence has been very poor all year and being honest Monaghan beat us pulling up the last day after a very poor first half performance from them when they still went in 2 points up. 
We probably have a better midfield than Armagh but I just think with the forward line Armagh have you will just have to much scoring power for us.
Would love to be proved wrong but just can't see it.
Post by: illdecide on June 16, 2017, 10:14:09 AM
Quote from: FermGael on June 15, 2017, 11:40:15 PM
Honestly lads as other Fermanagh men have said on here I can't see anything other than an Armagh win.
We have turned over a lot of players even since last years league meeting and it looks like we have a few key men missing due to injury. 
Our defence has been very poor all year and being honest Monaghan beat us pulling up the last day after a very poor first half performance from them when they still went in 2 points up. 
We probably have a better midfield than Armagh but I just think with the forward line Armagh have you will just have to much scoring power for us.

Where is everyone getting this from? they're that good they didn't get us out of Div 3. On their day they're decent but not consistent enough...that said they're due a good game anytime soon.
No matter what you think or any other Fermanagh supporters think it's a 50/50 game, Armagh are playing poor and have a very poor home record. I know Fermanagh were also poor against Monaghan so two evenly matched teams with a 50/50 chance in my opinion.
Post by: Taylor on June 16, 2017, 10:37:55 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 16, 2017, 10:14:09 AM

Where is everyone getting this from? they're that good they didn't get us out of Div 3. On their day they're decent but not consistent enough...that said they're due a good game anytime soon.
No matter what you think or any other Fermanagh supporters think it's a 50/50 game, Armagh are playing poor and have a very poor home record. I know Fermanagh were also poor against Monaghan so two evenly matched teams with a 50/50 chance in my opinion.

From what limited games I have seen that Murnin lad seems the pick of the 3.
Clarke loves the spotlight and is in the media more for his travel than his football and Campbell seems like many of our forwards, great potential and a bit of a name but hasnt delivered on the big stage.

Big game to decide who is the 8th worst county in Ulster
Post by: tonto1888 on June 16, 2017, 11:38:43 AM

I thik it would be fairer to say our defence kept us in divison three
Post by: illdecide on June 16, 2017, 02:59:45 PM
Couldn't disagree with that either...
Post by: stew on June 18, 2017, 09:33:25 AM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 16, 2017, 11:38:43 AM

I thik it would be fairer to say our defence kept us in divison three

Our back six are the slowest back six i have ever seen, they are brutally slow and to me that is why we are a D3 side.
Post by: smelmoth on June 18, 2017, 10:13:13 AM
Quote from: LCohen on June 14, 2017, 09:51:09 PM

Serious work will need to be done on establishing the full cost and the funding plan. Volunteers need to know the full details and the impact on the clubs and their own fundraising capabilities before getting involved

Any update on the training ground? I thought there was going to be a big announcement?

Nothing on Armagh Fans Forum which looks to have died a death
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 19, 2017, 09:37:17 AM
Quote from: smelmoth on June 18, 2017, 10:13:13 AM
Quote from: LCohen on June 14, 2017, 09:51:09 PM

Any update on the training ground? I thought there was going to be a big announcement?

Nothing on Armagh Fans Forum which looks to have died a death

It's going to be built but they haven't decided where yet...but the clubs will sell the fundraising tickets anyway with the prospect of one being built!!
Post by: illdecide on June 19, 2017, 12:43:08 PM
Jasus it's wild quiet on this thread for the match...Anyone in the know how Armagh are going injury wise or suspensions? Dunno hoe bookies can have Armagh at 2/5...WTF have they been watching recently
Post by: lurganblue on June 19, 2017, 12:48:03 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 19, 2017, 12:43:08 PM
Jasus it's wild quiet on this thread for the match...Anyone in the know how Armagh are going injury wise or suspensions? Dunno hoe bookies can have Armagh at 2/5...WTF have they been watching recently

Fermanagh plus the handicap is surely the bet then  :P

Post by: Orior on June 20, 2017, 10:28:09 AM
Is there a curtain raiser match on Sunday?
Post by: yellowcard on June 20, 2017, 10:57:06 AM
I don't get a sense that there is much enthusiasm in either county for this match. The winner will get a renewed sense of belief though. For Geezer, you would have to feel that it is a must win match that were he to lose, then his position would be untenable. Win the match however and they can take a bit of renewed belief into getting a good run at the qualifiers. The winners are in the easy side of the qualifiers draw so there is an opportuinity to get 3/4 matches through the back door which might be enough to rescue the season. 
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2017, 11:16:20 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 20, 2017, 10:28:09 AM
Is there a curtain raiser match on Sunday?

Don't think so
Post by: PAULD123 on June 20, 2017, 11:31:38 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 19, 2017, 12:43:08 PM

You think this thread is quiet. Down play Monaghan on Saturday in an Ulster semi-final and there are only six comments on that thread.

As for this game - Armagh have some quick skillful forwards. Certainly enough to build a decent Division 2 side around. Whether they function together or not is a matter from managers but the ability is good enough. The big question is about shooting. Tyrone scored some great distance points at the weekend. Not very difficult chances but still from distance with a defender off the shoulder. Most county forwards should be able to take these chances consistently but many don't. Is it just psychology and worrying about missing, so just a lack of confidence? The general feeling from Armagh fans after the Down game was that their biggest disappointment was their forwards not shooting when they had half decent chances. In fairness that is probably a good assessment, but also a good assessment of most county sides in the country bar the top 4-5.
Post by: bennydorano on June 20, 2017, 01:10:23 PM
Hopefully with that bit of Ulster Championship pressure gone we can play with a bit more freedom. There's normally a bit of a selection shake up from USFC to Qualifiers so I wouldn't be surprised to see a few changes, Forker and Campbell could (or should) be dropped for this one imo.
Post by: Orior on June 20, 2017, 01:38:05 PM
Maybe Pete will have the Armagh job before he leaves the Athletic Grounds!
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2017, 02:23:21 PM
As i have already stated you will know on Sunday evening if the players are behind KMcG or not by the result, if they come out like men possessed and beat Fermanagh then it'll be clear where their loyalties lie. A limp performance and you'll guess the players are not playing for the manager.

Post by: BennyCake on June 20, 2017, 02:29:41 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2017, 02:23:21 PM
As i have already stated you will know on Sunday evening if the players are behind KMcG or not by the result, if they come out like men possessed and beat Fermanagh then it'll be clear where their loyalties lie. A limp performance and you'll guess the players are not playing for the manager.

Or just not good enough.
Post by: illdecide on June 20, 2017, 03:28:10 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on June 20, 2017, 02:29:41 PM
Quote from: illdecide on June 20, 2017, 02:23:21 PM

Or just not good enough.

And that too :D
Post by: FermGael on June 22, 2017, 10:39:50 AM
Looks like Ruairi Corrigan is fit again after nearly a year out.

That's a big plus for us
Post by: Orior on June 22, 2017, 11:17:37 AM
Quote from: FermGael on June 22, 2017, 10:39:50 AM
Looks like Ruairi Corrigan is fit again after nearly a year out.

That's a big plus for us

Heck no. Keep him fit for the next round.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 22, 2017, 09:48:01 PM
Starting 15 for Ard Mhacha
All Ireland Qualifiers- Round 1
Against Fermanagh
Date Sunday 25th June, 2017 at 6.30pm in Armagh

1    Blaine Hughes      Carraig an Chrupain
2   James Morgan      Raonaithe na Croise
3   Charlie Vernon      Cláirsigh Ard Mhacha
4   Aaron Mc Kay   Dromainn Ti
5   Aidan Forker      An Machaire
6   Brendan Donaghy   Cluain Mhor
7   Paul Hughes      Raonaithe na Croise
8   Stephen Sheridan   Foirceal
9   Niall Grimley      Na Madáin
10   Mark Shields      An Chrois Bhan
11   Anthony Duffy      Na Piarsaigh Óga
12   Rory Grugan ( C )   Baile Mhic an Aba
13   Jamie Clarke      Raonaithe na Croise
14   Andrew Murnin      Naomh Pol
15   Gavin McParland   Baile Mhic an Aba
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 22, 2017, 10:07:22 PM
6.30 Sunday....why the unusual time?
Post by: Ball Hopper on June 22, 2017, 10:21:36 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 22, 2017, 10:07:22 PM

The Feile thing is on across Cavan, Fermanagh and Monaghan this weekend.  Later time to allow those involved to see the game.
Post by: armaghniac on June 22, 2017, 11:15:39 PM
Quote from: Ball Hopper on June 22, 2017, 10:21:36 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on June 22, 2017, 10:07:22 PM

The Feile thing is on across Cavan, Fermanagh and Monaghan this weekend.  Later time to allow those involved to see the game.

Well at least there will be some other teams eliminated before us.
Post by: Orior on June 22, 2017, 11:52:01 PM
Hmmm. I assume Stefan Campbell must not allowed to play again when the ground is firm.
Post by: illdecide on June 23, 2017, 09:53:42 AM
Quote from: Orior on June 22, 2017, 11:52:01 PM
Hmmm. I assume Stefan Campbell must not allowed to play again when the ground is firm.

What? He has been struggling all year with we niggles and lower back injuries, he's clearly not as fit as last year and for that reason his form has dipped hence why KMcG has dropped him. I would have thought a fit Stefan would love the firm ground and i'll assume if he's fit it would be one hell of a sub to bring into the game.
Post by: bennydorano on June 23, 2017, 10:26:13 AM
Hope Shields at 10 is a red herring, converting a fantastic HB into a fantastic HF rarely works.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on June 23, 2017, 10:38:18 AM
Here we go again, KMG future surely hangs on this game.

Glad to see Campbell start on the bench, although he's a great player, you want to be playing players on form and he is suffering a lack of it this past few months. 
Good to see Grimley in the middle, think he has a big future ahead of him.  I wouldn't be concerned about Sheilds doing half forward, I can only assume he will have a roaming role or is in there to track someone specific.

My only hope for this match is that if things aren't happening for players or the tactics aren't working, be proactive and get them changed sooner. 
Post by: mackers on June 23, 2017, 10:43:35 AM
Lessons have to be learnt from the last day.  Fermanagh will set up with 13 men behind the ball.  Players (primarily Jamie) can't be doing their own thing.  We have struggled with the blanket defence for years now.  Sunday has to see an improvement on that score.
Post by: Smurfy123 on June 23, 2017, 11:19:29 AM
I see McKeever talking about how good of a team Armagh are and they are a click away from really giving some team a hiding
Am I missing something here?
That comes of the back of Forker saying they were a sleeping giant
Fermanagh will be loving this
Post by: armaghniac on June 23, 2017, 11:26:59 AM
Quote from: mackers on June 23, 2017, 10:43:35 AM
Lessons have to be learnt from the last day.  Fermanagh will set up with 13 men behind the ball.  Players (primarily Jamie) can't be doing their own thing.  We have struggled with the blanket defence for years now.  Sunday has to see an improvement on that score.

When Jamie has been playing for Cross there have been games where he has been bottled up, yet has delivered layoffs to other players who then took the scores. In Armagh games he doesn't alway have people making themselves available for the pass.
Post by: lurganblue on June 23, 2017, 12:43:49 PM
The look of that team hardly inspires much confidence unfortunately.
Post by: FermGael on June 23, 2017, 01:56:01 PM
Quote from: mackers on June 23, 2017, 10:43:35 AM

Rubbish we will be playing blanket attack.
Sure according to your lads in the papers Armagh are a sleeping giant and will reawaken on Sunday. 
"Plucky wee" Fermanagh will not have a chance.
Post by: yellowcard on June 23, 2017, 02:23:08 PM
Looking at that Armagh team would not inspire you with much confidence, real lack of leadership in it. I think we can just sneak past Fermanagh as I don't think they are having a great season either though I wouldn't be overly confident.
Post by: BennyCake on June 23, 2017, 02:48:13 PM
Quote from: yellowcard on June 23, 2017, 02:23:08 PM
Looking at that Armagh team would not inspire you with much confidence, real lack of leadership in it. I think we can just sneak past Fermanagh as I don't think they are having a great season either though I wouldn't be overly confident.

Sums up my thinking too, that does.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on June 23, 2017, 03:01:16 PM
Who would be the leaders on the team that aren't in the first fifteen?
Post by: LCohen on June 23, 2017, 10:06:48 PM
That team won't start.

If it does it means mcgeeney believes either
a) Fermanagh will not play the blanket or
b) those players will score over the blanket better than O'Neill, Campbell or Rafferty or
c) the tactic of the last day of trying to work through the blanket is a winner

There is still hope
Post by: ONeill on June 23, 2017, 11:02:13 PM
Armagh by 6
Post by: FermGael on June 23, 2017, 11:21:27 PM
Fermanagh have one change. We have changed keepers.
Post by: Dire Ear on June 24, 2017, 02:57:37 PM
Fermanagh to win BY 1
Post by: Over the Bar on June 24, 2017, 07:53:29 PM
Odds on Armagh players will rough up the band before a ball is kicked to try to set the tone.... The poor chile selected as Fermanagh mascot no doubt will wear a helmet expecting to get pole-axed by the Armagh water carrier.  #McGeeneyWay
Post by: bennydorano on June 24, 2017, 09:20:33 PM
Armagh -3 @ 11/10 is stealing money.

Post by: T Fearon on June 25, 2017, 02:11:37 PM
I was just thinking in the light of Down's impressive win last night,next year will mark the tenth year since Armagh last appeared in an Ulster Final,that's the longest period since 1977.Not good.

Not overly optimistic about tonight.Fermanagh did well against Monaghan,have a better manager than us,have more leaders in the likes of Quigley and Mc Cluskey etc. 50/50 game.
Post by: lurganblue on June 25, 2017, 03:46:11 PM
Can't make the match unfortunately. Is it on the radio?
Post by: Aaron Boone on June 25, 2017, 05:41:20 PM
McGeeney has the managerial qualities to get the result tonight.
Post by: nrico2006 on June 25, 2017, 05:42:27 PM
Wonder how many scores the 'super' Armagh forward line will get today?
Post by: on the sideline on June 25, 2017, 06:29:15 PM
Are sky showing this one? Or another other stations? Be a better watch than that Dublin cakewalk.
Post by: Owen Brannigan on June 25, 2017, 06:47:43 PM
On the radio:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/gaelic-games/40247817 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/gaelic-games/40247817)

Only problem is that the commentary is worse than the Armagh play, is there no one in the BBC capable of providing a clear commentary without the nonsense we are hearing this evening?

Why is Jackie Fullerton's apprentice sent to these games?
Post by: Over the Bar on June 25, 2017, 06:51:18 PM
Quote from: on the sideline on June 25, 2017, 06:29:15 PM
Are sky showing this one? Or another other stations? Be a better watch than that Dublin cakewalk.

What's the difference between that and a Fermanagh cakewalk?  :)
Post by: highorlow on June 25, 2017, 07:08:05 PM
Any score updates?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2017, 07:08:59 PM
7 6 armagh
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2017, 07:10:12 PM
Follow on twitter... @moysphillymc

Only place i can see it.
Post by: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 07:13:15 PM
8-6 to Armagh at ht. As expected, a shit fest. Armagh happy enuf, played into a stiff breeze in 1st.
Post by: balladmaker on June 25, 2017, 07:13:25 PM
Half Time Armagh 0-08 Fermanagh 0-06
Post by: LCohen on June 25, 2017, 07:17:30 PM
Make the announcer stop. Please
Post by: armaghniac on June 25, 2017, 07:18:04 PM
Some poor shooting from Armagh, intercounty  players should be getting most shots from the 21. Good crowd, considering.
Post by: balladmaker on June 25, 2017, 07:33:10 PM
Armagh 9 Fermanagh 6 few mins into second half
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2017, 07:45:37 PM
Quigley only on a few minutes ago.
Post by: balladmaker on June 25, 2017, 08:04:41 PM
Armagh 0-20 Fermanagh 0-11 ... Armagh win pulling up.
Post by: Captain Obvious on June 25, 2017, 08:14:35 PM
A win is a win for Armagh. 20 points scored and just 11 conceded is a decent days work for any championship game however Fermanagh have gone back a fair bit in the last 12 months.
Post by: stew on June 25, 2017, 08:20:33 PM
Quote from: nrico2006 on June 25, 2017, 05:42:27 PM

We scored 20 points as a collective with the forward ling bagging the majority of them, is that ' super' enough for you????

Post by: Over the Bar on June 25, 2017, 08:35:10 PM
Quote from: stew on June 25, 2017, 08:20:33 PM

We scored 20 points as a collective with the forward ling bagging the majority of them, is that ' super' enough for you????
Dublin will be sh*tting themselves! ;)
Post by: FermGael on June 25, 2017, 08:36:30 PM
Fermanagh have lost over 20 players since our all Ireland quarter final against Dublin 2 years ago.
We cant turnover that amount of players .
No county can.
Post by: balladmaker on June 25, 2017, 08:38:47 PM
QuoteDublin will be sh*tting themselves!

Wouldn't think so, but Armagh still have something to add to this year's Championship and that's all that matters tonight  ;D
Post by: tonto1888 on June 25, 2017, 08:40:57 PM
Quote from: FermGael on June 25, 2017, 08:36:30 PM
Fermanagh have lost over 20 players since our all Ireland quarter final against Dublin 2 years ago.
No county can.

Esp one of your size. What has caused the turnover?
Post by: Tubberman on June 25, 2017, 08:51:23 PM
Arlene will be in bad form for the next few days now - poor old Theresa will bear the brunt of it
Post by: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 08:56:26 PM
Armagh have to be happy with that. While the game was poor enough on the eye Armagh were very dominant, tactically spot on and didn't appear to be ready to cough up soft goals at any point.

Some very good performances but Grimley had to be MOTM by a long way.
Post by: FermGael on June 25, 2017, 08:58:59 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 25, 2017, 08:40:57 PM
No county can.

It's hard to put a finger on it.
Some lads retired.
Some lads just didn't want to train 4 or 5 nights a week.
Some lads went travelling.
I honestly can't think of any of the 20 plus lads who are not available who actually fell out with the management.
It's a Fermanagh thing if I am being honest.
When we reached the all Ireland quarter final against Tyrone in 2003 and were hammered we had a massive player exodus.
We reached the semi final the next year with most of the previous years squad not available.
In my lifetime it has happened quite a few times.
The remarkable thing is that we somehow keep on finding players despite our teririble underage record.

Post by: LCohen on June 25, 2017, 09:07:38 PM
Quote from: Captain Obvious on June 25, 2017, 08:14:35 PM
A win is a win for Armagh. 20 points scored and just 11 conceded is a decent days work for any championship game however Fermanagh have gone back a fair bit in the last 12 months.

Fermanagh were poor. We were mixed. An awful period in the first half when we just looked clueless, vulnerable to runners throughout and initially a bit stupefied on what to do with the extra man. Those were the negatives. But we are still in the competition. We have a chance to put them right.

Grimley played well and recovered from the missed free. OHanlon looked mobile and had his best game in a long time
Post by: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 09:40:15 PM
I was surprised they took O'Hanlon off myself, Murnin too but he looked like he took a knock. McParland was lucky getting the full shift imo. The drop to the bench could be the kick up the arse that Campbell needs. Looked hungry 2nite.
Post by: T Fearon on June 25, 2017, 10:56:47 PM
A game essentially between two third division teams and the standard never reached any great heights.If Quigley had started Fermanagh might have pushed on when they led 5 points to 2.Hard to see Mc Grath continuing I'd say.If we avoid Monaghan we may get to play a beaten provincial finalist,although away ties to either Westmeath or Tipp would be tricky in the extreme
Post by: rrhf on June 25, 2017, 11:43:49 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on June 25, 2017, 08:40:57 PM
No county can.

They don't have the Dublin resources
Post by: Orior on June 25, 2017, 11:44:59 PM
Quote from: bennydorano on June 25, 2017, 09:40:15 PM
I was surprised they took O'Hanlon off myself, Murnin too but he looked like he took a knock. McParland was lucky getting the full shift imo. The drop to the bench could be the kick up the arse that Campbell needs. Looked hungry 2nite.

Whilst Grugan took his scores, I thought he dropped or missed any kick-out to him?

Good to see O'Hanlon finally having a good game for Armagh.

Grimley was immense.

Can Armagh win two games in a row?
Post by: T Fearon on June 25, 2017, 11:59:34 PM
The massive crowd tonight shows how times have changed.Failure to get out of Div 3 and beaten after an inept performance by Down,yet Armagh fans still roll up in their thousands.I remember the 1985 NFL Div 1 final,after Armagh lost to Monaghan,hearing many Armagh fans on the way out of Croker vowing (and meaning it) that they'd never be back to watch the team.Yet nowadays we could sink to Div 4 and the masses would still show up.

Good crowd also up from Fermanagh tonight,contrasting with the Ulster Semi Final in 2002 at Clones when the Fermanagh fans wouldn't have filled two taxis.
Post by: stew on June 26, 2017, 12:02:05 AM
Quote from: Over the Bar on June 25, 2017, 08:35:10 PM
Quote from: stew on June 25, 2017, 08:20:33 PM

Dublin will be sh*tting themselves! ;)

Nobody mentioned Dublin, a smart arse remark was made to denigrate our forwards, i simply stated the obvious after the fact, our forwards got the job done. I cannit wait until Dublin or Kerry dismantle Tyrone, arrogant hoors need a reminder of who they are, we know who we are and we will be done soon. )
Post by: armaghniac on June 26, 2017, 12:06:22 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 25, 2017, 11:59:34 PM
The massive crowd tonight shows how times have changed.Failure to get out of Div 3 and beaten after an inept performance by Down,yet Armagh fans still roll up in their thousands.I remember the 1985 NFL Div 1 final,after Armagh lost to Monaghan,hearing many Armagh fans on the way out of Croker vowing (and meaning it) that they'd never be back to watch the team.Yet nowadays we could sink to Div 4 and the masses would still show up.

It doesn't really, Armagh had big crowds in the 80s, even bigger crowds in the 00s and half that number of eejits still go.
A game against Monaghan or a home game against Tipp would be well attended.
Post by: T Fearon on June 26, 2017, 07:30:29 AM
Supporters were a lot more fickle back in the day,and crowds generally correlated to how well the team was doing.

For example,the crowd at the AI semi final between Armagh and Kerry in 1982 was a mere 17,000.

Post by: tonto1888 on June 26, 2017, 07:55:21 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 25, 2017, 10:56:47 PM
A game essentially between two third division teams and the standard never reached any great heights.If Quigley had started Fermanagh might have pushed on when they led 5 points to 2.Hard to see Mc Grath continuing I'd say.If we avoid Monaghan we may get to play a beaten provincial finalist,although away ties to either Westmeath or Tipp would be tricky in the extreme

I will be happy with a home tie. Preferably Leitrim but I would take Westmeath or Tipp also
Post by: PAULD123 on June 26, 2017, 07:57:27 AM
Quote from: Orior

Yes.

There is very little between any of the Ulster sides man for man. We proved that against Monaghan on Saturday night. A focused, co-ordinated team that plays with confidence in Ulster is pretty much as good as another Ulster side.

The best thing is that the attacking football has prospered in this years Ulster Championship.
Post by: Taylor on June 26, 2017, 08:14:30 AM
Quote from: PAULD123 on June 26, 2017, 07:57:27 AM
Quote from: Orior

Yes.

There is very little between any of the Ulster sides man for man. We proved that against Monaghan on Saturday night. A focused, co-ordinated team that plays with confidence in Ulster is pretty much as good as another Ulster side.

The best thing is that the attacking football has prospered in this years Ulster Championship.

Seriously?

The gap between Fermanagh or Antrim and Tyrone is absolutely massive.
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on June 26, 2017, 09:27:19 AM
Went to the game, big crowd for that time on a Sunday.  Armagh GAA will be laughing all the way to the bank after this weekends returns. 

Onto the game.  Armagh first half shooting was very very poor, and would need to improve conversion rate considerably.  That said there second half shooting was great.  Duffy and Grimley showed great fielding, something Armagh have struggled with was winning midfield this year.  Hughes in nets is a real find, his kickouts (bar 1) were spot on all night. 

Fermanagh allowed Armagh to kick the ball in all night, something we wouldn't get as handy again I doubt.  Good to see Campbell come on and get involved, Ethan Rafferty also showed and finally some options from the bench.  Roll on Westmeath. 
Post by: DuffleKing on June 26, 2017, 03:06:23 PM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on June 26, 2017, 09:27:19 AM
Went to the game, big crowd for that time on a Sunday.  Armagh GAA will be laughing all the way to the bank after this weekends returns

Onto the game.  Armagh first half shooting was very very poor, and would need to improve conversion rate considerably.  That said there second half shooting was great.  Duffy and Grimley showed great fielding, something Armagh have struggled with was winning midfield this year.  Hughes in nets is a real find, his kickouts (bar 1) were spot on all night. 

Fermanagh allowed Armagh to kick the ball in all night, something we wouldn't get as handy again I doubt.  Good to see Campbell come on and get involved, Ethan Rafferty also showed and finally some options from the bench.  Roll on Westmeath.

Counties don't get this money - Croke Park money
Post by: Ethan Tremblay on June 26, 2017, 03:30:12 PM
Counties get no return in gate receipts?

Bar bringing people into the city(town really) what benefit do they get from hosting matches or is there a stipulation that they have to?
Post by: Orior on June 26, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on June 26, 2017, 03:30:12 PM

Bar bringing people into the city(town really) what benefit do they get from hosting matches or is there a stipulation that they have to?

Bringing people into town at 6:30pm on a Sunday evening is only good for pubs and fast food outlets.
Post by: BennyCake on June 26, 2017, 04:09:02 PM
Quote from: Orior on June 26, 2017, 03:43:08 PM
Quote from: Ethan Tremblay on June 26, 2017, 03:30:12 PM

Bringing people into town at 6:30pm on a Sunday evening is only good for pubs and fast food outlets.

And McInerney's.
Post by: Orior on June 26, 2017, 04:12:36 PM
The press seemed to like what McKeever did when he came on, but I thought he looked rather immobile. What did I miss?
Post by: Erne Man on June 26, 2017, 04:32:30 PM
Pretty much as expected from the game last night.
We made a decent start, but masked by some bad wides by Armagh. Thought Armagh were always in control of the game, and our inability to get scores (other than Tomas frees and a few long range efforts) was worrying.
Sadly I think we are in for a prolonged spell in Division 3. The poor performances at minor and u-21 level where we regularly get hockeyed doesnt suggest we will uncover many nuggets over the next few years. I know Pete is a thoughtful individual, and won't have made any rash announcements after the game last night, but I suspect he will hang up the managers bib, in Fermanagh at least. Great credit to him for taking the role on, and making some decent progress in his tenure. Our issue will always be that even within the 3/4yr cycle of a manager, we will have small peaks along the way and a large trough in the last year of their tenure - no-one tends to leave the Fermanagh position on a high!

Good performance from Armagh, and a great draw for them in the next round. We got Westmeath a couple of years ago after a Leinster final drubbing by the Dubs, and you could tell they weren't mentally right.
Post by: Armamike on June 26, 2017, 09:42:59 PM
Quote from: Erne Man on June 26, 2017, 04:32:30 PM
Pretty much as expected from the game last night.
We made a decent start, but masked by some bad wides by Armagh. Thought Armagh were always in control of the game, and our inability to get scores (other than Tomas frees and a few long range efforts) was worrying.
Sadly I think we are in for a prolonged spell in Division 3. The poor performances at minor and u-21 level where we regularly get hockeyed doesnt suggest we will uncover many nuggets over the next few years. I know Pete is a thoughtful individual, and won't have made any rash announcements after the game last night, but I suspect he will hang up the managers bib, in Fermanagh at least. Great credit to him for taking the role on, and making some decent progress in his tenure. Our issue will always be that even within the 3/4yr cycle of a manager, we will have small peaks along the way and a large trough in the last year of their tenure - no-one tends to leave the Fermanagh position on a high!

Good performance from Armagh, and a great draw for them in the next round. We got Westmeath a couple of years ago after a Leinster final drubbing by the Dubs, and you could tell they weren't mentally right.

A case of players tending to drop off the panel after a couple of years and then basically a new panel again? Hard to keep the motivation up if there's not much hope of silverware after a few years.

Post by: Rossfan on June 26, 2017, 11:45:01 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 26, 2017, 07:30:29 AM

For example,the crowd at the AI semi final between Armagh and Kerry in 1982 was a mere 17,000.
Probably 16,000 Armagh, 500 Kerry and 500 lonely people who wanted somewhere to go on a Sunday.
Post by: T Fearon on June 27, 2017, 12:10:55 AM
All the same can you imagine a crowd of just 17,000 at an All Ireland semi final nowadays? Having said that , I was at an Ulster semi final at O'Neill Park Dungannon (when did Tyrone even play there last),and watched an Ulster Championship game at Casement from a car parked at the top of the hill/terracing,which was allowed to be driven in.Unimaginable these days.
Post by: lurganblue on June 27, 2017, 09:13:38 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on June 27, 2017, 12:10:55 AM
All the same can you imagine a crowd of just 17,000 at an All Ireland semi final nowadays? Having said that , I was at an Ulster semi final at O'Neill Park Dungannon (when did Tyrone even play there last),and watched an Ulster Championship game at Casement from a car parked at the top of the hill/terracing,which was allowed to be driven in.Unimaginable these days.

Where you one of those people who doot the horn when your team scores? Although that's more of a south Armagh thing  :P
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2017, 09:23:43 AM
Quote from: lurganblue on June 27, 2017, 09:13:38 AM

Where you one of those people who doot the horn when your team scores? Although that's more of a south Armagh thing  :P

For full clarification cullyhanna or silverbridge....Culloville to a lesser extent😂
Post by: illdecide on June 27, 2017, 09:54:06 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2017, 09:23:43 AM

For full clarification cullyhanna or silverbridge....Culloville to a lesser extent😂

Hence a South Armagh thing ;). Anyway if u lot were to hoot your horn at every score you wouldn't hear your ears FFS
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2017, 09:56:34 AM
Quote from: illdecide on June 27, 2017, 09:54:06 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 27, 2017, 09:23:43 AM

Hence a South Armagh thing ;). Anyway if u lot were to hoot your horn at every score you wouldn't hear your ears FFS

We only hoot our horns for winning trophies....still often enough😂