Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: ck on April 10, 2015, 08:56:11 PM

Title: Red/Green Deisel
Post by: ck on April 10, 2015, 08:56:11 PM
I drive for a living and cross over and back the border every week. I filled with green on occasion and have recently filled with red. I'm always worried about getting caught - what are the chances? Anyone know the score on this? I assume customs will end up with my reg? Are they likely to come knocking on my door?
Title: Re: Red/Green Deisel
Post by: redzone on April 10, 2015, 09:11:23 PM
How would they get ure reg.are u filling up at the pumps.why dont you get a drum and keep it low key
Post by: ck on April 10, 2015, 09:32:10 PM
Yeah fill at the pumps alright. CCTV everywhere. I assume customs check these?
Anyone in the know on this?
Post by: armaghniac on April 10, 2015, 09:45:47 PM
The dippers will get you!

Did this new oil marker come on on 1st April? This may interrupt some forms of business.
Post by: redzone on April 10, 2015, 10:33:22 PM
Whats the oil marker.ive heard something about customs going back thru vat returns and people having to pay a few grand back after being dipped.not completley sure on the finer details.prrsumably they were self employed andclaiming vat on diesel dockets got from someone else maybe
Post by: general_lee on April 11, 2015, 08:53:32 AM
Quote from: ck on April 10, 2015, 08:56:11 PM
I drive for a living and cross over and back the border every week. I filled with green on occasion and have recently filled with red. I'm always worried about getting caught - what are the chances? Anyone know the score on this? I assume customs will end up with my reg? Are they likely to come knocking on my door?
Do you have facebook? There are a few pages set up that notify people of when/where dippers are knocking about. Be worth subscribing to just to keep the ear to the ground.
Post by: Itchy on April 11, 2015, 01:04:47 PM
You are breaking the law and tax payers like me are paying for it. I hope you get caught and get the 5k fine you deserve.
Post by: BennyCake on April 11, 2015, 01:06:22 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 11, 2015, 01:04:47 PM
You are breaking the law and tax payers like me are paying for it. I hope you get caught and get the 5k fine you deserve.

Breaking the law, my arse.
Post by: gallsman on April 11, 2015, 01:40:58 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 11, 2015, 01:06:22 PM

Care to elaborate?
Post by: general_lee on April 11, 2015, 01:41:54 PM
There's worse things that taxes pay for to be fair.
Post by: BennyCake on April 11, 2015, 01:51:26 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 11, 2015, 01:40:58 PM

Care to elaborate?

Man trying to get by. Save a few quid. So what if he drives on the red or green stuff. Do you really think if there was no illegal fuel about, that we'd be paying any less taxes in general?

And anyone that says that he hopes he is caught and fined, is no better than those who inform on their neighbours for having no tv license or working a few hours on the side.
Post by: gallsman on April 11, 2015, 02:49:55 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 11, 2015, 01:51:26 PM

Care to elaborate?

Man trying to get by. Save a few quid. So what if he drives on the red or green stuff. Do you really think if there was no illegal fuel about, that we'd be paying any less taxes in general?

And anyone that says that he hopes he is caught and fined, is no better than those who inform on their neighbours for having no tv license or working a few hours on the side.

That's well and good. Doesn't make it legal though. Why not just extend that as far as you can. If none of us paid our taxes, we'd be grand, wouldn't we?!

I wouldn't tout on anyone myself but I've no f**king sympathy for anyone who gets caught. You dodge tax in this fashion, those of us who don't end up subsidising you.
Post by: God14 on April 11, 2015, 03:47:53 PM
The fine is £500 not £5000 if your caught

Mixing 'good diesel' (I.e clear tax paid)  with heating oil / kerosene (45p per litre) at 50/50 is quite common. Even though it's still clear I presume the nice people at HMRC would spot it
Post by: 93-DY-SAM on April 11, 2015, 03:58:20 PM
Quote from: God14 on April 11, 2015, 03:47:53 PM
The fine is £500 not £5000 if your caught

Mixing 'good diesel' (I.e clear tax paid)  with heating oil / kerosene (45p per litre) at 50/50 is quite common. Even though it's still clear I presume the nice people at HMRC would spot it

That'll do wonders for a pump. I'd take red or green anyday over a shite mix like that.
Post by: Over the Bar on April 11, 2015, 04:39:04 PM
While the HMRC await the introduction of the new red dye that can't be removed they have cancelled all dipping.  You can drive on red or green until your heart is content! :)
Post by: armaghniac on April 11, 2015, 05:32:48 PM
QuoteMixing 'good diesel' (I.e clear tax paid)  with heating oil / kerosene (45p per litre) at 50/50 is quite common. Even though it's still clear I presume the nice people at HMRC would spot it

This is one thing if you decide to do it, but often it is the garage owner that does it and doesn't pass on the savings to you.

Quote from: Over the Bar on April 11, 2015, 04:39:04 PM
While the HMRC await the introduction of the new red dye that can't be removed they have cancelled all dipping.  You can drive on red or green until your heart is content! :)

The dye is now mere decoration, the new marker is invisible and as the thinking is that removing this would cost as much as the saving per litre.

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/revenue-and-customs-brief-4-2015-introduction-of-a-new-rebated-fuel-marker-from-1-april-2015/revenue-and-customs-brief-4-2015-introduction-of-a-new-rebated-fuel-marker-from-1-april-2015
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2015, 05:49:59 PM
I hope you're caught.
Post by: Itchy on April 11, 2015, 09:57:59 PM
Great moral guardians of the north. Is it ok to not pay taxes, fraudulently draw dole and work, put in eroneus false claims etc . I mean the suckers that pay all these will cover you. If I knew who ye were I'd dob you in bunch of skiving c***ts.
Post by: Line Ball on April 11, 2015, 10:02:42 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 11, 2015, 02:49:55 PM

Care to elaborate?

That's well and good. Doesn't make it legal though. Why not just extend that as far as you can. If none of us paid our taxes, we'd be grand, wouldn't we?!

I wouldn't tout on anyone myself but I've no f**king sympathy for anyone who gets caught. You dodge tax in this fashion, those of us who don't end up subsidising you.

I take it you don't use that shed to fill up at beside the St Gall's pitch?
Post by: armaghniac on April 11, 2015, 10:21:36 PM
When Mayo win the All Ireland Red/Green diesel will be allowed for a month to celebrate.
Post by: gallsman on April 11, 2015, 10:31:21 PM
Quote from: Line Ball on April 11, 2015, 10:02:42 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 11, 2015, 02:49:55 PM

Care to elaborate?

I take it you don't use that shed to fill up at beside the St Gall's pitch?

Given I haven't lived in Belfast for ten years, no I don't.
Post by: laoislad on April 11, 2015, 10:32:48 PM
What's Deisel anyways?
Post by: BennyCake on April 11, 2015, 10:35:38 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 11, 2015, 09:57:59 PM
Great moral guardians of the north. Is it ok to not pay taxes, fraudulently draw dole and work, put in eroneus false claims etc . I mean the suckers that pay all these will cover you. If I knew who ye were I'd dob you in bunch of skiving c***ts.

Household charges and now water charges. Yes, because the government doesn't bleed people dry enough as it is, with their makey-uppey taxes.
Post by: Itchy on April 12, 2015, 12:55:27 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 11, 2015, 10:35:38 PM

Household charges and now water charges. Yes, because the government doesn't bleed people dry enough as it is, with their makey-uppey taxes.

So you vote the government out. If everyone decides themselves what tax they pay it would be anarchy. What you are saying is pure stupid.
Post by: GJL on April 12, 2015, 01:03:18 PM
Putting the tax issues to the side, the safest diesel for your engine is red or green. Most clear diesel in this country is pure muck.
Post by: Hereiam on April 12, 2015, 02:31:30 PM
Agree with that GJL
Post by: Bazil Douglas on April 12, 2015, 02:47:19 PM
Quote from: GJL on April 12, 2015, 01:03:18 PM
Putting the tax issues to the side, the safest diesel for your engine is red or green. Most clear diesel in this country is pure muck.

Your absolutely right, red & green diesel contain a higher lub oil content which makes it better for your cylinders,pump, & injectors, giving longer life.Clear diesel or derv is so refined its no better than glorified kero also referred to as ultra, ultra, low sulphur diesel.But it is illegal for road use.
Post by: BennyCake on April 12, 2015, 03:52:35 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 12, 2015, 12:55:27 PM

So you vote the government out. If everyone decides themselves what tax they pay it would be anarchy. What you are saying is pure stupid.

Aye and a new govt will be just the same pack of wankers.

My point is, people are just trying to make ends meet. Put food on table, pay mortgages. If they survive by driving illegally on red diesel, then I don't see a problem. f**king lay off people trying to make their way in a country that's been fcuked by banks and politicans.
Post by: Itchy on April 12, 2015, 04:15:49 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 12, 2015, 03:52:35 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 12, 2015, 12:55:27 PM

Aye and a new govt will be just the same pack of w**kers.

My point is, people are just trying to make ends meet. Put food on table, pay mortgages. If they survive by driving illegally on red diesel, then I don't see a problem. f**king lay off people trying to make their way in a country that's been fcuked by banks and politicans.

So if I'm cash strapped I can drive without insurance maybe? Who polices this nonsense.
Post by: Bazil Douglas on April 12, 2015, 05:41:49 PM

Ye might want to start in the south sorting out those moral guardians Itchy, I sure you've heard the phrase,
When those who make the law break the law  in the name of the law then there is no law.
Post by: ck on April 12, 2015, 06:58:48 PM
To those who hope I get caught, fair nuff. I accept I'm breaking the law but for me I justify it to myself to simply keep in the black and make ends meet. My business is barely surviving and has struggled badly through the recession.
All I am trying to do here is try to equip myself with the best knowledge I can so I know.. I rarely fill on green, just the odd occasion. That doesnt make it right but it helps my line of work survive.

Anyone know if garages pass on details to customs? 
Post by: armaghniac on April 12, 2015, 07:34:02 PM
Quote from: ck on April 12, 2015, 06:58:48 PM
I rarely fill on green, just the odd occasion. That doesnt make it right but it helps my line of work survive.

Sure you might as well fill every time, if you are dipped and the marker is found you are kiboshed anyway.
Post by: StGallsGAA on April 12, 2015, 07:40:23 PM
More than half of the north's independent stations have been caught selling illegal fuel so I doubt they'll be squealing to the HMRC about u!
Post by: Bazil Douglas on April 12, 2015, 09:23:22 PM
Quote from: ck on April 12, 2015, 06:58:48 PM
To those who hope I get caught, fair nuff. I accept I'm breaking the law but for me I justify it to myself to simply keep in the black and make ends meet. My business is barely surviving and has struggled badly through the recession.
All I am trying to do here is try to equip myself with the best knowledge I can so I know.. I rarely fill on green, just the odd occasion. That doesnt make it right but it helps my line of work survive.

Anyone know if garages pass on details to customs?

No they dont but if you purchase more than 100 litres they are legally bound to register your details for their RDCO records, so as long as you keep your purchase to less than 100 litres theirs no problem.And always use a jar.In the north the fine is £500 or£1000 for commercial, customs can request up to 7 years vat returns depending on your trade or business, if they think it feisable they can estimate your usage or conduct a forsenic audit.They will usually give you the option to pay a mitigated penalty in either case it could leave you financially f**ked.If your a gambling man go for it, sure if those who run the country dont play by the rules why should you.
Post by: Gaffer on April 12, 2015, 09:47:16 PM
What's the story with buying a few jerry cans of clear diesel in the south and taking it up north. Is this legal or or you in bother if stopped?

I remember Emyvale petrol station doing a roaring trade with northerners and their 3 jerry cans in the boot.
Post by: charlieTully on April 12, 2015, 10:36:35 PM

If you lived here back in the day you would have no kneecaps you touting ****. Then again your probably just joking like myself.
Post by: gallsman on April 13, 2015, 09:11:03 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on April 12, 2015, 10:36:35 PM

If you lived here back in the day you would have no kneecaps you touting ****. Then again your probably just joking like myself.

You make it sound like that's something we should be aspiring to?
Post by: general_lee on April 13, 2015, 10:18:31 AM
Slightly unrelated but can't be arsed starting a new thread.

What is the deal with driving in south and vice versa; if you commit a driving offence in one jurisdiction but are born rared and living in the other; do you/can you get away with it?

I ask because I read something recently where a guy from Cork got stopped for using his phone while driving in the north. He showed up to court and the judge said he could go free as he had no obligation to be there and the PPS pursuing him would be in breach of international law??? The guy actually refused this offer and made the judge give him the fine and points!
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 13, 2015, 10:31:05 AM
Some of this stuff is beggars belief.
By same token I f I were gettin her tight too and my business wasn't going the best, I could just maybe turn to petty theft or a bit of drug dealing on the side so I can make ends meet.
There could be a multitude or reasons for people and their businesses struggling through the recession and some of it could be self-inflicted.

Laws are made for citizens to abide by. Whether you agree with them or not is irrelevant. If you have an issue with governments and the laws passed then why not get into politics or be more active to initiate change through a civilised and lawful means rather than just danderin out and breakin whatever laws you see fit to.

As for the knee-capping and touts comment. Sad.
Post by: Hardy on April 13, 2015, 10:56:17 AM
Quote from: StGallsGAA on April 12, 2015, 07:40:23 PM
More than half of the north's independent stations have been caught selling illegal fuel so I doubt they'll be squealing to the HMRC about u!

Holy moly! Is that true?

Quote from: Bazil Douglas on April 12, 2015, 09:23:22 PM
And always use a jar.

This stuff is intriguing. What's that about?
Post by: charlieTully on April 13, 2015, 11:26:54 AM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 13, 2015, 10:31:05 AM
By same token I f I were gettin her tight too and my business wasn't going the best, I could just maybe turn to petty theft or a bit of drug dealing on the side so I can make ends meet.
There could be a multitude or reasons for people and their businesses struggling through the recession and some of it could be self-inflicted.

Laws are made for citizens to abide by. Whether you agree with them or not is irrelevant. If you have an issue with governments and the laws passed then why not get into politics or be more active to initiate change through a civilised and lawful means rather than just danderin out and breakin whatever laws you see fit to.

wise up you sad dick, you must be the only person in county down who drives on white diesel.
Post by: Brick Tamlin on April 13, 2015, 01:55:40 PM
Really?
Charming.
Post by: muppet on April 13, 2015, 04:07:09 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 13, 2015, 10:18:31 AM

What is the deal with driving in south and vice versa; if you commit a driving offence in one jurisdiction but are born rared and living in the other; do you/can you get away with it?

I ask because I read something recently where a guy from Cork got stopped for using his phone while driving in the north. He showed up to court and the judge said he could go free as he had no obligation to be there and the PPS pursuing him would be in breach of international law??? The guy actually refused this offer and made the judge give him the fine and points!

Rebels me hole.
Post by: ck on April 13, 2015, 04:55:31 PM
So does anyone know the policy on customs/dippers? I've seen them in action at cattle marts around Cavan and Monaghan. Whats the policy in the north? Random spot checks or are they more targetted?
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2015, 05:32:11 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 13, 2015, 10:31:05 AM

I'd be interested to know if you ever drive over 70 on a motorway? If the answer's no, then fair play. However, if you've crept above the 70 miles per hour zone then there's a certain level of hypocrisy to this. And given the high numbers that I witness above the 70 MPH mark, if you didn't break that speed limit you'd be in a minority. 
Post by: armaghniac on April 13, 2015, 05:50:52 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2015, 05:32:11 PM
I'd be interested to know if you ever drive over 70 on a motorway? If the answer's no, then fair play. However, if you've crept above the 70 miles per hour zone then there's a certain level of hypocrisy to this. And given the high numbers that I witness above the 70 MPH mark, if you didn't break that speed limit you'd be in a minority.

This isn't valid reasoning. Just because someone occasionally parks on a double yellow line or whatever does not automatically justify every other crime, these have to a looked at in their own right.
Post by: Itchy on April 13, 2015, 07:55:20 PM
If you drive over 70mph then I can kill my neighbour obviously.
Post by: charlieTully on April 13, 2015, 08:08:18 PM
Quote from: Brick Tamlin on April 13, 2015, 01:55:40 PM
Really?
Charming.

Sorry. no need to reply like I did. The knee capping comment was meant in jest. Clearly didn't come across that way.
Post by: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2015, 09:09:39 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 13, 2015, 05:50:52 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2015, 05:32:11 PM

This isn't valid reasoning. Just because someone occasionally parks on a double yellow line or whatever does not automatically justify every other crime, these have to a looked at in their own right.

The problem is your bringing in what you deem appropriate breaking of laws. That's going to mean personal opinion, which is exactly what I was getting at. By the way I'd view speeding as worse than using illegal diesel.
Post by: trileacman on April 13, 2015, 10:29:45 PM
Quote from: trueblue1234 on April 13, 2015, 09:09:39 PM
By the way I'd view speeding as worse than using illegal diesel.

Great point. I speed excessively and frequently and it's a terrible thing to be doing but hard to break the habit. People go on about drink-driving being a horrible thing to do but speeding probably causes more deaths per year than DD.
Post by: ck on April 16, 2015, 02:13:08 PM
Quote from: trileacman on April 13, 2015, 10:29:45 PM

Great point. I speed excessively and frequently and it's a terrible thing to be doing but hard to break the habit. People go on about drink-driving being a horrible thing to do but speeding probably causes more deaths per year than DD.

Would very much agree. Some would class a law breaker as a law breaker, others would see a hierarchy. Personally I would sleep better after filling the car with green diesel rather than pick pocketing someone.

I find it hard to understand why someone would get so annoyed by someone breaking a diesel law. Virtually all other laws are worse to break
Post by: johnneycool on April 16, 2015, 02:20:47 PM
Quote from: ck on April 16, 2015, 02:13:08 PM

Would very much agree. Some would class a law breaker as a law breaker, others would see a hierarchy. Personally I would sleep better after filling the car with green diesel rather than pick pocketing someone.

I find it hard to understand why someone would get so annoyed by someone breaking a diesel law. Virtually all other laws are worse to break

Do you see using green or red diesel as a victimless crime?

What about washed diesel, is it ok or not?
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 16, 2015, 02:56:45 PM
Quote from: muppet on April 13, 2015, 04:07:09 PM
Quote from: general_lee on April 13, 2015, 10:18:31 AM

Rebels me hole.

Don't start me,  don't start me!!!!!
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 16, 2015, 03:04:18 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on April 16, 2015, 02:20:47 PM

It's not a victimless crime.  If the duty received by the Government from the sale of white diesel was sufficient then they would not have to increase the duty in the annual Budgets.  The more red/green is used the easier it is for the Government to justify placing further onerous taxes on us.  Strange as it may seem but I have never run my car on red even though I have been tempted.  Given the proliferation of dipping bastardos down here it's simply would not be worth the risk as I'm always on the road.  And anyway the level of savings in diesel in the South is so high that it would be pure greed to do otherwise.  I simply take the big yoke to the station and fill her and the 4 jerry cans in 1 run and it would fill the 2 cars in 1 go.  If I compared the price I pay to the price in the local station (albeit owned by money grabbing Down gits :P)  it saves me on average £25 a week for the 2 cars. 

If someone wants to put red in it then run it but it's like everything else actions have consequences so be willing to take them.
Post by: illdecide on April 16, 2015, 03:58:07 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on April 16, 2015, 03:04:18 PM

It's not a victimless crime.  If the duty received by the Government from the sale of white diesel was sufficient then they would not have to increase the duty in the annual Budgets.  The more red/green is used the easier it is for the Government to justify placing further onerous taxes on us.  Strange as it may seem but I have never run my car on red even though I have been tempted.  Given the proliferation of dipping bastardos down here it's simply would not be worth the risk as I'm always on the road.  And anyway the level of savings in diesel in the South is so high that it would be pure greed to do otherwise.  I simply take the big yoke to the station and fill her and the 4 jerry cans in 1 run and it would fill the 2 cars in 1 go.  If I compared the price I pay to the price in the local station (albeit owned by money grabbing Down gits :P)  it saves me on average £25 a week for the 2 cars. 

If someone wants to put red in it then run it but it's like everything else actions have consequences so be willing to take them.

the way I look at it is if you have a big jeep and another car you've obviously got enough money so won't be worrying about a few quid savings on red/green diesel ;) :P
Post by: BennyCake on April 16, 2015, 04:24:24 PM
Watched a show recently about the smuggling in Cornwall. Basically the govt put astronomical taxes on many basic items (to pay for armies, wars etc. no change there then) which led to the smuggling becoming a necessity for people to survive.

I constantly hear about waste ending up in rivers, so much taxes the govt loses through laundered diesel etc. so put the price down so that it's not worth taking the risk with dodgy diesel. Everyone buys good diesel, govt gets it's taxes and everyone will have more money to spend. The economy improves and get the country kick started again. But nah, we can't have that. Let's send the dippers out instead. Wankstains.
Post by: general_lee on April 17, 2015, 12:12:43 PM
In the grand scheme of things I don't think tax evasion on fuel which is essentially concentrated to a number of border counties in the North and probably a number of isolated cases in Britain is costing the govt that much. Certainly in a region as car-dependent as NI and the amount of tax already on fuel, coupled with absolute shite infrastructure for any town without a Protestant majority I wouldn't blame anyone using red.
Post by: rosnarun on April 17, 2015, 02:28:15 PM
if you are aviding Tax for polictial reason then Fair enough . we must all do our bit against the queen
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2015, 02:46:10 PM
£80-90m per annum is the estimated market per annum on illicit fuel in NI. That would give the Government sufficient excuses.
Post by: WaterBoy on April 17, 2015, 04:29:34 PM

So its not right for people to run on the red because the UK Gov miss out on the tax and therefore have to increase the duty....  How much tax are the UK gov getting from the clear diesel you are buying in the south??  :o
Is it legal to fill Jerry cans and bring them up North??
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on April 17, 2015, 04:40:02 PM
Quote from: WaterBoy on April 17, 2015, 04:29:34 PM

So its not right for people to run on the red because the UK Gov miss out on the tax and therefore have to increase the duty....  How much tax are the UK gov getting from the clear diesel you are buying in the south??  :o
Is it legal to fill Jerry cans and bring them up North??

I actually buy it in the north at euro prices at legitmate stations and it's up to them to pay any duty that's due.
Post by: Itchy on April 17, 2015, 05:47:03 PM
I'm a bit tight for cash this weekend. My old neighbour used to have a big job so she probably has a pile of cash about the house. No harm done if I sneak in when she is asleep and take a couple hundred, she probably won't miss it. No harm done is there?
Post by: Bazil Douglas on April 17, 2015, 06:31:35 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 17, 2015, 05:47:03 PM
I'm a bit tight for cash this weekend. My old neighbour used to have a big job so she probably has a pile of cash about the house. No harm done if I sneak in when she is asleep and take a couple hundred, she probably won't miss it. No harm done is there?

Naw, as long as ye don't waken her.
Post by: andoireabu on April 17, 2015, 09:22:03 PM
If your family were starving would you steal a loaf of bread knowing the bakers would be ok losing it?
Post by: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 12:02:41 AM
Quote from: andoireabu on April 17, 2015, 09:22:03 PM
If your family were starving would you steal a loaf of bread knowing the bakers would be ok losing it?

I don't think its life or death if the scroungers on here get their diesel or not.
Post by: andoireabu on April 18, 2015, 03:25:14 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 12:02:41 AM

I don't think its life or death if the scroungers on here get their diesel or not.
Just as it isn't the robbery of an old woman in her sleep.  The OP says he does it to keep his business afloat and to make ends meet. Hardly scrounging when he could easily wrap it up and go on the dole for easy money. If he didn't use the green diesel and his business dies then that has a knock on effect to his family. Can't see how anyone could blame him.
Post by: redzone on April 18, 2015, 09:07:17 AM

to quote someone else, itchy you are a sad dick
Post by: cuconnacht on April 18, 2015, 10:35:21 AM
Quote from: armaghniac on April 11, 2015, 10:21:36 PM
When Mayo win the All Ireland Red/Green diesel will be allowed for a month to celebrate.
No.It`ll be a year and a day.
Back to back;64 years.mandatory!(depending on the end of the world and such)
That concludes the official Mayo government response at this time. ;) ;)
Post by: Gonzalo15 on April 18, 2015, 12:18:01 PM

Only if you spend it on diesel :D

Wise up man
Post by: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 02:15:53 PM
If you need to cheat and avoid tax to keep your business afloat then your business is not viable. Should the rest of us who do pay tax therefore subsidise your business by paying for the shortfall in tax. You boys in the north can't even grasp that basic concept can you?
Post by: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 02:24:15 PM
Quote from: redzone on April 18, 2015, 09:07:17 AM

to quote someone else, itchy you are a sad dick

Brilliant contribution, matches your intellect perfectly.
Post by: GJL on April 18, 2015, 05:18:08 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 02:15:53 PM
If you need to cheat and avoid tax to keep your business afloat then your business is not viable. Should the rest of us who do pay tax therefore subsidise your business by paying for the shortfall in tax. You boys in the north can't even grasp that basic concept can you?

Do people in the south not use farm diesel illegally on the road?
Post by: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 05:32:06 PM
Quote from: GJL on April 18, 2015, 05:18:08 PM

A very very small proportion I would say.
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2015, 06:22:08 PM

I haven't heard of it in years and years.
Post by: Hardy on April 18, 2015, 06:23:58 PM
If they were at it, they probably wouldn't be bragging about it on the internet.
Post by: muppet on April 18, 2015, 07:16:34 PM
Quote from: Hardy on April 18, 2015, 06:23:58 PM
If they were at it, they probably wouldn't be bragging about it on the internet.

;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: bridgegael on April 18, 2015, 07:27:06 PM
i couldnt give a shite what colour the diesel is, i just go for the cheapest.
Post by: andoireabu on April 18, 2015, 09:04:59 PM
I'm sure like many people north and south when he started his business it was viable, otherwise what would be the point?  Sh1t happens though and things change and then you adapt or go under. If part of that means running different diesel then fair enough.  I would guess the money the gov lose from ck running green is less than if he bled the benefit system for all it was worth. Yet you call him a scrounger. And I'm not in the north before you judge what i can grasp.
Post by: ardtole on April 19, 2015, 07:52:35 AM

Thats is the most stupid arguement I have heard in a while. The biggest oil companies in the world are corrupt beyond belief. Every multi national company is looking for an edge on taxation, working with the banks, governments etc to pay as little tax as possible, claim grants etc. They are big employers granted, but dont tell me they do not know how to pull a few strokes to stay ahead. In business its cut throat, you do what you can to stay ahead, have an edge, businessmen north and south know this.
Post by: Itchy on April 19, 2015, 08:29:22 AM
Tell me, who pays the tax revenue that is not collected from the illegal fuel then. Its an easy question, I'm sure yis can figure it out.

2nd question, would you be happy if every business man in Ireland used illegal fuel and revenue coffers were way down. I presume all paye workers out there would have no problem paying an extra 1% on their tax to make up the difference?

Time to engage your brains lads.
Post by: muppet on April 19, 2015, 08:41:58 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 19, 2015, 08:29:22 AM
Tell me, who pays the tax revenue that is not collected from the illegal fuel then. Its an easy question, I'm sure yis can figure it out.

2nd question, would you be happy if every business man in Ireland used illegal fuel and revenue coffers were way down. I presume all paye workers out there would have no problem paying an extra 1% on their tax to make up the difference?

What about all the legitimate businesses who are being shafted by the producers of illegal fuels?
Post by: Itchy on April 19, 2015, 09:18:18 AM
Quote from: muppet on April 19, 2015, 08:41:58 AM
Quote from: Itchy on April 19, 2015, 08:29:22 AM

What about all the legitimate businesses who are being shafted by the producers of illegal fuels?

Well that's true in the case of washed diesel. There are two issues here. There is people like the guy who started this thread who are going to the pumps and intentionally putting red diesel which has lower duty as it is meant for agricultural use only. Then you have the petrol pump owners who are buying illegal green diesel from border gangsters. These gangsters are buying red diesel and washing out the red dye, dumping sludge around the country side and I'm sure none of their employees pay tax, prsi or anthing.

I also recall a problem where fuel distributors in the north were buying fuel off boats in Dublin at a much cheaper price and illegally bringing it over the border for sale without paying duty. Good old style smuggling.

Its all grand except the cost of all this comes out of the pocket of the honest man.
Post by: Nigel White on April 19, 2015, 11:00:16 AM
Indeed it does. You wouldn't see legitimate businesses like Google, Starbucks etc.etc. running on red diesel
Post by: redzone on April 19, 2015, 11:55:31 AM
sure werent starbucks on the news a few yrs back for hardly paying any tax in the uk.lol
Post by: gallsman on April 19, 2015, 12:28:21 PM
Quote from: redzone on April 19, 2015, 11:55:31 AM
sure werent starbucks on the news a few yrs back for hardly paying any tax in the uk.lol

(http://i1144.photobucket.com/albums/o486/boshi-h/reac%203/thats_the_joke.jpg)
Post by: Nigel White on April 19, 2015, 02:13:33 PM
Thanks for explaining it to him
Post by: muppet on April 19, 2015, 04:36:03 PM

Yes, because being on the news means you are guilty of a crime.
Post by: Bazil Douglas on April 19, 2015, 09:57:25 PM

Aye, but tax avoidance is legal, tax evasion is illegal, avoid millions your in business,
evade hundreds your a criminal, thats the law.
Post by: ck on April 19, 2015, 10:22:38 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 05:32:06 PM

What would you base that on Mr.Partitionist? I've read your posts and your pompus arrogance knows no bounds.
BTW I'm from the south and I can tell you that my local green pump does a serious trade... but then again you probably know better
Post by: Itchy on April 19, 2015, 10:27:57 PM
Quote from: ck on April 19, 2015, 10:22:38 PM
Quote from: Itchy on April 18, 2015, 05:32:06 PM

What would you base that on Mr.Partitionist? I've read your posts and your pompus arrogance knows no bounds.
BTW I'm from the south and I can tell you that my local green pump does a serious trade... but then again you probably know better

Why don't you answer the two questions I posted since the other chicken shit scroungers won't.
Post by: ck on April 20, 2015, 04:56:24 PM
So you answer a question with a question? That's convenient.

You have no idea how much green or red diesel is consumed yet you make big statements about there being very little in the south.  There are circumstances that lead to peoples actions you know, doesn't make them right but they are called survival!

You sir are a typical self righteous know it all.
Post by: Itchy on April 20, 2015, 05:29:18 PM
I asked the question many posts ago. You are too chicken shit to answer the question. I'll answer it for you. Your fellow citizen, neighbours, friends and even your family pay the price for your tax evasion (that's what it is). You call it self righteous to point that out, funny. Do you feel no shame for passing your debt onto others and please spare me the whataboutery bollocks to justify your tax evasion.
Post by: BennyCake on April 20, 2015, 07:29:40 PM
Do those in govt feel any shame passing their debt on to the people? Do you think government ministers have sleepless nights worrying that Pat and Mary can't afford heating oil or Paddy has just lost his house? Do they f**k.

Get a fcukin grip, Itchy.
Post by: gallsman on April 20, 2015, 07:57:00 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on April 20, 2015, 07:29:40 PM
Do those in govt feel any shame passing their debt on to the people? Do you think government ministers have sleepless nights worrying that Pat and Mary can't afford heating oil or Paddy has just lost his house? Do they f**k.

You do realise that government debt is our debt, yes?
Post by: muppet on April 20, 2015, 08:08:43 PM
Quote from: gallsman on April 20, 2015, 07:57:00 PM

You do realise that government debt is our debt, yes?

Not if you can get (or vote) someone else to pay for it. Of course you end up paying in the long run, but.......ah what's the point?
Post by: Itchy on April 20, 2015, 08:28:49 PM

Whataboutery bollocks!
Post by: Bazil Douglas on April 21, 2015, 09:03:30 AM

Jezz CK have you no respect for a fellow citizen,  referring to him as pompous, & arrogant,and him paying taxes to subsidise your business, shame on you.
Are things not bad enough in the south without you driving on red diesel,
And no more of this whataboutery, except for us morally corrupt scrounging c**nts from the north,with our lower intellect, and our inability to grasp the basic concept of economics,or even engage our brains,God forbid we would pollute your mind with ideas of tax evasion.
If such impure thoughts were ever to enter the minds of those pollitians & bankers in that bastion of decency in Dublin, you could put the whole nation into unsustainable debt.