GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Rossfan on April 23, 2019, 11:36:55 AM

Title: Connacht SFC 2019
Post by: Rossfan on April 23, 2019, 11:36:55 AM
5/5/19 NY v Mayowestros  and London v Galway
12/5/19 Ros v Laythrum in the Hyde
19/5/19 Sligo v Galway or London
25/5/19 Mayowestros or NY v Rest of Roscommon.
16/6/19 Final.

After Sligo's atrocious League campaign and with our lads fading so badly at the business end it looks like the 2 big Counties to make the Final sadly.

A Qualifier campaign for us then starting in Round 2 and probably ending in Round 3.

Our lads conceded 2-18 to Kildare in a challenge last week so it seems our defensive frailties are going to remain with us.
Title: Re: Connacht SFC 2019
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on April 23, 2019, 01:10:56 PM
At the end of the day, if this Galway team have anything about them at all they should be getting past London and Sligo without any drama.

If the Connacht draw was the same as in previous years with Galway getting Mayo in the first round then there would be alarm bells ringing for me, KW may be slightly exaggerating the "injury crisis" but Galway are severely lacking in options around the middle of the field with Duggan and Cooke out injured, D'Arcy certainly doesn't look up to the required standard at the moment. Mayo's performances around the midfield sector - O'Shea and Ruane were playing mighty stuff down the stretch of the league - are the reason they are league champions for me, they demolished Kerry out there and a Galway team underhanded in that area would be really up against it.

With O'Donnell named captain (he was vice captain anyway) in the absence of Comer it would lead to the assumption that he will start, which means that Molloy won't, this is a mistake IMO but it is no real surprise. What was there previously in the HB line for Galway, although reasonable enough to a certain level, just isn't good enough to compete with the best teams in the land. If we go with the same again there this year then how can we expect to improve?

Sean Andy got destroyed against Tyrone in the last round of the league and hasn't been playing well so far in 2019, only for Kyne is out still injured for - at a minimum - the first two matches in Connacht I'd put him in at FB instead. Liam Silke should be a big addition to the defence and Ian Burke is pure class, I genuinely haven't a clue how the other Corofin players brought into the panel will fare out, but anyone expecting huge changes will be disappointed I'd say.
Most optimistic timeline for the return of Comer seems to be as a sub for a prospective Connacht final against Mayo, so there's a chance he mightn't play a minute in this years Connacht championship, he has flaws as a player but Galway are a worse team without him, on form he adds something very different that other players just don't have in their locker.

Hard to see the Rossies giving Mayo a rattle but then again they beat us out the gate in 2017 and were well in the Connacht final last year for a long time also, maybe they'll pull a shock in Castlebar but I'd expect Mayo to be in the final this year.
Mayo are coming in with a bit of a rejuvenated look, I think it's better for them to have the likes of Moran and Boyle coming from the bench at this point. Given the conversations I've had recently with Mayo fans of various vintages they are all most assuredly of the opinion that they will win Connacht this year (although that said I remain puzzled as to how anyone could continue to assert at this stage that it's only a run of fluke (due to red cards etc.) wins for Galway as was intimated by some).

I'm not as down on Galway as some of our supporters, certainly in terms of winning Connacht, although the disastrous second half against Tyrone has given me a bit of pause as to where the team is going overall, collapses like that are not indicative of the required improvement needed by Galway this year in the Championship.
If KW can make a couple of tweaks and get the squad fit I'd give them a more than decent shot of retaining the Connacht title but I suppose against that, even if just purely on the law of averages, Mayo are past due both a win against Galway and a Connacht title.
What I would say for sure is that it'll be a surprise to me if the winner of Connacht comes from outside of Galway and Mayo.
Post by: weareros on April 23, 2019, 01:14:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 23, 2019, 11:36:55 AM
16/6/19 Final.

After Sligo's atrocious League campaign and with our lads fading so badly at the business end it looks like the 2 big Counties to make the Final sadly.

A Qualifier campaign for us then starting in Round 2 and probably ending in Round 3.

Our lads conceded 2-18 to Kildare in a challenge last week so it seems our defensive frailties are going to remain with us.

Don't be so pessimistic. The last two times Mayo won the NFL, we ended up beating them in Connacht. But first things first. Mayo v NY, and Ros v Leitrim within a week of each other in May.
Post by: Rossfan on April 23, 2019, 01:36:02 PM
Should be a good crowd in the Hyde with the new improved Laythrum on a high.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 23, 2019, 02:25:35 PM
Quote from: weareros on April 23, 2019, 01:14:48 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 23, 2019, 11:36:55 AM
16/6/19 Final.

Don't be so pessimistic. The last two times Mayo won the NFL, we ended up beating them in Connacht. But first things first. Mayo v NY, and Ros v Leitrim within a week of each other in May.

That and the last two times Roscommon got relegated, in 2010 and 2017 ye won Connacht too has a foreboding feel to it as a Mayo fan.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 23, 2019, 02:40:26 PM
A Saturday evening throw in for Mayo v Roscommon or Leitrim does that mean it will get the SKY sports coverage?

For what its worth I think Mayo will win Connacht this summer. James Horan has unbeaten record in Connacht championship football and he will hardly lose that record off the back of winning a first national title for 18 years?
Post by: Manning18 on April 23, 2019, 02:41:09 PM
Could be more advantageous to lose a Connacht final this year, especially with Kerry looking far from invincible towards the end of the league. Guesses on how it could play out in second part

Connacht Winner
Leinster winner - Dublin
Ulster RU v Q - Donegal
Munster RU v Q - Monaghan

Connacht RU
Munster winner - Kerry
Ulster winner - Tyrone
Leinster RU v Q - Meath.

Provided the qualifier was manageable, give me option B. Extreme example, but just to show that Connacht is less important this year than in other years

Post by: Blowitupref on April 23, 2019, 02:54:17 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on April 23, 2019, 02:41:09 PM
Could be more advantageous to lose a Connacht final this year, especially with Kerry looking far from invincible towards the end of the league. Guesses on how it could play out in second part

Connacht Winner
Leinster winner - Dublin
Ulster RU v Q - Donegal

Connacht RU
Munster winner - Kerry
Ulster winner - Tyrone
Leinster RU v Q - Meath.

Provided the qualifier was manageable, give me option B. Extreme example, but just to show that Connacht is less important this year than in other years

As a Mayo supporter said on boards.ie they have a better chance of reaching the AI final if they avoid Dublin in the semi final. No one knows what the qualifers will bring as Mayo found out last summer.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on April 23, 2019, 03:38:51 PM
At least there's home advantage in Round One for the Connacht winner this year and you avoid the possibility of getting a horrible draw in Round 4 of the qualifiers which could see you out on your arse before the first week in July is over.
Biggest issue for the Connacht winners is having to play two away matches in Rounds Two and Three of the Super 8s which is definitely a big disadvantage given that it's going to be Dublin and quite probably another very good team but realistically you want to go through the front door.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 23, 2019, 03:42:01 PM
I would have been fairly confident of retaining Connacht this year but the injuries are giving me pause for thought. Never good to be heading into the championship with lingering injury concerns hanging about like a bad smell. 3 midfielders now injured and Comer looking like he's going to be on the bench at best by the time the Connacht final comes around. They are probably happy enough this year to be on the easier side of the draw in the hope that some of these injuries clear up in time. London and Sligo in their current state look unlikely to halt even a weakened Galway side.

Looks like a straight shoot out between Mayo and Roscommon for the other spot. Mayo favourites but Roscommon have enough scoring power to trouble them with Diarmuid Murtagh fully fit again if they can tighten it up at the back. I'm not sure I fully buy the "Mayo are back, baby" hysteria that was going around after the league final but they should be in a Connacht final at least and should make the Super 8's either way this year. After that who knows?

Connacht final in Salthill then most likely barring a huge upset.
Post by: Manning18 on April 23, 2019, 03:56:40 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 23, 2019, 02:54:17 PM

Connacht Winner
Leinster winner - Dublin
Ulster RU v Q - Donegal

Connacht RU
Munster winner - Kerry
Ulster winner - Tyrone
Leinster RU v Q - Meath.

As a Mayo supporter said on boards.ie they have a better chance of reaching the AI final if they avoid Dublin in the semi final. No one knows what the qualifers will bring as Mayo found out last summer.

Dont think that's necessarily true. If Scenario A is finishing second to Dublin in Group A, and then having to beat Group B winners like Kerry, and scenario B is finishing top of Group B and beating 2nd from Group A, scenario B is slightly more likely for any team. I worked out the odds for all potential scenario's one day when bored and it works out near equal for winners and runners up of Connacht.

Obviously you'll want to be winning Connacht, getting the bit of silverware and not breaking momentum. Its just that there'll be mass hysteria when one of Mayo/Galway/Ros lose in June (most hysterical if Mayo by far), when in reality it wont change their chance of reaching a final or winning Sam all that much
Post by: Rossfan on April 23, 2019, 05:08:45 PM
Getting to a Provincial Final cuts out 2 potentially tricky rounds of Qualifiers in dodgy venues with dodgy Refs etc.
Post by: weareros on April 23, 2019, 07:35:01 PM

Connacht Winner
Leinster winner - Dublin
Ulster RU v Q - Donegal

Connacht RU
Munster winner - Kerry
Ulster winner - Tyrone
Leinster RU v Q - Meath.

I think in the above scenario a Mayo or Galway would be confident of finishing ahead of a Donegal or Monaghan and then winning a semi-final, whereas the opposite is not such a foregone conclusion.
Post by: Duine Eile on April 23, 2019, 10:16:59 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on April 23, 2019, 01:10:56 PM

With O'Donnell named captain (he was vice captain anyway) in the absence of Comer it would lead to the assumption that he will start, which means that Molloy won't, this is a mistake IMO but it is no real surprise. What was there previously in the HB line for Galway, although reasonable enough to a certain level, just isn't good enough to compete with the best teams in the land. If we go with the same again there this year then how can we expect to improve?

That's what jumped out at me when I heard O'Donnell was captain in Comer's absence. Wouldn't surprise me if we see Bradshaw in that half back line also. If that's what happens we're going to end up with the same story as last year. Molloy deserves a decent run in that line this year and not the 5 minutes he got last year in a game they had already lost.
Post by: seafoid on April 24, 2019, 08:23:47 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on April 23, 2019, 05:08:45 PM
Getting to a Provincial Final cuts out 2 potentially tricky rounds of Qualifiers in dodgy venues with dodgy Refs etc.
Ros need a few decent matches in order to build up the momentum to get past the QFs and a straight run to the CF plus a soft draw for R4 is no use to ye.
Post by: Manning18 on April 24, 2019, 11:26:55 AM
Not really getting the same assumption about O'Donnell starting. He's obviously been the vice captain up until now and captain before that. He didn't get his game at all last year after the Mayo game, and that area is looking a lot busier this year with the addition of McDaid (who he clearly loves), Silke (guaranteed starter)and John Daly. He'll have to try fit in players like Heaney who he's always started, Kelly whos constantly improving and Molloy who the fans all want to start. People say Walsh is over loyal to Bradshaw and GO'D but he has no trouble trying Michael Farragher as a left field alternative to Bradshaw in early 2017, and dropping GO'D last year. Injuries will likely dictate everything versus London and Sligo for starters though
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 24, 2019, 12:34:13 PM
Comer injury

https://www.the42.ie/damien-comer-galway-connacht-injury-4603756-Apr2019/ (https://www.the42.ie/damien-comer-galway-connacht-injury-4603756-Apr2019/)

AFTER BLAZING A trail in 2018 for the Galway footballers, a seemingly 'innocuous' injury sustained at Christmas has derailed the plans for Damien Comer in 2019.

The Galway captain fractured a bone in his foot in a charity soccer game on St Stephen's Day and has yet to feature for the county team this year. He missed their entire league campaign and will also be absent for the early rounds of the championship.

But a Connacht final date in mid June, provided Galway get there, is a potential comeback date for the Annaghdown man.

"(It happened) on St Stephen's Day in a soccer match we play every year, so it was an innocuous enough thing," stated Comer.

"It would have been fine if it had been picked up in the first scan. It didn't. It just showed up a small bit of damage. Then I got it scanned again, it showed a fracture so I'd to go for surgery then.

"I wasn't training away. There was still pain, I just didn't know what was wrong with it. I hadn't done much because I wasn't really able, it was too sore. I wouldn't have done an awful lot of damage but when it showed up the second time, it showed up the fracture and I had to get a screw to fix it.

"Seven weeks post-op nearly now. Just rehabbing away. It's a bit slower than I expected, I thought I'd be further on than I am. But the physio and doctors are saying mid-June for a return to play. That'll leave me with missing the first game (against London) anyway.

"If we make it to the Sligo game, I'll miss that as well. If everything goes well, hopefully a Connacht final. It's hard to know. I'm relying on whenever the pain goes down and that."

Comer admits it's been a frustrating experience watching on as Galway feature to date this season.

"It was. It's never nice being injured. Watching the lads play was different. I've been lucky enough, even up to last year with the college and everything, I was nearly surprised I didn't pick up an injury along the way because I was playing so much.

"It could have been my body this year telling me I needed a rest. It's just unfortunate really the way it worked out, it didn't get picked up the first time. It delayed a few weeks.

"But I'm positive, I'm just rehabbing away and trying to get my body in as good a shape as I can before getting back. Whenever that time comes to come back, I'll be as prepared as possible."
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on April 24, 2019, 12:35:13 PM
Prenty Dome

https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dome-where-the-heart-is-in-connachts-ambitious-3million-plan-38044542.html (https://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/dome-where-the-heart-is-in-connachts-ambitious-3million-plan-38044542.html)

Connacht GAA hope to have what they claim is the biggest sports air dome of its kind in the world open by early December.

The air dome, which will be 150 metres in length by 100 metres in width, will accommodate a pitch almost the size of MacHale Park in Castlebar and will be able to host FBD Connacht League matches when it is operational with some 600 seats in its initial phase.

Connacht GAA aim to use it predominantly as the hub for their coaching and games development programmes but matches affected by adverse weather will be facilitated there, Connacht Council GAA secretary John Prenty said yesterday.

It will be open to other sports too provided clearance is given from the GAA's Central Council which has relaxed its rules towards the staging of other sports in recent months.

The facility will be based on their 83-acre centre of excellence in Bekan just outside Ballyhaunis and just a few miles from Knock where a regional airport was built in the 1980s that many thought at the time was unnecessary.

The air dome for Gaelic games may draw some similar reaction now in places but Prenty outlined yesterday that the facility will be debt-free with €2.1 million already pledged by the Department of Rural and Community development's €1 billion fund.

The rest of the project will be resourced from GAA funds and relevant philanthropic funds, Prenty said.

"It's the biggest sporting dome in the world and the biggest indoor facility in the country, we think. It will be a huge boost to the Association in Connacht," he stated.

"It will have a full-size pitch, a gym and eventually a running track. We can play FBD Connacht League games, minor league games, any kind of a schools game.

"We had 1,500 school games played here last year. Some were played in bad conditions.

"They can all be accommodated in this. But the main focus will be on coaching and games development," he said.

When the dome is raised, it will cost in the region of €400 per month to keep inflated, Prenty estimated.

Connacht Council officials visited a similar facility in Finland as part of a fact-finding mission.

At a presentation yesterday, it was revealed that the only facility of its kind that is bigger is used for recycling in South Korea.

The cost of the project is estimated to be at around €3 million and work will begin in early June, it is hoped, with a planned completion date in late November.

"We'd hope that construction will take around five months," Prenty said.
Post by: Rossfan on April 26, 2019, 11:24:19 PM
Meanwhile most clubs haven't enough space or facilities to train half their players and are resorting to all sorts of mad things to raise funds.
But sure once  Prenty's Vanity Tent is getting blown away by the wind beyond in desolate Mayo well be all grand.
Post by: cornetto on April 28, 2019, 11:42:55 AM
I know challenge games are notorious but galway getting well beaten by a cork team that really struggled in the league is a tad worrying,they were out again Friday night against tipp anyone hear any result in that one?
Post by: twohands!!! on April 28, 2019, 08:44:50 PM
Quote from: cornetto on April 28, 2019, 11:42:55 AM
I know challenge games are notorious but galway getting well beaten by a cork team that really struggled in the league is a tad worrying,they were out again Friday night against tipp anyone hear any result in that one?

Galway must not have been trying a leg - the other explanation is that Cork have managed to turn a handful of decent one-off performances before going back to being awful the last few years - thier game in the championship against Tipp last year, taking Mayo to extra-time in 2017, drawing with Galway in the league in 2017. Hearing this result has my looking at the odds for the Tipp Cork game.
Post by: Blowitupref on April 29, 2019, 12:23:54 AM

A nine point win for Galway against Tipp i hear so the team that lost to Cork must have been Galway's 2nd team?
Post by: galwayman on April 29, 2019, 12:45:49 AM
Quote from: Blowitupref on April 29, 2019, 12:23:54 AM

A nine point win for Galway against Tipp i hear so the team that lost to Cork must have been Galway's 2nd team?
It was a reasonably strong Galway team that lined out against Cork albeit there were loads of changes made early in the second half.
Notable absentees would have been Silke, Bradshaw, Burke, the 2 Daly's and obviously the injured Comer, McDaid, Cooke and Duggan.
It was a poor performance no doubt but wouldn't say you could read anything into it.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on April 29, 2019, 01:21:21 PM
I wouldn't read anything into challenge match results either good or bad, if Galway don't perform next Sunday it'll be a different issue.
Post by: Rossfan on April 29, 2019, 04:37:54 PM
2 handy wins for the 2 Irish teams I presume?
Post by: weareros on April 29, 2019, 07:22:50 PM
Very big Mayo crowd heading to NY I am hearing. Wonder if Gaelic Park will even be able to accommodate them all.
Post by: BennyCake on April 29, 2019, 07:54:45 PM
They should move it to Limerick
Post by: sans pessimism on April 29, 2019, 08:27:39 PM
Mayo captain DOC out of New York clash due to injury.
Post by: giveballaghback on April 29, 2019, 10:46:50 PM
2 pages of a Connacht championship thread and not a word from syf, am I missing something here? and no Im not worried.
Post by: From the Bunker on April 29, 2019, 10:50:51 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 29, 2019, 10:46:50 PM
2 pages of a Connacht championship thread and not a word from syf, am I missing something here? and no Im not worried.

Syferus has been off the Radar since January 9th!
Post by: giveballaghback on April 29, 2019, 11:06:51 PM
Unfortunately he is still on the stolen sheep site stirring s..., we could transfer him back if ye want.
Post by: Rossfan on April 29, 2019, 11:21:18 PM
A Transfer to North Korea perhaps!
Him and Kim have the same distorted view of reality😁😂
Post by: whitey on April 30, 2019, 12:43:57 AM
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 29, 2019, 11:06:51 PM
Unfortunately he is still on the stolen sheep site stirring s..., we could transfer him back if ye want.

Gang of Rosie's pulling down a Mayo flag in a pub....disgraceful! (0:37 sec)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ldxERsDPHeY#fauxfullscreen
Post by: stephenite on April 30, 2019, 04:26:42 AM

He completely lost the run of himself over the Xmas on the Non-GAA side of the board. Glad he made the decision to concentrate on local matters, didn't mind his football contributions but he was off the scale lunatic on other matters, and you could tell was starting to it all too seriously.
Post by: Farrandeelin on April 30, 2019, 10:40:11 AM

Syf or has he come back as TheRealSyf??
Post by: magpie seanie on April 30, 2019, 12:24:27 PM
Quote from: weareros on April 29, 2019, 07:22:50 PM
Very big Mayo crowd heading to NY I am hearing. Wonder if Gaelic Park will even be able to accommodate them all.

I've heard the same. People struggling to get tickets.
Post by: Maroon Manc on April 30, 2019, 12:29:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 30, 2019, 12:24:27 PM

A lot heading from Manchester, plenty of them would struggle naming a Mayo team.
Post by: joemamas on April 30, 2019, 01:41:57 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on April 30, 2019, 12:29:16 PM

A lot heading from Manchester, plenty of them would struggle naming a Mayo team.

That is part of the problem.
A fair amount going out just to have a fun four days. Good luck to them, however they need to be realistic about getting a ticket in a stadium that fits around 4,000- 4,500. Numbers just don't work.
Post by: giveballaghback on April 30, 2019, 04:44:10 PM
Quote from: whitey on April 30, 2019, 12:43:57 AM

That really was terrible and disgraceful,why did they not just set fire to it.
Post by: seafoid on April 30, 2019, 05:01:19 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on April 30, 2019, 04:44:10 PM
Quote from: whitey on April 30, 2019, 12:43:57 AM

That really was terrible and disgraceful,why did they not just set fire to it.

https://youtu.be/QMvE0yFnR0I
Post by: sligoman2 on April 30, 2019, 08:44:56 PM
Quote from: joemamas on April 30, 2019, 01:41:57 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on April 30, 2019, 12:29:16 PM

I don't think there is tickets it's usualy first come first served at Gaelic park unless it has changed this year - if not, get there by 10am to be sure.  Place is a bit of a mess at the moment, they just tore door the bar/restaurant and not before time.

That is part of the problem.
A fair amount going out just to have a fun four days. Good luck to them, however they need to be realistic about getting a ticket in a stadium that fits around 4,000- 4,500. Numbers just don't work.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 30, 2019, 10:13:53 PM
It must be changed this year because a guy in work told me he has 3 tickets and needs a 4th.
Post by: blast05 on April 30, 2019, 11:52:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on April 30, 2019, 10:13:53 PM
It must be changed this year because a guy in work told me he has 3 tickets and needs a 4th.

And extended family gang of 15 of us travelling.
Only have 2 tickets between us.
Although to be fair, we 'only' want 6!!
Post by: whitey on May 01, 2019, 01:55:37 AM
3 going and only 1 ticket between us . I have a feeling it will be a $hit show there on Sunday. A big gang will be there straight from the pub at 6 or 7 am waiting in ljne. Very bad form that they can't figure out how to broadcast it to the nearby taverns
Post by: magpie seanie on May 01, 2019, 10:12:08 AM
Surely there's a high school or college venue nearby with a larger capacity that could be used? It would be an awful shame if thoese that travel thousands of miles can't get in to the game. It has always been a tremendous fun occasion and if people are left with a bad taste it won't be a good thing.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 02, 2019, 02:10:42 PM
Mayo team - robbed from mayoblog.

1. Hennelly
2. Barrett
3. Harrison
4. Higgins
5. Durcan
6. Keegan
7. McCormack
8. Ruane
9. Aido
10. Regan
11. Doherty
12. Boland
13. McLoughlin
14. D.Coen
15. Carr
Post by: macdanger2 on May 02, 2019, 02:12:40 PM
Three championship debutants, Carr, McCormack & Ruane

Is Clarke still injured after the Monaghan game? Or is Hennelly no 1 now?
Post by: Randy on May 02, 2019, 02:37:57 PM
And Coen aswell i'd say Macdanger
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2019, 03:07:03 PM
The Galway Team to face London

1. Ruairí Lavelle (Salthill Knocknacarra)
2. Eoghan Kerin (Annaghdown)
3. Sean Andy O'Ceallaigh (Naomh Anna, Leitir Móir)
4. David Wynne (Mhaigh Cuilinn)
5. Liam Silke (Corofin)
6. John Daly (Mountbellew Moylough)
7. Gary O'Donnell (Tuam Stars)
8. Tom Flynn (Athenry)
9. Michael Daly (Mountbellew/Moylough)
10. Antaine O'Laoi (An Spidéal)
11. Padraic Cunningham (Headford)
12. Johnny Heaney (Killannin)
13. Ian Burke (Corofin)
14. Shane Walsh (Kilkerrin/Clonberne)
15. Danny Cummins (Claregalway)
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 02, 2019, 03:39:25 PM
Quote from: Randy on May 02, 2019, 02:37:57 PM
And Coen aswell i'd say Macdanger

Coen started the Connacht final v London and scored a goal in it.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 02, 2019, 05:33:15 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2019, 03:07:03 PM

5. Liam Silke (Corofin)
8. Tom Flynn (Athenry)
13. Ian Burke (Corofin)

I would never in a million years have predicted that starting line out - assuming there's no changes of course.
Post by: GaillimhIarthair on May 02, 2019, 08:21:26 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 02, 2019, 05:33:15 PM

5. Liam Silke (Corofin)
8. Tom Flynn (Athenry)
13. Ian Burke (Corofin)

I would never in a million years have predicted that starting line out - assuming there's no changes of course.
Indeed, quite left field for Kevin - hope that team starts all the same.
Post by: Tubberman on May 02, 2019, 08:37:40 PM
Quote from: macdanger2 on May 02, 2019, 02:12:40 PM
Three championship debutants, Carr, McCormack & Ruane

Is Clarke still injured after the Monaghan game? Or is Hennelly no 1 now?

Hennelly numero uno I'd imagine. deserves it too, i hope to jaysis he keeps his league final form for the year or else has his brain fart early in the summer
Post by: galwayman on May 02, 2019, 09:44:40 PM
Quote from: An Fhairche Abu on May 02, 2019, 05:33:15 PM

5. Liam Silke (Corofin)
8. Tom Flynn (Athenry)
13. Ian Burke (Corofin)

What do you make of that lineup AFA?
I'm assuming here that McDaid Kyne Cooke Duggan Comer Conroy are all unfit to start.
Post by: Manning18 on May 02, 2019, 09:50:57 PM
All those are definitely unfit. It's largely interesting with a couple of disappoting parts. He really needs to get Molloy a bit of inter county game time. Understandable that maybe he wants experience beside John Daly by playing O'Donnell, but still, you won't get any better opportunities. Always thought he viewed Silke as a half back over corner back, this confirms that. Michael Daly as midfield is interesting with a view to him possibly being a third midfielder later in the year. O'Laoi and Cummins deserved to keep their place
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2019, 10:08:58 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 02, 2019, 09:50:57 PM
All those are definitely unfit. It's largely interesting with a couple of disappoting parts. He really needs to get Molloy a bit of inter county game time. Understandable that maybe he wants experience beside John Daly by playing O'Donnell, but still, you won't get any better opportunities. Always thought he viewed Silke as a half back over corner back, this confirms that. Michael Daly as midfield is interesting with a view to him possibly being a third midfielder later in the year. O'Laoi and Cummins deserved to keep their place

I'd prefer to see Silke in the corner and Molloy at wing-back. We have quite a few half-backs now but we're still quite thin in the corner. I think that would maximise the potential overall rather than Silke taking up a spot where we already have a very good young playing coming through. Get both of them on the field.
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on May 03, 2019, 07:25:18 AM
is Dylan Wall on the panel?
Post by: cornetto on May 03, 2019, 08:20:57 AM
Glad to see the mayo news has already got the result of Rossies v leitrim!😁

"Pleasure is off the menu, except we can assume, for a few hours on Sunday night once safe passage has been booked to the Connacht SFC semi-final against Roscommon".
Post by: cornetto on May 03, 2019, 08:31:30 AM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on May 03, 2019, 07:25:18 AM

No,no,no!!!
Post by: galwayman on May 03, 2019, 10:07:13 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 02, 2019, 10:08:58 PM

I'd prefer to see Silke in the corner and Molloy at wing-back. We have quite a few half-backs now but we're still quite thin in the corner. I think that would maximise the potential overall rather than Silke taking up a spot where we already have a very good young playing coming through. Get both of them on the field.
Would agree with that purely because our need is greater in the corner.
Without wishing to disrespect David Wynne he is there for the taking by any decent intercounty inside man.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 03, 2019, 03:51:51 PM
Quote from: galwayman on May 03, 2019, 10:07:13 AM

Without wishing to disrespect David Wynne he is there for the taking by any decent intercounty inside man.

Wasn't Wynne a starter on the Galway 2016,2018 Connacht winning teams and when he was sub in 2017 they didn't win Connacht?
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 03, 2019, 05:37:02 PM
London team

Gavin McEvoy
Philip Butler
Matthew Moynihan
Conor O'Neill
David Carrabine
Michael Clarke
Eoin Flanagan
Anthony McDermott
Liam Feerick
Mark Gottsche
Liam Gavaghan
Barry Tully
Conor Doran
Fearghal McMahon
Killian Butler

New York team

1 Vinny Cadden (Sligo)
2 Michael Creegan (New York)
3 Gerard McCartan (Down)
4 Robert Gorman (Westmeath)
5 Paddy Boyle (Down)
6  Michael Naughton (Galway)
7 Mathew Queenan (Mayo)
8 Cathal Compton (Roscommon)
9 Sean Hurley (Kildare)
10 Shane Hogan (New York)
11. Luke Kelly (Offaly)
12 Daniel McKenna (Monaghan)
13 David Freeman (Monaghan)
14 Niall Madine (Down)
15 Peter Hatzer (Armagh)

Post by: Manning18 on May 03, 2019, 06:17:10 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 03, 2019, 03:51:51 PM
Quote from: galwayman on May 03, 2019, 10:07:13 AM

Wasn't Wynne a starter on the Galway 2016,2018 Connacht winning teams and when he was sub in 2017 they didn't win Connacht?

Kerin was injured in 2018, came on at half time though for Wynne, Wynne's only start. He played in 2016 alright but we could barely get 20 lads together at that stage. He'd be 2 or 3 down the pecking order
Post by: PadraicHenryPearse on May 03, 2019, 08:05:45 PM
Quote from: cornetto on May 03, 2019, 08:31:30 AM

No,no,no!!!

not considered good enough or something else?
Post by: cornetto on May 03, 2019, 11:34:12 PM
Quote from: PadraicHenryPearse on May 03, 2019, 08:05:45 PM
Quote from: cornetto on May 03, 2019, 08:31:30 AM

No,no,no!!!

not considered good enough or something else?
[/quote

Official line is he is injured and not able to fully commit to the training  but I believe he turned down the chance to join up for other reasons of which I honestly dont know.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 05, 2019, 03:27:19 AM
Galway man Mark Gottsche, who is also London GAA's full-time secretary and treasurer is entering his ninth championship campaign with the London Footballers.

Tomorrow, Gottsche will come up against his home county Galway in Connacht football championship opener in Ruislip.

Gottsche, whose home club is Oranmore-Maree, featured for the Galway Minors & U-21 Footballers before joining the seniors during the 2008 NFL.
He was also on the panel in the early part of 2009.

But his senior career with the Tribesmen never developed further.
And a move to London in 2011 changed the direction of his sporting and professional career.

On the pitch this year, Gottsche started all seven of London's Division 4 matches.

In nine years with the Exiles, he has missed just 'seven or eight games' — three of them because of a groin injury in the summer of 2013 and another one because he was at the GAA's annual Congress in his role as London secretary.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 05, 2019, 01:05:17 PM
Galway subs as per the programme:
16. Bernard Power
17. Michael Boyle
18. Gareth Bradshaw
19. Eamonn Brannigan
20. David Cunnane
21. Johnny Duane
22. Cein D'Arcy
23. Robert Finnerty
24. Kieran Molloy
25. Fiontán Ó Curraoin
26. Finnian Ó Laoí
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 05, 2019, 01:33:01 PM
Mayo bench

David Clarke
Stephen Coen
David Drake
Michael Plunkett
Eoin O'Donoghue
Colm Boyle
Brian Reape
Ciaran Treacy
Evan Regan
Andy Moran
Conor Diskin
Post by: macdanger2 on May 05, 2019, 02:22:58 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 05, 2019, 01:33:01 PM
Mayo bench

David Clarke
Stephen Coen
David Drake
Michael Plunkett
Eoin O'Donoghue
Colm Boyle
Brian Reape
Ciaran Treacy
Evan Regan
Andy Moran
Conor Diskin

Regan not starting?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 03:27:50 PM
28 mins played London 1-3 Galway 0-8.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 03:38:43 PM
Half time London 1-6 Galway 0-9. Good job Galway aren't playing Mayo in early rounds this year.
Post by: galwayman on May 05, 2019, 04:16:53 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 03:38:43 PM
Half time London 1-6 Galway 0-9. Good job Galway aren't playing Mayo in early rounds this year.
Very true. It seems we are a bit off the pace at the moment for whatever reason.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 04:18:00 PM
Latest and still all to play for London 1-8 Galway 0-14
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 04:37:22 PM
FT London 1-9 Galway 0-16. Fair play to London for such a competitive performance against a Div 1 team and they missed a late goal chance to level the game. Galway backlash probably expected after that game now which is bad news for Sligo next.

Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 05, 2019, 05:50:35 PM
Fair play to London they played really well at times, how the goal chance they had in the last ten minutes to level it up stayed out I've no idea.
The less said about Galway the better to be honest really, really poor. If we had Mayo in the first round this year we'd have been hosed. Big improvement required for Sligo.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 07:28:17 PM
One late change for Mayo with Colm Boyle replacing Chris Barrett

11 mins played New York 0-0 Mayo 0-5. New York unable to win a kick out or breaking ball so far.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2019, 07:37:40 PM
0-10 to 0-0. 7 wides as well.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 07:40:21 PM
New York 0-0 Mayo 0-12.  New York's only scoring opportunity so far was a missed free kick.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 07:45:59 PM
 30 mins of action finally a score for New York and even Mayo supporters are clapping. New York 0-1 Mayo 0-14.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 07:52:51 PM
Half time New York 0-2 Mayo 1-15 .  Regan goal just before the break.
Post by: Rossfan on May 05, 2019, 07:55:55 PM
RTÉ doing commentary on the NY farce but none from Ruislip today.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2019, 07:57:21 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 05, 2019, 07:55:55 PM
RTÉ doing commentary on the NY farce but none from Ruislip today.

Well Mayo are the NFL winners...
Post by: Rossfan on May 05, 2019, 07:58:49 PM
And now they're interviewing Enda Fkn Kenny >:(
Post by: Crete Boom on May 05, 2019, 08:07:05 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 05, 2019, 07:58:49 PM
And now they're interviewing Enda Fkn Kenny >:(
Great GAA family, good club man and an even greater Taoiseach! ;)
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2019, 08:08:04 PM
MWR half time - playing requests from all over the world.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2019, 08:21:30 PM
16 wides...
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 08:28:58 PM
Mayo with the hand brake on and playing through the motions this 2nd half. 1-18 to 0-3.  55 mins played.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 05, 2019, 08:46:17 PM
Full time New York 0-4 Mayo 1-22. 21 point win that would have been 30 points if Mayo weren't so wasteful. Mayo beat New York by 22 points in 2014.

Post by: Rossfan on May 05, 2019, 09:09:22 PM
No stopping the Rhus this year!!
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 05, 2019, 09:31:59 PM
Tuned into RTE radio for a few minutes. Marty Morrissey complaining that New York didn't kick the ball out short to win some possession. Does he not realize that Mayo push up on the kick outs and rarely allow any team to kick it out short?  Mayo forwards tackle harder than some teams defenders and attack the ball in packs. Few teams will be able to match Mayo's intensity and fitness when in full flow.  It's going to take a very good team to beat them this summer.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 05, 2019, 10:30:42 PM
In fairness NY sounded like a junior club team. Still, you can only beat what's in front of you I suppose. I hope you're right Cunny.
Post by: larryin89 on May 05, 2019, 10:43:34 PM
19 fookin wides against a defence whom some were born and bred in Murcia. Not good enough , rossies waiting in the long grass and will give nothing away next week v Leitrim .
Post by: moysider on May 06, 2019, 12:17:24 AM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 05, 2019, 10:43:34 PM
19 fookin wides against a defence whom some were born and bred in Murcia. Not good enough , rossies waiting in the long grass and will give nothing away next week v Leitrim .

There is no long grass any more larry. Everybody knows everything about everybody. Ros. have to be well up to speed for Leitrim as well.
Post by: greatpoint on May 06, 2019, 04:30:12 AM
It only took Kildare to beat them last year. Galway too.
Post by: larryin89 on May 06, 2019, 08:40:38 AM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 06, 2019, 04:30:12 AM

Yes and what's the point you're making exactly . Mayo are no longer the second best team in Ireland , we all know that.

Mayo seem to be building for the future from what we hear , this year is not a realistic chance of glory . 2021 you'd guess is the aim to have this squad primed , new facilities will be built, the whole "brand Mayo " thing is really taking off .

Horan will win Sam Maguire IMO ,just not yet ,hence his four year term also .
Post by: Rossfan on May 06, 2019, 10:55:42 AM
The Connacht Championship proper starts next Sunday in the Hyde.
Curtain raiser is a U20 League game Ros v Donegal.
It was to be a JFC game v Leitrim but we decided not to enter as we could only use Junior or Inter Club players because we had been in Div 1.
The Neighbours will be well up for this one and should bring a big crowd of hopefuls with them.
The scoreline at Ruislip should be a timely warning for our bucks but really anything other than a Ros win is unthinkable.
Post by: greatpoint on May 06, 2019, 02:48:10 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 06, 2019, 08:40:38 AM

Yes and what's the point you're making exactly . Mayo are no longer the second best team in Ireland , we all know that.

Mayo seem to be building for the future from what we hear , this year is not a realistic chance of glory . 2021 you'd guess is the aim to have this squad primed , new facilities will be built, the whole "brand Mayo " thing is really taking off .

My point is that I don't agree with the poster who said that it will take a very good team to beat them this year. They were beaten by two less than good teams last year and for me beating New York isn't evidence that anything will be different this Championship.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 06, 2019, 03:13:39 PM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 06, 2019, 02:48:10 PM

My point is that I don't agree with the poster who said that it will take a very good team to beat them this year. They were beaten by two less than good teams last year and for me beating New York isn't evidence that anything will be different this Championship.
I said when in full flow. Since last year Rochford is gone and Horan has returned. He has brought a new freshness to the team with a few new players and even the older players have spring in their step again. the only teams that beat Horan's Mayo in 2011-2014 was Dublin,Kerry and Donegal and everyone of them won the All Ireland. (very good teams that beat them)

The early championship exit last summer for a team that was on the go since 2011 could well be blessing in disguise and don't see them making unexpected championship exit this summer or conceding 21 scores in many if any game this summer. Winning well against New York is little evidence but winning a national title in Croke park against Kerry is serious momentum for this championship.
Post by: larryin89 on May 06, 2019, 04:16:55 PM

I'd agree with ya there mostly .Ros will beat Leitrim , mayo will scrape by Ros and Galway will beat both Sligo and then Mayo in the final . We might get by the qualifier to get into super 8 but I'd expect both Kerry and Tyrone to beat us in super 8, which would leave us with a third or fourth place finish in group . I expect Galway to be the surprise package this year making an all Ireland final , Kerry v Galway one semi and tyrone v Dublin the other
Post by: Blowitupref on May 06, 2019, 04:29:13 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 06, 2019, 04:16:55 PM

I'd agree with ya there mostly .Ros will beat Leitrim , mayo will scrape by Ros and Galway will beat both Sligo and then Mayo in the final . We might get by the qualifier to get into super 8 but I'd expect both Kerry and Tyrone to beat us in super 8, which would leave us with a third or fourth place finish in group . I expect Galway to be the surprise package this year making an all Ireland final , Kerry v Galway one semi and tyrone v Dublin the other
I'd like to see your prediction for Mayo if they took a trimming off Tyrone in their final league game and stumbled over the line against London yesterday who finished bottom of Div 4. 

I'll be very surprised if this fully tuned in Mayo team don't at least reach the AI semi final this summer and unless Kerry improve in midfield and defensively they won't be reaching the last 4 again.
Post by: seafoid on May 06, 2019, 04:48:32 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 06, 2019, 04:16:55 PM

Mayo might be there in the endgame. They are as good as Kerry, Galway and tyrone
Post by: Lar Naparka on May 06, 2019, 04:55:26 PM

Hon Larry, keep the faith! :D
Sure, they were beaten by two less than good teams last year and didn't seem to know their arses fro their elbows at the beginning of this year's league also.  But they comprehensively defeated Kerry twice afterwards, once in lousy weather in Tralee and again in good weather in Croke Park.
Kerry, btw, was the popular choice as favourites to face Dublin in the AI.
Mayo have another manager since the defeat to Newbridge and he is one with a record of excellence and have a load of new additions to the panel as well.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 06, 2019, 07:58:05 PM
Job done, easy win in second gear, means nothing.

Would love a chance to head over there with the Dubs. But still not convinced of the merits. Would last years US, British and Europen champions in the championship proper not be a better idea?
Post by: Tubberman on May 06, 2019, 08:06:31 PM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 06, 2019, 07:58:05 PM

Would love a chance to head over there with the Dubs. But still not convinced of the merits. Would last years US, British and Europen champions in the championship proper not be a better idea?

In the club championship you mean? British clubs already are. If you mean intercounty, how could they do any better than London or NY?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 06, 2019, 08:20:22 PM
Quote from: Tubberman on May 06, 2019, 08:06:31 PM

In the club championship you mean? British clubs already are. If you mean intercounty, how could they do any better than London or NY?

But why London and NY every year? Warwickshire are just as good. Let the international winners take their places.
Post by: greatpoint on May 07, 2019, 01:20:15 AM
Quote from: Lar Naparka on May 06, 2019, 04:55:26 PM

Sure, they were beaten by two less than good teams last year and didn't seem to know their arses fro their elbows at the beginning of this year's league also.  But they comprehensively defeated Kerry twice afterwards, once in lousy weather in Tralee and again in good weather in Croke Park.
Mayo have another manager since the defeat to Newbridge and he is one with a record of excellence and have a load of new additions to the panel as well.

I think any talking up of Kerry as a contender to Dublin is highly questionable so using them as a benchmark is misguided in my opinion.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2019, 03:44:06 AM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 07, 2019, 01:20:15 AM

I think any talking up of Kerry as a contender to Dublin is highly questionable so using them as a benchmark is misguided in my opinion.

Obviously. But the same could be said for 30 other counties, regardless of who Mayo played in the league final.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 07, 2019, 09:28:52 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 06, 2019, 08:20:22 PM

But why London and NY every year? Warwickshire are just as good. Let the international winners take their places.

Not sure where you're getting that from, Warwickshire play at junior level and they'd be annihilated by London.
Post by: TheGreatest on May 07, 2019, 01:45:35 PM

Not for me, The Mayo fans are the look at us, arent we great brigade. Too much money in Mayo by the looks of it if that amount of fans can head over for a mickey mouse game, we need to tax Mayo residents more, withhold property taxes.

(**JOKING**)

Looked like a good trip and good craic.

Post by: magpie seanie on May 07, 2019, 02:06:53 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 07, 2019, 09:28:52 AM

Not sure where you're getting that from, Warwickshire play at junior level and they'd be annihilated by London.

It's just the usual makey up stuff from this poster.
Post by: Rossfan on May 07, 2019, 02:10:37 PM
No one takes that lad seriously any more  ::)
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 07, 2019, 04:13:46 PM

Why play Leinster then...
Post by: Rossfan on May 07, 2019, 06:59:04 PM
Connacht Council obviously expecting a good turnout Sunday as Season ticket holders being allocated specific seats.
Post by: Crete Boom on May 07, 2019, 07:30:37 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 07, 2019, 06:59:04 PM
Connacht Council obviously expecting a good turnout Sunday as Season ticket holders being allocated specific seats.

Rossies are always out in force league or championship probably the most loyal fans in Connacht anyway. Maybe the fires are stirring in Lovely Leitrim with their division 4 success?
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 07, 2019, 08:27:11 PM

Grand. So London win and get to play. If we have an international element,why not merit based. Before I get accused of the usual, the last 16 of next years FAI junior cup get into the intermediate cup, that last 16 into the senior.
Post by: greatpoint on May 08, 2019, 03:09:31 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2019, 03:44:06 AM

Obviously. But the same could be said for 30 other counties, regardless of who Mayo played in the league final.

And if they had played any of the rest of those counties my opinion would he the same.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 08, 2019, 07:14:11 AM
Quote from: greatpoint on May 08, 2019, 03:09:31 AM
Quote from: Farrandeelin on May 07, 2019, 03:44:06 AM

And if they had played any of the rest of those counties my opinion would he the same.

That's what I'm agreeing with you on.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 08, 2019, 10:19:02 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 07, 2019, 08:27:11 PM

Grand. So London win and get to play. If we have an international element,why not merit based. Before I get accused of the usual, the last 16 of next years FAI junior cup get into the intermediate cup, that last 16 into the senior.

Nobody else in England or Scotland play senior football at County level, London get a free run to the Connacht Championship and rightly so.
Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 08, 2019, 11:30:07 AM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 08, 2019, 10:19:02 AM
Quote from: Baile Brigín 2 on May 07, 2019, 08:27:11 PM

Nobody else in England or Scotland play senior football at County level, London get a free run to the Connacht Championship and rightly so.

Jesus this is hard work.

Of course they dont play senior football. London have the only place. London cannot lose that place.

Or put another way, why 'rightly so'?

Are people on here that conservative that the idea of London and NY having to earn their way in causes this level of offense?.
Post by: Rossfan on May 08, 2019, 11:38:22 AM
Will ya fkn stop ruining this thread with your nonsense?

Post by: Maroon Manc on May 08, 2019, 01:29:24 PM
Whats the deal with Galway's injuries?

I know where Comer is up to and its unlikely we'll see Conroy play in the province this summer either but surely McDaid must be in contention for the Sligo game! I'm sure it was a metatarsal he fractured which so you'd think he'd be back by now.

Any word on whether Cooke & Duggan will be back for next weekend?

Post by: Baile Brigín 2 on May 08, 2019, 03:34:23 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 08, 2019, 11:38:22 AM
Will ya fkn stop ruining this thread with your nonsense?
Raise it with the person who introduced the subject.
Post by: Duine Eile on May 08, 2019, 05:37:49 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 08, 2019, 01:29:24 PM
Whats the deal with Galway's injuries?

I know where Comer is up to and its unlikely we'll see Conroy play in the province this summer either but surely McDaid must be in contention for the Sligo game! I'm sure it was a metatarsal he fractured which so you'd think he'd be back by now.

Any word on whether Cooke & Duggan will be back for next weekend?

Haven't heard if they're back but I have heard Sean Kelly is definitely out with a pulled hamstring. Serious amount of leg injuries in the panel
Post by: cornetto on May 08, 2019, 08:49:50 PM
Seems mcdaid had an infection in his wound that delayed his return,but should be available for selection.himself and brannigan will share a half forward spot even though his preferred position is half back.fionntain o curraoin was to start against London but for whatever reason came on as a sub.no word on Cooke and duggan.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 09, 2019, 03:03:23 PM
Roscommon team for Sunday

Darren O'Malley (Michael Glaveys)
David Murray (Padraig Pearses)
Sean Mullooly (Strokestown)
Conor Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Niall Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Conor Hussey (Micheal Glaveys)
Ronan Daly (Padraig Pearses)
Tadgh O'Rourke (Tulsk)
Shane Killoran (Elphin)
Hubert Darcy (Padraig Pearses)
Cathal Cregg (Western Gaels)
Niall Kilroy (Fuerty)
Ultan Harney (Clann na nGael)
Conor Cox (Listowel Emmets)
Diarmuid Murtagh (St Faithleachs)

Leitrim

Cathal McCrann    (Gortleitreach)
Micheal McWeeney (Naomh Muire Cill Tochairt)
Fergal McTague    (Achadh an Mhuilinn)
Conor Reynolds    (Eanach Dubh)
Raymond Mulvey  (Naomh Muire Cill Tochairt)
Paddy Maguire    (Gleann an Chairthe/Cluainín)
Sean McWeeney  (Achadh na Síleann)
Mark Plunkett    (Achadh an Mhuilinn)
Shane Moran    (Seán Ó hEislin, Béal an Átha Móir)
Domhnaill Flynn  (Maothail)
Pearce Dolan    (Achadh an Mhuilinn)
Shane Quinn    (Maothail)
Evan Sweeney    (Gleann an Chairthe/Cluainín)
Ryan O Rourke    (Naomh Caillin, Fíonach)
Jack Heslin  (Gortleitreach)
Post by: Rossfan on May 09, 2019, 03:30:43 PM
A few eyebrows being raised at some of the Ros selection.
Enda Smith injured thumb I believe while Donie didn't make the cut.
Hussey, Darcy (surprise selection) and Cox making Championship debuts.
I'd love to see the Subs list to see who made the 26 but probably gave to wait till I see a programme Sunday.
I didn't expect to see Diarmuid start as I believe he took no part in recent challenges.
Anyway let's get on with it and send those upstart neighbours back sadder and wiser to their forests in Rossinver, Kiltyclogher, Gortetteragh, Eslin Bornafeckincoola and various other hell holes.
Post by: Manning18 on May 09, 2019, 03:38:22 PM
Strokestown, Castlerea and Ros Town are thriving, vibrant and beautiful areas
Post by: highorlow on May 10, 2019, 10:10:08 AM
Best of luck to Leitrim on Sunday. You have the full support of your neighbours here in Mayo.
Post by: Rossfan on May 10, 2019, 10:52:53 AM
Laythrum doesn't border Mayo😉
Post by: Halfquarter on May 10, 2019, 11:56:16 AM
Nobody from St. Brigids , what's up there .?
Post by: Rossfan on May 10, 2019, 12:51:32 PM
Niall McInerney concentrating on his Medical career so not committing this year.
Eddie Nolan and Brian Stack on the panel.
Only 2 Clann na nGael on the panel too while I think Glaveys and Pearses have 5 each.
Post by: weareros on May 10, 2019, 02:08:54 PM
Quote from: highorlow on May 10, 2019, 10:10:08 AM
Best of luck to Leitrim on Sunday. You have the full support of your neighbours here in Mayo.

''Tis like the old joke when Satan asked God why he was giving Roscommon all those lovely lakes, castles and abbeys and God replied: "wait until you see the neighbours i'm giving them."
Post by: giveballaghback on May 11, 2019, 04:39:19 PM
Best of luck to our Rossie team tomorrow, the Hyde is looking brilliant and really looking forward to the game, apologies to Galway and rhubarbs for taking up space on this their Connacht final conversation.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 11, 2019, 04:42:21 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 11, 2019, 04:39:19 PM
Best of luck to our Rossie team tomorrow, the Hyde is looking brilliant and really looking forward to the game, apologies to Galway and rhubarbs for taking up space on this their Connacht final conversation.

Lol at the last line.
Post by: cornetto on May 12, 2019, 09:36:01 AM
Rossies and leitrim will be interesting but expect the rossues to win by 5 points.
Galway v sligo I expect galway to win by anything from 5 to ten points. I really hope sligo put it up to them as I think an easy game is the last thing needed.
Such is the shortage of cash in galway gaa only 26 players were in London,comer attended the ladies league final I dont think it displays the togetherness that should be there.Team selection for sligo could determine who wants to be part of the panel,that's the way things are.
Post by: Rossfan on May 12, 2019, 12:21:17 PM
CMON ROS!!💛💛💛💙💙💛💛💛
Post by: larryin89 on May 12, 2019, 05:44:55 PM
Mayo v Roscommon next  sat week , is it a 7pm throw in ?
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 12, 2019, 08:08:00 PM
Roscommon the only team that had a comfortable win against a Div 4 team so far this summer. No doubt Leitrim will be hoping to draw someone else next summer.

No John McManus or Enda Smith in action today will they be back for the next game in two weeks or are out long term?
Post by: Rossfan on May 13, 2019, 01:48:47 AM
Enda dislocated thumb.
McManus not chosen I believe.
Laythrum well bet and sent back to their frackable uninhabitable wilderness.
Seriously they seemed to have decided the D4 campaign was their be all and end all this year as they wait for the 2nd tier to kick in.
We did what we had to unimpressivly  and quite frankly won't keep the ball kicked out to the Rhus based on today.
No atmosphere, no excitenent, just a routine demolition of a lower ranked  team by a reasonably higher ranked one.
A major argument for those who want to abolish the Provincials.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 13, 2019, 08:49:57 AM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 13, 2019, 01:48:47 AM
just a routine demolition of a lower ranked  team by a reasonably higher ranked one.

You've moved on to talking about the game on the 25th already?  ;D  ;)
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 15, 2019, 11:42:50 AM
Galway desperately need some sort of a performance this weekend after what happened in London. The further we get into this season the more pessimistic I become, the injuries just don't seem to be clearing at all.
Post by: mouview on May 15, 2019, 12:23:15 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 15, 2019, 11:42:50 AM
Galway desperately need some sort of a performance this weekend after what happened in London. The further we get into this season the more pessimistic I become, the injuries just don't seem to be clearing at all.

McDaid is nearing match fitness again I think, while I heard that Paul Conroy is back in training. Comer looks to be a month away or so. Not really sure who else that leaves that is vital to the cause. My pessimism is more due to managerial caution and intransigence.
Post by: An Fhairche Abu on May 15, 2019, 12:36:54 PM
Based on what I saw in London less than two weeks ago I wouldn't have an expectation of a huge jump in performance this weekend and I don't think a repeat of the hiding Sligo got in the same fixture last year is on the cards but some form of improvement is required.
Galway owned the ball for large stretches in the first round match and Tom Flynn (Galway's best player in 2019 so far with only Shane Walsh providing him any competition on that) absolutely cleaned London out at midfield. Given the wealth of possession you would have expected more than 16 points to be accrued against a Division Four team albeit one that was performing well in places on the day. The attacking - even in breaking out at pace situations - was ponderous, too much running with the ball and even when long passes were tried they were not accurate to the target player, the shot execution was not near up to standard and it was definitely the poorest I've seen Galway play in a long, long time.

Galway need to get a result on Sunday and anything less than a win should be unthinkable for the current panel, with the greatest of respect to Sligo, Galway may pack it up for the year if they can't get through to the Connacht final the way the draw has worked out this year injuries to key players or not.
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 15, 2019, 02:38:56 PM
Just hope it's better than last year. And if it is then that'll be likely more to do with Galway than it will Sligo.
Post by: manfromdelmonte on May 15, 2019, 02:53:17 PM
Sligo are going backwards at a rate of knots
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 15, 2019, 03:10:44 PM
London conceded on average 13 points per game in the league this spring, they were clearly working on a defensive system and maybe Kevin Walsh didn't do his homework on them? Sligo are coming into Sunday's game off the back of 7 league defeats where they have conceded on average 20 points per game.  All logic points to a more comfortable win for Galway this weekend than it was in Ruislip.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 16, 2019, 08:54:31 AM
Kevin Walsh hasn't enjoyed his trips as a manager to London.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 16, 2019, 01:26:06 PM
Teams named for Sunday's encounter.

Sligo: Eamonn Kilgannon, Michael Gordon, Peter Laffey, Keelan Cawley, Gerard O'Kelly Lynch, Darragh Cummins, Paul McNamara, Adrian McIntyre, Paul Kilcoyne, Mikey Gordon, Sean Carrabine, Nathan Mullen, Paddy O'Connor, Adrian Marren, Niall Murphy

Galway: Bernard Power, Eoghan Kerin, Seán Andy Ó'Ceallaigh, Liam Silke, Kieran Molloy, Gareth Bradshaw, JohnDaly, Thomas Flynn, Fiontán Ó'Curraoin, Shane Walsh, Michael Daly, Johnny Heaney, Antaine Ó'Laoí. Ian Burke, Danny Cummins.
Post by: mouview on May 16, 2019, 01:39:13 PM
Quote from: Blowitupref on May 16, 2019, 01:26:06 PM

Sligo: Eamonn Kilgannon, Michael Gordon, Peter Laffey, Keelan Cawley, Gerard O'Kelly Lynch, Darragh Cummins, Paul McNamara, Adrian McIntyre, Paul Kilcoyne, Mikey Gordon, Sean Carrabine, Nathan Mullen, Paddy O'Connor, Adrian Marren, Niall Murphy

Galway: Bernard Power, Eoghan Kerin, Seán Andy Ó'Ceallaigh, Liam Silke, Kieran Molloy, Gareth Bradshaw, JohnDaly, Thomas Flynn, Fiontán Ó'Curraoin, Shane Walsh, Michael Daly, Johnny Heaney, Antaine Ó'Laoí. Ian Burke, Danny Cummins.

Interesting Galway lineout. Big call on goalie, Power must have been pushing hard in training. Silke for Wynne improves FB line, while Molloy for O'Donnell (though in a bit of hard luck) also boosts that line I think. Hope O'Curraoin goes well in midfield, more suited there than Ml. Daly. Padraig Cunningham loses out in attack, but is probably behind the rest in the pecking order anyway. FF line a bit similar, but they'll switch about I'm sure anyway.

All assuming no late changes of course.
Post by: galwayman on May 16, 2019, 01:53:43 PM
Quote from: mouview on May 16, 2019, 01:39:13 PM

Interesting Galway lineout. Big call on goalie, Power must have been pushing hard in training. Silke for Wynne improves FB line, while Molloy for O'Donnell (though in a bit of hard luck) also boosts that line I think. Hope O'Curraoin goes well in midfield, more suited there than Ml. Daly. Padraig Cunningham loses out in attack, but is probably behind the rest in the pecking order anyway. FF line a bit similar, but they'll switch about I'm sure anyway.

Not a bad side considering the absentees. Fully fit Conroy & Comer come straight back in. Cooke, McDaid, Sean Kelly and Kyne would be 50-50 to get in.
Duggan maybe if they go with a third midfielder.
Surprised he has dropped Lavelle, though I don't think there's much between them.
Podge Cunningham didn't do enough in London when given the chance to be retained for this game I think.
Post by: Maroon Manc on May 16, 2019, 01:56:06 PM
Quote from: galwayman on May 16, 2019, 01:53:43 PM

Not a bad side considering the absentees. Fully fit Conroy & Comer come straight back in. Cooke, McDaid, Sean Kelly and Kyne would be 50-50 to get in.
Surprised he has dropped Lavelle, though I don't think there's much between them.
Podge Cunningham didn't do enough in London when given the chance to be retained for this game I think.

Happy with that team, never been a huge fan of FOC but Kevin Walsh clearly is. Great to see Molloy getting the start although you'd never know whether that team will actually start; Power is a funny one, didn't think he'd get back in but he must be doing well in training/challenge matches.

I'll be interested to see if McDaid has made the 26.
Post by: galwayman on May 16, 2019, 02:01:08 PM
Quote from: Maroon Manc on May 16, 2019, 01:56:06 PM

Happy with that team, never been a huge fan of FOC but Kevin Walsh clearly is. Great to see Molloy getting the start although you'd never know whether that team will actually start; Power is a funny one, didn't think he'd get back in but he must be doing well in training/challenge matches.

I'll be interested to see if McDaid has made the 26.
I'm pretty sure McDaid is not back in full training yet.
Post by: Rossfan on May 16, 2019, 02:03:22 PM
Admission prices from Ros/Rhubarbs €5 higher than Sligo/Galway >:(.
Both games are semi finals.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 16, 2019, 02:18:33 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 16, 2019, 02:03:22 PM

35 euro on the day for a stand ticket for a provincial semi final. The Connacht GAA would need to cop themselves on.
Post by: From the Bunker on May 16, 2019, 02:31:57 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 16, 2019, 02:18:33 PM

35 euro on the day for a stand ticket for a provincial semi final. The Connacht GAA would need to cop themselves on.

They have to make up for the short fall in takings at other venues. Mayo followers don't mind paying the extra bit. For Mayo fans it's all about the journey and showing support for their team to think otherwise would be "divisive and mean-spirited".
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 16, 2019, 03:01:04 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 16, 2019, 02:31:57 PM

They have to make up for the short fall in takings at other venues. Mayo followers don't mind paying the extra bit. For Mayo fans it's all about the journey and showing support for their team to think otherwise would be "divisive and mean-spirited".

Your style of posting has become repetitive.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 16, 2019, 03:03:59 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 16, 2019, 02:31:57 PM

Rhubarbs should be charged 45 euro so and let the few rossies that do travel in for 20 euro, we always mind being overcharged but are delighted that our rhubarb friends will subsidise us.
Post by: weareros on May 16, 2019, 04:05:30 PM

The Prenty Dome - the Taj Mahal in the bogs of Bekan - has to be paid for.
Post by: macdanger2 on May 16, 2019, 04:08:08 PM

It was similar last year, the mayo v Galway quarter final was more expensive than the other side
Post by: Duine Eile on May 16, 2019, 05:02:12 PM

Call me cynical but I think this could be more to do with Kevin having an eye on the Connacht final and keeping Mayo/Ros guessing rather than him dropping Lavelle. Hopefully it goes well for Power, I'd have him ahead of Lavelle on kick outs, he also has Molloy to aim at now too which should suit him. Our full forward line is a bit on the small side, presumably O Laoi will drift out a bit like against London. Cummins lucky to hold his place after London, he had a nightmare. Hopefully he has a better day out this Sunday.
Post by: Rossfan on May 16, 2019, 05:12:19 PM
Any hope of Sligo having improved since the disastrous NFL campaign.
Post by: SLIGONIAN on May 16, 2019, 09:02:24 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 16, 2019, 05:12:19 PM
Any hope of Sligo having improved since the disastrous NFL campaign.
No
Post by: cornetto on May 17, 2019, 12:11:33 AM
Fionntain o curraoin was to start in London,was a little bit peaved when he didn't,
Molloy too another that was not happy and another unhappy camper was eammon brannigan who got the grand total of 2 minutes.
As I said in an earlier post team selection would determine who wanted to remain in the panel,I think the selections made go along way to ease those fears.Hope they all perform adequately.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 03:35:32 PM
Galway have started as selected, Pat Hughes in for Adrian Marren the one change for Sligo.

5 mins played. Sligo 0-1 Galway 0-1

Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 03:47:20 PM
15 minutes played Sligo 0-1 Galway 0-1. A few missed frees and half of goal chance for Galway. Kieran Molloy off injured replaced by O'Donnell.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 19, 2019, 03:51:26 PM
Molloy off injured. Could be a serious enough one too. Hopefully not.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 04:07:56 PM
Half time Sligo 0-3 Galway 0-5.  Fair play to Sligo giving a far better account of themselves against Galway than they did last year. Liam Silke Galway's top scorer from play with 2 points.
Post by: galwayman on May 19, 2019, 04:19:58 PM
This is an abysmal game of football so far
Post by: whitey on May 19, 2019, 04:28:53 PM
Are Sligo just hiding out in the long grass waiting to ambush someone?
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 04:29:39 PM
Markievicz Park attendance 5,365.  In 2010 the attendance for the Galway v Sligo game was 12,829.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 04:31:27 PM
42 minutes played. Sligo 0-4 Galway 0-7
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 04:35:18 PM
2 Galway goals in a minute. Sligo 0-4 Galway 2-7.
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 04:43:37 PM
53 mins played Sligo 0-7 Galway 2-7
Post by: Blowitupref on May 19, 2019, 05:04:29 PM
Full time Sligo 0-7 Galway 3-11. Those two Galway goals in a minute was key. Injury time 3rd goal.  Galway will have home advantage for the Connacht final on June 16th.

Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 19, 2019, 05:12:36 PM
3-11 to 0-7 in the end but Galway only pulled away half way through the 2nd half. 1-2 from Liam Silke at corner back. Molloy off injured early. Sean Andy off with two yellows. McDaid came on near the end.

Into the Connacht final but without pulling up any trees so far.
Post by: larryin89 on May 19, 2019, 07:33:45 PM
5365 people ,jeez wtf is wrong with Galway people they are pure useless at supporting the county team .
Post by: From the Bunker on May 19, 2019, 07:50:53 PM
Quote from: larryin89 on May 19, 2019, 07:33:45 PM
5365 people ,jeez wtf is wrong with Galway people they are pure useless at supporting the county team .

They have more sense! Most are saving their money for this Saturday. Going to watch their team hammer an underfunded county like Sligo holds no attraction anymore. Things are not like they were in 1996 anymore!
Post by: Rossfan on May 19, 2019, 07:51:28 PM
Remember the time Leitrim outnumbered them 4 to 1 in Tuam?
Post by: From the Bunker on May 19, 2019, 08:25:42 PM
Quote from: Rossfan on May 19, 2019, 07:51:28 PM
Remember the time Leitrim outnumbered them 4 to 1 in Tuam?

That's about 25 years ago!
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 19, 2019, 08:37:17 PM
I do think Comer is a loss in the full forward line. The three lads up there today are all quite similiar. Three smallish lads who often make the same kinda runs. Having two of them buzzing around a physical focal point like Comer or just one of them up front with him is probably the way to go.

Liam Silke back is a big upgrade for Galway this year. Super footballer. FOC was good too for a lad that probably only got a game because of all the injuries ahead of him.

Galway will definitely be underdogs with the bookies if it's Mayo they meet in the final. The two performances so far have not been hectic.

Hopefully Mayo v Roscommon is a good game because not much of note has happened yet in Connacht.
Post by: Cunny Funt on May 19, 2019, 09:01:16 PM
Sligo clearly came with plan and a big focus to not ship another 20+ beating v Galway but 21 goals conceded this year alone still shows where their problems remain.

Wasn't FOC first choice before injury? 2011 and 2013 U21 All Ireland winner and use to playing alone side Flynn is a decent player to bring in. Danny Cummins good form from NFL seems to have left him with no score v London,Sligo.

Post by: galwayman on May 19, 2019, 09:16:45 PM
Quote from: Cunny Funt on May 19, 2019, 09:01:16 PM
Sligo clearly came with plan and a big focus to not ship another 20+ beating v Galway but 21 goals conceded this year alone still shows where their problems remain.

Wasn't FOC first choice before injury? 2011 and 2013 U21 All Ireland winner and use to playing alone side Flynn is a decent player to bring in. Danny Cummins good form from NFL seems to have left him with no score v London,Sligo.
Cummins and O'Laoi were both anonymous today.
Danny also had an absolute nightmare against London.
The team is missing Comer hugely.
Liam Silke outstanding today.
Post by: Manning18 on May 19, 2019, 09:54:28 PM

There are 4 teams to support in Galway, including a top class hurling team, rather than just one. How's the support been for the Mayo hurlers recently? Or ladies?

There also tends to be rather more to do in Galway City in the summertime than other spots nearby
Post by: moysider on May 19, 2019, 10:01:07 PM
Quote from: From the Bunker on May 19, 2019, 07:50:53 PM

They have more sense! Most are saving their money for this Saturday. Going to watch their team hammer an underfunded county like Sligo holds no attraction anymore. Things are not like they were in 1996 anymore!

Sure football and sense have nothing to do with each other. Anyway it is not a recent thing. I remember in Marky Park for a Galway Sligo game back when Bosco was manager and if there was 1000 Galway fans there it was tops. Damn there was probably more Mayo people there for the gawk - like me.
Post by: larryin89 on May 19, 2019, 10:09:00 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 19, 2019, 09:54:28 PM

There are 4 teams to support in Galway, including a top class hurling team, rather than just one. How's the support been for the Mayo hurlers recently? Or ladies?

There also tends to be rather more to do in Galway City in the summertime than other spots nearby

Lol
Post by: Over the Bar on May 19, 2019, 11:08:14 PM
Quote from: Manning18 on May 19, 2019, 09:54:28 PM

Or they'd rather spend the tenner on Netflix? ;D
Post by: Duine Eile on May 19, 2019, 11:29:19 PM
Got the job done without being too impressive, Power had a great game I thought, I think maybe 2 of his kick outs went astray, didn't have too many attempts on goal to deal with but thought his distribution was excellent. Liam Silke was fantastic, Tom Flynn was a close second for man of the match I think. Our forward play is very hit and miss, think Cummins and Ó Laoi played themselves off the team today, Martin Farragher scored more than both of them in the space of 5 minutes when he came on. That full forward line are too similar and need someone like Farragher or Comer etc to play off. Plenty to work on before a Connacht final. Poor Molloy, you'd have to feel sorry for him, just when he finally gets his chance to start he ends up off injured, hopefully it's not as bad as first thought but it didn't look good.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2019, 12:03:09 AM
Quote from: Duine Eile on May 19, 2019, 11:29:19 PM
Got the job done without being too impressive, Power had a great game I thought, I think maybe 2 of his kick outs went astray, didn't have too many attempts on goal to deal with but thought his distribution was excellent. Liam Silke was fantastic, Tom Flynn was a close second for man of the match I think. Our forward play is very hit and miss, think Cummins and Ó Laoi played themselves off the team today, Martin Farragher scored more than both of them in the space of 5 minutes when he came on. That full forward line are too similar and need someone like Farragher or Comer etc to play off. Plenty to work on before a Connacht final. Poor Molloy, you'd have to feel sorry for him, just when he finally gets his chance to start he ends up off injured, hopefully it's not as bad as first thought but it didn't look good.

Fella on Hogan Stand (pinch of salt needed) said Molloy popped out the shoulder but it got put back in and he's planning on training on Tuesday. Hopefully true.
Post by: Duine Eile on May 20, 2019, 12:08:58 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2019, 12:03:09 AM

Fella on Hogan Stand (pinch of salt needed) said Molloy popped out the shoulder but it got put back in and he's planning on training on Tuesday. Hopefully true.

Hopefully he's right! Wouldn't surprise me though, Molloy is as tough and as highly motivated as they come.
Post by: moysider on May 20, 2019, 12:09:57 AM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on May 20, 2019, 12:03:09 AM

Dislocations don't work like that. He'll struggle to lift a cuppa coffee tomorrow morning.
Wish him well with his recovery. He's a breath of fresh air to watch and came across really well in an interview I heard a few weeks ago on radio.
Post by: cornetto on May 20, 2019, 08:31:09 AM
It's a sad indictment of the sligo/galway game when they didnt even analyse it on the Sunday game.one thing that did stand out at me was when Johnny heaney scored his goal Danny cummins barely looked at him as he celebrated,I'm not being negative but there have been rumblings of disquiet in the camp over player favouritism.i just hope all these things are put to bed as they prepare for another connacht final.
Post by: magpie seanie on May 20, 2019, 10:08:12 AM
Quote from: cornetto on May 20, 2019, 08:31:09 AM
It's a sad indictment of the sligo/galway game when they didnt even analyse it on the Sunday game.one thing that did stand out at me was when Johnny heaney scored his goal Danny cummins barely looked at him as he celebrated,I'm not being negative but there have been rumblings of disquiet in the camp over player favouritism.i just hope all these things are put to bed as they prepare for another connacht final.

Last week Rocommon v Leitrim got a lot more coverage and analysis. I thought it was very disrespectful but typical of RTE though I'd imagine if there was "analysis" it might have been worse.
Post by: westbound on May 20, 2019, 10:12:08 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on May 20, 2019, 10:08:12 AM

Last week Rocommon v Leitrim got a lot more coverage and analysis. I thought it was very disrespectful but typical of RTE though I'd imagine if there was "analysis" it might have been worse.

I don't know what analysis you saw of Ros V leitrim last week, but all i saw was joe brolly going off on a rant about 3 tiers!
Post by: Owenmoresider on May 20, 2019, 10:19:20 AM
It's a sad indictment of the sligo/galway game when they didnt even analyse it on the Sunday game.
Sure Connacht Championship games (bar Mayo/Galway) are only to be used as fodder to push the tiered championship agenda by the "analysts" now, who needs a bit of analysis as to what Galway or ourselves did right/wrong. Bad enough that but I see the match programme is being used for the same agenda now too.

As regards the game, the margin did flatter Galway a bit but they were always winning it regardless, and probably had plenty more in them if they were being pushed hard enough to win, the two goals finished any real prospect of that off. Considering how badly the league went and especially how wide open we were defensively in it they coped relatively well bar the 2-3 minutes that did the damage. Were far too limited in any attacking threat in the first half when we had the wind though, usually only one man inside (who was being pulled and dragged constantly by Ó Ceallaigh, and Kerin was no better) and there were times when lads were crossing the 45 with the ball and nobody was inside to get a pass. Had to keep things tight obviously but it was like Mayo two years ago, playing not to lose heavily more than anything. Will have to see who we get in the qualifiers but I'd doubt there'll be a third game in it for us this year.
Post by: cornetto on May 23, 2019, 09:04:41 AM
Glowing report for mayo in today's indo, keep it up please, yes I think roscommon will give them a good game and pack bodies into their defence,midfield is where I think mayo may have the advantage unless Ross have come up with a good kickout plan.one part of me wants mayo to run out easy winners without their deficiencies been shown up,another wants it to be so close that numerous cracks appear in the league champions,so many in fact that there wont be time to remedy them all😁
Unfortunately we in galway dont know how good or bad we are, with the games we have had and by the time we do, it may be too late😞
Post by: cornetto on May 26, 2019, 11:51:23 AM
Well its onto the final,Ross must be favourites after that performance,14 men for 7 minutes and eek out a win its performances like that that makes or breaks a team.it reminded me of when galway beat mayo for the first time in years was it 4 years ago?it was like winning a connacht final.
As for the final itself,
I expect the rossies to target kerin as a weak link in our backline,cregg to maybe push up on Sean Andy for a few high balls,silke is the only one I would have faith in on that backline.
We are going to have to push up on the Ross kickout,force to kick long think we are stronger here,mayos new great hope ruane was made look very ordinary which he is.rossies defence is dogged feck all room for fancy Dan stuff,donie Smith will also start a huge plus and murtagh so nothing handy at all in this game,I was actually hoping mayo would win as I would have been more confident of beating them,how times have changed!😁
Post by: Blowitupref on May 26, 2019, 02:06:58 PM
Quote from: cornetto on May 26, 2019, 11:51:23 AM
Well its onto the final,Ross must be favourites after that performance,14 men for 7 minutes and eek out a win its performances like that that makes or breaks a team.it reminded me of when galway beat mayo for the first time in years was it 4 years ago?it was like winning a connacht final.
As for the final itself,
I expect the rossies to target kerin as a weak link in our backline,cregg to maybe push up on Sean Andy for a few high balls,silke is the only one I would have faith in on that backline.
We are going to have to push up on the Ross kickout,force to kick long think we are stronger here,mayos new great hope ruane was made look very ordinary which he is.rossies defence is dogged feck all room for fancy Dan stuff,donie Smith will also start a huge plus and murtagh so nothing handy at all in this game,I was actually hoping mayo would win as I would have been more confident of beating them,how times have changed!😁

Far from it as expected. Galway the defending champs playing at home and have already beaten Roscommon by a bit to spare this year.  Galway 4/9 Roscommon 9/4 however i don't think the rossies will mind the underdog tag again though.
Post by: giveballaghback on May 27, 2019, 10:39:52 PM
Quote from: cornetto on May 23, 2019, 09:04:41 AM
Glowing report for mayo in today's indo, keep it up please, yes I think roscommon will give them a good game and pack bodies into their defence,midfield is where I think mayo may have the advantage unless Ross have come up with a good kickout plan.one part of me wants mayo to run out easy winners without their deficiencies been shown up,another wants it to be so close that numerous cracks appear in the league champions,so many in fact that there wont be time to remedy them all😁
Unfortunately we in galway dont know how good or bad we are, with the games we have had and by the time we do, it may be too late😞
You forgot about the third option a Rossie win.
Post by: Farrandeelin on May 27, 2019, 11:06:12 PM
Quote from: giveballaghback on May 27, 2019, 10:39:52 PM
Quote from: cornetto on May 23, 2019, 09:04:41 AM
You forgot about the third option a Rossie win.

Only two options from now on. Ros or Galway.