Dogs

Started by pearses, October 25, 2007, 05:21:38 PM

Dont give a f**k lads, no matter how well a dog is trained and socialises with the family, they could have an off day like me or you can and lash out, 
they would make light work of an adult never mind a child,

You think a beagle on an "off day" wouldn't make light work of a child?
Most dogs would.

No harm me old china but I don't think you are a dog person or really want the responsibility of having one. All dogs are only as good as their masters. Get a cat and watch out I'm not driving through the Nab someday with an air rifle out the window ;)

Cold tea

Quote from: The Iceman on November 20, 2012, 02:20:04 PM
Most dogs would.

No harm me old china but I don't think you are a dog person or really want the responsibility of having one. All dogs are only as good as their masters. Get a cat and watch out I'm not driving through the Nab someday with an air rifle out the window ;)

Bullshit they are animals and can turn in a heartbeat.

I disagree. I believe given the right training, care and attention they will not turn in a heartbeat on its owner or the immediate family/pack.
It would maybe turn on someone it perceived to be threatening the family...but thats a completely different scenario..

Cold tea

Quote from: The Iceman on November 20, 2012, 03:08:16 PM
I disagree. I believe given the right training, care and attention they will not turn in a heartbeat on its owner or the immediate family/pack.
It would maybe turn on someone it perceived to be threatening the family...but thats a completely different scenario..

You believe!!!  Get a grip man they are animals, dangerous animals and should be nowhere near children or toddlers.  Would your belief get you through the days if God forbid something happened to a loved one because your belief turned out to be horseshit!

Quote from: The Iceman on November 20, 2012, 02:20:04 PM
Most dogs would.

No harm me old china, but I grew up with dogs round the house so know all about the responsibility of looking after and caring for them. there would be some difference in getting a beagle, Labrador, springer etc. off a child than a Doberman or Rottweiler.

Quote from: Cold tea on November 20, 2012, 03:19:19 PM

You believe!!!  Get a grip man they are animals, dangerous animals and should be nowhere near children or toddlers.  Would your belief get you through the days if God forbid something happened to a loved one because your belief turned out to be horseshit!

They are dogs, like any other dog. Stop going over the top. I have experience with the breeds and I have no problems having them around my kids. My faith in God has got nothing to do with the topic. I have faith in myself and my own ability to train a dog that it wouldn't harm my family. If you live your life fearful like that of animals then good luck to you.

Doesn't matter what dog you have and what size it is you'll always have to supervise it when it's around childer. I'd advise a Labrador.

So you wouldn't be going for a Rottweiler, Doberman, or bulldog?

Hold on, we're pulling Bulldogs into it now?

Quote from: Onion Bag on November 20, 2012, 09:02:21 PM
So you wouldn't be going for a Rottweiler, Doberman, or bulldog?
it doesn't matter what dog you get, whatever way you train it/treat it will influence its behaviour. That said some dogs are bred because of certain traits and there is always a chance that these traits may come out. But if you treat a rottweiler like a big jessie and not as a guard dog then it will get on like a big jessie.

labs have a brilliant temperament and would make a good dog for children to grow up with IMO.

I really enjoy the working breeds, especially the ones I have listed.I think they have the smarts, they are very trainable and because the breed itself (especially the Dobe) is so young, its much easier to get good pedigrees with good lines and less sickness or hereditary traits.
I have a good friend who trains and breeds Lab's as gun dogs. He sells his pups for over 2 grand a piece. He has a good line and has worked hard for it. Many of the domestic pet Lab lines have bad hips and elbows, Some have bad eyes. There has been a weakening and diluting of the breed over the years that the Labs you see walking around the Mall are a far cry from the breed standard because of these puppy farms, back yard breeders and idiots breeding good pedigrees to bad ones. (rant over :) )

Onion bag a good Irish Fox Terrier might be an option for you, hardy enough to be outside, protective, good with kids and very smart. Also low maintenance.
For something a bit bigger I would really consider a Boxer bitch. Much smaller, very playful but still protective of the family and very trainable. though they like the home comforts too and could be easily spoiled. also need much more exercise.

Cold tea

Quote from: The Iceman on November 20, 2012, 07:05:01 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on November 20, 2012, 03:19:19 PM

They are dogs, like any other dog. Stop going over the top. I have experience with the breeds and I have no problems having them around my kids. My faith in God has got nothing to do with the topic. I have faith in myself and my own ability to train a dog that it wouldn't harm my family. If you live your life fearful like that of animals then good luck to you.

Firstly I never mentioned your belief in God.  As for your faith in your ability to train a dog, fair play to you, I have had dogs all my life albeit small dogs and even they have the capability of turning when then feel provoked or threatened.  Large dogs should not be allowed in the family home and no dog should be allowed to be left alone with any child or toddler, why would you take the risk - they are animals capable of turning at any time.

bridgegael

See a young boy in england was mauled to death yesterday by the family dog. 
"2009 Gaaboard Cheltenham fantasy league winner"

Cold tea

Quote from: bridgegael on November 21, 2012, 08:03:40 AM
See a young boy in england was mauled to death yesterday by the family dog.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-shropshire-20422725

Absolutely heart-breaking, no doubt according to some on here the dog wasn't properly trained; such horseshit makes my blood boil.