County Manager Merry go round

Started by Rossfan, August 11, 2015, 02:39:34 PM

Brick Tamlin

Quote from: seafoid on August 24, 2023, 12:28:34 AM
Cavan looks like a very strong ticket. Danny Hughes was also in the race apparently. He's quite good as well.

Based on what exactly?

Quote from: seafoid on August 24, 2023, 06:19:17 AM
Quote from: Itchy on August 23, 2023, 09:26:37 PM
Quote from: seafoid on August 23, 2023, 05:14:20 PM
Quote from: mrdeeds on August 23, 2023, 04:54:43 PM
Looks like Raymond Galligan Cavan manager. Stephen O Neill part of backroom team.
Cavan should benefit from the fresh start.

What do you mean by that?
You would expect a lot of positive energy from that management team with the blend of experience and insight. Cavan should secure progress in the League. I think it looks very positive for Cavan.

If he can get the older lads to hang around then maybe. There is not much coming through the underage I am afraid so if older lads go in numbers Ray will be up against it. I like the look of his backroom team and I hope it compensates for his lack of coaching experience.

Quote from: The Trap on August 24, 2023, 02:46:51 AM
50k to cover
Manager
Coach
Physio
S&C
Nutritionist
Mri scans
An operation or 2 a year

Look round most clubs next time you play a match and see how many people are on the sideline.......even some junior clubs would surprise you.

Most senior clubs with any ambition are spending way more than that.

Any club spending that need their heads read  :-[

Quote from: Brick Tamlin on August 24, 2023, 09:26:38 AM
Quote from: seafoid on August 24, 2023, 12:28:34 AM
Cavan looks like a very strong ticket. Danny Hughes was also in the race apparently. He's quite good as well.

Based on what exactly?
I think he is a good analyst and reads the game well.

skeog

Easy reading the game in a paper column

Did he not win the Down IFC with Saval? (As manager)

Sonny Joe

Quote from: NAG1 on August 24, 2023, 12:40:01 PM
50k to cover
Manager
Coach
Physio
S&C
Nutritionist
Mri scans
An operation or 2 a year

Look round most clubs next time you play a match and see how many people are on the sideline.......even some junior clubs would surprise you.

clearly someone who has no idea of the level needed to create the environment needed for success. Our club alone spent 21K on physico and ops last year. Admittedly two of the ops were unfortunate and not typical of a normal season. Still that figure is about spot on for any top senior club with aspirations. With an inside manager doing it for nothing, your still on the money mark
If winning isn't everything, why do they keep score?

How many clubs per county would pay > 30k? 4? Or are all companies hypercompetitive?

Sonny Joe

There aren't that many clubs in any county able to win the championship, two, three and at a max four in most counties in any one or two seasons? Tyrone would be the most competitive, even there you wouldn't go by Errigal, Carrickmore, Dromore and Dungannon.

50k to cover
Manager
Coach
Physio
S&C
Nutritionist
Mri scans
An operation or 2 a year

Football is a simple game spoiled by idiots and bluffers. If you are paying that sort of money you are in the idiot camp I'm afraid.

Quote from: Sonny Joe on August 24, 2023, 01:48:17 PM
50k to cover
Manager
Coach
Physio
S&C
Nutritionist
Mri scans
An operation or 2 a year

clearly someone who has no idea of the level needed to create the environment needed for success. Our club alone spent 21K on physico and ops last year. Admittedly two of the ops were unfortunate and not typical of a normal season. Still that figure is about spot on for any top senior club with aspirations. With an inside manager doing it for nothing, your still on the money mark

How much of the 21k were operations as they would be surely claimed back on your insurance. Are ye one of these clubs that every player,  including the 5 stone overweight "bomber" who wears No 30 and never gets on, has to get a rub before every match by a physio??

Sonny Joe

You get a max of about 5,000 from insurance unfortunately these two were considerably more, both abroad, with flights hotels etc. Players pay 40% of the cost of a physio visit. Ignorance is no excuse sir, a rub would be done by a masseur not a physico, that would be to expensive. Masseur only available for championship

The Trap

By the looks of things yous are about to find out how much it is to run a team Itchy.......a team with no chance of winning anything major!

Quote from: The Trap on August 24, 2023, 03:45:59 PM
By the looks of things yous are about to find out how much it is to run a team Itchy.......a team with no chance of winning anything major!

That is a county team which is different than what was written above which was for a club team. County team costs are available in Cavan in our annual accounts.

Quote from: Sonny Joe on August 24, 2023, 03:37:41 PM
You get a max of about 5,000 from insurance unfortunately these two were considerably more, both abroad, with flights hotels etc. Players pay 40% of the cost of a physio visit. Ignorance is no excuse sir, a rub would be done by a masseur not a physico, that would be to expensive. Masseur only available for championship

Physios giving lads rubs up and down the country lad. Most clubs pay insurance and advise fellas to get their own insurance. Your club is being very generous to cover 2 operations over 5k. Assuming each is 5k more you are down to 10k for physios. So your cost of 21k is blown out of proportion by 2 "one off" type injuries that your club chose to cover the expenses off. 10k for physio is high enough but not totally crazy.