GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 09:42:33 AM

Title: Laochra Gael
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 09:42:33 AM
Have to say, the new series looks brilliant.
Preview here.

https://twitter.com/Laochra_Gael/status/963705523152470016 (https://twitter.com/Laochra_Gael/status/963705523152470016)
Title: Re: Laochra Gael
Post by: BennyCake on February 14, 2018, 10:33:39 AM
The program on Alex Ferguson looks good.
Post by: longballin on February 14, 2018, 10:47:19 AM
Mickey Harte in a church  ::) no doubt talking about forgiveness and RTE
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2018, 10:47:59 AM
Quote from: longballin on February 14, 2018, 10:47:19 AM

Possibly talking about Michaela.
Post by: longballin on February 14, 2018, 10:51:45 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 14, 2018, 10:47:59 AM
Quote from: longballin on February 14, 2018, 10:47:19 AM

Possibly talking about Michaela.

which was a terrible tragedy, he has also spoke at churches about forgiveness.
Post by: Aristo 60 on February 14, 2018, 10:52:13 AM
What's the bit with the woman putting the cat in the wheelie bin?! I've no sound.
Post by: seafoid on February 14, 2018, 10:52:42 AM
It's interesting that TG4 came up with the idea. Suil eile.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 14, 2018, 10:54:35 AM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on February 14, 2018, 10:52:13 AM
What's the bit with the woman putting the cat in the wheelie bin?! I've no sound.

Back around 2010, there was a video from the UK that went viral of that auld hag putting the cat into the bin. Animal cruelty basically. But because Tipp were playing Kilkenny, it became a sort of metaphor for what they hoped to do to the Cats 5 in a row. There were loads of signs depicting a Tipp person putting a black and amber cat into a bin, with phrases about stopping the 5 in a row.
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 11:32:29 AM
Quote from: Aristo 60 on February 14, 2018, 10:52:13 AM

Lar Corbett's Mam threw Henry Shefflin's cat into a wheelie bin.
Post by: Minder on February 14, 2018, 12:54:30 PM
Why do we have to have a token ladies footballer/camogie player ?
Post by: longballin on February 14, 2018, 01:29:23 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 14, 2018, 12:54:30 PM

why not?
Post by: Minder on February 14, 2018, 01:37:09 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 14, 2018, 01:29:23 PM

why not?

Can't imagine there is much interest
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 02:04:41 PM
I'm interested.
Post by: longballin on February 14, 2018, 02:05:07 PM
so am I
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 02:07:54 PM
I've reported Minder for sexism.
Zero tolerance.
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2018, 02:55:53 PM
Quote from: Minder on February 14, 2018, 01:37:09 PM
Quote from: longballin on February 14, 2018, 01:29:23 PM

why not?

Can't imagine there is much interest

From who?
Post by: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 03:03:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 02:07:54 PM
Zero tolerance.

I don't think that it was his intention. I'd agree to an extent.
Post by: BennyCake on February 14, 2018, 03:05:01 PM

They only get their own show if they're good looking.
Post by: seafoid on February 14, 2018, 03:06:36 PM
TG4 should do a laochra Gael on Jackie Fullerton in return for an Irish Language act.
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 03:38:35 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 03:03:45 PM
Zero tolerance.

I've reported you as well.
Post by: BennyCake on February 14, 2018, 03:48:59 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 14, 2018, 03:06:36 PM
TG4 should do a laochra Gael on Jackie Fullerton in return for an Irish Language act.

You mean jackies not had one yet???
Post by: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 03:52:45 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 03:38:35 PM
Zero tolerance.

Ah here, I haven't even explained it yet.
I just believe that there's many more people more deserving of it, be they male or female.
Post by: Aristo 60 on February 14, 2018, 04:17:00 PM
Cheers AZ
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 08:51:03 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 03:52:45 PM
Zero tolerance.

I just believe that there's many more people more deserving of it, be they male or female.

You and the other fella clearly haven't a clue. Aisling Thompson is a warrior and a true inspiration. If you guys don't know that it is your loss. Pathetic stuff, ye should be ashamed of yourselves. 
Post by: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 09:04:44 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 08:51:03 PM
Zero tolerance.

You and the other fella clearly haven't a clue. Aisling Thompson is a warrior and a true inspiration. If you guys don't know that it is your loss. Pathetic stuff, ye should be ashamed of yourselves.

Did I say she wasn't.
All I'm saying is that I believe that there are others far more worthy of a commissioned Laochra Gael than her, both male and female.

I'd like to clarify that I didn't mean to agree with him fully, I just felt that she was just picked for it ahead of others due to her retirement being more recently than others, as well as being on SportsJoe's live Facebook show.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 09:22:53 PM
I don't think she has retired.
Post by: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 09:30:34 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 09:22:53 PM
Maybe not, it was not my intention to come across as sexist.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 09:39:57 PM
Quote from: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 09:30:34 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on February 14, 2018, 09:22:53 PM
Maybe not, it was not my intention to come across as sexist.

Fair enough......kind of agreeing with the previous poster didn't help your case but thanks for clarifying.
Post by: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 09:43:21 PM
Starts Wednesday the 28th, lads.
Lar is up first, followed by Graham Geraghty the week after.
Each edition is an hour long now as well.
Post by: trileacman on February 15, 2018, 02:14:47 AM
Quote from: LooseCannon on February 14, 2018, 09:04:44 PM
Zero tolerance.

Did I say she wasn't.
All I'm saying is that I believe that there are others far more worthy of a commissioned Laochra Gael than her, both male and female.

I'd like to clarify that I didn't mean to agree with him fully, I just felt that she was just picked for it ahead of others due to her retirement being more recently than others, as well as being on SportsJoe's live Facebook show.

Jesus Christ man have some balls at least.
Post by: trileacman on February 15, 2018, 02:22:17 AM
Zero tolerance.

We should be ashamed of ourselves because we don't know who the f**k Aisling Thompson is? I'd say 95% of the country hasn't a f**king clue who she is. Another bull shit peddler you are, quick run and find a black, transgender, Syrian refugee that they can make a loachra Gael about. There's obviously a white Christian chauvinist hegemony keeling all these loachra gaels Down. 
Post by: Syferus on February 15, 2018, 03:14:52 AM
Quote from: trileacman on February 15, 2018, 02:22:17 AM
Zero tolerance.

We should be ashamed of ourselves because we don't know who the f**k Aisling Thompson is? I'd say 95% of the country hasn't a f**king clue who she is. Another bull shit peddler you are, quick run and find a black, transgender, Syrian refugee that they can make a loachra Gael about. There's obviously a white Christian chauvinist hegemony keeling all these loachra gaels Down.

Embarrassing.
Post by: Jinxy on February 15, 2018, 09:25:10 AM
Zero tolerance.

Let it all out.  ;D
All that's missing is a reference to 'snowflakes'.

p.s. I've reported you.
Post by: Keyser soze on February 15, 2018, 11:14:50 AM
Who is Aisling Thompson, I've never heard of her.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 15, 2018, 11:18:39 AM
Quote from: Keyser soze on February 15, 2018, 11:14:50 AM

Cork camogie player, fairly tough stages in her life, couple of All Irelands. A very interesting story no doubt.

Has there been a Laochra Gael on Angela or Ann Downey, or Liz Howard? Or even Fiona O'Driscoll. I'd have thought they were much more deserving of Laochra Gael status, but Aisling's story is probably more intriguing.
Post by: westbound on February 15, 2018, 11:36:03 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 15, 2018, 11:18:39 AM

Cork camogie player, fairly tough stages in her life, couple of All Irelands. A very interesting story no doubt.

Has there been a Laochra Gael on Angela or Ann Downey, or Liz Howard? Or even Fiona O'Driscoll. I'd have thought they were much more deserving of Laochra Gael status, but Aisling's story is probably more intriguing.

The Downey's were featured a few years ago. Don't think Liz Howard was, but I could be mistaken.
Post by: GalwayBayBoy on February 15, 2018, 12:32:27 PM
I only find the Aisling Thompson one odd in that she's still an active player as far as I know. Surely they could have waited until she's retired at least.

Looks like LG are going for less episodes (only 5 this season) but have doubled the length of the show. Will probably suit some players. Others not so much.
Post by: Jinxy on February 15, 2018, 01:05:36 PM
I just know Lar's edition is going to be comedy gold.
He's so earnest about everything.
I remember the documentary they did about him a few years ago where he was describing the laundry system his Mam has for washing his gear.  :)
Post by: LooseCannon on February 15, 2018, 01:10:11 PM

That was something to the effect as to what I was trying to say.
Post by: tonto1888 on February 15, 2018, 02:38:30 PM

what is the criteria for having one done?
Post by: magpie seanie on February 15, 2018, 02:45:38 PM
Zero tolerance.

You know you should delete that. You've made a fool of yourself.
Post by: magpie seanie on February 15, 2018, 02:58:31 PM
Quote from: tonto1888 on February 15, 2018, 02:38:30 PM

what is the criteria for having one done?

TG4 decide to do a programme on you? It's not a lifetime achievement award......it's a decision by a television programme to commission a programme on your life and moreso your gaelic games career. I suppose you should be a "Laoch"....Ashling Thompson fits the criteria, have no doubt. She's definitely one of the most recognisable camogie players of recent times (along with some of her teammates) and her own personal story is inspiring.

Re: AZ's question above there was one done about Angela and Ann Downey in 2004. That's the only other one to feature camogie players. From ladies football we've had Juliet Murphy, Cora Staunton, Niamh Kindlon, Annette Clarke and Cliodhna O'Connor. Out of 130 episodes. Obviously that's too many for some of our Neanderthal friends.

Perhaps people should contact TG4 with their ideas for "more deserving" candidates?
Post by: johnneycool on February 15, 2018, 03:09:53 PM
Quote from: GalwayBayBoy on February 15, 2018, 12:32:27 PM
I only find the Aisling Thompson one odd in that she's still an active player as far as I know. Surely they could have waited until she's retired at least.

Looks like LG are going for less episodes (only 5 this season) but have doubled the length of the show. Will probably suit some players. Others not so much.

Aisling has a bag full of AI medals and seemingly a far from normal path through life to date, so no wonder TG4 wanted to do a show on a GAA star with a different story to tell.
Post by: GetOverTheBar on February 15, 2018, 03:16:46 PM

Give her a google, powerful stuff and promises to be a great story.
Post by: Keyser soze on February 15, 2018, 04:17:53 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on February 15, 2018, 03:16:46 PM

Might just do that thanks.

[in case Jinxy reports me  ;)  ]
Post by: Keyser soze on February 15, 2018, 04:20:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 15, 2018, 01:05:36 PM
I remember the documentary they did about him a few years ago where he was describing the laundry system his Mam has for washing his gear.  :)

Maybe you should report Lar too for stereotypically expecting his Mam to wash his gear!!
Post by: Avondhu star on February 15, 2018, 07:04:56 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on February 15, 2018, 04:20:32 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 15, 2018, 01:05:36 PM

Maybe you should report Lar too for stereotypically expecting his Mam to wash his gear!!

Check out the Vodka in his pub first!
Post by: Sandy Hill on February 15, 2018, 10:27:52 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on February 14, 2018, 02:04:41 PM
I'm interested.

I rather look at her than look at Micky Harte ffs.
Post by: Keyser soze on March 01, 2018, 02:02:08 PM
Really enjoyed the show featuring Lar Corbett last night....quite an intense young man lol 
Post by: longballin on March 01, 2018, 02:08:16 PM
Quote from: Keyser soze on March 01, 2018, 02:02:08 PM
Really enjoyed the show featuring Lar Corbett last night....quite an intense young man lol

Read his autobiography, quite a character!
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2018, 02:56:59 PM
Meant to watch that one but missed it. Hope it is rerun soon or on the web.
Post by: Minder on March 01, 2018, 03:14:05 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on March 01, 2018, 02:56:59 PM
Meant to watch that one but missed it. Hope it is rerun soon or on the web.

Tomorrow @ 11.25pm tommy
Post by: imtommygunn on March 01, 2018, 05:40:29 PM
Cheers minder
Post by: kopite on March 01, 2018, 06:21:29 PM
On the TG4 player anyway..
Post by: Jinxy on March 01, 2018, 06:21:56 PM
"I only need 6 lads to lift the coffin".
Never a truer word said.
Post by: orangeman on March 01, 2018, 11:53:54 PM

He had great time for Bab.

That time he ran after Tommy round Croke Park was some crack. Some tactics.
Post by: mouview on March 02, 2018, 12:26:32 AM
Quote from: longballin on March 01, 2018, 02:08:16 PM

Read his autobiography, quite a character!

Not the sharpest tool in the box by all accounts.
Post by: imtommygunn on March 04, 2018, 03:17:27 PM
Babs mightn't have enjoyed watching that. Good show. Deep guy. Only briefly touched on his dyslexia.
Post by: Jinxy on March 06, 2018, 05:26:32 PM
Graham Geraghty tomorrow night.
Who can forget his stand out performance in the cult classic martial arts thriller, 'Fatal Deviation'.

https://twitter.com/Laochra_Gael/status/971022804291280901 (https://twitter.com/Laochra_Gael/status/971022804291280901)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLTgTpstrd0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLTgTpstrd0)
Post by: greatpoint on March 09, 2018, 07:29:30 PM
Quote from: Jinxy on March 06, 2018, 05:26:32 PM
Graham Geraghty tomorrow night.
Who can forget his stand out performance in the cult classic martial arts thriller, 'Fatal Deviation'.

https://twitter.com/Laochra_Gael/status/971022804291280901 (https://twitter.com/Laochra_Gael/status/971022804291280901)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLTgTpstrd0 (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XLTgTpstrd0)

Decent episode, you'd think they would have gotten Kevin Sheedy's name right though.
Post by: Kurtz on March 12, 2018, 08:37:16 AM

sick of hearing about her
swear no one else had tough life
Post by: magpie seanie on March 12, 2018, 09:26:14 AM
Quote from: Kurtz on March 12, 2018, 08:37:16 AM

Obviously missing the point. By talking about her issues she can hopefully help others (probably an alien concept to yourself judging by your post). I think there's plenty of evidence to show she and many others have helped others by telling their stories. If it bores you then that's unfortunate but I still think it's a price worth paying. Just be grateful you don't suffer in this way.
Post by: Taylor on March 12, 2018, 10:07:08 AM

Is she the camogie player from cork?
What happened her??
Post by: magpie seanie on March 12, 2018, 10:41:26 AM
Quote from: Taylor on March 12, 2018, 10:07:08 AM

What happened her??

https://www.google.ie/ (https://www.google.ie/)
Post by: Taylor on March 12, 2018, 10:45:26 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 12, 2018, 10:41:26 AM

What happened her??

https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=tosser
Post by: magpie seanie on March 12, 2018, 11:03:50 AM
Quote from: Taylor on March 12, 2018, 10:45:26 AM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 12, 2018, 10:41:26 AM

What happened her??

https://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=t**ser

Ah - personal abuse. How original and intelligent.
Post by: Avondhu star on March 17, 2018, 04:20:58 PM

Have you a remote control that you can use to change channels?
Post by: longballin on March 17, 2018, 04:24:56 PM
Quote from: Avondhu star on March 17, 2018, 04:20:58 PM

Have you a remote control that you can use to change channels?

I hope no-one suffering from depression ever turns to you for help  :-\
Post by: imtommygunn on March 21, 2018, 09:41:39 PM
Quote from: GetOverTheBar on February 15, 2018, 03:16:46 PM

Only watched this earlier this evening. One of the better ones i have seen. Interesting story all in all.

She gave joe canning an awful touch for bein no craic.(pretty sure she was only winding) Very funny.
Post by: magpie seanie on April 03, 2018, 03:03:18 PM
Enjoyed Ashling Thompson's one and watched Mickey Harte's one last night. It's a really well done series.
Post by: screenexile on February 01, 2024, 10:03:42 PM
This is class lads Scullion is some man!!
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 01, 2024, 10:07:24 PM
It's not Draperstown it's ballinascreen !!
And it's definitely Derry, not anything else.
Post by: ardtole on February 01, 2024, 10:30:18 PM
Great show usually, but outstanding tonight. I really enjoyed it, what a player Tony was.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 01, 2024, 10:31:46 PM
Have her taped but still grabbed last ten. Legend

First words I heard "Dobson's had a dung spreader" or similar 🤣🤣
Post by: square_ball on February 01, 2024, 10:32:33 PM
No matter where you're from you can't not love Tony Scullion.
Post by: Armagh18 on February 01, 2024, 10:44:08 PM
Great watch. A true legend of the GAA.
Post by: Estimator on February 01, 2024, 10:50:14 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on February 01, 2024, 10:31:46 PMHave her taped but still grabbed last ten. Legend

Was Thomson's, they also had a baler!!
Excellent show. Scullion was superb.
Post by: quit yo jibbajabba on February 01, 2024, 11:02:48 PM
Quote from: Estimator on February 01, 2024, 10:50:14 PM
Quote from: quit yo jibbajabba on February 01, 2024, 10:31:46 PMHave her taped but still grabbed last ten. Legend

Was Thomson's, they also had a baler!!
Excellent show. Scullion was superb.

Cheers Estimator 🤓 looking forward to watching. Yous are lucky to have him
Post by: Targetman on February 01, 2024, 11:51:57 PM
One of the best yet, the expression of joy on his face when telling of him getting picked for the Derry u21's was brilliant, then he didn't want to bother with the new socks in case he'd miss the start of the game, brilliant!
Post by: illdecide on February 02, 2024, 09:13:58 AM
Really enjoyed that, Tony is some man for one man. There's not too many out there who could say they didn't like that man. Great family man and very proud of his roots
Post by: seafoid on February 02, 2024, 09:22:56 AM
Tony Scullion is inspirational.
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 02, 2024, 09:26:29 AM
Quote from: illdecide on February 02, 2024, 09:13:58 AMReally enjoyed that, Tony is some man for one man. There's not too many out there who could say they didn't like that man. Great family man and very proud of his roots

Was thinking exactly that, surely hasn't an enemy in the world.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 02, 2024, 09:31:19 AM
Wasn't for saying London anyway  ;D
Post by: Brendan on February 02, 2024, 11:10:38 AM
Couldn't ask for a better coach in the Ulster GAA to bring our sports to new people
Post by: seafoid on February 02, 2024, 02:00:08 PM
That Derry team had a lot of leaders beyond Henry Downey.
Post by: SaffronSports on February 02, 2024, 02:09:27 PM
Quite a few of that Derry team have had the Laochra Gael treatment now. Johnny McGurk, Joe Brolly and Anthony Tohill definitely had one. McGurk my favourite of them tbh due to having been down the gambling path myself.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 02, 2024, 02:20:25 PM
I didn't realise there was a tohill one.
Post by: dec on February 02, 2024, 02:23:19 PM
Decided to see what was available to those of us overseas. The good news is it seems that the whole series is available.

Also TG4 has apps available overseas as well. I wish RTE would do the same

https://www.tg4.ie/en/information/press/press-releases/2021-2/tg4-launches-new-smart-tv-app/
Post by: seafoid on February 02, 2024, 02:49:13 PM
https://www.tg4.ie/ga/player/seinn/?pid=6345932266112&series=Laochra%20Gael&genre=Faisneis
Post by: SaffronSports on February 02, 2024, 02:59:02 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 02, 2024, 02:20:25 PMI didn't realise there was a tohill one.

Just went on my tg4 app and it's Season 11 episode 2.
Post by: Square Ball on February 02, 2024, 03:00:44 PM
Quote from: screenexile on February 01, 2024, 10:03:42 PMThis is class lads Scullion is some man!!

Absolutely superb. He done an interview during Lock down, went and found it to watch again, well worth it

https://youtu.be/wzYw2TsqKGA?si=4VB1PIs_z0i1SOXM
Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 02, 2024, 04:56:21 PM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 02, 2024, 02:20:25 PMI didn't realise there was a tohill one.

Saw it but i think it was only a half hour episode
Post by: Armagh Girl on February 02, 2024, 07:00:31 PM
Scullion was Superb last night, no airs and graces and coming from nothing.  An Inspiration to all young ones out there.  And to get an All Star during those times too, when GAA players in the North were hassled and bullied by the Brits for their Culture was exceptional too. 
Post by: SHEEDY on February 02, 2024, 07:55:40 PM
Brilliant episode, Tony scullion is some man, great to see the pride he had to pull on the county jersey.
Post by: seafoid on February 03, 2024, 11:29:59 PM
-and the prison work
Post by: tiempo on February 04, 2024, 08:39:13 AM
One of the best episodes of LG, well done Tony
Post by: seafoid on February 04, 2024, 01:42:18 PM
Tony Scullion has a lot of depth. He is not one dimensional like many sports stars. . His story of triumph over adversity, his honesty, his unique talent, his communication skills, his importance to Derry, his humanity , the picture of his family with Sam Maguire, the respect John Joe Doherty and Damien O Donaill  showed for him - he was the perfect subject for Laochra Gael. A real Laoch.
Post by: tbrick18 on February 05, 2024, 02:19:16 PM
Only got around to watching this last night.
A brilliant watch, Tony comes across very well.

It just reminded me of the banners that used to be at Derry games in early 90's, Tony the "Scud" missile, where a Scud was air defence (I think) deployed in Iraq. He was our Air Defence....at least I think I'm remembering that correctly.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on February 08, 2024, 10:52:26 AM
Quote from: tbrick18 on February 05, 2024, 02:19:16 PMOnly got around to watching this last night.
A brilliant watch, Tony comes across very well.

It just reminded me of the banners that used to be at Derry games in early 90's, Tony the "Scud" missile, where a Scud was air defence (I think) deployed in Iraq. He was our Air Defence....at least I think I'm remembering that correctly.

Think Scuds were used in the Falklands war
Post by: AustinPowers on February 08, 2024, 12:29:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 04, 2024, 01:42:18 PMTony Scullion has a lot of depth. He is not one dimensional like many sports stars. . His story of triumph over adversity, his honesty, his unique talent, his communication skills, his importance to Derry, his humanity , the picture of his family with Sam Maguire, the respect John Joe Doherty and Damien O Donaill  showed for him - he was the perfect subject for Laochra Gael. A real Laoch.

I really enjoyed this one.

In recent times , it's become more about  personal tragedies rather than  the persons sporting  career. Tony's passion and honesty  spoke volumes here

The story of his ill neighbour running up and down  the stairs when Tony won an all star , and Tony  taking his award  to him  before going to his own home. That's what it's all about, he says. So true. He didn't  forget the people who  were good to him and helped him on  his way.

Used to love watching him play.  A brave , honest player.
Post by: seafoid on February 08, 2024, 03:33:08 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on February 08, 2024, 12:29:30 PM
Quote from: seafoid on February 04, 2024, 01:42:18 PMTony Scullion has a lot of depth. He is not one dimensional like many sports stars. . His story of triumph over adversity, his honesty, his unique talent, his communication skills, his importance to Derry, his humanity , the picture of his family with Sam Maguire, the respect John Joe Doherty and Damien O Donaill  showed for him - he was the perfect subject for Laochra Gael. A real Laoch.
He certainly is compared to Bono

In recent times , it's become more about  personal tragedies rather than  the persons sporting  career. Tony's passion and honesty  spoke volumes here

The story of his ill neighbour running up and down  the stairs when Tony won an all star , and Tony  taking his award  to him  before going to his own home. That's what it's all about, he says. So true. He didn't  forget the people who  were good to him and helped him on  his way.

Post by: SaffronSports on February 09, 2024, 01:13:39 AM
Another good episode with Lindsay Peat. Competed internationally in rugby, basketball and soccer as well as winning an All Ireland with the Dubs.

Probably the least interesting bit was the GAA story as I remember watching Cliodhna O'Connors episode a few years ago and that kind of covered that same period and the mad run of losses to Cork.
Post by: imtommygunn on February 09, 2024, 08:43:58 AM
It was definitely very interesting and about someone I didn't know very much about but the GAA side of it like you say was probably the least interesting bit. Some achievement taking up rugby at that age and ending up in the world cup.
Post by: johnnycool on February 09, 2024, 09:42:18 AM
Quote from: seafoid on February 08, 2024, 03:33:08 PM
Quote from: AustinPowers on February 08, 2024, 12:29:30 PM
He certainly is compared to Bono

Only got round to watching both the Richie Power and Tony Scullion ones recently and both very open and sincere lads for different reasons.

Tony's driven spirit really comes through and the same with Power in relation to his knee issues, both driving on no matter what.
No creatine or protein shakes for Tony, only praties and butter and he'd still put most gym bunnies on their hole, one hardy buck.

Enjoyable watches.
Post by: fearsiuil on February 09, 2024, 09:43:49 AM
Quote from: imtommygunn on February 09, 2024, 08:43:58 AMIt was definitely very interesting and about someone I didn't know very much about but the GAA side of it like you say was probably the least interesting bit. Some achievement taking up rugby at that age and ending up in the world cup.
Not really when you consider the numbers of adult female rugby players and their necessity on going after players from GAA background amongst other sports.
Post by: Kidder81 on February 16, 2024, 11:15:10 PM
It's still enjoyable but more and more like the X Factor
Post by: johnnycool on February 19, 2024, 09:23:35 AM
Quote from: Kidder81 on February 16, 2024, 11:15:10 PMIt's still enjoyable but more and more like the X Factor

If anything it's the back stories in some of these that make them what they are, real people.

I never liked the ones where they rolled out someone who all it was was "We won this, then we won that. We got bate that year and then we won the year later, and we all lived happily ever after"..

Post by: Hoof Hearted on February 23, 2024, 09:39:12 PM
Just watching last night's now
What a man Alan Kerins was !
To do what he done on the pitch ( an ai winners medal in both club hurling and football and a winners medal in all county football and 2 runners up in all county hurling) pales into insignificance when you see his off pitch stuff
Waoh