Running

Started by ONeill, June 09, 2009, 09:11:04 PM

Quote from: muppet on February 28, 2014, 05:29:40 PM
Quote from: laoislad on February 28, 2014, 10:37:37 AM

Moysider5k sub 20; 10k 42something210193MarAprMayJuneJulyAugSeptOctNovDec
Mayo4Sam                           5k - Sub 19                   173   158   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   
BallinamanSub 2.56.31 mara,PBs in 1/2 and 10KM39500000000000
imtommygunnsub 35 10k2000000000000
LaoisladTo Finish Dublin Marathon133.3150000000000
Bingosub 40m 10km & Sub 1.30 HM11000000000000
Milltownrow2goal sub 20min 5K, 43min 10k                102.21340000000000
Take_yer_points5k - sub 20 / marathon sub 4hrs              115         150         0000000000
Magpie SeanieComplete 10k, then Warriors Run32560000000000
lfdown2                                5k - sub 20 / Half marathon - 1:30          28.43        00000000000
decsub 1:45 Half Mar8000000000000
muppet5k sub 25 mins034.40000000000

Updated
Very poor month for me. Thought I was having a heart attack after one run! so took it easy after that.
Hope to pick it back up in March

Quote from: Mayo4Sam on February 28, 2014, 03:32:20 PM
Dreading tomorrow

Me too but looking forward to it big style also. Have the worst toothache of my life this evening. It was so bad an hour ago I had given up hope of running tomorrow but seems to have settled a bit. Please God its ok through the night and in the morning.

Good luck to those going in Carlingford as well as Bundoran.

Muppet - good work, you're back on the horse.

Moysider5k sub 20; 10k 42something210193MarAprMayJuneJulyAugSeptOctNovDec
Mayo4Sam                           5k - Sub 19                   173   158   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   
BallinamanSub 2.56.31 mara,PBs in 1/2 and 10KM39500000000000
imtommygunnsub 35 10k201030000000000
LaoisladTo Finish Dublin Marathon133.3150000000000
Bingosub 40m 10km & Sub 1.30 HM11000000000000
Milltownrow2goal sub 20min 5K, 43min 10k                102.21340000000000
Take_yer_points5k - sub 20 / marathon sub 4hrs              115         150         0000000000
Magpie SeanieComplete 10k, then Warriors Run32560000000000
lfdown2                                5k - sub 20 / Half marathon - 1:30          28.43        00000000000
decsub 1:45 Half Mar8000000000000
muppet5k sub 25 mins034.40000000000

Updated .

Still only on 3 times a week but getting there!

Good luck to you guys running this weekend. Remember to enjoy it and don't start too fast or you'll not enjoy the second half!!

Longest run today for Paris on 6th April. 16 9 min miles! Wasn't comfortable at all near the end though, it's going to be a struggle. The injury I had with my knee basically put me out for 2 months so I am way behind schedule. Goals of achieving under 4 hours have changed to just finishing the bloody thing. Going to try 18 next week if my knee is ok and then wind down before the big day.

Dubh driocht

Perfect conditions in Carlingford today. Great memories provoked of childhood and family connections in this beautiful part of Ireland. Fair play to volunteers and organisers- lovely course with plenty of hills , wonderful views of the Lough and the Mournes and a mile or so along the beach. Presume that was Rob ( and Dave) Kearney's former school where the Kearney 15 signs were up. Along with two other fifty something GAA veterans we were delighted to break 100 mins- by 90 seconds- but post-run talk of  Belfast, Dublin, Cork and Donegal forthcoming from all sides afterwards a bit premature. Hope that's the end of success for the wee county today- heading back to Pairc Esler in two hours.

Did the runamuck today. It was grand a bit of craic but not really my thing to be honest.
A lot of waiting around waiting for plebs to jump into a muddy river. I mean if you sign up for a runamuck you know you're gonna have to get wet and dirty so just jump the fcuk in and don't be holding everyone up.

CD

Absolutely loved the Cara run today. Definitely one of the most professional events I've participated in and a nice run. Many thanks for the lovely couple around mile 4 (at which point i was buckled with stomach cramps) who allowed me to dash inside their home and use their bathroom in the most literal of sense. I went on to recover and was just 1 minute slower than last year. Brilliant considering I was on the can for three minutes and had two really uncomfortable miles. Finished strong.
Who's a bit of a moaning Michael tonight!

Never made it up to carlingford, wedding yesterday went a bit too well and I was on no state to run this morning. Few of the lads went up and said it was a great day.

Massive run by ballinaman man who third overall in the half. Obscene time of 1.16 or something. Fair play lad.

Serious running!!

Really enjoyed the Cara 10k today. Toothache settled down overnight and was buzzing come race time. Got it done in 58 and change as expected so am happy enough for a first 10k. Suffered a bit towards the end but the thickness took over. Fantastically well run event, huge credit to the organisers.

That's the first goal of the year chalked off. The feeling at the finish was unreal. A bit of satisfaction tonight but will refocus for bigger challenges I now feel are within my capabilities.

Serious running from Ballinaman today, he talked about 1.20 on the way up but that was waaaaay ahead of anything he has talked about. Savage display, sound fella

Great stuff lads, Jim, LL, CD, Dubh driocht and Seanie. Fair play and keep her lit. Nice one Seanie, the first under the belt and there will be plenty more to come when ya getting bitten by the racing bug, makes putting in the training worthwhile.

Cheers lads...and Bingo, not the first time the word obscene has been used in reference to me and probably not the last..haha.

Delighted with the time and pretty shocked too, hard to judge what type of shape you are in until you race, been over 6 months since last 1. Class place for a run, first time up that neck of the woods and it's a beautiful spot. Similar to CD, i needed a slash from about 4 miles onwards! I would have stopped the watch and stopped but was in a battle with a guy and we were chasing down 3rd place lad. 2nd five miles were quicker than the first and the last 3.1`miles were quicker again so finished in good nick.

As nice as it was, yesterday was only a Semi Final type victory, can't pat myself one the back too much and take it too easy now. 7 weeks on Monday is the big one!Took 5 mins 40 seconds off PB which was done in 2012 so that's on goal chalked off this year!

Savage stuff from Mayo4Sam, not only ran a serious time but then proceeded to cycle back to Dublin with a mate. Unreal and sound lad!

I'll have some of what you're having bm ;-) did think you'd be pretty high up there. Great running. Out of interest are you sticking to that running technique course??

Great running everyone else. Great feeling of satisfaction finishing a race and knowing you've done well. Itching to get back to the racing now with all this running but need to get fit!!

Quote from: imtommygunn on March 02, 2014, 10:10:34 AM
I'll have some of what you're having bm ;-) did think you'd be pretty high up there. Great running. Out of interest are you sticking to that running technique course??

Great running everyone else. Great feeling of satisfaction finishing a race and knowing you've done well. Itching to get back to the racing now with all this running but need to get fit!!
I definitely checked myself a few times yesterday to keep the form going well,  made sure to use the arms and not have the torso rotating all over the place wasting energy. The drills to properly use the hamstrings for a better stride pattern helped too! There was a guy in the top 7 or 8 at the start was all over the place with his arms and body so had a feeling he was going to drop off the pace.

We're talking about http://www.kinetic-revolution.com/sixweekprogram/ if anyone is interested. Haven't followed it 100% but some nice nuggets of info that every runner can apply and well worth the few bob in my opinion!

It does make you think. Sometimes other people's form can be deceptive. In a 5  miler last year raced a guy like that thinking i'd chin him but it took me fecking ages to break him and wrecked me too in the end!

Have done the cadence tests and running more with calves. Posture next - definitely something which i hope will help me.

5 minutes 40 seconds is a serious pb!