Mayweather v Mc Gregor

Started by Targetman, June 14, 2017, 11:19:59 PM

The first three rounds gave suspicions that fight was a work. Probably a rematch lined up now but MMA match instead of a boxing one.

punt kick

Build it and they will come.

Quote from: Cunny Funt on August 27, 2017, 08:09:27 AM
The first three rounds gave suspicions that fight was a work. Probably a rematch lined up now but MMA match instead of a boxing one.

No rematch. PBF  even said so. That was his last fight.

So McGregor saved face and got credit for lasting 10 rounds and Mayweather still has his unbeaten record..Its almost like it was supposed to happen like that...

Hectic

Yeah seems it played out exactly how most thought it would. McGregor giving a half decent account of himself it the two rounds he had to win the fight as Mayweather sized him up then the boxer easily won the boxing contest. But sure everyone made a killing so back to the drawing room to come up with the next idea to hype the balls off for everyones cash. Top quality boxing hardly gets a look in these days.

Quote from: Syferus on August 27, 2017, 06:49:04 AM
Again, you're trying to colour what actually happened to suit your own preconceptions rather than judging it with even a vague attempt at impartiality.

The only one trying to do anything remotely resembling this is you.

Really enojoyed the build up and fight.

Ignoring the nonsense from the "world tour press conference", Conor came across really well in the All Access and Embedded preview shows. A super combination of being totally dedicated and hard working, and being a complete messer with great Irish wit (if you are judging his personality, these are the shows you should watch rather than the nonsense world tour stuff).

Some achievement for an Irishman to be involved in one of the biggest fights in history, and the first time him in a professional boxing ring. Amazing to have Ireland and Amhran na BhFiann front and centre. I don't know anything about Imelda May, but she nailed the national anthem! 

Conor showed plenty of skills in the ring. The disappointing thing was his biggest weakness was his engine. Floyd never hurt him, but he was completley gassed. McGregor handled himself really well afterwards too. Gave an excellent interview and was disappointed that the ref didn't let him get knocked down as he admitted was inevitable. But the 8 count would likely have got him to the end of the round. (Correct decision by the ref IMO)

I think Conor showed enough that he gave 100% to boxing, he could well be comparable to a Bernard Dunne, Wayne McCullough, Carl Frampton, Barry McGuigan, Steve Collins. Definitely a world title in him, but also there'd be no chance that he'd be a pound-for-pound contender, never mind be anywhere close to one of the greatest of all time.

But MMA is where he gets the best out of his skills. So well done Conor, did Ireland proud in an albeit futile battle. Now back to the UFC!

Was crap, seen better effort from amateur fights....

But 100 million and an even bigger profile makes McGregor one of the most famous sports men in the world at the minute! So he's a winner, of sorts

GJL

Quote from: Syferus on August 27, 2017, 06:49:04 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on August 27, 2017, 06:40:14 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 27, 2017, 06:28:50 AM
Quote from: thebigfella on August 27, 2017, 06:18:31 AM
Quote from: Syferus on August 27, 2017, 05:55:02 AM
Quote from: NetNitrate on August 27, 2017, 05:52:33 AM
Was painful to watch in the end. Circus over.

Don't let what actually happened ruin your party or anything.

Really entertaining fight. Anyone who follows boxing could tell you that was quite a good fight. McGregor could have been a serious boxer if he had concentrated on it.

Cop the f**k on would you. It was shite.... no contest at all. If it was for an actual belt we would be calling this out as mayweather avoiding a fighter of quality yet again.

It wasn't for a belt, though? Pointless statement.

I've seen a hell of a lot less competive, less entertaining boxing matches then that. In fact nearly every other fight involving Mayweather was less watchable than that.

Ye lads who expected Mayweather to make a fool of McGregor and tried to deride the fight for the last 12 months were sorely disappointed and now you're back-pedalling against stone cold reality. Good luck with that.

No this is the pointless statement "Really entertaining fight. Anyone who follows boxing could tell you that was quite a good fight. ". Anyone who "knows" a bit about boxing could tell you this was no contest. Mayweather never got out of first gear.

The most entertaining part of this was Mayweather admitting he is a member of the RA. So cop the f**k on would you please. We all rubbernecked this farse but let's not get carried away, it was a farse.

Again, you're trying to colour what actually happened to suit your own preconceptions rather than judging it with even a vague attempt at impartiality. I did ask who would own up to being wrong, knowing full well most would just start reversing and making lame excuses to save face.

Mayweather looked quite slow and unsettled at points in the fight, even after the first three rounds. The biggest takeaways from tonight ares that McGregor is better boxer than people gave him credit for, and that Mayweather is 100% done after have as much trouble as he did tonight.

How many beers did you have before the 'fight' ?

Enjoy boxing, know diddly about ufc, but was looking forward to how this played out on the night. Went halves with a friend as I didn't fancy the inevitable stress incurred with finding a decent stream. Tbh was fairly disappointed and there's little point in talking about the class difference, but the biggest disappointment was McGregors famous power. Like many I was hoping he'd rattle Mayweather and have him rocking, but outside the 1 uppercut, there was little else. From the 3rd round he was only throwing 'arm' punches as Froch described them ie no body weight behind them. Mcgregor though equitid himself very well all told and showed his respect for Mayweather straight after. Mayweather has serious fitness levels for a 40 year old.

Fight definitely stopped at the right time as McGregor, for all his bravery and warrior qualities was just unable to defend himself

A world title in him?! Catch yourself on.

Quote from: Hound on August 27, 2017, 09:30:50 AM
Really enojoyed the build up and fight.

Ignoring the nonsense from the "world tour press conference", Conor came across really well in the All Access and Embedded preview shows. A super combination of being totally dedicated and hard working, and being a complete messer with great Irish wit (if you are judging his personality, these are the shows you should watch rather than the nonsense world tour stuff).

Some achievement for an Irishman to be involved in one of the biggest fights in history, and the first time him in a professional boxing ring. Amazing to have Ireland and Amhran na BhFiann front and centre. I don't know anything about Imelda May, but she nailed the national anthem! 

Conor showed plenty of skills in the ring. The disappointing thing was his biggest weakness was his engine. Floyd never hurt him, but he was completley gassed. McGregor handled himself really well afterwards too. Gave an excellent interview and was disappointed that the ref didn't let him get knocked down as he admitted was inevitable. But the 8 count would likely have got him to the end of the round. (Correct decision by the ref IMO)

I think Conor showed enough that he gave 100% to boxing, he could well be comparable to a Bernard Dunne, Wayne McCullough, Carl Frampton, Barry McGuigan, Steve Collins. Definitely a world title in him, but also there'd be no chance that he'd be a pound-for-pound contender, never mind be anywhere close to one of the greatest of all time.

But MMA is where he gets the best out of his skills. So well done Conor, did Ireland proud in an albeit futile battle. Now back to the UFC!

Mc Gregor would lose to any Olympic Irish amateur. It was a joke contest and floyd could have finished it after round 3 any time he wanted to . His fabled power reduced to diddly squat when wearing gloves .

Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 27, 2017, 09:31:27 AM

But 100 million and an even bigger profile makes McGregor one of the most famous sports men in the world at the minute! So he's a winner, of sorts

Thought his cut was 30m?

Quote from: Minder on August 27, 2017, 10:25:11 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on August 27, 2017, 09:31:27 AM

Thought his cut was 30m?

I thought it was 200 million over all, he not get half? Well he'll not be happy for that 1+ mill per minute!

Hectic

Aye fair play to the lad, talked the talk, could not walk the walk but still gets fully paid up. I think the most interesting aspect was to see if McGregor could not only box at a decent level but also at a level to beat a household name. By all accounts it was apparent after a couple of rounds that he was not going to win the contest with the predictable/ inevitable outcome.

But I suppose everyone entitled to spend their money as they like and if it was enjoyed by those who bought into it what is the harm.