Top notch

Started by seafoid, January 03, 2016, 11:43:30 AM

Quote from: stew on January 04, 2016, 03:28:23 PM
Quote from: 5 Sams on January 03, 2016, 09:40:27 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OXEONcn_4XM

Top Top notch.

To me that is the single greatest score in Gaa history, nothing touches that score from one of the best players ever to Grace a Gaelic football field.
Ja Fallon did it just as well

Sometimes, my ambition is to write something memorable. Then I read something like this and decide to concentrate on my more realistic ambition to ride the winner of the Grand National.

Is that Emily Blunt? If so then top notch indeed.

Flying in over Dublin after a long time away getting ready to land, the first draught of a Pint of Guinness in the Golf Club.

Local phrases and words.  The ould richness.

Things like Lookit in Galway. Or the Nordies with thon. Cmere I wantcha. Wicked down in the Deise.  Dhera in the Kingdom.

The way Mayo people add a h to words starting in s. The sound and the rhythm of Irish in the Donegal accent.   The richness of Ger Loughnane's speech. The way Davy Fitz talks.  And picking up those things in interviews.

Hearing working class accents in soccer interviews .You don't hear them much elsewhere in the media.
Ronnie Whelan style soccer melanges of Dublin and local English accents based on wherever they played. RTE accents in general are wicked middleclass bland lookit.

All the people who can manage a good blas in Laochra Gael
And polish and African names coming up through the underage ranks.

Travelling to somewhere else in the country and getting into a GAA conversation. Or talking to the people on the tram on the day of a big match in Dublin, up from Cork or wherever. And what is going on with the hurlers down there .

GJL

Sons of Anarchy. Finished it last night. Complete mind fcuk of a show.

Bloodlands by Timothy Snyder. A massive achievement of history writing about the zone between Poland, Ukraine and Belarus where the Nazis and the Soviets between them murdered 14 million people between 1933 and 1945. Famine, purges, genocide. It is no wonder Ukraine is so fucked up today given where it came from.

Soup an Samajiz

a good day out with the lads.
Think like a wise person but communicate in the language of the people

I have scoliosis, which leaves me with terrible back pain. It was awful over the Christmas holidays. I went for a massage yesterday. I left there feeling great.

Quote from: Soup an Samajiz on January 05, 2016, 09:59:07 AM
a good day out with the lads.
Had a great day out at the racing on NY day. A few lads I hadn't seen in a wile too. Great craic.

The Funny Times

www.funnytimes.com

Monthly Review

www.monthlyreview.org