GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2015, 10:26:05 PM

Title: Pat Kenny in the Round - Mickey Harte
Post by: Wildweasel74 on May 25, 2015, 10:26:05 PM
See Mickey harte on UTV now with Pat Kenny,
Title: Re: Pat Kenny in the Round - Mickey Harte
Post by: 5 Sams on May 25, 2015, 11:57:39 PM
Naomh Mhichíl. It would sicken your hole.
Post by: SkillfulBill on May 26, 2015, 12:24:57 AM
Quote from: 5 Sams on May 25, 2015, 11:57:39 PM

Which bit would sicken your hole the death of his daughter the deaths of players or just the fact that he has his own deeply held beliefs that see's him through such tragic events.
Post by: Main Street on May 26, 2015, 12:45:29 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on May 26, 2015, 12:24:57 AM

Which bit would sicken your hole the death of his daughter the deaths of players or just the fact that he has his own deeply held beliefs that see's him through such tragic events.
Generally we don't bring up the issues of Mickey's personal grief, his personal trials and tribulations, or those of Tyrone football re Cormac.
This is a football forum and people should be free to have opinions on Tyrone football matters without those issues being  brought up.
5 Sams has opinions about Mickey Harte the Tyrone football manager which differ radically from his opinions about Mickey Harte the man who has endured much personal pain and loss, as do most everybody here. That goes without saying and unless somebody has directly stated otherwise this is the default opinion of every poster here.

Post by: SkillfulBill on May 26, 2015, 12:49:33 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 26, 2015, 12:45:29 AM

Generally we don't bring up the issues of Mickey's personal grief, his personal trials and tribulations, or those of Tyrone football re Cormac.
This is a football forum and people should be free to have opinions on Tyrone football matters without those issues being  brought up.
5 Sams has opinions about Mickey Harte the Tyrone football manager which differ radically from his opinions about Mickey Harte the man who has endured much personal pain and loss, as do most everybody here. That goes without saying and unless somebody has directly stated otherwise this is the default opinion of every poster here.

So which bit sickened him then ?
Post by: Main Street on May 26, 2015, 12:52:35 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on May 26, 2015, 12:49:33 AM

Talk to 5 sams first and ask him what's on his mind.
Post by: SkillfulBill on May 26, 2015, 12:58:59 AM
Quote from: Main Street on May 26, 2015, 12:52:35 AM
Quote from: SkillfulBill on May 26, 2015, 12:49:33 AM

Talk to 5 sams first and ask him what's on his mind.

I thought that was what i have done by asking which bit sickened his hole so much he felt the need to express himself in such a manner with the expression St Michael.
Post by: Syferus on May 26, 2015, 01:19:25 AM
Pat really let him bat away the negativity questions very easily. A little too cozy for my liking but it was always a going to be that way when the interview centered on the personal tragedies rather than Harte the manager.

There has always been a disconnect between Harte the man and Harte the football manager where many of his beliefs seem to go out the window.

Still probably the best manager of the modern era.
Post by: Catch and Kick on May 26, 2015, 07:19:23 AM
Mickey Harte has walked the walk. His coaching record is outstanding; not many have experienced All Ireland success at minor, U21 and senior level. No anonymous posters can question that. Remember where Tyrone were coming from. Because they haven't had success in recent years cannot take away from that. On and off the field a class act.
Post by: BennyHarp on May 26, 2015, 07:31:25 AM

What? The fact that he made Tyrone one of the best teams if the modern era? I'd say that would sicken the hole of a county living on past glories alright!
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 26, 2015, 07:46:56 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 26, 2015, 07:31:25 AM

What? The fact that he made Tyrone one of the best teams if the modern era? I'd say that would sicken the hole of a county living on past glories alright!

Everyone is entitled to their opinion Brendan. Stop letting that anger get the better of you again.
Post by: thewobbler on May 26, 2015, 08:10:00 AM
I'm guessing that what 5Sams is getting at is that it didn't feel like an interview. In style it was much closer to the Christian Channel style of unfettered self promotion in the name of the Lord.

It'll be interesting to see if Kenny treats all his subjects with such grace. Actually, come to think of it, it wouldn't be interesting at all.
Post by: haranguerer on May 26, 2015, 08:22:34 AM
I didn't see it, but I am curious as to what issues yous would like to have seen Pat give him a grilling on
Post by: BennyHarp on May 26, 2015, 09:22:22 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 26, 2015, 07:46:56 AM

Everyone is entitled to their opinion Brendan. Stop letting that anger get the better of you again.

No anger here my little Derry buddy! But anyone who watched Mickey talk about what he talked about and think to themselves that it sickened their hole, must have a pretty sick hole to begin with. I'm sure people weren't expecting Pat Kenny to discuss blanket defences, sledging and the geometrics of football now were they?
Post by: johnneycool on May 26, 2015, 09:23:40 AM
Quote from: Syferus on May 26, 2015, 01:19:25 AM
Pat really let him bat away the negativity questions very easily. A little too cozy for my liking but it was always a going to be that way when the interview centered on the personal tragedies rather than Harte the manager.

There has always been a disconnect between Harte the man and Harte the football manager where many of his beliefs seem to go out the window.

Still probably the best manager of the modern era.

Well Pat was never going to be the man to start grilling Mickey on the way his teams behave on the field of play as Pat wouldn't know his arse from his elbow GAA wise.

There is much to admire about Mickey Harte in terms of his resoluteness which he bases on a deep seated fundamental religious faith which if it works for him, then good for him, but as Syferus points out that Christian mentality leaves itself at the gate when it comes to Gaelic football.

He wouldn't be uncommon in that regard as a lot of people behave differently on and around the field of play than they do in everyday life.
Post by: illdecide on May 26, 2015, 09:36:19 AM
I could listen to Micky all day and I've nothing but admiration for the man, the personal losses he's had to deal with would break any ordinary man and i'm glad for him that he's a strong man with good faith to deal with it...I know I couldn't. I've backed him up many times on here and people forget themselves when there are a few trophies in the cabinet how things were before he took over. Armagh were similar (although not as many All Irelands as Tyrone) when our dominance started to wane we were looking everyone replaced but lads forgot what it was like 15-20 years ago when we couldn't win an argument.

Tyrone will be a weaker County without Micky and just be glad you lot have him, he seems a great family man and by his comments last night he also came from a great family too...Fair play Micky and I hope you've better luck in the next 20 years than you've had in the last 20...
Post by: screenexile on May 26, 2015, 09:39:25 AM
Quote from: BennyHarp on May 26, 2015, 09:22:22 AM

No anger here my little Derry buddy! But anyone who watched Mickey talk about what he talked about and think to themselves that it sickened their hole, must have a pretty sick hole to begin with. I'm sure people weren't expecting Pat Kenny to discuss blanket defences, sledging and the geometrics of football now were they?

It sickens my hole that he tried to say Tyrone were the attacking team in the 2003 All Ireland Semi Final and Pat let him away with it.

It sickens my hole that he talks about his faith and doing the right thing all the time yet let's a tr**p like Ryan McMenamin do what he did for so long.

It sickens my hole that he's this man of great faith etc. yet RTE apologised for that they did and he still won't speak or let his team speak to RTE. . . there are more but that's 3 without even thinking too hard about it.

Personally what he's been through is horrendous and the way he has overcome it is admirable but there does seem to be 2 different sides to the man when it comes to football!!!
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 26, 2015, 09:39:48 AM

Although some of his religious views wouldn't be in my way of thinking....If it helps him cope with the loss of his daughter then who am I to argue.

I think his standing in the game and legacy would be long lasting if he decided to hit the whole sledging issue head on. He's the most high profile manager in the game and people would listen.
Post by: Walter Cronc on May 26, 2015, 09:42:29 AM
Quote from: screenexile on May 26, 2015, 09:39:25 AM

It sickens my hole that he tried to say Tyrone were the attacking team in the 2003 All Ireland Semi Final and Pat let him away with it.

It sickens my hole that he talks about his faith and doing the right thing all the time yet let's a tr**p like Ryan McMenamin do what he did for so long.

It sickens my hole that he's this man of great faith etc. yet RTE apologised for that they did and he still won't speak or let his team speak to RTE. . . there are more but that's 3 without even thinking too hard about it.

Personally what he's been through is horrendous and the way he has overcome it is admirable but there does seem to be 2 different sides to the man when it comes to football!!!

In a way SE I've far more time for Ricey than Cavanagh. At least Ricey didn't try to act Mr nice guy off the field!
Post by: cockahoop on May 26, 2015, 09:49:38 AM

great post and so true
Post by: wobbller on May 26, 2015, 11:39:24 AM
  His appointment of Gavin Devlin tells us all we need to know
about the Football side of his character.
Post by: DermyTDredi on May 26, 2015, 11:58:00 AM
Quote from: Walter Cronc on May 26, 2015, 09:42:29 AM

In a way SE I've far more time for Ricey than Cavanagh. At least Ricey didn't try to act Mr nice guy off the field!

Post by: cockahoop on May 26, 2015, 01:22:27 PM
Quote from: wobbller on May 26, 2015, 11:39:24 AM

again spot on
Post by: Gabriel_Hurl on May 26, 2015, 01:31:26 PM
Quote from: screenexile on May 26, 2015, 09:39:25 AMIt sickens my hole that he tried to say Tyrone were the attacking team in the 2003 All Ireland Semi Final and Pat let him away with it.

SO.MUCH.ANGER!
Post by: ck on May 26, 2015, 01:41:21 PM

No idea what this means. Please explain
Post by: shawshank on May 26, 2015, 02:03:40 PM
How could not admire the man after what he has achieved and gone through. I am not overly holy as they say, and he does egg the holy stuff, but his passion came through for me. Leaders are made of stern stuff, and to be at the top you need a steely unshakable belief, he has that in buckets.
Post by: cockahoop on May 26, 2015, 02:42:34 PM
Quote from: shawshank on May 26, 2015, 02:03:40 PM
How could not admire the man after what he has achieved and gone through. I am not overly holy as they say, and he does egg the holy stuff, but his passion came through for me. Leaders are made of stern stuff, and to be at the top you need a steely unshakable belief, he has that in buckets.

as a manager theres not many better in the modern game and no disputing his achievements buts its his hypocrisy which screen exile has pointed out that really get on some peoples goat,going around religious meetings preaching about morality and forgiveness yet he contradicts this while manager of one of the most cynical teams ever to play the game,very difficult to admire IMO of course.
Post by: DermyTDredi on May 26, 2015, 03:07:20 PM
the man on TV is most certainly not the same man in the changing room - hard to know who the real MH is at times
Post by: ardtole on May 26, 2015, 04:40:54 PM
I admire Mickey Harte for his decision to boycott RTE. The "comic piece" on the radio was in bad taste, it was insensitive and the presenter himself never apologised. Pat kenny asked him was he stubborn, and Harte replied, he was principled. I would say he is stubborn but in this instance he is perfectly entitled to be.

As a Down man the Gregory McCartan sending off incident with McGuigan left a sour taste in our mouths and it was very unsporting of McGuigan what happened that day, but at the same time they had a fantastic team, especially in the forwards, Canavan, Dooher, ONeill, Mulligan, Cavlan.

I always felt that the famous clip of Daragh O'Se ( i think) swarmed by tyrone players, who bottle him up, without fouling him had to have been carried out by a Dublin or Kerry team, instead of Spillane labelling itpuke football, he would have been praising the intensity, the discipline, the teamwork and organisation, the fitness  and how they have brought football to a new level.

I always admired how he thought outside the box, starting Canavan, bringing him off and then reintroducing him in 2008. Also when tyrone were faced with the twin tower threat of Kerry he dropped Gourley and played the two McMahons.
Post by: blanketattack on May 27, 2015, 11:49:30 AM
While the John Murray show had enough distasteful material to warrant a ban, I thought Brian Carthy's treatment by RTE was the main reason for the ban?
Post by: wobbller on May 27, 2015, 01:31:08 PM
Quote from: ck on May 26, 2015, 01:41:21 PM

No idea what this means. Please explain
Do you really need for me to explain it or is it you just what me to
write what the world and their Granny think of GD?
Post by: twohands!!! on May 27, 2015, 01:35:29 PM
Quote from: blanketattack on May 27, 2015, 11:49:30 AM
While the John Murray show had enough distasteful material to warrant a ban, I thought Brian Carthy's treatment by RTE was the main reason for the ban?

I'm still amazed that Harte thought the whole letter stunt with Carthy was anywhere near sane.

There's a lot of ludicrousness that has gone up in this country but I still can't imagine how anyone who thought of the idea of writing a letter to RTE demanding that their friend get a promotion didn't immediately dismiss it as utter daftness within 3 seconds.

Post by: Syferus on May 27, 2015, 02:39:55 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 27, 2015, 01:35:29 PM

I'm still amazed that Harte thought the whole letter stunt with Carthy was anywhere near sane.

There's a lot of ludicrousness that has gone up in this country but I still can't imagine how anyone who thought of the idea of writing a letter to RTE demanding that their friend get a promotion didn't immediately dismiss it as utter daftness within 3 seconds.

I can't imagine how Carthy wasn't deeply embarrassed by it. Far from Harte's finest moment.
Post by: twohands!!! on May 27, 2015, 02:46:59 PM
Quote from: Syferus on May 27, 2015, 02:39:55 PM

I can't imagine how Carthy wasn't deeply embarrassed by it. Far from Harte's finest moment.

The fact that there were a few other managers who added their names to it as well, boggles belief. Real lunacy stuff.
Post by: Croí na hÉireann on May 27, 2015, 03:24:42 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 27, 2015, 02:46:59 PM

The fact that there were a few other managers who added their names to it as well, boggles belief. Real lunacy stuff.

Cody, who else?
Post by: LCohen on May 27, 2015, 03:42:16 PM

I have heard Harte described as a complex character but that can just be a means of glossing over hypocrisy and cynical pragmatism.

Harte is all about doing the right thing. He is also all about doing whatever needs to be done to get ahead.
Harte is all about the ethos and tradition of the GAA. That is why he has never been paid for his GAA work ;)

Harte has been through a lot. He has also achieved alot. Its pointless denying any of that. Its also pointless glossing over the fact that his teams have been at the forefront of some of the more unpleasant aspects of our game
Post by: twohands!!! on May 27, 2015, 04:25:14 PM
Quote from: Croí na hÉireann on May 27, 2015, 03:24:42 PM
Quote from: twohands!!! on May 27, 2015, 02:46:59 PM

Cody, who else?

Geezer, Conor Counihan, Kevin Walsh iirc.
Think there may have been a few others too
Post by: Hardy on May 27, 2015, 04:35:35 PM
Isn't it obvious why they support Brain Carthy? They stand for hard-hitting, robust, analytical, tell-it-like-it-is GAA coverage and scrutiny of their performance.

(http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu206/Hardyarse/marypoppins_zpsnusxbsmw.png) (http://s648.photobucket.com/user/Hardyarse/media/marypoppins_zpsnusxbsmw.png.html)
Post by: T Fearon on May 28, 2015, 07:04:22 AM
Mickey like all humans is complex,but a great advertisement for Catholicism and Christianity.No winner in and around any sports arena was ever nice by the way.
Post by: Tubberman on May 28, 2015, 09:14:00 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 28, 2015, 07:04:22 AM
Mickey like all humans is complex,but a great advertisement for Catholicism and Christianity.No winner in and around any sports arena was ever nice by the way.

Is "nice" not a fundamental requirement of being a good Catholic and Christian?
Post by: Applesisapples on May 28, 2015, 03:32:10 PM
Quote from: illdecide on May 26, 2015, 09:36:19 AM
I could listen to Micky all day and I've nothing but admiration for the man, the personal losses he's had to deal with would break any ordinary man and i'm glad for him that he's a strong man with good faith to deal with it...I know I couldn't. I've backed him up many times on here and people forget themselves when there are a few trophies in the cabinet how things were before he took over. Armagh were similar (although not as many All Irelands as Tyrone) when our dominance started to wane we were looking everyone replaced but lads forgot what it was like 15-20 years ago when we couldn't win an argument.

Tyrone will be a weaker County without Micky and just be glad you lot have him, he seems a great family man and by his comments last night he also came from a great family too...Fair play Micky and I hope you've better luck in the next 20 years than you've had in the last 20...
Well said, I've had the good fortune to have been in Mickey's company a few times. I don't hold his convictions and my own version of Christian faith would be at odds with his. But he is a gracious polite and intelligent individual who has had to deal with the death of a child which is an incredibly hard cross to bare. As an Armagh man he has been the bane of my life in terms of results but credit where it is due.
Post by: BluestackBoy on May 28, 2015, 03:46:23 PM
Quote from: T Fearon on May 28, 2015, 07:04:22 AM

Not sure what to make of that!!

There are many different shades of both Catholicism & Christianity & while Mickey undoubtedly would be a poster boy for a certain type, it wouldn't be my cup of tea.

Everyone to their own.