Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: TopofthePops on June 22, 2012, 05:06:42 PM

Title: Ulster Bank
Post by: TopofthePops on June 22, 2012, 05:06:42 PM
Was made aware of a few friends locals that the Ulster Bank is giving out free money! I know of 1 or 2 people going to bank machines using their Ulster Bank card to take out thousands of pounds!

I'm thinking these transactions are bound to be traced and are bound to be updated, eventually leaving all these guys outa pocket.

What do u think...have any of u's heard of this?? Crazyy...
Title: Re: Ulster Bank
Post by: Tonto on June 22, 2012, 05:19:07 PM
If they weren't able to trace it then why do you think they would have money in the cash machines?!

Theres a glitch with the system currently stopping it from updating, but when it does those people will have to pay back whatever money they have overdrawn.
Post by: TopofthePops on June 22, 2012, 05:31:58 PM
Aye it'll come back to haunt them surely, there's a couple of hundred running around Armagh cleanin the place out. Short lived...they're screwed!
Post by: imtommygunn on June 22, 2012, 05:36:41 PM
Ulster bank are currently having computer issues from what I hear.

Few ones talking about how they've been paid the last few days but the money hasn't come through.

I'd say it'll be traced alright but may take a few days.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 07:11:24 PM
Queues at bank machines in Armagh? Does these people not realise the banks will be wanting their money back?!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 22, 2012, 07:14:18 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 07:11:24 PM
Massive queues at bank machines in Armagh! Does these people not realise the banks will be wanting their money back?!

There'll be a few with sores heads tomorrow I would imagine. Stories of people taking out over £10k. Madness
Post by: Gazzler on June 22, 2012, 07:14:42 PM
Massive queues at bank machines in Armagh! Does these people not realise the banks will be wanting their money back?!

Could cause a riot,sure what's stopping the fella at the top of the queue cleaning the atm out on his own?
People could get ratty if they aren't getting a turn.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 07:15:58 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on June 22, 2012, 07:14:18 PM

There'll be a few with sores heads tomorrow I would imagine. Stories of people taking out over £10k. Madness
Some craic when it is spent and the bank wants it back. It is theft no matter what way you cut it.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 22, 2012, 07:17:20 PM
There was a glitch with a machine in belfast last year where if you asked for 40 it would give you 50 out and it was never accounted for. This went on for ~6 months.

I didn't take any out as it was at a workplace however it did happen and there was never any comeback on it.
Post by: Gazzler on June 22, 2012, 07:18:23 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 07:15:58 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on June 22, 2012, 07:14:18 PM

Some craic when it is spent and the bank wants it back. It is theft no matter what way you cut it.

A few years ago I got a extras months wages in my salary one month,got payed twice.
Never said anything to anyone and it was never said to me.Is that stealing too?
I agree with you about the bank though those fools will have to pay the money back no matter what.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 08:07:05 PM
Still a few days to pay day. Might head in myself!  ;)
Post by: laoislad on June 22, 2012, 08:14:07 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 22, 2012, 08:07:05 PM
Still a few days to pay day. Might head in myself!  ;)
You'd only waste it on Wine, chocolate and Pringles
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 22, 2012, 09:57:41 PM
The huirs have cleaned every bank machine in the town. I'll have to go into the bank tomorrow to get money out FFS.
Post by: pintsofguinness on June 22, 2012, 10:02:55 PM
Quote from: TopofthePops on June 22, 2012, 05:06:42 PM
Was made aware of a few friends locals that the Ulster Bank is giving out free money! I know of 1 or 2 people going to bank machines using their Ulster Bank card to take out thousands of pounds!

I'm thinking these transactions are bound to be traced and are bound to be updated, eventually leaving all these guys outa pocket.

What do u think...have any of u's heard of this?? Crazyy...
I never heard of anything so stupid in my life.
Post by: Rufus T Firefly on June 22, 2012, 11:53:13 PM
There are queues everywhere. From what I can gather, people will request so much and then multiples of that is being paid out. When people request a receipt, it is showing what was originally requested and not the actual amount taken out. I'm not Ulster Bank myself, but got caught up in all of this - took me ages to get £20 out, but a fella at the head of the queue was showing everyone his receipt and the multiples of cash.   ;D
Post by: ziggysego on June 23, 2012, 01:18:28 AM
(http://i325.photobucket.com/albums/k389/quantumleaping/6be1b9c1.jpg)
Post by: leenie on June 23, 2012, 02:53:08 AM

maybe i'm in the wrong city, but myself and many co workers have had our accounts frozen until this "glinch" is over.. and i was meant to b paid on wednesday, when i went to the atm on thursday it told me i was overdrawn, got the shock of my life because i don't have an overdraft on my account, i knew my wages should have been in so i thought my had been defrauded! went straight into branch and the person behind desk whom should have been able to help was very rude, did not explain what had happen and told me to call in later! i asked him if i could withdraw money and he just said no! there was no explanation... it wasn't until i went to work that i realised that others couldn't obtain money that their was an issue... ! read their update today sayin that i'd could go into their their branches and get "MY"  money, so i went again today but was told no because they were unable to see what was in my account and told to come back monday! disgrace!
Post by: supersarsfields on June 23, 2012, 08:51:08 AM
F**k Ulster bank. If they don't get this sorted soon I'm closing my Henry hippo account! And they ain't getting their piggybank back either!! 
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 11:59:10 AM
Quote from: leenie on June 23, 2012, 02:53:08 AM

maybe i'm in the wrong city, but myself and many co workers have had our accounts frozen until this "glinch" is over.. and i was meant to b paid on wednesday, when i went to the atm on thursday it told me i was overdrawn, got the shock of my life because i don't have an overdraft on my account, i knew my wages should have been in so i thought my had been defrauded! went straight into branch and the person behind desk whom should have been able to help was very rude, did not explain what had happen and told me to call in later! i asked him if i could withdraw money and he just said no! there was no explanation... it wasn't until i went to work that i realised that others couldn't obtain money that their was an issue... ! read their update today sayin that i'd could go into their their branches and get "MY"  money, so i went again today but was told no because they were unable to see what was in my account and told to come back monday! disgrace!
You are overdrawn because the residents of Armagh have gone on holiday with your money! :D
Post by: Dougal Maguire on June 23, 2012, 12:09:29 PM
I remember something like that happening in Belfast a few years ago and a priest told his parishioners the following Sunday that they should give the money back. I also remember many years ago a First Trust ATM in Buttercrane in Newry giving me out far more than I'd asked for, in fact the machine only stopped when it ran out of money. I went straight round to the bank with the money, expecting to be treated like a hero and at the very least given the offer of sex with the managers wife but the cnuts made a big deal about it saying that the ATM didn't come under the remit of the Branch. It was almost like I'd brought a dose of the diarrhoea into the place. The cnuts always make it clear that mistakes will not be entertained once you leave their premises, so it should work both ways IMO
Post by: imtommygunn on June 23, 2012, 12:17:03 PM
This is going to end very badly for either ulster bank or a lot of silly people!!
Post by: armaghniac on June 23, 2012, 01:37:56 PM
I imagine ATMs keep offline records as well, so some audit will be done. If they came to me for money back, I'd love to send them a letter saying that they could have an appointment to discuss the matter and that a service charge would apply.
Post by: TopofthePops on June 23, 2012, 02:36:06 PM
I'm hearing reports that the transactions are now showing up, imagine havin seein minus 4grand on ur account, saying it is not a valid overdraft the bank will be charging extortinate bank charges!!

All these people who overdrew are donald ducked!! Lmao...

I suppose it's like the looting that went on in London. no way u can get away with it!
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 23, 2012, 02:43:27 PM
Got a few texts from people who are now well into the red. The last message I received said "suitcase full of cash being left back to the bank on Monday, bastids caught on".

It was never going to be any other way
Post by: TopofthePops on June 23, 2012, 02:50:43 PM
Ah rippin, was that suitcase full of money Pearse Og bound??lol
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 23, 2012, 02:54:35 PM
No it wasn't an ogs lad that sent me the text. We've more sense
Post by: Agent Orange on June 23, 2012, 02:57:23 PM
Quote from: TopofthePops on June 23, 2012, 02:36:06 PM
I'm hearing reports that the transactions are now showing up, imagine havin seein minus 4grand on ur account, saying it is not a valid overdraft the bank will be charging extortinate bank charges!!

I suppose it's like the looting that went on in London. no way u can get away with it!

I think anyone that was stupid enough to do this wouldn't really be bothered about paying the money back.
Post by: Cold tea on June 23, 2012, 04:23:15 PM
Quote from: Agent Orange on June 23, 2012, 02:57:23 PM
Quote from: TopofthePops on June 23, 2012, 02:36:06 PM

I think anyone that was stupid enough to do this wouldn't really be bothered about paying the money back.

Surely it will simply be debited from their account.
Post by: Maguire01 on June 23, 2012, 04:27:19 PM
Along with interest for an unauthorised overdraft.
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 23, 2012, 05:32:21 PM
Let me get this straight.

All the ATMs in Armagh are cleaned out because it emerged that if you asked to withdraw say £50 you received £100?

Was that just at Ulster Bank ATMs or was it all ATMs, and / or did it only benefit Ulster Bank customers?

And was it only in Armagh?

I understand that this extra cash has now been caught on, but I'm trying to understand the specifics of what was causing it.
Post by: Cold tea on June 23, 2012, 05:34:57 PM
Took a walk into town, people are claiming that individuals withdrew 50 and 60 grand - be some load if it was all in fivers!
Post by: Maguire01 on June 23, 2012, 05:41:41 PM
How much money would there be in a full ATM?
Post by: Maguire01 on June 23, 2012, 05:43:22 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 23, 2012, 05:34:57 PM
Took a walk into town, people are claiming that individuals withdrew 50 and 60 grand - be some load if it was all in fivers!
I smell bullshit. If the machines were giving out twice the amount requested, does that mean that people in Armagh have £25-30k sitting in current accounts?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 05:45:37 PM
Quote from: Smokin Joe on June 23, 2012, 05:32:21 PM

All the ATMs in Armagh are cleaned out because it emerged that if you asked to withdraw say £50 you received £100?

Was that just at Ulster Bank ATMs or was it all ATMs, and / or did it only benefit Ulster Bank customers?

I understand that this extra cash has now been caught on, but I'm trying to understand the specifics of what was causing it.
All ATMs in Armagh for Ulster Bank customers only. I was in Armagh this morning and had to use Switch as I couldn't get cash at 3 different cash machines owned by 3 different banks. Were reports on Twitter last night that there were machines being cleared out in other towns.
Post by: Smokin Joe on June 23, 2012, 05:47:06 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 05:45:37 PM

All ATMs in Armagh for Ulster Bank customers only. I was in Armagh this morning and had to use Switch as I couldn't get cash at 3 different cash machines owned by 3 different banks. Were reports on Twitter last night that there were machines being cleared out in other towns.

Cheers Tony.  And the attraction was presumably that they were getting double their money?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 05:50:25 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 23, 2012, 05:43:22 PM
I smell bullshit. If the machines were giving out twice the amount requested, does that mean that people in Armagh have £25-30k sitting in current accounts?
Would a cash machine even hold £50k?
Post by: Cold tea on June 23, 2012, 05:54:55 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on June 23, 2012, 05:43:22 PM

It wasn't debiting accounts so it is irrelevant how much was in them.
Post by: TopofthePops on June 23, 2012, 06:02:43 PM

No what was happening was Ulster Bank customers were going to various ATM's and requesting cash, a friend of a friend entered £1,400 to withdraw and it dispensed the cash straightaway! People were doing this alday continuously!

So yesterday most of Armagh's residents were walking around with sh*tloads of cash, as to what will happen when the transactions update, it remains to be seen.
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 23, 2012, 06:06:50 PM
It seems the accounts have now been updated, showing the amount that was taken out of each account yesterday.

Apparently people were marshalling the transactions, with each person only allowed a certain amount of withdrawals then the had to go and queue up again. This gave everyone a chance to have a go. Saved rioting I suppose. Very civilised theft
Post by: armaghniac on June 23, 2012, 06:07:01 PM
QuoteAll ATMs in Armagh for Ulster Bank customers only.

Other ATMs would not dispense twice the amount asked, nor give unlimited amounts (I imagine). What they would do is give money to people who did not have it in their accounts, because Ulster Bank has lost track of what is in the accounts.

This is a major clusterfornication, a few issues are one thing, but what sort of systems are they running that have this mess? I'd say a few other banks are checking their backups over the weekend.
Post by: bridgegael on June 23, 2012, 06:14:10 PM
I heard of one fella who took out ten grand that he didnt have and went to bookies and put it on a black caviar, spain double.

Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 23, 2012, 06:16:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 23, 2012, 06:07:01 PM

Other ATMs would not dispense twice the amount asked, nor give unlimited amounts (I imagine). What they would do is give money to people who did not have it in their accounts, because Ulster Bank has lost track of what is in the accounts.

This is a major clusterfornication, a few issues are one thing, but what sort of systems are they running that have this mess? I'd say a few other banks are checking their backups over the weekend.

The machines weren't giving out twice the amount. If someone had, say £400 in their account they could request to withdraw that amount. Then the could try again and withdraw the same amount as the previous transaction wasn't updated. This then gave the customer the opportunity to repeat this process for as long as they wished
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 06:18:13 PM
Quote from: bridgegael on June 23, 2012, 06:14:10 PM
I heard of one fella who took out ten grand that he didnt have and went to bookies and put it on a black caviar, spain double.
He better hope Spain wins as they'll be looking it back.
Post by: TopofthePops on June 23, 2012, 06:30:02 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 06:18:13 PM

Ur right hi, but if Spain do win, he's laughin!! Result
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on June 23, 2012, 06:32:34 PM
Quote from: el_cuervo_fc on June 23, 2012, 06:16:12 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on June 23, 2012, 06:07:01 PM

This is the right story, but there has been large exaggerated rumors floating about the town, what I seen was a queue of 15-20 people at a machine with approx 15-20 of them being east-european, it was funny as the just went to the back of the queue when finished.

The machines weren't giving out twice the amount. If someone had, say £400 in their account they could request to withdraw that amount. Then the could try again and withdraw the same amount as the previous transaction wasn't updated. This then gave the customer the opportunity to repeat this process for as long as they wished
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 08:07:38 PM
Quote from: TopofthePops on June 23, 2012, 06:30:02 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 06:18:13 PM

Ur right hi, but if Spain do win, he's laughin!! Result
Looks like he's on for a good weekend.
Post by: clarshack on June 23, 2012, 10:18:09 PM
can/will a bookie refuse to pay out if they learn that 'stolen money' was used to place a bet?

or do they have to pay out no matter whose money was used?
Post by: clarshack on June 23, 2012, 10:23:14 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 23, 2012, 10:20:03 PM
How would they know?

He 'loaned' it from the bank.

fair enough!
Post by: Onion Bag on June 23, 2012, 10:31:25 PM
What price was that double?
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 11:01:25 PM
Quote from: Onion Bag on June 23, 2012, 10:31:25 PM
Black Caviar was 6/4 and Spain around 5/6 individually
Post by: SHEEDY on June 23, 2012, 11:07:29 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 11:01:25 PM

black cavair was 1/6. if she had been 6/4 the bookies would have been out of business.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 23, 2012, 11:10:45 PM
Quote from: SHEEDY on June 23, 2012, 11:07:29 PM

black cavair was 1/6. if she had been 6/4 the bookies would have been out of business.
That is a fair point!
Post by: Minder on June 23, 2012, 11:12:14 PM

Black Caviar was 1/6 not 6/4, quare difference.
Post by: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2012, 11:21:32 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 23, 2012, 11:12:14 PM

Bit of an Urban Myth me thinks about this story
Post by: clarshack on June 24, 2012, 12:46:12 AM
does anyone else buy that this whole incident is the result of a 'software update'.

arent software updates tested on internal systems first?

seems like this has the hallmarks of a hacking incident but the bank can't/won't admit it?
Post by: thebigfella on June 24, 2012, 01:47:21 AM
Nope it has all the hallmarks of bad software quality assurance. Someone Fcuked up big time somewhere  :o
Post by: armaghniac on June 24, 2012, 02:36:33 PM
If yon boy had put the loot won on the Black Caviar/Spain win on Monaghan -5 in the Monaghan/Down game he might make some real money.

edit: perhaps he wouldn't.
Post by: magpie seanie on June 24, 2012, 09:23:42 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on June 24, 2012, 01:47:21 AM
Nope it has all the hallmarks of bad software quality assurance. Someone Fcuked up big time somewhere  :o

It's a serious fuckup. Gonna cost them a lot of money in the short term and you'd have to wonder how businesses that have been so inconvenienced will react.
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2012, 10:22:11 AM
I'm struggling to understand how something like this could suddenly manifest itself midweek. I believe they applied some sort of a patch, but as someone above said, this would be fairly basic QA regression. Can we still process payments.

Either they have major major QA issues, or else this is not the real story.

Also, if it was a software patch, they should have some sort of code management policy which would, worst case scenario, allow you to rollback to a prior version, rollback the DBs, and immediately start re-processing the payments. It's not ideal, but it is part of BCP, backup and recovery. That it has taken a week of downtime seems very slow to me.

Typically after a software patch to live, you'd have a series of 'smoke testing' and sanity scenarios that are tested in the maintenance 'outage' and if they failed you back out immediately. Even then, if something manifested itself later you would have a set of options for addressing it, from backing out the code, restoring the database and kicking off from there again, or by having a 'hot fix'. You'd want to be sure the hotfix is right.

Either way, and without being in any way close to the situation other than having a lot of experience in this sort of stuff, if this was really a code issue, then they have poor QA, poor release processes and poor Backup and Recovery processes.
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2012, 10:49:41 AM
I would agree with that AZ.

I work in software and this is pretty astounding. The QA processes in banks are generally very solid and laborious due to the nature of the game and how much money stands to be lost.

TYhe bit that baffles me is like you say the rollback. Any patch should be able to be rolled back unless it's a major one, and that's a big unless as they should be able to be rolled back too, in which case it should have been tested a hell of a lot better.

I'm sure heads will roll for this and I would expect this will cause big issues with customers leaving.

You do wonder has there been something like a security breach or the like which they are struggling to get on top of. It reminds me of the blackberry outage in that I think it will have bad consequences for the business in general. They can't be that incompetent and unprofessional, can they...
Post by: screenexile on June 25, 2012, 11:37:08 AM
The software thing sounds pretty bogus to me! They know that the average Joe will just accept that while anyone with a bit of knowledge of computers knows that had there been a problem they should have been able to revert back to previous settings and continue as normal until the problem got sorted.

Will we ever know the truth . . .

(http://www.teesforall.com/images/X_Files_Truth_Black_Shirt.jpg)
Post by: Bensars on June 25, 2012, 11:49:23 AM
Quote from: Milltown Row2 on June 23, 2012, 11:21:32 PM
Quote from: Minder on June 23, 2012, 11:12:14 PM

Bit of an Urban Myth me thinks about this story

Is 5 grand not the limit in cash over the counter per day ?
Post by: imtommygunn on June 25, 2012, 02:08:50 PM
http://forums.theregister.co.uk/forum/1/2012/06/25/rbs_natwest_what_went_wrong/ (http://forums.theregister.co.uk/forum/1/2012/06/25/rbs_natwest_what_went_wrong/)
Post by: AZOffaly on June 25, 2012, 02:25:17 PM
If it was a batch scheduling problem there is no way it would have taken so long to sort out. Schedulers just kick jobs off. If they've an issue with schedulers is can only be that the job didn't kick off, or perhaps a batch suite kicked off in the wrong order.

EITHER WAY a simple restore and restart should have sorted it out. This wouldn't make sense. Should be a day downtime at most.
Post by: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 02:42:35 PM
Why has the ATM issue not been in the news?
Post by: ludermor on June 25, 2012, 02:44:38 PM
Because it is horseshit?
Post by: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 02:49:47 PM
I have first hand evidence that it is not, maybe some of the amounts are but there were issues on Friday and people could take out money without their accounts being debited.  So your amazing view on it aside, why has the ATM issue not made the news?
Post by: oisinog on June 25, 2012, 02:57:53 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 02:49:47 PM
I have first hand evidence that it is not, maybe some of the amounts are but there were issues on Friday and people could take out money without their accounts being debited.  So your amazing view on it aside, why has the ATM issue not made the news?

The media could have caused a riot if this made the news.
Post by: camanchero on June 25, 2012, 02:58:28 PM
Quote from: AZOffaly on June 25, 2012, 02:25:17 PM
If it was a batch scheduling problem there is no way it would have taken so long to sort out. Schedulers just kick jobs off. If they've an issue with schedulers is can only be that the job didn't kick off, or perhaps a batch suite kicked off in the wrong order.

EITHER WAY a simple restore and restart should have sorted it out. This wouldn't make sense. Should be a day downtime at most.
i'm sure the real truth will get out at some point - bu what I hav heard/read so far.

yesterdays press carried a story where a former employee cited the problem being the IT programming and support being outsourced abroad to India.
The ex employee mentioned that the code etc was such that another company without proper experience couldnt have handled this IT support/coding.

On its own thats lame - but I was talking to someone this morning who reckoned that ex employees had bolted on additional modules, functions and features for years and that the entire system was a timebomb waiting to happen.
Again, on its own I dont think it could have been that bad.

but add these two togther, plus add either a failure in DR or restoration or even server farm holding the original code/systems and these contributing factors could have caused the problem.

Every IT disaster is the culmination of a few different problems happening at the smae time- otherwise such problems in isolation can be recovered from.

OR
they were hacked and they are not letting on as this would panic customers even more....
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 25, 2012, 03:05:32 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 02:49:47 PM

It's a strange one.  Unless the Ulster Bank have requested that it remains out of the news to keep other towns from trying it out as well.

It did happen in Armagh
Post by: DickyRock on June 25, 2012, 03:16:59 PM
Having worked in software development in a large bank these batching systems process some amount of data. A lot of these systems do not have checkpoints where they can easily roll back to. So they probably had to diagnose the issue, workout how to get back to a good point ( all the time the volume of transactions to be process would've been growing ), then start running again.

Add to this the outsourcing where a load of banks have now lost the knowledge on these systems built up over years. Coming back to bite them now.

Also when you look at the way banking has gone over the last 10 years you'll find that a lot of banks we're bought over/merged. Ulster bank - nat west - rbs, northern bank by ?, heap of wee building societies - bank of Scotland/Halifax -llyods. All these companies went through major integration projects moving to one system for all their customers. So now if a couple of banks hit problems then it would affect nearly every customer in the uk
Post by: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 03:21:41 PM
Outsourcing coming back to bite them, you pay peanuts you get monkeys!
Post by: Billys Boots on June 25, 2012, 04:18:21 PM
Ah here - a creditor who's owed us since January had the cheeck to tell us today that he'd paid us last Wednesday, from his Ulster Bank account.  Jaysus.   ::)
Post by: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 04:23:14 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 25, 2012, 04:18:21 PM
Ah here - a creditor who's owed us since January had the cheeck to tell us today that he'd paid us last Wednesday, from his Ulster Bank account.  Jaysus.   ::)

That's a gas; the honesty of folk is inspiring!
Post by: Billys Boots on June 25, 2012, 04:30:02 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 04:23:14 PM

It stops being funny when pay-day arrives.  :(
Post by: tbrick18 on June 25, 2012, 04:53:33 PM
Quote from: Billys Boots on June 25, 2012, 04:30:02 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 04:23:14 PM

It stops being funny when pay-day arrives.  :(

I dont bank with the UB, but my employer does! Meant to have been paid on Friday....still no word!

I did a placement year in UB way back in the 90's and I worked on some of their mainframe programs. From memory the batch jobs had failover in that if one crashed, the subsequent batch jobs didnt run. The general consensus was they didn't roll back, they'd just re-run the batch. Processed records would not be re-processed so they weren't concerned about a few corrupted records as generally the customers who these records pertained to would eventually complain to their branch. The branch would contact IT, who would query that customer's data and manually "fix" the data.
So if the customer didn't notice a problem...well I always wondered about that!
I don't ever remember there being a rollback in the entire time I was there. To do a rollback of a live mainframe db, which may well have had more transactions between the start and fail of a batch, is not straightforward either. An failed rollback could cause worse problems than a failed batch as if the rollback fails you have no reference point to go back or forward to.

That's a long time ago mind, and I was still green so I'm sure I probably missed the big picture about how it all worked and I'd imagine it has improved since then (or maybe not). I used to bank with UB, but left about 10 years ago for a variety of reasons....including customer service. They then tried to charge me close my account...I said feck that and left the account with £1. It's cost them a fortune since in statements.

If the problem was with a software update, it's very bad management on their part. The update should have been tested offline as should the deploy of that update. They should also have had a tried and tested rollback strategy should the udpate fail AND all data should have been backed up before starting.
If they had followed these measures for a software update, there shouldnt have been this level of problem. So either they didnt follow these measures, or they are spouting BS.
Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2012, 07:10:26 PM
Re. the Ulster Bank - the world is still turning and no-one died. As long as these SQA muppets keep working in the  banking and stay away from the nuclear, aviation or pharmaceutical industry we'll survive.
Post by: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 09:18:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2012, 07:10:26 PM
Re. the Ulster Bank - the world is still turning and no-one died. As long as these SQA muppets keep working in the  banking and stay away from the nuclear, aviation or pharmaceutical industry we'll survive.

One poor child nearly did!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2164191/Family-s-fears-cancer-girl-die-Mexico-NatWest-glitch-meant-crucial-funds-transferred.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2164191/Family-s-fears-cancer-girl-die-Mexico-NatWest-glitch-meant-crucial-funds-transferred.html)

Post by: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2012, 09:25:17 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on June 25, 2012, 09:18:59 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on June 25, 2012, 07:10:26 PM

One poor child nearly did!

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2164191/Family-s-fears-cancer-girl-die-Mexico-NatWest-glitch-meant-crucial-funds-transferred.html (http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2164191/Family-s-fears-cancer-girl-die-Mexico-NatWest-glitch-meant-crucial-funds-transferred.html)
Useless bastards. Crucially, my pay better be in tomorrow!
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 26, 2012, 02:42:26 PM
So it seems an inexperienced India-outsourced employee wiped bucket loads of data when backing out a patch, maybe they'll go easier on the peanuts the next time:

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2012/06/26/rbs_natwest_ca_technologies_outsourcing/
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on June 26, 2012, 03:42:53 PM
There is a sceptic in me sees something fishy in this whole thing.  I know for a fact that the Ulster Bank is completely fucked.  I have been doing a lot of work recently relating to Ulster bank lending and it is all over the shop.  The way money is tranferred into current accounts is through a clearing system which is pretty common knowledge, many banks over the years have used that "money" as collateral to "borrow" other money.  If, for talk sake, a bank withheld this money for a period of days for whatever reason it could conceiveably use it as "collateral" to borrow off other lending organisations.  I think this goes a lot deeper than a technical glitch.  I know of one case where an Ulster Bank branch refused to cash a cheque on a client account, which on the screen had the money, because it simply did not have enough money in its own "stock" to cover all its outgoing funds.  This to me is a scary scenario and I think there will be a bigger rumble very soon.  This may pass but the writing is very much on the wall, the whole shithouse is gonna go up in flames!!!
Post by: TopofthePops on June 26, 2012, 03:44:41 PM
Can I ask a moderator why my original comment was deleted??
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 26, 2012, 03:46:49 PM
Quote from: TopofthePops on June 26, 2012, 03:44:41 PM

What was it?
Post by: el_cuervo_fc on June 26, 2012, 03:51:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on June 26, 2012, 03:48:41 PM
He said that someone got arrested for taking money he didn't own from a bank machine.

Interesting.  Any chance of a PM?
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 26, 2012, 04:00:22 PM
Quote from: TopofthePops on June 26, 2012, 03:44:41 PM

Probably because it was potentially libellous?

Scary stuff BCB1!
Post by: Cold tea on June 26, 2012, 04:33:18 PM
Unless he named people - it's hardly libellous!  But don't question the mods!
Post by: maddog on June 26, 2012, 04:53:13 PM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on June 26, 2012, 03:42:53 PM
There is a sceptic in me sees something fishy in this whole thing.  I know for a fact that the Ulster Bank is completely fucked.  I have been doing a lot of work recently relating to Ulster bank lending and it is all over the shop.  The way money is tranferred into current accounts is through a clearing system which is pretty common knowledge, many banks over the years have used that "money" as collateral to "borrow" other money.  If, for talk sake, a bank withheld this money for a period of days for whatever reason it could conceiveably use it as "collateral" to borrow off other lending organisations.  I think this goes a lot deeper than a technical glitch.  I know of one case where an Ulster Bank branch refused to cash a cheque on a client account, which on the screen had the money, because it simply did not have enough money in its own "stock" to cover all its outgoing funds.  This to me is a scary scenario and I think there will be a bigger rumble very soon.  This may pass but the writing is very much on the wall, the whole shithouse is gonna go up in flames!!!

Are Ulster bank part of Natwest ? Presumably if one is in the brown stuff the other is ?
Post by: AZOffaly on June 26, 2012, 04:58:13 PM
This, from the report,

QuoteBut in the process of backing out a major blunder was committed, according to our source. It was this error which made the task of restoring services so prolonged:

When they did the back-out, a major error was made. An inexperienced person cleared the whole queue ... they erased all the scheduling.

That created a large backlog as all the wiped information had to be re-inputted to the system and reprocessed. A complicated legacy mainframe system at RBS and a team inexperienced in its quirks made the problem harder to fix, our source adds.

Sounds like waffle.

If they removed the scheduled jobs, it should have been very easy to reschedule them. A scheduler is just something that controls the execution of jobs, and conditions for execution, etc. Deleting the jobs from the queue would mean that you have never processed the information, and so it should be very easy to reschedule the jobs, or even wait until the next evening before processing two days at once.

It could be that they fucked up when they realised what they'd done, and made a mess of forcing jobs through to completion, which may have left transactions omitted, processed in the wrong order, incorrectly bypassed or whatever, but simply removing all the jobs from the queue on one night is not a reason for a week long downtime.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on June 26, 2012, 06:38:07 PM
See your point AZ, however, if the scheduled jobs were highly interdependent, ultrasensitively sequential, multitudinously threaded, and inscrutably piecemeal and fragmentary in nature, and decades of disparate systems' integration in the making, I would well believe the capacity therein for the mother of all snafus!

Your alternative scenario is probably the more likely though, in having said that.
Post by: Hashtag on July 03, 2012, 10:08:30 AM
A major haulage company in Northern Ireland has just changed it's bank account from Ulster Bank to AIB. I expect many to follow.

This is it for UB. I would suggest its time for mass panic. Get to your UB now and withdraw all your cash. That's what I will be doing.

May God have mercy on your souls. Best of luck to all.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 03, 2012, 10:15:11 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on July 03, 2012, 10:08:30 AM
A major haulage company in Northern Ireland has just changed it's bank account from Ulster Bank to AIB. I expect many to follow.

This is it for UB. I would suggest its time for mass panic. Get to your UB now and withdraw all your cash. That's what I will be doing.

Trust me there will be a run on the Ulster bank before the week is out, there is one currently happening on another high street bank which hasn't made the news and one happened 2 weeks ago, albeit to a smaller extent on another Northern based bank.  There was a "technical" glitch as well but it was staved off within a few hours.  Banking as we know it is slowly grinding to a halt, predicted by Robert Kywosaki a few years back in one of his Rich Dad books.
Post by: Hashtag on July 03, 2012, 10:22:14 AM
Quote from: brokencrossbar1 on July 03, 2012, 10:15:11 AM

Trust me there will be a run on the Ulster bank before the week is out, there is one currently happening on another high street bank which hasn't made the news and one happened 2 weeks ago, albeit to a smaller extent on another Northern based bank.  There was a "technical" glitch as well but it was staved off within a few hours.  Banking as we know it is slowly grinding to a halt, predicted by Robert Kywosaki a few years back in one of his Rich Dad books.

A theory that came to light a few years ago was:
* Physical form of currency would be done away with. No cash. All digitial pounds- Chip & Pin and such.
* Massive computer problems would wipe out all digital records.
* World would revert back to slavery.

Phases one and two of this plan are also complete.
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on July 03, 2012, 10:32:45 AM
Quote from: Hashtag on July 03, 2012, 10:22:14 AM

* Physical form of currency would be done away with. No cash. All digitial pounds- Chip & Pin and such.

And I thought I was the Boards resident conspiracy theorist!!!!!!
Post by: thebigfella on July 03, 2012, 10:33:37 AM

Except phase 1 is only partially complete and phase 2 has not happened.
Post by: armaghniac on July 03, 2012, 11:07:39 AM
The Ulster Bank thing has definitely gone beyond a joke at this stage. Any system can have problems, but something is seriously out of kilter if it takes so long to fix things.
Post by: Hashtag on July 03, 2012, 01:40:08 PM
Quote from: thebigfella on July 03, 2012, 10:33:37 AM

Except phase 1 is only partially complete and phase 2 has not happened.

Very hard to get access to cash at the moment. A few ones were looking for me to pay them cash for work they done in my house. I had to go get it off the Credit Union. Otherwise I wouldn't been able to get hold of it. More than partially complete imo.

Phase 2 has started. Start the panic. Don't come crying to me once the salvery has begun.
Post by: Shortso79 on July 03, 2012, 01:44:24 PM
Ulster Bank branch in Castlewellan is robbed by gunman

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-18685102
Post by: Premier Emperor on July 03, 2012, 02:10:24 PM
Quote from: Shortso79 on July 03, 2012, 01:44:24 PM
Ulster Bank branch in Castlewellan is robbed by gunman

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-northern-ireland-18685102
Father Ted: Are you up to your old tricks, Tom?
Tom: No, Father. It's my money. I just didn't want to fill out the forms.
Post by: Bingo on July 03, 2012, 02:16:24 PM
I do a bit of work for retire UB branch manager and was just chatting to him, he says from talking to his ex-colleagues still working for them, that they know no more than what the public have been told. He reckons the full picture isn't out there yet and is baffled by it.

Local branch has two full storage boxes of manual records that have been taken bt staff last few weeks and each one will have to be inputted onto the system. Mountains of work and potential errors and mispostings to follow.
Post by: Cold tea on July 03, 2012, 02:45:38 PM
I remember working for a Buliding Society where a teller input the 11 digit account number as the lodgement.   :P
Post by: maggie on July 03, 2012, 03:14:49 PM
It has descended into a farce. Have been with the Ulster Bank since I signed up in P7 to get my Henry Hippo but I am totally disillusioned with it now.
None of my local branches ie within a 10 mile radius were open on a sat/sun so I had to drive over 20 miles to get to one at the w'end.

After listening to Stephen Cruise today on Talkback and to be honest he was as clear as mud on the issue and when it will be resolved.

I made transactions in two different branches and was not given a receipt and when I asked, was told they aren't doing them at the minute yet he said differently on the programme.

It really is so frustrating as its my only account and I don't have a credit card. Couldn't even pay for diesel the other day cause my card was declined even though I got paid on fri.

Surely they are gonna have to close completely to catch up with the backlog.

But most of all, I feel sorry for the small businesses who are now in danger of going under cause of it.

Grrrrrrrrrrrr.
Post by: Cold tea on July 03, 2012, 03:32:48 PM
Vote on your feet Maggie, other banks  will take care of all your direct debits, salary etc  if you switch and most  gave you a financial incentive for switching.  The level of incompetence is beyond a joke at this stage.
Post by: TacadoirArdMhacha on July 03, 2012, 03:56:43 PM
Got the wages through on the online banking system there. Am considering taking the wages out in cash stopping using my Ulster Bank account. Hard to know what to do. To complicate matters, my debit card expired on 30th June and like and idiot I've lost the new one. Cancelled it and re-ordered but God knows when that will turn up.
Post by: screenexile on July 03, 2012, 03:57:21 PM
I had an eye opener working for the bank about 10 years ago. They are as infallible as anyone else. Working on the till there are all sorts of mistakes made all the time. My favourite was when £900 went missing one day and nobody had any idea what had happened.

It was written off and then 3 months later a lovely old dear came into me with her balance on screen being £900 more than in her passbook. The previous cashier had done everything except enter the transaction into the computer screen!!

Stephen Cruise was the area manager at the time and he's a slippery boy so I wouldn't be filling up with confidence at what he's saying!!
Post by: screenmachine on July 03, 2012, 04:09:29 PM
I still have a student account as my main account with the Ulsterbank with about a £500 overdraft (interest free) set up on it.  I was thinking of emptying the account and setting up a new one elsewhere, leaving about £10 in the account and just let it sit there forever, if possible.

If the Ulsterbank come looking their overdraft cleared I'll tell them I think I should be able to clear it next month.  When next month comes, tell them I'm working very hard and know it's unacceptable but I will clear it as quickly as possible.  I will continue this infinitely without ever paying them back.

Is this adviseable/are they doing anything different to their own customers at the moment?
Post by: armaghniac on July 03, 2012, 05:03:36 PM
QuoteThere's also a First Trust branch in Dromore, but the rumour about locally is that it'll close sooner or later too

Perhaps it won't, if enough Northern Bank customers from Fintona and Ulster Bank customers change their accounts. :)
Post by: Hashtag on July 04, 2012, 07:56:30 AM
Was approached by a member of Stephen Nolan's show yesterday to come on air to talk about our current problems with Ulster Bank. Said I would email him, he was looking me to talk live on air this morning:

'Online banking seems to be down today'. These are the words I uttered to my boss on the 20th of June. No more was thought of it. Little did I think that 312 hours later the issue would still have no resolve. At this stage I personally am starting to foresee a future without banks, hell I'm starting to forget how to bank considering the vast distance  between my last banking experience.

The computer glitch that has put a halt to many businesses has been on-going, however Northern Ireland's top local bank were not to deterred they done what any top business would do. The ULSTER Bank ensured that the issue would be solved immediately.......for their English customers. Day 13. The accounts department is a hostile place to be. Suppliers are having no remorse. Angry Italian's and German's. They have never even heard of the Ulster Bank. They just want their damn Euro. Ulster bank don't allow foreign transfers during this stage. And why would they.....we only have the 700,000 euro in our account that we can't access.

On a personal note I managed to take £20 out of the ATM this morning in Donaghmore. I bought ham, an apple and a snickers with this money. I had £17.89 change. I came to work and logged onto my personal bank- yes the £20 had been debited from my account- all transactions have been debited but the three weeks pay I am now missing has yet to be credited. And why would it? Sure I am only been abused by suppliers & staff over their unpaid monies. Because its my fault.

This week I have done the wages, I have had 13 people looking to change their bank account- away from Ulster Bank- AIB seems to be the winner here. Numerous suppliers have since done the same. For me, I think this is the death of the UB> so long old friend, you had a good run until that faithful IT glitch, have you tried switching it off and back on?

Numerous conspiracies have come to mind over this:
•   The Ulster Bank has been robbed, hacked. The money's gone. They are waiting on the insurance money to kick in before they can credit the accounts.
•   Europe is reverting back to slavery. The plan was: 1. cripple economies, 2. get rid of cash- move everyone over to digital money through chip and pin etc. 3. Crash the computerised system 4. Hand out whips to the most powerful.
•   The UB want out of the Irish market. They want to concentrate on their beloved English ahead of the Olympics.

I predict another four weeks before everything is fully functional. I'm not even going to go into what this has caused for our credit control.

Isn't banking simple.

Post by: Hashtag on July 04, 2012, 08:06:20 AM
UB are having serious problems with the 19.06.12. They have no transactions for this date. On the morning of the 19th I checked our bank, like I do every morning, to see what payments were in. I then added them onto our accounting system. These have since disappeared from their records. I was talking to our relationship manager and she says that they are having to enter every transaction manually (I expect a load of errors) but they have no records to go from for the 19th!!!!!!!!
Post by: maggie on July 04, 2012, 09:12:46 AM
Nolan is outside the Ulster Bank HQ this morning.

He's bound to sort the whole thing out.

Also tyrone ppl sound awful broad on the radio.
Post by: screenexile on July 04, 2012, 09:17:18 AM
Quote from: maggie on July 04, 2012, 09:12:46 AM

Tyrone people sound awful broad.
Post by: fitzroyalty on July 04, 2012, 09:26:31 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 04, 2012, 09:17:18 AM

Tyrone people sound awful broad.
Tyrone people sound awful.
Post by: Cold tea on July 04, 2012, 09:42:41 AM
Heard today the data is, ahem - lost.  :-X
Post by: ziggy90 on July 04, 2012, 09:46:29 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 04, 2012, 09:17:18 AM

Tyrone people sound awful wile broad.

Fixed it.
Post by: clarshack on July 04, 2012, 10:19:00 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on July 04, 2012, 09:42:41 AM

does that mean that the people who took out money that wasnt theirs - will get away with it?
Post by: Hashtag on July 04, 2012, 10:55:08 AM
Quote from: clarshack on July 04, 2012, 10:19:00 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on July 04, 2012, 09:42:41 AM

does that mean that the people who took out money that wasnt theirs - will get away with it?

Just the data from the 19th!!!! They have no records of it. There are stumped. BLACK HOLE TUESDAY!
Post by: EC Unique on July 04, 2012, 11:00:34 AM
I would guess anyone who can get any money out will be taking it. The bank will fold.
Post by: viva the mccooey on July 04, 2012, 11:12:30 AM
Maybe there is no money! Seems mighty odd to me this whole thing. Perhaps RBS/Ulster ran out of money and the whole technical problem was a cover story until they got funds in. Five years ago this would have been a laughable theory but today it maybe true!
Post by: deiseach on July 04, 2012, 12:41:59 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 04, 2012, 11:00:34 AM
I would guess anyone who can get any money out will be taking it. The bank will fold.

I don't think it's that simple. I have free banking with Ulster, something I wouldn't get with AIB or BoI, and the ability to take sterling out for no extra charge in Britain at NatWest/RBS machines is very handy. In the end, I'll probably do nothing because doing something will make me worse off :-\
Post by: EC Unique on July 04, 2012, 12:54:22 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 04, 2012, 12:41:59 PM

I don't think it's that simple. I have free banking with Ulster, something I wouldn't get with AIB or BoI, and the ability to take sterling out for no extra charge in Britain at NatWest/RBS machines is very handy. In the end, I'll probably do nothing because doing something will make me worse off :-\

I have heard a few people who are going to ATM and taking out as much as they can and also going to branch and with drawing as much as allowed. If a lot of people do this the bank is only going one way.
Post by: deiseach on July 04, 2012, 12:56:24 PM
Quote from: EC Unique on July 04, 2012, 12:54:22 PM
I have heard a few people who are going to ATM and taking out as much as they can and also going to branch and with drawing as much as allowed. If a lot of people do this the bank is only going one way.

Aye, I'm proceeding on the basis that they'll fix the problem :o
Post by: armaghniac on July 04, 2012, 12:58:49 PM
QuoteI have heard a few people who are going to ATM and taking out as much as they can and also going to branch and with drawing as much as allowed. If a lot of people do this the bank is only going one way.

Taking money from ATMs is relatively small beer.
Ulster is ultimately owned by the British government, they will just print more money and put more back in. The whole ATM thing could be a form of quantitative easing for the Armagh area!
Post by: maggie on July 04, 2012, 01:04:33 PM
Except when your wages haven't cleared so you can't get any money out of an ATM.
Have a wedding on fri as well so hope the Bride and Groom don't mind getting an Ulster bank cheque as their pressie......
Post by: deiseach on July 04, 2012, 01:05:22 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on July 04, 2012, 12:58:49 PM
Taking money from ATMs is relatively small beer.
Ulster is ultimately owned by the British government, they will just print more money and put more back in. The whole ATM thing could be a form of quantitative easing for the Armagh area!

I can see the next step in Troubles revisionism right there
Post by: Billys Boots on July 04, 2012, 01:31:53 PM
Uh oh, now you're for it deiseach!
Post by: LeoMc on July 04, 2012, 02:09:25 PM
Quote from: deiseach on July 04, 2012, 12:41:59 PM

I have free banking wih BoI, I assume they charge in the 26 ???
Post by: deiseach on July 04, 2012, 02:39:26 PM
Quote from: LeoMc on July 04, 2012, 02:09:25 PM
I have free banking wih BoI, I assume they charge in the 26 ???

It was my understanding that they're not free down here. I'll check them out a bit more.
Post by: Orior on July 07, 2012, 10:29:53 PM
I went to close my son's Henry the Hippo accounts but I had lost their books, and the Ulster Bank kept their money. Feckers.

So who provides IT support to Ulster Bank/RBS? Is it Indian?

I agree that even with batch update systems, there should be checks and balances the whole way through. In the event of failure there would roll-back or backups to restore from.

Not being able to get a database back to a point in time is really a school boy error.

Post by: Tony Baloney on July 07, 2012, 11:13:48 PM
Do these gaffs not backup daily? Our work does an incremental backup every day and a full backup weekly.
Post by: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2012, 11:17:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 07, 2012, 11:13:48 PM
Do these gaffs not backup daily? Our work does an incremental backup every day and a full backup weekly.

Regardless of the backup strategy (full, incremental, etc.), there should always be logs for the database (which are effectively a continuous backup), though this sounds like it's more of a systems fcuk-up, not database-oriented.
Post by: Dinny Breen on July 07, 2012, 11:37:34 PM

QuoteNot being able to get a database back to a point in time is really a school boy error.

I'm sure they could the database back in time, it's the transactions that occurred post corruption they would then lose, it was probably a business decision to plough ahead and resolve rather than roll back.

From a technical perspective if the data blocks had become corrupt was it data, software of hardware, a disk failure, disk controller failure, SAN, an O/S bug, a software bug . They probably had a physical standby in place but if the corruption wasn't spotted in time, it probably passed over deeming the standby useless.

Their maximum availability solution has obviously failed but the Banks are notorious for running old versions of software and hardware so nobody I know was surprised this could happen to a bank
Post by: Onion Bag on July 16, 2012, 05:07:32 PM
Any Ulsterbank customers here?

is everyone back up to date, i got paid on 20th of june and it still has not registered on my account,

ive just been tearing away with my cash card and my Standing orders have been paid but my account still says a big fat £0

wasnt really bothered at the start but am getting really pissed off with the whole thing now  >:(
Post by: Aristo 60 on July 16, 2012, 05:10:57 PM
Yes all up to date Onion, just have to get the late payment fee and interest back on the credit card (couldn't get it paid on line).

When rang to get refunded automated voice said they would be doing this so I didn't hang around to enquire further
Post by: screenexile on July 16, 2012, 05:21:31 PM
Saw a few people on Facebook throughout the day "Ok so after ulster bank taking 3 wk & 5days to get my pay showing in my account they have now charged me twice totalling £35 which they have withdrawing from the account! Good luck to the till operator tomorrow when I go in to see her!!"

Really? Are people that thick that they've not been listening when they've said they will refund all charges incurred?! Why start getting angry about it now?
Post by: thebigfella on July 16, 2012, 06:03:00 PM
Quote from: screenexile on July 16, 2012, 05:21:31 PM
Saw a few people on Facebook throughout the day "Ok so after ulster bank taking 3 wk & 5days to get my pay showing in my account they have now charged me twice totalling £35 which they have withdrawing from the account! Good luck to the till operator tomorrow when I go in to see her!!"

Really? Are people that thick that they've not been listening when they've said they will refund all charges incurred?! Why start getting angry about it now?

Yep. Usually these people like the sound of their own voices too.
Post by: The Gs Man on July 16, 2012, 07:31:23 PM
But what if they really needed the £35 and they can't get it cos the bank took it? Even if you were guaranteed it back at a later stage.
Post by: theskull1 on July 16, 2012, 07:47:06 PM
Quote from: The Gs Man on July 16, 2012, 07:31:23 PM
But what if they really needed the £35 and they can't get it cos the bank took it? Even if you were guaranteed it back at a later stage.

A bit of an extreme corner case there. More chance of them being thick
Post by: bridgegael on July 16, 2012, 08:24:47 PM
Kick up a fuss anyway!  we dont do enough of it in this country!
Post by: screenexile on July 17, 2012, 12:33:05 AM
Quote from: bridgegael on July 16, 2012, 08:24:47 PM
Kick up a fuss anyway!  we dont do enough of it in this country!

I have no problem kicking up a fuss. If I'm out for dinner or purchase a service that's not up to standard I'll let people know about it. UB have been all over TV, Radio, Newspaper saying they will not leave people out of pocket, all charges will be refunded etc. etc. if people are going to be greatly affected by the problem they should at least read up about how it will be rectified rather than torture some poor young girl behind the till who's having to clean up somebody elses mess!!
Post by: deiseach on July 17, 2012, 10:57:49 AM
Quote from: screenexile on July 17, 2012, 12:33:05 AM
I have no problem kicking up a fuss. If I'm out for dinner or purchase a service that's not up to standard I'll let people know about it. UB have been all over TV, Radio, Newspaper saying they will not leave people out of pocket, all charges will be refunded etc. etc. if people are going to be greatly affected by the problem they should at least read up about how it will be rectified rather than torture some poor young girl behind the till who's having to clean up somebody elses mess!!

It shows how screwed up our current economic model is. We have allowed the creation of giant corporations where parasites like Jim Brown erect human shields between themselves and their customers. We're €100 down with Ulster due to duplicate transactions and it is only right that we should object to this, but as you note the only people we can complain to have no means to remedy it! The revolution is coming, it really is, and Jim Brown and his ilk will be first up against the wall. I just hope for all our sakes that it is only metaphorical.
Post by: seafoid on July 17, 2012, 11:11:33 AM
Quote from: Fear ón Srath Bán on July 07, 2012, 11:17:00 PM
Quote from: Tony Baloney on July 07, 2012, 11:13:48 PM

Regardless of the backup strategy (full, incremental, etc.), there should always be logs for the database (which are effectively a continuous backup), though this sounds like it's more of a systems fcuk-up, not database-oriented.
RBS cut several thousand IT jobs over the last 3 years and it shows 
Post by: EC Unique on July 26, 2012, 05:34:22 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-18999135 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-18999135)

More trouble?
Post by: real food, real people on August 31, 2012, 11:10:51 AM
Anyone any thoughts on the so called compensation package announced by Ulster Bank today?

£20........
Post by: deiseach on August 31, 2012, 11:18:14 AM
Quote from: real food, real people on August 31, 2012, 11:10:51 AM
Anyone any thoughts on the so called compensation package announced by Ulster Bank today?

£20........

To be honest, that'll do for me. It was a pain, and the stress of worrying that I'd have no money when I was in France wasn't nice. But I didn't lose any money or find my lecky was cut off so a gesture will be enough
Post by: trileacman on August 31, 2012, 11:47:19 AM
To be fair the bank is at debt's door, its not like they can fork out a few hundred quid each in a gesture.
Post by: Rois on August 31, 2012, 12:07:14 PM
Er, you might want to read the full terms of the package - £20 is not the maximum if you have suffered genuine loss (which would be the same in any civil case - you need to prove loss before you would be awarded damages). 

The regulator has been heavily involved in this so if they think it is adequate and have signed off on it, then not many other places you can go to challenge the terms. 
Post by: Hereiam on October 04, 2012, 03:23:47 PM
There is no doubt in my mind that the RBS was hacked and here is the outcome

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-19828855 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-19828855)
Post by: thebigfella on October 04, 2012, 04:48:13 PM
Quote from: Hereiam on October 04, 2012, 03:23:47 PM
There is no doubt in my mind that the RBS was hacked and here is the outcome

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-19828855 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-19828855)

2 completely different things... That article proves fcuk all
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on June 17, 2015, 10:43:29 AM
Major c**k-up again this morning with no DD being paid or tax credits/benefits processed. I've an online shop coming 11am and my payment won't go through ffs.
Post by: Hereiam on June 17, 2015, 11:04:42 AM
Something seriously wrong with these banks IT systems. Wasn't the nationwide down on Friday and now RBS again. Not good for consumer confidence
Post by: imtommygunn on June 17, 2015, 11:17:57 AM
The missus was to get paid today and had payments going out. Now overdrawn due to this and not happy - it was standing orders.

I could tell her she should give a number of days grace however I think I will bite my tongue...

This is a prime example of an illustration of how outsourcing IT systems to India does not work.
Post by: general_lee on June 17, 2015, 11:25:23 AM
i used to work for Ulster Bank. There was a time when UB wasn't that bad (as far as banks go). Since being under RBS they've gone to shite. I actually pity their customers. Any of these IT issues that arise and it will be NatWest, RBS etc that are resolved first, then UB.
Post by: topcuppla on June 18, 2015, 10:50:44 AM
Why anyone still banks with ulster bank is beyond me.