No Béarla

Started by magpie seanie, January 05, 2007, 02:39:25 PM

Megatron 3:16

as gaelige le do thoil, no abair leis an laimh..... 8)

dodo

Quote from: Fiodoir Ard Mhacha on January 08, 2007, 09:59:19 AM
Perhaps they should bring out a body language guide for the Gaeligoirí then.

e.g. When walking into a bar in Ma'am Cross, wear a bright-pastel colored pair of pants, gaudy t-shirt with the word 'Yankees' emblazoned on it and ask for one of your best glaases of Gui-ne-ess so the cute hoor locals don't think you're one of those mono-cultured Northerners..

You'd be some buck to be drinking in Peacocks of Maam Cross these days. Not sure if you'd be sued by Basil or the bank.

TirEoghaingodeo

Caithfidh go bhfuil cuid mhór gaeilgeorí ar an suímoh seo - an mbíonn threads as gaeilge? Agus an bhfuil gaeilge ag duine ar bith ar threads?
Ó dá ligfeadh sí liú amháin gaile, liú catha...

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Tá brón an domhain orm ag scriobh i mBéarla ach mar a dúirt mé roimhe seo, déanaim dearmaid mo chuid Gaeilge agus, anois, níos measa, tá a fhios agam nach bhfuil fáilte romhaim ar bith i gcontae Gailimh fosta!!

I told ye I was rusty.
"Something wrong with your eyes?....
Yes, they're sensitive to questions!"

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

I happened upon this programme last night when he travelled north, via a car breakdown in Dundalk. I hate to say it, and I know the intention of the show is honorable, but, on the one hand, there's something awful smug about yer man which is almost as irritating as the punters who reply in English to say they don't speak 'Irish'.

Of course, yer man lost out big time on the Shan-kill Road in Belfast when one Uncle Andy lookalike says "Sure, Irish borrows a whole lot of words from British (sic  ::)) like telefís from television. If yer boy Mangan had known his onions, he would have responded that tele-vision is almost certainly of Greek origin in its idea and that there's tonnes of words that Gaelic has 'given' to English, the most widespread being 'she'.

Still, I guess the funniest moment was when he asked for some orange juice in a supermarket in West Belfast and the shop assistant replies "I haven't a baldie, love".

Or the guy from the Shankill who reckoned Mangan was too "posh" to be Irish. Not like those "big rough men from Mayo" he used to fish with. "They were rough men those Mayo men – all IRA too" he says under his breath as he walks away. The cnut obviously hasn't met too many Mayo men.

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

Cue Enda and his ever so-clipped Ennngleesh.

Ahhh Enda Kenny. Whatever happened to him anyhow?

Stll, WB lived up to all its usual expectations in that prog, spides, and all.

At least in WB they made an effort to sort him out using whatever Irish they had and he even ran into one bloke who was fluent. In many other part of the country people were downright hostile to him for not speaking English. As I remember he was near getting a slap from someone in the OS office in Dublin when he tried to buy a map.

Fiodoir Ard Mhacha

I guess the most telling moment was when he rang Directory Enquiries and the guy couldn't speak Irish.

What if you happened to be either ringing from a Gaeltacht area and either not wishing to speak English (or unable to?) OR looking for a place/business which was actually written 'as Gaeilge'? What would Directories do then?

I worked in 192 a few years back (in Portadown....) for a wee while and remember we handled calls requesting southern Irish homes and businesses. One caller rang looking for Galloglys shop in St Johnstone and the operator beside me replied "I can't find that business but I have one in Cahirciveen.....will that do?"  ::)

Quote from: TirEoghaingodeo on January 08, 2007, 11:10:46 PM
Caithfidh go bhfuil cuid mhór gaeilgeorí ar an suímoh seo - an mbíonn threads as gaeilge? Agus an bhfuil gaeilge ag duine ar bith ar threads?

Tá neart stuff anseo duit a mhic.

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=2652.0

http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=2654.0

QuoteAhhh Enda Kenny. Whatever happened to him anyhow?

any day now someone is gonna tell him he lost the election...

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: magickingdom on June 08, 2007, 10:58:46 AM
QuoteAhhh Enda Kenny. Whatever happened to him anyhow?

any day now someone is gonna tell him he lost the election...

Mayo Fine Gael are having a Victory Celebration in Castlebar tonight, Im deadly serious too,

Fishead_Sam

Quote from: Donagh on June 08, 2007, 09:26:52 AM
Or the guy from the Shankill who reckoned Mangan was too "posh" to be Irish. Not like those "big rough men from Mayo" he used to fish with. "They were rough men those Mayo men – all IRA too" he says under his breath as he walks away. The cnut obviously hasn't met too many Mayo men.

A yes the 3 Republicans in Mayo so busy fishing they can't play football or vote  ;)

I think the last Republicans in Mayo died in 1976. Which reminds me, did Emmet Stagg get re-elected?

Boolerhead Mel

Emmet was reelected in Kildare.