Removal of Gaza flag in Croke Park!

Started by Aoise, August 04, 2014, 09:29:49 PM

Syferus and Rossiewanderer - yer a pair of gobshites.

Whats wrong with supporters of GAA showing solidarity the people of a country that are being butchered (there is no other word) by an army and country that has special status and relations with the western world and most importantly for us with the EU/UN of which Ireland is a part. It is a disgrace that this is happened and useless c***ts like Enda Kenny, Charlie Flanagan and the labour sell outs do nothing. If Irish people want to send out a message they will despite whingers like you too. We did it for South Africa and we will do it again.

glens abu

Quote from: mylestheslasher on August 05, 2014, 10:10:58 PM

Whats wrong with supporters of GAA showing solidarity the people of a country that are being butchered (there is no other word) by an army and country that has special status and relations with the western world and most importantly for us with the EU/UN of which Ireland is a part. It is a disgrace that this is happened and useless c***ts like Enda Kenny, Charlie Flanagan and the labour sell outs do nothing. If Irish people want to send out a message they will despite whingers like you too. We did it for South Africa and we will do it again.

charlieTully

Quote from: glens abu on August 05, 2014, 10:32:46 PM

ditto, ffs agreeing with Myles and Glens, 100% do though. Politics maybe should be left aside from sport but this is different. It would be great to see croke park full of Palestinian flags at the weekend, f..k Murdock, if he withdraws his coin will it really make any difference, the GAA survived long enough without him.

Do you honestly think Rupert Murdoch knows or cares what is being broadcast on his channels at any time,as long as the money rolls in?

If any political points should be made at the weekend,why not reference the slaughter of our own.What more appropriate occasion to highlight the British secret services murder of Irish citizens than a rare Dublin V Monaghan Championship clash beamed across the world on satellite tv

I have no time for people mixing sporting occasions with politics. Doesn't matter a jot if it's a hospital or a genocide, doing it accomplishes very little. If you want to protest, protest. If you want to watch a match, though..

I also have sympathy for the stewards that have to deal with these sorts of situations on the fly without a huge amount of experience or guidance on what to do.

charlieTully

Quote from: T Fearon on August 05, 2014, 10:51:02 PM
Do you honestly think Rupert Murdoch knows or cares what is being broadcast on his channels at any time,as long as the money rolls in?

If any political points should be made at the weekend,why not reference the slaughter of our own.What more appropriate occasion to highlight the British secret services murder of Irish citizens than a rare Dublin V Monaghan Championship clash beamed across the world on satellite tv

Sometimes its just not about us, would it not show a fantastic act of solidarity to the Palestinian people to see Croke park awash with their flag?.

Quote from: charlieTully on August 05, 2014, 11:12:31 PM

Sometimes its just not about us, would it not show a fantastic act of solidarity to the Palestinian people to see Croke park awash with their flag?.

That would never happen nor would they even care beyond an "ah sure isn't that nice". Let's not puff it up into something it isn't.

Those who don't want too mix politics and sport need to research the whole ethos of the GAA.

I hope Croke sees plenty of Palestine flags.

charlieTully

Quote from: Syferus on August 05, 2014, 11:24:01 PM
Quote from: charlieTully on August 05, 2014, 11:12:31 PM

That would never happen nor would they even care beyond an "ah sure isn't that nice". Let's not puff it up into something it isn't.

it would show them they are not being forgotten, that they have an ever increasing support as evidenced by the countless protests all over the world, I was at a protest in London a couple of weeks back with over 100,000 people, please enlighten me what would be wrong with a show of solidarty in croke park?

give her dixie

I have started a facebook group "GAA 4 Gaza"  so that GAA members and supporters can show their solidarity with Gaza:

Please share and invite your friends

https://www.facebook.com/groups/305563316286941/requests/?notif_t=group_r2j
next stop, September 10, for number 4......

Sidney

Quote from: Syferus on August 05, 2014, 10:58:35 PM

I have no time for people mixing sporting occasions with politics. Doesn't matter a jot if it's a hospital or a genocide, doing it accomplishes very little. If you want to protest, protest. If you want to watch a match, though..

I also have sympathy for the stewards that have to deal with these sorts of situations on the fly without a huge amount of experience or guidance on what to do.
The sporting boycott of Apartheid South Africa was a significant help in the successful osctracisation of that regime from the international community.

The Black Power salute in 1968 was a demonstration to the world that the black population of the USA would no longer tolerate discrimination against them.

Only a fool would say that both were not 100% worthwhile.

Sidney

Quote from: rossiewanderer on August 05, 2014, 07:05:14 PM

Have a 'word in his ear' would you indeed!?

While yer at it why not fly some more flags in solidarity with Democratic Rep of Congo,Sudan,CAR,Syria etc where similar horrors are unfolding.Or Why not just bring your county flag and enjoy the match?
Given that you already support Israel, why aren't you also voicing your support for other murderous Middle eastern regimes?

Why stop at just the one?

Isn't that completely hypocritical?

Sidney

Quote from: Syferus on August 05, 2014, 04:19:19 PM
Quote from: haveaharp on August 05, 2014, 04:04:26 PM
Quote from: Syferus on August 05, 2014, 01:35:16 PM
You Armagh lads seem to have gone fairly delirious when ye got a sniff of Jones' Road again.

Watch the football. Go home. Repeat if you're lucky. That's how the rest of us do it.

You go there often then ?

More often than Armagh do. Ouch.
Just a little tip for you, mate. When debating on the INTERNET, trying to score points by writing "ouch" after something you've written makes you look like a bit of a tit.

rossiewanderer

I dont support Israel  you complete and utter clown.

Sidney

Quote from: rossiewanderer on August 06, 2014, 12:22:41 AM
I dont support Israel  you complete and utter clown.
Er...yeah...sure you don't.

Quote from: rossiewanderer on July 22, 2014, 02:41:14 PM
Israel are the right side in this unfolding tragedy.

No amount of esteemed professional Palestinian protesters in this country who continually quote out of context will convince me otherwise.In fact many of the rabble that constitutes these protests should get people thinking,Hang on a minute here....

Quote from: rossiewanderer on July 21, 2014, 08:29:31 AM
Hamas use woman and children as human shields.The civilian death toll they are engineering is
part of a grotesque tactical play to garner international intervention(which will never happen) and to provoke a reaction from the murderously out of control Muslim world.
  Hamas have the blood of their own people on their hands.

Israel has the right to defend herself.

Quote from: rossiewanderer on July 22, 2014, 12:48:24 PM
Hamas are killing their own people,They are responsible for their dead children.They can stop this killing at any time but they prefer to sacrifice their own people and film the wailing cries of publicly
filmed funerals in a callous bid to instigate anti-Israel sentiment throughout the world.