Sean Brady Has Retired.

Are you glad to see him go?
42 (80.8%)
Are you sad to see him go?
10 (19.2%)

Total Members Voted: 52

LCohen

Quote from: T Fearon on October 14, 2014, 11:13:38 PM
For the umpteenth time he wasn't a Cardinal in 1975,He made Senior a Church figures aware,he had every right to assume they had done the right thing

I never claimed he was a cardinal in 1975. Moral duties arise in humans not in cardinals

He reported his findings to his superiors,moral duty performed

Would that not have been his professional duty rather than his moral one? ???

LCohen

Quote from: T Fearon on October 14, 2014, 11:20:41 PM

As I said earlier in no sane world would this view be shared.

Your Malcolm Muggeridge routine is becoming increasingly desparate

Was he supposed to follow this case for the rest of his life /ministry? What if he assumed it was all done and dusted six months later (it was the early 90s before Smyth became public knowledge)..There comes a time in all our lives when we have to close the book, and realise we did all we could have done.It has always been my contention that Brady as a relatively young priest with no influence,reported accurately his findings to people of influence.The failure to act was their responsibility not his.

Quote from: T Fearon on October 14, 2014, 11:49:27 PM
Was he supposed to follow this case for the rest of his life /ministry? What if he assumed it was all done and dusted six months later (it was the early 90s before Smyth became public knowledge)..There comes a time in all our lives when we have to close the book, and realise we did all we could have done.It has always been my contention that Brady as a relatively young priest with no influence,reported accurately his findings to people of influence.The failure to act was their responsibility not his.

Jesus and his ministry died at 34 Tony so whats with this relatively young rubbish?

Brady didn't need public knowledge to know about Smyth. How could he simply assume it was all done and dusted when nothing was reported in the media about him being investigated in all that time? Seriously clutching at straws there. He did his masters bidding and in keeping with the church the world over he kept stuum all those years and that loyalty paid him back in spades.

The difference was Jesus was the main man in his 30s.

Once again bemused by the career analogy.The responsibility to deal with Brendan Smyth lay with top clergy in the church in the mid. 70s,not the relatively junior Fr John Brady.

haveaharp

(it was the early 90s before Smyth became public knowledge)..

Yeah Sean certainly assisted with that. :o

QuoteBrady didn't need public knowledge to know about Smyth. How could he simply assume it was all done and dusted when nothing was reported in the media about him being investigated in all that time?

Too tired to address this response to your assertion Tony?

AhNowRef

Quote from: T Fearon on October 14, 2014, 06:45:25 PM
Change the record,and by the way it's paedophile
Ha, if the cap fits old chap !! ... And sorry, I bow to your superior spelling of the word .. who'd have thought it eh ?

Quote from: theskull1 on October 15, 2014, 10:39:24 AM
QuoteBrady didn't need public knowledge to know about Smyth. How could he simply assume it was all done and dusted when nothing was reported in the media about him being investigated in all that time?

Too tired to address this response to your assertion Tony?

Exactly, Brady the facilitator knew damn well ... Career before countless innocent children's lives .. Way to go Cardinal !!

Also, I have to laugh at your continued suggestions that somehow Brady was like Father Dougal when he was 36 (big feckin eejit) and then somehow changed himself into this fantastic Bishop/Cardinal a short time later .... Both a long way off the mark Im afraid .... A career hungry morally defunct individual all along !!

Agent Orange

An Irish priest has been found guilty of sexually abusing a child in his care at a religious school in the Chilean capital, Santiago.

The court found that John O'Reilly, who moved to Chile from Ireland in 1985, had abused the girl at the private Colegio Cumbres in the affluent area of Las Condes between 2007 and 2009.

"The tribunal has established beyond all reasonable doubt that ... O'Reilly resolved to carry out actions of a sexual nature via body contact with a school student," said Judge Maria Teresa Barrientos.

O'Reilly, who denied the charges, will be sentenced next month.

Prosecutors have requested that he be sent to prison for ten years.

The school where the abuse took place is part of the network of the Legionaries of Christ, a conservative religious order whose founder, Marcial Maciel, was revealed to be a fraud and paedophile who had fathered several children.

The Catholic Church retains a strong influence in Chile, but cases like this of abuse and other crimes by priests have shaken confidence in recent years.

In 2011, influential priest Fernando Karadima was found guilty by the Vatican of abusing teenage boys over many years.

The criminal case against him collapsed and the church ordered him to live a life of prayer and banned him from celebrating public mass.

Another priest is under investigation for the forced adoption of babies after telling single mothers their infants had died.

Pope Francis has vowed zero tolerance of clerics who abuse minors, after scandals in a number of countries over many years.

Quote from: T Fearon on October 14, 2014, 11:20:41 PM

He got the boys to take an oath of silnce.

This was probably a crime even in those days.

This certainly covered up the abuse of those children and that may also have been a crime.

That is without even looking at this moral failures, as a man of God, in failing the children in favour of the reputation of his organisation.

You conveniently and consistently ignore the as is rips your argument to shreds. Worse than that you then make things up to support your lack of a valid argument and finslly, needing a scapegoat, you blame the parent of the victims.

What a guy.

LCohen

they were very serious accusations and corroborated. I don't think I would have made the assumption the Smyth had just stopped. That would have been an insane thing to do.

LCohen

Quote from: T Fearon on October 15, 2014, 07:23:06 AM
The difference was Jesus was the main man in his 30s.

Once again bemused by the career analogy.The responsibility to deal with Brendan Smyth lay with top clergy in the church in the mid. 70s,not the relatively junior Fr John Brady.

Very definitely the key reponsibility lies with the top brass. But their horrific guilt does not make Brady innocent. He is also guilty, just on a different scale.