FAI...New Manager Hunt continues

Started by CĂșig huaire, November 19, 2009, 01:34:00 PM

Quote from: seafoid on November 18, 2014, 08:32:14 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on November 18, 2014, 01:32:28 AM
There was a heyday of the Eoin Hand era?

Lost out on Goal Difference for 1982 World Cup 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1982_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)

Videos of the French matches here

http://cerceretsports.blogspot.ch/2012/01/world-cup-qualifying-1982-france_16.html

This is the Lansdowne rd match
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5ABGLKxG7Q

In 1984 8 teams qualified for the Euros
in 2016 there'll be 24 teams 
It was much harder to qualify

Ireland had better players then - I think part of the reason was the structure of the English game- mostly local players unlike today so good Irish players got more game time at the highest level.

Ya, distinctly unlucky in not qualifying for the '82 tournament. This was the era of 'disallowed goals for no reason', we had a fairly good team with the likes of Brady, Whelan, Moran, O'Leary, Hughton, Stapleton etc. in their prime and gave a deserved beating to France in the home tie of that campaign. As I'm sure you'll remember, same French team unlucky to lose to West Germany in the semis. We really could have made a proper mark on that tournament.

Quote from: mouview on November 18, 2014, 12:48:10 PM
Quote from: seafoid on November 18, 2014, 08:32:14 AM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on November 18, 2014, 01:32:28 AM
There was a heyday of the Eoin Hand era?

Lost out on Goal Difference for 1982 World Cup 
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1982_FIFA_World_Cup_qualification_(UEFA)

Videos of the French matches here

http://cerceretsports.blogspot.ch/2012/01/world-cup-qualifying-1982-france_16.html

This is the Lansdowne rd match
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5ABGLKxG7Q

In 1984 8 teams qualified for the Euros
in 2016 there'll be 24 teams 
It was much harder to qualify

Ireland had better players then - I think part of the reason was the structure of the English game- mostly local players unlike today so good Irish players got more game time at the highest level.

Ya, distinctly unlucky in not qualifying for the '82 tournament. This was the era of 'disallowed goals for no reason', we had a fairly good team with the likes of Brady, Whelan, Moran, O'Leary, Hughton, Stapleton etc. in their prime and gave a deserved beating to France in the home tie of that campaign. As I'm sure you'll remember, same French team unlucky to lose to West Germany in the semis. We really could have made a proper mark on that tournament.
That was a great team. Now it's mostly journeymen and even hard to qualify for the first 24.

I'd forgotten Hand was in charge for the 82 tournament.  That was a fine team alright. I guess my memory of Hand was clouded by the end of his time in charge (the 86 qualifying in particular). 

A little bit of realism required. Soccer is the third (at best) sport in Ireland, behind GAA and Rugby. That makes it difficult in my opinion to produce great players. Add into the mix the set up now in the PL, where non English players will find it difficult to break into teams filled with foreign stars. Rugby offers an easier route to professional sport for talent, it's popularity is spreading thanks to Sky Sports, and it is a more natural fit with gaelic football. Even top GAA players can make the odd shilling with the right agent. To cap it all we insist in entry an A and B team into all international competitions...going to be lean times.

Bollix, soccer is more widely played than rugby by most measures

I'd be amazed if rugby is more popular than soccer, is there evidence that this is the case?

Nearly everybody would play 'soccer', far more than would play Rugby anyway. 

The Irish Sports Council's latest report (2013) puts Football (Association) as the most popular team sport in the country at 5.9% participation - Gaelic Football is at 2.5%, Rugby at 1.4% and Hurling/Camogie at 1.7%.

Quote from: Billys Boots on November 19, 2014, 09:48:38 AM
The Irish Sports Council's latest report (2013) puts Football (Association) as the most popular team sport in the country at 5.9% participation - Gaelic Football is at 2.5%, Rugby at 1.4% and Hurling/Camogie at 1.7%.
By participation, but look at the reach, extent and money, not to mention fan base of Rugby and GAA.

Billy, does that include you, me and 8 other lads heading up to the pitch for a kick around every week? If it does, then I have no doubt those figures are correct. If it doesn't and only includes organised representative 'teams', then I find it hard to see how it could be given the proliferation of GAA clubs around the country, and the numbers that are on a given team. Maybe the cities skew it though?

Quote from: AZOffaly on November 19, 2014, 10:19:11 AM

Billy, does that include you, me and 8 other lads heading up to the pitch for a kick around every week? If it does, then I have no doubt those figures are correct. If it doesn't and only includes organised representative 'teams', then I find it hard to see how it could be given the proliferation of GAA clubs around the country, and the numbers that are on a given team. Maybe the cities skew it though?

I have no doubt those figures are true if they are counting clubs. In Newry for example there is 4 GAA clubs. Also at a guess there would be at least 20 soccer "clubs" playing in organised leagues every week in Newry. I'm sure it's the same in every town and city in Ireland. However if you drill down as someone else said GAA would have a much further reach with the level of membership and supporters going to games. Each of the above mentioned soccer clubs would have, literally, one man and a dog at their games.

Maybe 5 Sams. I suppose I'm thinking from a more Rural slant. Like at most there's a 1 to 1 relationship in terms of soccer and GAA teams/club, but the numbers required for GAA would mean there are more at hurling training and games than soccer. You'd have a panel of 20+ for GAA and usually about 15 or 16 for soccer. And I know soccer clubs have A & B teams as well, but usually so do GAA clubs.

I suppose when I think of towns, you're right.

Sickening carry on by the FAI and Delaney last night.

Himself and his cronies are an absolute disgrace. Loyal supporters have had enough of him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMTEroo8G2M&sns=em

Geoff Tipps

Quote from: ballinaman on November 19, 2014, 11:36:48 AM
Sickening carry on by the FAI and Delaney last night.

Himself and his cronies are an absolute disgrace. Loyal supporters have had enough of him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KMTEroo8G2M&sns=em

Time for him to get the drinks in again  ;D