Who needs a goalie to take 45s?

Started by armaghniac, May 28, 2014, 07:24:59 PM

anfheardubh

Quote from: armaghniac on May 28, 2014, 07:24:59 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/discover/incredible-accuracy-in-45-challenge-from-club-footballer-631931.html

Top class kicking,  its my pet hate watching a goalie hit frees , watch Morgan and Cluxton they take forever to hit a free

Slows the game down, also a poor sign of a forward line and an outfield team if none can kick a free!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Jaysus its not that hard, fair play to yer man there!!!!!
For many are called, but few are chosen.

Was there not a video of Darren McCurry - the Tyrone forward - scoring 6 in a row in Edendork. I am sure some Tyrone ones will post a link before long. The biggest shock of course is that he is a Tyrone forward taking frees!

StGallsGAA

Quote from: Throw ball on May 28, 2014, 07:48:26 PM
Was there not a video of Darren McCurry - the Tyrone forward - scoring 6 in a row in Edendork. I am sure some Tyrone ones will post a link before long. The biggest shock of course is that he is a Tyrone forward taking frees!

http://gaabanter.ie/darren-mccurry-hits-6-45s-30-seconds-dazzlerstyle/

Quote from: anfheardubh on May 28, 2014, 07:40:33 PM
http://www.breakingnews.ie/discover/incredible-accuracy-in-45-challenge-from-club-footballer-631931.html

Top class kicking,  its my pet hate watching a goalie hit frees , watch Morgan and Cluxton they take forever to hit a free

Slows the game down, also a poor sign of a forward line and an outfield team if none can kick a free!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Goalies can be quick enough too.

http://gaabanter.ie/video-niall-morgan-takes-9-45s-1-55-challenge/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=video-niall-morgan-takes-9-45s-1-55-challenge

PAULD123

Cluxton jogs up to his 45's and it probably adds about 10-15 seconds. But that is not the end of the world. But I disagree about Morgan. He is out of his goals the second the umpire raises his arm. I don't think Morgan holds up things hardly at all.

As for who need the goalie to kick 45s, well in Tyrone's case Morgan is simply brilliant. He is superb at them and I think Tyrone would be crazy not to use such a weapon.

What this points up is that it seems that, in a lot of teams, the goalie is the only one practising long kicks. There are still plenty of inter-county teams who don't have anyone who can take a 45 with reasonable confidence. Most of the rest have only one 45/long free specialist. Some teams don't even seem too bothered about developing short free takers who can deliver 90%+ accuracy. It seems a very short-sighted approach in the era when teams have hordes of specialists monitoring and optimising everything from what lads have for their breakfasts to functional movement, whatever that is.

I've never understood this.
Intercounty teams are loaded with guys who are capable of kicking long distance frees and 45s.
However, it makes perfect sense to give that responsibility to a goalkeeper as every few minutes he has to kick accurately off the ground anyway.
You might get one 45 in a game and one or two frees around the 45 or 50m line.
Who would you rather steps up to take that first kick, the guy who already has half a dozen similar distance kicks under his belt or the guy with none?
Niall Morgan plays outfield for his club, does anyone object to him taking the frees then?

Quote from: Jinxy on May 29, 2014, 10:27:01 AM

Intercounty teams are loaded with guys who are capable of kicking long distance frees and 45s.
However, it makes perfect sense to give that responsibility to a goalkeeper as every few minutes he has to kick accurately off the ground anyway.
Who would you rather steps up to take that first kick, the guy who already has half a dozen similar distance kicks under his belt or the guy with none?
Niall Morgan plays outfield for his club, does anyone object to him taking the frees then?

True that! Also down the years there have been lads carried on teams for their free-taking ability. the use of the 'keeper negates this.
I know from a Kildare view jesus any free outside 35m has been a lottery for the last few years. Much prefer a guaranteed nailed on white flag.

Thisonegoesto11

Quote from: Jinxy on May 29, 2014, 10:27:01 AM

It a myth anyway brought up due to Cluxton's  success. Some outfield players take longer than others. EG have a routine they like to go through. Other players just turn and kick with no delay.

It's not as if there is a 45 called and within seconds the ball and indeed the ref are ready. Same with an outfield player , he doesn't run immediately into place and knock the ball over in seconds.
The player I would like to see take 45s and long frees are the ones who are most likely to score

Maurice Sheridan for Mayo in the 90's was the worst I ever saw. 45 seconds to a minute he'd take for some of his frees and he didn't have to make his way up from the goals. In the '97 Connacht final he must have wasted a good 3-4 minutes on his own but of course only 1 minute extra was played...

The length of time it takes the kicker is one thing, but the skill it takes is the same regardless of whether it's a goalkeeper or an outfield player.
So there's no need for the eye rolling from oul fellas in the stands, 'That's more of it, the game is ruint', as Morgan or Cluxton come up to nail a free from 50m.