GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: T Fearon on February 14, 2014, 06:26:46 PM

Title: Croke Park residents legal bid to halt Garth Brooks concerts?
Post by: T Fearon on February 14, 2014, 06:26:46 PM
What will Garth's fans do is this succeeds? Have a standoff with Garda in Drumcondra? Set up a camp Twaddell style in Clonliffe College? Intriguing
Title: Re: Croke Park residents legal bid to halt Garth Brooks concerts?
Post by: Syferus on February 14, 2014, 08:16:18 PM
Someone please remove this to the General Discussion board, where Ferron knows full well it should be.
Post by: T Fearon on February 14, 2014, 08:46:45 PM
An event at Croke Park is not worthy of inclusion on the main GAA Discussion Board?
Post by: under the bar on February 14, 2014, 11:14:59 PM
Has Tony started the unrest to swing a few handy priced tickets from the Ballybough faithful?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 15, 2014, 09:38:42 AM
Quote from: T Fearon on February 14, 2014, 08:46:45 PM
An event at Croke Park is not worthy of inclusion on the main GAA Discussion Board?
No.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 08:15:51 AM
About these residents. We're they living in some isolated rural setting when a giant stadium suddenly appeared beside them one day?

Why do people live in cities if they have such a hard time sharing space with others?

Play me the world's smallest violin.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 09:02:29 AM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 08:15:51 AM
About these residents. We're they living in some isolated rural setting when a giant stadium suddenly appeared beside them one day?

Why do people live in cities if they have such a hard time sharing space with others?

Play me the world's smallest violin.

So just because you live in a city you should put up with every Culchie in the land descending on your doorstep due to the whim of some washed up American country singer?  ;)
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 16, 2014, 10:38:38 AM
I do have some sympathy for the residents but at the same time it's quite a selfish act to try and stop something which will generate so much money for the local economy. There will be huge money spent in hotels shops etc and no doubt will attract many visitors to the county. Given the economic problems in recent years things like this can only be good for the country.

They should try to endorse the buzz that an international act will bring to the area. I hope there freedom of movement is restricted too much and that a good clean up operation is put in place. Money should also be invested in the local community in a hall or something to help goodwill. It's a 15 minute walk into the city centre and I'm sure residents can get in and out of the area albeit badly restricted at end and start of gig but they are aware of it 6 months in advance.
Post by: Redhand Santa on February 16, 2014, 11:02:02 AM
Maybe I'm giving the crowd going too much credit for behaving themselves. You'd like to think there'd be good security and Garda presence in the area.
Post by: Zulu on February 16, 2014, 11:05:57 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 16, 2014, 10:50:37 AM
And the boozed up t**ts standing pissing in their gardens at all hours?
Or Slane Girl types round the back of their wheelie bins?

I don't live anywhere near it so it's no odds to me but by fcuk I don't envy them for those 5 days. It'll be a living hell.

Really, I haven't been to a concert in many years but I doubt very much it will be living hell.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 11:10:39 AM
Quote from: Zulu on February 16, 2014, 11:05:57 AM

I don't live anywhere near it so it's no odds to me but by fcuk I don't envy them for those 5 days. It'll be a living hell.

Really, I haven't been to a concert in many years but I doubt very much it will be living hell.

Tens of thousands of Garth Brooks fans line dancing past my front door for five nights in a row is definitely my idea of a living hell. This is not mention if I lived close enough so I could actually hear the music coming from the stadium....
Post by: ballinaman on February 16, 2014, 12:16:39 PM
I'm a resident and it'll be a pain in the balls on the Monday and Tuesday getting home from work. Matches are grand because they are on weekends and during the day. 5 days of crowds similar to AI final day will be bananas. I'm taking my holidays on the Friday and getting the fcuk out of there.
As hardstation said, people are well more tanked up going to concerts than matches.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 06:31:49 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 16, 2014, 09:08:40 AM
It's dead easy when you don't live there.
Exactly. So why do they live there if they hate it so much?

Tough shit Phillipines.
Huh?
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 06:40:43 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 06:31:49 PM

Tough shit Phillipines.
Huh?

Sure, it's dead easy to uproot home and family and move away these days isn't it. Just sell their house and move the whole family out of the area because Garth Brooks want to play a concert. It's mad that a reasonably intelligent poster like yourself would think this is a viable solution. Why don't all the people who live near floods just move? Coming on TV whinging about their houses being ruined! And don't get me started on those who live in earthquake zones!
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2014, 06:43:14 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 06:40:43 PM

Tough shit Phillipines.
Huh?

Sure, it's dead easy to uproot home and family and move away these days isn't it. Just sell their house and move the whole family out of the area because Garth Brooks want to play a concert. It's mad that a reasonably intelligent poster like yourself would think this is a viable solution. Why don't all the people who live near floods just move? Coming on TV whinging about their houses being ruined! And don't get me started on those who live in earthquake zones!

Why did they move there in the first place? Croke Park out-dates many generations of any family at this stage. The choice was made one way or the other. Sympathy because you choose to live beside the third largest stadium in Europe is in short supply, I'm afraid.
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2014, 06:45:00 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 16, 2014, 12:16:39 PM

As hardstation said, people are well more tanked up going to concerts than matches.

Really?
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 06:45:59 PM

If "boozed up twats are pissing in their gardens at all hours" then it's a matter for law enforcement. If they're getting away with it it's because the Guards aren't doing their jobs, not because there's a concert on.  Only in Ireland would people think that if you get large numbers of people in the same place at the same time then you're inevitably going to have people pissing and puking all over the place. In a reasonably advanced country it should be possible to organize an event like this without taking it as read that the place is going to be wrecked.

Slane "Girl"?  Wasn't there a boy or two involved in that incident? How come we only ever seem to refer to the female part? How come the prospect of "Slane Girl" types in the street strike terror into everyone's hearts but the prospect of "Slane boy" types never gets a look in, hmm?

(http://assets2.motherboard.tv/content-images/contentimage/no-slug/43d578f37663ef2b5e1626abc316d800.jpg)
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 06:47:05 PM
Quote from: Syferus on February 16, 2014, 06:43:14 PM

Tough shit Phillipines.
Huh?

Why did they move there in the first place? Croke Park out-dates many generations of any family at this stage. The choice was made one way or the other. Sympathy because you choose to live beside the third largest stadium in Europe is in short supply, I'm afraid.

People expect the games - not a five day festival at the whim of some country star. I'm sure one or two days would be fine but five in a row is a bit too much!
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 06:47:37 PM

Tough shit Phillipines.
Huh?

+1. Nobody put a gun to their heads and made them move in beside one of the biggest stadiums in Europe. I mean, did they not notice the damn thing towering over them when they were looking for a place to live?
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2014, 06:53:51 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 06:47:05 PM

Tough shit Phillipines.
Huh?

People expect the games - not a five day festival at the whim of some country star. I'm sure one or two days would be fine but five in a row is a bit too much!

I think the concept of stadium concerts is pretty well established by this point. If they signed the lease without knowing that it has a license for concerts too then the above applies just as well. Let's be honest, they all went in with their eyes open or else they are incredibly stupid.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 06:54:34 PM
Sure, it's dead easy to uproot home and family and move away these days isn't it. Just sell their house and move the whole family out of the area because Garth Brooks want to play a concert. It's mad that a reasonably intelligent poster like yourself would think this is a viable solution.
Um, people move all the time. I've moved house about six times in the last ten years. Every Saturday the main roads around here are full of U-Haul trucks. What's the big deal? Are you implying that it's physically impossible for people to do something as common as move from one house to another? Jesus wept!

QuoteWhy don't all the people who live near floods just move? Coming on TV whinging about their houses being ruined! And don't get me started on those who live in earthquake zones!

Aside from the sheer stupidity of comparing unpreventable natural disasters to a concert, I choose to live in earthquake country and I take my chances with it. I take responsibility. I take precautions. I have a survival kit at the ready if the worst does happen. I have earthquake insurance on my house. I live on more solid ground. What I don't do is go whinging to a (non-existent) higher authority angrily demanding that these earthquakes stop.
Post by: T Fearon on February 16, 2014, 06:54:46 PM
Where does this end? Should people living beside a busy shopping centre be looked after? Surely if residents have free access to and from their homes, and there is no damage done to their homes or excessive noise they've no legitimate complaints.

Now people whose homes are susceptible to flooding? That's a different matter altogether
Post by: ballinaman on February 16, 2014, 06:59:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 16, 2014, 06:45:00 PM

Really?
Yes, I've a breathalyzer...check point outside the gaf..surprised you haven't seen me, look like a cross between Ryan Gosling and Jesus.
Post by: rodney trotter on February 16, 2014, 07:11:40 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 06:47:05 PM

Tough shit Phillipines.
Huh?

Thats whats pissing off the people living there, they were never consulted that further dates would be added by Croke Park. Could have done that much, regardless of how long they have been living there.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 07:28:19 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 06:54:34 PM
Sure, it's dead easy to uproot home and family and move away these days isn't it. Just sell their house and move the whole family out of the area because Garth Brooks want to play a concert. It's mad that a reasonably intelligent poster like yourself would think this is a viable solution.
Um, people move all the time. I've moved house about six times in the last ten years. Every Saturday the main roads around here are full of U-Haul trucks. What's the big deal? Are you implying that it's physically impossible for people to do something as common as move from one house to another? Jesus wept!

QuoteWhy don't all the people who live near floods just move? Coming on TV whinging about their houses being ruined! And don't get me started on those who live in earthquake zones!

Aside from the sheer stupidity of comparing unpreventable natural disasters to a concert, I choose to live in earthquake country and I take my chances with it. I take responsibility. I take precautions. I have a survival kit at the ready if the worst does happen. I have earthquake insurance on my house. I live on more solid ground. What I don't do is go whinging to a (non-existent) higher authority angrily demanding that these earthquakes stop.

Of course I'm not comparing a concert to an earthquake  ::). I'm comparing a scenario where someone is aware of what might happen where they choose to live and people like you saying - well just move then. Are you of the same opinion to those affected by the floods who are complaining about the poor flood defences in their area? Sure they must have knew there was a chance they'd get flooded. Why didn't they just move out?

And by the way, I know of many many people struggling to get a mortgage to move house and are unable to sell the house they are currently in, it may not be quite as straight forward as you may think to just up sticks and move house because of Garth Brooks.

Oh, and I'm not saying the have a right to complain about games being played at Croker, - I'm talking about getting this 5 day pile of nonsense imposed on them.
Post by: Zulu on February 16, 2014, 07:39:20 PM
Why is it a pile of nonsense? Croke Park hosts concerts so it's part of what the stadium is, hardly nonsense.
Post by: armaghniac on February 16, 2014, 08:01:58 PM
QuoteAre you of the same opinion to those affected by the floods who are complaining about the poor flood defences in their area?

Plenty of people bought property in areas known to flood and took their chances. Likewise with Croke Park/Casement etc, choosing to live beside a stadium where houses might be cheaper etc on the basis that you might be able to stop it being used is not very publicly spirited.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 08:09:23 PM
Quote from: armaghniac on February 16, 2014, 08:01:58 PM
QuoteAre you of the same opinion to those affected by the floods who are complaining about the poor flood defences in their area?

Plenty of people bought property in areas known to flood and took their chances. Likewise with Croke Park/Casement etc, choosing to live beside a stadium where houses might be cheaper etc on the basis that you might be able to stop it being used is not very publicly spirited.

So f*ck them then - it's their own fault, they should have moved and have no right to complain? That's not very publicly spirited!
Post by: armaghniac on February 16, 2014, 08:36:35 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 08:09:23 PM

So f*ck them then - it's their own fault, they should have moved and have no right to complain? That's not very publicly spirited!

Some people flooded have every right to complain, as they are flooded owing to the actions of others upstream or whatever, others choose to live on a flood plain and can't really complain.
Post by: Premier Emperor on February 16, 2014, 08:40:34 PM
Judging by some of the locals who live around Croke Park, I'd say a lot of them never bought the houses they live in, but got them as government handouts.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 09:12:03 PM

So f*ck them then - it's their own fault, they should have moved and have no right to complain?

Yes.

For my next trick I'm going to buy a dirt-cheap house beside an open-cast coal mine and then complain about the dust.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 16, 2014, 09:17:42 PM
I feel sorry for anyone having to put up with Garth Brooks for 5 nights, never-mind his brass belt buckled, Yamaha jacket brigade of followers filing past your house each night ;D
Post by: BennyHarp on February 16, 2014, 09:19:27 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 09:12:03 PM

So f*ck them then - it's their own fault, they should have moved and have no right to complain?

Yes.

For my next trick I'm going to buy a dirt-cheap house beside an open-cast coal mine and then complain about the dust.

Well - let's hope that earthquake survival kit you bought has everything you need if the worst happens.
Post by: retiredgael on February 16, 2014, 09:32:23 PM
they are quick enough to sell their free tickets to touts so feck them if they dont like it move along
Post by: Syferus on February 16, 2014, 09:38:25 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 16, 2014, 09:21:32 PM
You know what they paid for their houses?

Just because you buy a house beside a GAA stadium doesn't mean you can't be pissed off when you  have to be a prisoner in it if and when the GAA decide to prostitute the ground.

Say every car at the 2020 Ulster final gets its windies put in. You parked it in Andytown, what do you expect. Tough.

Lordy, such myopic reasoning.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 09:47:47 PM

Just because you buy a house beside a GAA stadium doesn't mean you can't be pissed off when you  have to be a prisoner in it if and when the GAA decide to prostitute the ground.

Yes it does.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 16, 2014, 10:25:57 PM
Yes it does.
Post by: ONeill on February 16, 2014, 11:12:19 PM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 16, 2014, 06:59:49 PM
Quote from: ONeill on February 16, 2014, 06:45:00 PM

Really?
Yes, I've a breathalyzer...check point outside the gaf..surprised you haven't seen me, look like a cross between Ryan Gosling and Jesus.

Here, what's it I owe you? Was it ginger nuts?
Post by: Maguire01 on February 16, 2014, 11:32:21 PM
A prisoner? Such drama does nothing for your argument.
Post by: Maguire01 on February 17, 2014, 07:17:43 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 16, 2014, 11:36:38 PM
Quote from: Maguire01 on February 16, 2014, 11:32:21 PM
A prisoner? Such drama does nothing for your argument.
If i lived there, i'd be doing a big shop and pulling the blinds for 5 days. It will be mayhem.
Yes, but if you forget something in your big shop you'll be allowed out for a small shop.
Post by: Cold tea on February 17, 2014, 08:09:25 AM
So most people in agreement with the resident's bid are those who don't like Gareth Brooks, that's a great argument.  So if it was some trendy cool artist it would be grand!  :o
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 17, 2014, 08:25:19 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 16, 2014, 11:36:38 PM
If i lived there, i'd be doing a big shop and pulling the blinds for 5 days. It will be mayhem.

(https://i.chzbgr.com/maxW500/3533564672/h7B253CBB/)
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 17, 2014, 08:44:52 AM
(http://gifrific.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/04/LeBron-James-Smallest-Violin-Gif.gif)
Post by: ardal on February 17, 2014, 09:41:50 AM
I really bought  a house near an airport. I'm right under a flight path. Those BA bas*ards won'd even  consider moving the flight paths an inch.

Just not PC.

PS saved about 25 grand on an equivilantly sized house and went on a really cool holiday with the difference. Maybe I should have triple glazed the house instead!
Post by: Premier Emperor on February 17, 2014, 10:04:59 AM
It's all about hustling for more money and tickets. The GAA used to give residents match tickets and they went out touting them.

The locals will make a fortune minding people's cars who want to park in the surrounding streets.
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 10:07:22 AM
Some folks really need to get off their high horses. Theres a tonne of reasons people live in or around Croke Pk. Family, cost etc... Its a GAA stadium that is used for a set amount of days during the year with a set amount of concerts during the year. The residents know this. Then for the GAA and those greedy bastids at @ Ticketmaster to put 5 concerts on back to back with consulting the residents is attrocious behaviour. Ive been to a few concerts in Croke Pk and I for one wouldnt be giving the 5 days my backing. The area basically turns into a giant toilet for the day, in this case 5 days. The crowd going to a match and those going to a concert is massively different.
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 10:09:56 AM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on February 17, 2014, 10:04:59 AM
It's all about hustling for more money and tickets. The GAA used to give residents match tickets and they went out touting them.

The locals will make a fortune minding people's cars who want to park in the surrounding streets.

ridiculous...what % are we talking were touting and what percentage are we talking doing the 'security'? Are all the residents of this area chancers and touts?? This high horse gets higher
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 10:14:31 AM
A Gareth Brooks concert? I would imagine the age profile of a large percentage going to this concert are late 20'sor older. Maybe I'm naive but I don't see the roads around Croke Park flowing with piss and shit while horny middle aged stetson wearing lovers hump on the bonnets of cars. This will bring in a lot money to the GAA and Dublin and will be of minimum inconvenience to those living there IMO.
Post by: THE MIGHTY QUINN on February 17, 2014, 10:20:32 AM
Quote from: Cold tea on February 17, 2014, 08:09:25 AM
So most people in agreement with the resident's bid are those who don't like Gareth Brooks, that's a great argument.  So if it was some trendy cool artist it would be grand!  :o
I detest Gareth Brooks but I think the residents are a pack of whingers looking a few quid. I live in the country, I get inconvenienced by cattle being herded on the road, slow moving tractors, slurry etc. it's an occupational hazard of country life just like crowds going to events in large arenas designed for crowds is an occupational hazard of city life
Post by: AZOffaly on February 17, 2014, 10:35:13 AM
I think the residents are missing a trick here. Set up a sandwich and water stall outside, and they'll make a mint.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 17, 2014, 10:54:00 AM
Quote from: ardal on February 17, 2014, 09:41:50 AM
I really bought  a house near an airport. I'm right under a flight path. Those BA bas*ards won'd even  consider moving the flight paths an inch.

Just not PC.

PS saved about 25 grand on an equivilantly sized house and went on a really cool holiday with the difference. Maybe I should have triple glazed the house instead!

And if, out of the blue the airport said it was going to divert all traffic past your house and corner off all the streets nearby so people could get easy access to the airport then you would just accept it and say - well I deserve that?
Post by: ballinaman on February 17, 2014, 11:09:34 AM

Stop talking through your hole with ya. You need a Garda residents car pass to get through the barriers on match day. You have to show proof of address in Fitzgibbon Street station to get one.

AZ....Not a bad idea but Garda be all over you like a rash selling stuff without a licence.
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 11:37:52 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 17, 2014, 11:15:31 AM
Quote from: ballinaman on February 17, 2014, 11:09:34 AM

Stop talking through your hole with ya.
Why would he do that? Take a look at yourselves you stinking peasants. Have a wash as well. Benefit street victim.

there is an air of snobbery about alright.
Post by: deiseach on February 17, 2014, 11:58:13 AM
Some amazingly mean-spirited comments on here, especially when you consider the most restrained comments are from the one person (that we know of) directly impacted by the concerts. Wind yer necks in.
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 17, 2014, 12:21:26 PM
All joking aside, 5 nights is abit much to endure.
Post by: armaghniac on February 17, 2014, 01:46:19 PM
That said, the residents are fully entitled to demand more Portaloos and zero tolerance policy for pissing on the streets.
Post by: Premier Emperor on February 17, 2014, 01:49:05 PM

Stop talking through your hole with ya. You need a Garda residents car pass to get through the barriers on match day. You have to show proof of address in Fitzgibbon Street station to get one.
That's only on a couple of roads like Clonliffe and Jones.
I've parked 1/2 a mile away from Croke Park and had local scumbags collecting protection money for the pleasure.
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 01:59:03 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on February 17, 2014, 01:49:05 PM

I've parked 1/2 a mile away from Croke Park and had local scumbags collecting protection money for the pleasure.

hope nobody lashed on your beamer dear boy
Post by: Bingo on February 17, 2014, 02:03:35 PM
5 days on the trot is a big deal to impose on anyone and I don't think anyone can judge the residents until they've been in that position themselves or know how it affects them.

You can only hope that there is dialogue between all parties and measures can be put in place to everyones satisfaction.
Post by: Premier Emperor on February 17, 2014, 02:11:12 PM
My car wasn't stolen, burnt out or broken into, so I presume I should be thankful...
Post by: AZOffaly on February 17, 2014, 02:31:47 PM
The infamous lockhards, wearing the fake sailing captain peaky hats. They were great. The rolled up newspaper in one hand, the surreptitious glances for the next victim. The fag in hand, the beckoning paper. The sense of foreboding as you realise parking is a bitch, and you are going to have to answer his beckoning call. Into the valley of chance drove the carload. Ours is not to reason why, ours is but to do and pay the fiver.
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 02:44:54 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 17, 2014, 11:58:13 AM
Some amazingly mean-spirited comments on here, especially when you consider the most restrained comments are from the one person (that we know of) directly impacted by the concerts. Wind yer necks in.

Not sure mean spirited is a fair comment on the vast majority of views, though there are a few 'colourful' remarks alright. While I'd accept it's hard to comment unless you live there or close to a major stadium yourself, it does appear to me that the CP residents are a particularly belligerent crowd. If this was the first time they've complained about something I'd say one thing but they seem to complain about everything. I live in a city that regularly holds festivals and major events and I've never once heard about residents complaining. Likewise, other cities seem to be able to hold these events with less hassle, New Orleans or any city holding the super bowl spring to mind.

I have some sympathy for the residents but comments like a 'living hell' or 'turning Croke Park into one big toilet' seem like gross exaggerations of what will happen. I know one or two going to this and I would say they reflect a significant % of those going (30+, fond of a few pints and chronic taste in music) and they'll cause no hassle to the residents.

Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 02:56:50 PM
I'm pretty sure the super bowl is a week long event now, though I'm not sure to what degree it impacts upon normal activities. I did hear in the build up to this years one that it normally takes over a city for the week but that it didn't have that effect in a city as big as New York.
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:16:48 PM
The super bowl is a week long event, what's hard to understand about that?
Post by: johnneycool on February 17, 2014, 03:20:18 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 02:56:50 PM
I'm pretty sure the super bowl is a week long event now, though I'm not sure to what degree it impacts upon normal activities. I did hear in the build up to this years one that it normally takes over a city for the week but that it didn't have that effect in a city as big as New York.

Giants stadium is not bang slap in the middle of a residential area, Croke park is.

I think the GAA and Croke park authorities do need to bear in mind the impact these concerts would have on the local community.

I know five nights of Garth Brooks babbling on about the 'greatest crowd in the world' and unanswered prayers would have me driven to despair.

Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 03:27:15 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 02:44:54 PM

Not sure mean spirited is a fair comment on the vast majority of views, though there are a few 'colourful' remarks alright. While I'd accept it's hard to comment unless you live there or close to a major stadium yourself, it does appear to me that the CP residents are a particularly belligerent crowd. If this was the first time they've complained about something I'd say one thing but they seem to complain about everything. I live in a city that regularly holds festivals and major events and I've never once heard about residents complaining. Likewise, other cities seem to be able to hold these events with less hassle, New Orleans or any city holding the super bowl spring to mind.

I have some sympathy for the residents but comments like a 'living hell' or 'turning Croke Park into one big toilet' seem like gross exaggerations of what will happen. I know one or two going to this and I would say they reflect a significant % of those going (30+, fond of a few pints and chronic taste in music) and they'll cause no hassle to the residents.

here, its not a million miles away from the truth. On concert day, every alley way / hidden spot  is filled with lads, and the odd lassie emptying the bladder (I've done it myself much to my eternal shame). Imagine a swarm of beer filled revellers being let out at your house to relieve themselves. Its grand for outsiders looking in who wont directly be affected to pour scorn on the locals. The odd concert every now and then, but 5 nights, sweet jesus, the walls will be green
Post by: Cold tea on February 17, 2014, 03:28:10 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 17, 2014, 03:20:18 PM

Giants stadium is not bang slap in the middle of a residential area, Croke park is.

I think the GAA and Croke park authorities do need to bear in mind the impact these concerts would have on the local community.

I know five nights of Garth Brooks babbling on about the 'greatest crowd in the world' and unanswered prayers would have me driven to despair.

I am sure it will probably be cancelled on the basis of that, fair play!
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:30:55 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 17, 2014, 03:23:17 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:16:48 PM
Sorry, I was confused. When you said that it "springs to mind", I thought you maybe knew a lot about it but instead you just spewed out some wishy washy crap that you aren't sure about.

I get you now. When the Superbowl is on, 80 odd thousand people head to the stadium in a residential area every day for a week.

Fair enough.

Grand, glad I know I'm now dealing with someone who can't discuss a topic in a civil manner. This coming from a man who claims this will be a living hell though you don't live in the Croke Park area. Perhaps you can inform us all of what level of expertise are you bringing to this discussion, especially relating to Croke Park considering you don't live there?

Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:33:48 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 03:27:15 PM

here, its not a million miles away from the truth. On concert day, every alley way / hidden spot  is filled with lads, and the odd lassie emptying the bladder (I've done it myself much to my eternal shame). Imagine a swarm of beer filled revellers being let out at your house to relieve themselves. Its grand for outsiders looking in who wont directly be affected to pour scorn on the locals. The odd concert every now and then, but 5 nights, sweet jesus, the walls will be green

There will be toilet facilities there won't there? I'm not saying the residents won't have to deal with some issues but not everyone will be defecating everywhere. How do other cities hold these events, how can countries hold Olympics, world cups etc. if these events are such a horrible experience for anyone living around a host stadium?
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 03:42:35 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:33:48 PM

There will be toilet facilities there won't there? I'm not saying the residents won't have to deal with some issues but not everyone will be defecating everywhere. How do other cities hold these events, how can countries hold Olympics, world cups etc. if these events are such a horrible experience for anyone living around a host stadium?

we're talking about Ireland here
Post by: johnneycool on February 17, 2014, 03:47:17 PM
Quote from: Cold tea on February 17, 2014, 03:28:10 PM
Quote from: johnneycool on February 17, 2014, 03:20:18 PM

I am sure it will probably be cancelled on the basis of that, fair play!

In my mind it would yeah.

What the residents should do is camp outside Peter McKenna's house for 5 days, play inane, loud music for five evenings and have the odd dump in his front garden.
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:55:57 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 03:42:35 PM

So you think we are all pig ignorant morons? We have a few of those alright but many of those going won't fall into that category.
Post by: haranguerer on February 17, 2014, 03:56:24 PM
There'll only be people about from say half 5 to half 9, no? A bit of hassle if you live there, of course, but you're compensated. You're also not a prisoner for 5 days.
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 04:02:11 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 17, 2014, 03:37:43 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:30:55 PM
Sorry, I was confused. When you said that it "springs to mind", I thought you maybe knew a lot about it but instead you just spewed out some wishy washy crap that you aren't sure about.

I get you now. When the Superbowl is on, 80 odd thousand people head to the stadium in a residential area every day for a week.

Fair enough.

Grand, glad I know I'm now dealing with someone who can't discuss a topic in a civil manner. This coming from a man who claims this will be a living hell though you don't live in the Croke Park area. Perhaps you can inform us all of what level of expertise are you bringing to this discussion, especially relating to Croke Park considering you don't live there?
I have been to concerts, festivals etc and I have seen what goes on. If that was going on outside my front door for 5 days solid, I would go fcukin spare.

So you've no expertise, perfect. Maybe now we've established that you can give other people's views the consideration they deserve. I've been to concerts and festivals too and festivals are very different to concerts, even ones which are repeated over a few days. A dance concert would be a bit different to an easy listening concert (different crowd, age profile etc.) and would imagine a Brooks crowd will a bit older and more restrained than a Jay Z crowd for example.

I wouldn't fancy a 5 day concert myself but if I lived near Croke Park then it would be part of the deal, it might not be the greatest 5 days of their year but a living hell? Hardly.
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 04:07:49 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:55:57 PM

So you think we are all pig ignorant morons? We have a few of those alright but many of those going won't fall into that category.

no, what I think and know is, no one drinks quite like we do, therefore no one lashs quite like we do. 400 000, good percentage travelling to the capital, carry outs on the go. This will quite literally be a lash fest. I for one wouldnt fancy 5 days of it. I take it you live a safe distance away??
Post by: deiseach on February 17, 2014, 04:11:47 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 04:07:49 PM
no, what I think and know is, no one drinks quite like we do, therefore no one lashs quite like we do. 400 000, good percentage travelling to the capital, carry outs on the go. This will quite literally be a lash fest. I for one wouldnt fancy 5 days of it. I take it you live a safe distance away??

Steady on, this isn't the Féile in Thurles. People will be going home or to a hotel/guest house after the concert, not back to a tent.
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 04:14:50 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 04:02:11 PM

Fair enough.

I have been to concerts, festivals etc and I have seen what goes on. If that was going on outside my front door for 5 days solid, I would go fcukin spare.

So you've no expertise, perfect. Maybe now we've established that you can give other people's views the consideration they deserve. I've been to concerts and festivals too and festivals are very different to concerts, even ones which are repeated over a few days. A dance concert would be a bit different to an easy listening concert (different crowd, age profile etc.) and would imagine a Brooks crowd will a bit older and more restrained than a Jay Z crowd for example.

I wouldn't fancy a 5 day concert myself but if I lived near Croke Park then it would be part of the deal, it might not be the greatest 5 days of their year but a living hell? Hardly.

Id hazard a guess that the age profile will be much younger than you think, the young ones are mad for the country and western, plus, and very importantly, much like 'black eye friday' before Christmas, you will have coach loads of ones who rarely get out the door, so will be making the very most of it
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 04:19:15 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 17, 2014, 04:11:47 PM

Steady on, this isn't the Féile in Thurles. People will be going home or to a hotel/guest house after the concert, not back to a tent.

you've lost me...did i say they are hanging about after the show?
Post by: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 04:20:43 PM
I live 150 miles away...not sure why I'm remotely interested in the Dubs welfare and for that reason, I'm ooooooot. Look after no. 1
Post by: deiseach on February 17, 2014, 04:26:17 PM
Quote from: J OGorman on February 17, 2014, 04:19:15 PM
Quote from: deiseach on February 17, 2014, 04:11:47 PM

you've lost me...did i say they are hanging about after the show?

People either have to travel home or go to places where it isn't acceptable to turn up worse for wear. Sure, some people are going to lose the run of themselves but most people will proceed on the basis that there are limits to how badly they can behave. I think you are overstating the likelihood of widespread drunkenness.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 17, 2014, 04:42:07 PM
It's not a 5 day festival. It's 5 days of the same concert. The people going to the concert each night will be leaving afterwards. They are not camping on the Clonliffe Road waiting for the next day and getting smashed on Southern Comfort.

Post by: Farrandeelin on February 17, 2014, 04:43:56 PM
I'm a resident and it'll be a pain in the balls on the Monday and Tuesday getting home from work. Matches are grand because they are on weekends and during the day. 5 days of crowds similar to AI final day will be bananas. I'm taking my holidays on the Friday and getting the fcuk out of there.

I thought you'd have a Garth Brooks flag out the window... ;)
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 05:02:00 PM
Quote from: hardstation on February 17, 2014, 04:05:02 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 04:02:11 PM

Fair enough.

I wouldn't fancy a 5 day concert myself
That's all that matters. Thanks.

So you don't understand the points being made?
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 05:07:12 PM
Quote from: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 03:55:57 PM

I do, but I live in a city that hosts many events and everyone seems to be able to make it through them with their houses intact and their sanity assured. I really think you're taking the worst of the crowd and making out they will be in the vast majority. Even when I was younger and on those buses we drank too much but we weren't pissing in gardens and humping on people's cars, at least I wasn't maybe some of my mates were having a better time I don't know!
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 05:23:13 PM
So you don't understand the point, ok.
Post by: Zulu on February 17, 2014, 05:32:33 PM
With what?
Post by: Jeepers Creepers on February 17, 2014, 06:31:40 PM
Getting like a conversation in the TV room of an old peoples home. Who, what? Never said a thing.
Post by: easytiger95 on February 17, 2014, 07:25:48 PM
"Panic on the streets of dublin  :o!

I remember going down to the Feile when they staged it in Pairc Ui Chaoimh rather than Thurles, to see the Roses - and it was a far more sedate affair than the carnage in Tipp. It was all contained around the venue, people dispersed fairly quickly to pubs, clubs, campsites, bus/train stations etc

Cities and their environs absorb the crowds far better than places like Thurles or Punchestown - it won't get as bad as Oxegen, or even some of the concerts in the Park.

I think if you're a resident of the area, at some stage you've made a choice to be there - the development of the stadium was incremental, everyone knew these kind of gigs were a possibility (though I'd be happy enough if they limited it to three nights in a row, as a compromise). Croke Park falls over themselves to compensate them - the threat of injunction is just the first move in the negotiations.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 17, 2014, 07:32:10 PM
(http://dakiniland.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/smallest-violin.jpg)
Post by: ballinaman on February 17, 2014, 10:05:13 PM
Quote from: Premier Emperor on February 17, 2014, 01:49:05 PM

Only residents inside barriers are people who are on the committee so you were just dealing with Dublin locals there.
Post by: Aaron Boone on February 17, 2014, 11:39:13 PM
Far more chance of shenanigans with the One Direction concerts in May. Garth Brooks concerts will not attract anything worse than traffic jams.

Fair play to GAA for resisting the temptation for a 6th and 7th Garth concert(s) which would have inevitably also sold out.
Post by: Drummerboy on February 18, 2014, 12:46:04 AM
5 days is far too much, especially when you consider the large amount of very elderly residents in the area. 2 concerts would be fine, but 5 is over the top.
Post by: Eamonnca1 on February 18, 2014, 01:04:50 AM
Quote from: Drummerboy on February 18, 2014, 12:46:04 AM
5 days is far too much, especially when you consider the large amount of very elderly residents in the area. 2 concerts would be fine, but 5 is over the top.

And how, pray tell, does it affect elderly residents more than the youngsters?
Post by: Cold tea on February 18, 2014, 09:22:16 AM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on February 17, 2014, 11:39:13 PM
Far more chance of shenanigans with the One Direction concerts in May. Garth Brooks concerts will not attract anything worse than traffic jams.

Fair play to GAA for resisting the temptation for a 6th and 7th Garth concert(s) which would have inevitably also sold out.

Young girls with their mummys and aunties, you think that will get out of hand!
Post by: Drummerboy on February 18, 2014, 09:50:22 PM
Quote from: Eamonnca1 on February 18, 2014, 01:04:50 AM
Quote from: Drummerboy on February 18, 2014, 12:46:04 AM

And how, pray tell, does it affect elderly residents more than the youngsters?

Basically, if they drive themselves, they can't move their car as their space will be taken. If they don't drive, their families our unable to visit them because there is nowhere to park.
Post by: rrhf on February 19, 2014, 06:37:32 AM
surely its nothing a locka pound per head  wouldnt sort out...
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2014, 09:23:17 AM
Maybe the residents are doing the math. €65 a pop x 80,0000 x 5 = €26 million. Croker I think are taking about €5 mill. That leaves €21 mill for costs and splitting between Garth Brooks and his management company. Maybe the residents are seeing a couple of million that could be taken out of Garth's cut for their area. Might be a nice gesture to offer to build a kids playground there or something maybe?
Post by: JPGJOHNNYG on February 19, 2014, 09:57:59 AM
A couple of million for the residents and local area! - If we are talking that sort of money then the GAA needs to start buying up the surrounding properties - it would work out cheaper for them in the long run
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2014, 09:59:07 AM
Not from the GAA, from Garth Brooks' cut.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2014, 10:12:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 19, 2014, 10:02:48 AM
Just before we go down the "these residents are greedy bastids - fcuk them" route. Can we just clarify that this is the suggestion of an Offaly man living in Tipperary and is not what the residents have asked for?

Absolutely. Happy to clarify that. :) No suggestion anywhere that anyone is looking for money. Might be a nice gesture from the concert organisers though. I'm not talking about lining anyone's pockets either.
Post by: AZOffaly on February 19, 2014, 10:52:25 AM
You're 100% correct, and right to point it out.
Post by: deiseach on February 19, 2014, 11:24:50 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 19, 2014, 10:22:04 AM
Quote from: AZOffaly on February 19, 2014, 10:12:36 AM
Quote from: hardstation on February 19, 2014, 10:02:48 AM
Just before we go down the "these residents are greedy bastids - fcuk them" route. Can we just clarify that this is the suggestion of an Offaly man living in Tipperary and is not what the residents have asked for?

Absolutely. Happy to clarify that. :) No suggestion anywhere that anyone is looking for money. Might be a nice gesture from the concert organisers though. I'm not talking about lining anyone's pockets either.
Thank you. It's just that if we have a couple of pages of us weighing up the pros and cons of giving a couple of million euro to the residents or investing it into their area, by the end of it there are people on this board who will actually believe that this has been asked for.

For example, a newspaper ran a story about Casement Park and a quote from the chairman of the residents' committee which read along the lines of "I don't know of anybody who has asked for 20,000 pounds to let it go ahead". Tony Fearon for some reason told gaaboard that he read this quote as the chairman of MORA looking 20,000 pounds to let it go ahead. He had a few thickos believing this too until myself and a couple of others asked for the quote.

It's amazing that this needs to be said, but it probably does. The hostility towards the various residents in these situations is completely disproportionate.
Post by: BennyHarp on February 19, 2014, 01:07:49 PM
If it was agreed between Croke Park that 3 special, non GAA events were allowed per year as suggested by the residents - then these 5 events plus the 2 One Direction concerts, suggests that the residents have every right to be annoyed if they weren't consulted.
Post by: thejuice on February 19, 2014, 01:36:36 PM
Would gladly have 10 shows in Navan instead.

Could really do with a bit of money out our way.
Post by: under the bar on February 19, 2014, 09:23:07 PM
I know a Garth Brooks impersonator who will gladly put on an open-air show for the residents if they can't get tickets for the real GB...
Post by: orangeman on March 05, 2014, 04:42:07 PM
The residents round Casement will be looking closely at this.

THE GAA has called in the country's top labour relations trouble-shooter to chair negotiations with residents living around Croke Park.

Local residents are objecting to the five Garth Brooks and three One Direction concerts at the stadium this summer.

The GAA has drafted in Kieran Mulvey will chair discussions aimed at agreeing a 'Charter' that will meet the needs of residents, GAA and other stakeholders in relation to future concerts at Croke Park.

Politicians have widely welcomed the news and hope it will allay concerns expressed by residents about disruption.

The decision comes after Croke Park residents threatened to take legal action if licenses aren't granted for the concerts, which are scheduled to run over five nights in July.

Residents in the Drumcondra area of Dublin must now endure a total of eight summer concerts, including three One Direction dates.

Mr Mulvey will also oversee talks aimed at agreeing a long term charter aimed at meeting the needed of residents, the GAA and other stakeholders.
Post by: johnneycool on March 07, 2014, 03:29:09 PM
Croke Park have overstepped the mark and rather belatedly trying to appease the residents, residents now have the upper hand.

Post by: waterfordlad on March 07, 2014, 09:14:45 PM
If there is an agreement there that has been broken by the GAA and concert promoters the residents have every right to object. 5 nights of concerts in a row would be a lot to take with the traffic, noise and litter issues as well as anti social behaviour by some concert goers. Some people having a go at the residents might not be too happy themselves to put up with this.
Kieran Mulvey is in to try sort it out now.
Post by: Aaron Boone on March 07, 2014, 10:10:15 PM
Residents can take a hike and keep going. Pure begrudgers and complainers.

Apparently every concert-goer pees in their garden and every homeowner clears out beer cans after each concert. Load of tosh.

400,000 lawful GB concert goers inconvenienced.
Post by: Wildweasel74 on March 07, 2014, 10:24:19 PM
having been at the red hot chillis at croker 2yrs ago there were a fair number of drunken clowns about so to say u get 400,00 law abiding peeps over the 5 days is crap. To be honest i can see were the residents are coming from, as for the quick buck , surely the GAA living up to its nickname in that dept.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 07, 2014, 10:34:58 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 07, 2014, 10:10:15 PM

Apparently every concert-goer pees in their garden and every homeowner clears out beer cans after each concert. Load of tosh.

I'm not quite sure why but I actually laughed out loud at this! I think because it appears to be written in genuine anger. Bless the GBers cotton socks having to be inconvenienced in this terrible way! And them lawful and everything! Maybe we could start some sort of appeal to support them?
Post by: Tony Baloney on March 07, 2014, 10:36:23 PM
Quote from: BennyHarp on March 07, 2014, 10:34:58 PM
Quote from: Aaron Boone on March 07, 2014, 10:10:15 PM

I'm not quite sure why but I actually laughed out loud at this! I think because it appears to be written in genuine anger. Bless the GBers cotton socks having to be inconvenienced in this terrible way! And them lawful and everything! Maybe we could start some sort of appeal to support them?
5 day benefit concert at Croker?
Post by: moysider on March 08, 2014, 01:22:42 AM
It goes to show the folly of redeveloping this site in the first place.

That is the substantive issue.

The new Croke Parke should have been a greenfield development and  this messing would not be a factor. Croke Park as a venue should making as much money as possible from events to plough back into games instead of treading on eggshells. The old site should have been sold to Tesco or somebody when they were paying good money.

Why did they develop this in a 'Coronation Street' site location? Narrow streets, no car parking, no rail stop.

If for example in this years' state geography exam,  kids' get the Dublin map/ city photo and are asked to pick a site for a big new football stadium or sports complex. The kid then decides to pick a site in Drumcondra !....... And if he s asked to justify the location!

Sorry !! The whole project was based on sentiment.

The location is a joke.
Post by: BennyHarp on March 08, 2014, 07:27:47 AM
So, one of the worlds biggest stadiums, built on time, to cost and paid off in under 30 years by an amateur organisation and in an area full of tradition and atmosphere on big match day. But it turns out the location is a joke and not fit for purpose because a few Garth Brooks fans may be inconvenienced?

Take a read through the First match at Croke Park thread for an idea why a bland green field site may not have been ideal, perhaps it could be used as evaluative evidence as part of an answer in the geography exam?