GAA Discussion => GAA Discussion => Topic started by: BennyCake on March 13, 2018, 12:18:03 AM

Title: Why hasn't Cluxton replied?
Post by: BennyCake on March 13, 2018, 12:18:03 AM
Just been reading an article in Irish News about GAA historian Michael Anderson, who wrote to all All Ireland winning captains asking for an autograph for a collection.

All captains gladly responded... except Stephen Cluxton. That's the only 4 years missing.

Would make a nice museum collection.

What's going on here then?
Title: Re: Why hasn't Cluxton replied?
Post by: Syferus on March 13, 2018, 12:35:08 AM
I have no love for the Dubs or their poisonous professionalism but this thread is fûcking ridiculous. Cluxton can give or not give an autograph to whomever he likes.
Post by: charlieTully on March 13, 2018, 06:46:21 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 13, 2018, 12:35:08 AM
I have no love for the Dubs or their poisonous professionalism but this thread is fûcking ridiculous. Cluxton can give or not give an autograph to whomever he likes.

Stop trying to be Tony. It's boring now
Post by: longballin on March 13, 2018, 09:35:39 AM
That's Cluxton... when he scored winning point in 2011 after the game Tomas handed him the ball in a very sporting gesture. Cluxton booted it away. Not great on social skills. Noticed that too on the Roscommon poster... but I try to ignore as was hard enough work with Fearon. 
Post by: Farrandeelin on March 13, 2018, 09:39:04 AM
It's not as if he has to do much. Just write his name. He probably is focussing on the next game...
Post by: rosnarun on March 13, 2018, 09:52:48 AM
Quote from: charlieTully on March 13, 2018, 06:46:21 AM
Quote from: Syferus on March 13, 2018, 12:35:08 AM

Stop trying to be Tony. It's boring now
I think he is right in this instance cluxton signs 1000's of autographs . after the mayo game he was held out on the pitch for ages after the game and was the major attraction , which surprised me, esp a young mayo kid I know was mad to get a selfie with him.
so id concentrate on that rather than one he didn't  who probably have it on Ebay as soon as he finishes his collection
Post by: Kurtz on March 13, 2018, 09:57:40 AM
Quote from: longballin on March 13, 2018, 09:35:39 AM
That's Cluxton... when he scored winning point in 2011 after the game Tomas handed him the ball in a very sporting gesture. Cluxton booted it away. Not great on social skills. Noticed that too on the Roscommon poster... but I try to ignore as was hard enough work with Fearon.

Met Clucko three times and he couldn't have been nicer. he stayed and chatted when he didn't need to.
He is one of these people who is always looking to the next game and next win. always looking forward.
Some people, especially the fluffy facebook generation just don't get him
But he is not a bad person
Post by: snoopdog on March 13, 2018, 10:52:55 AM
Why doesn't the guy who wants the autograph just go to Dublins next away league game and get it on the pitch after the game. I thinks it's Galway in tuam or salthill this weekend. Pointless thread.
Post by: Hardy on March 13, 2018, 11:15:46 AM
Cluxton's autograph is overrated.
Post by: longballin on March 13, 2018, 11:45:36 AM
Quote from: Kurtz on March 13, 2018, 09:57:40 AM

Met Clucko three times and he couldn't have been nicer. he stayed and chatted when he didn't need to.
He is one of these people who is always looking to the next game and next win. always looking forward.
Some people, especially the fluffy facebook generation just don't get him
But he is not a bad person

maybe hes shy or just different
Post by: magpie seanie on March 13, 2018, 12:23:27 PM
Quote from: Hardy on March 13, 2018, 11:15:46 AM

What are you talking about? He revolutionised autograph writing!
Post by: BennyCake on March 13, 2018, 12:59:16 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 13, 2018, 12:23:27 PM

Aye, he starts at the extreme corner of the page.

And ironically, makes a smiley face out of the 'O' in Cluxton.
Post by: Beffs on March 13, 2018, 01:06:37 PM
Jesus. Some people really need to get a life.

Post by: magpie seanie on March 13, 2018, 01:14:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 13, 2018, 12:59:16 PM

And there's a nice hook on the end of it.... ;D
Post by: brokencrossbar1 on March 13, 2018, 01:22:42 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 13, 2018, 01:14:18 PM
Quote from: BennyCake on March 13, 2018, 12:59:16 PM

And there's a nice hook on the end of it.... ;D

Lads quit your craic. John O Learys autograph revolutionised autographs. How can you even say otherwise?  After the Paddy Cullen debacle where his surname just stumbled into Culleeeee and never actually got there John O Leary stepped up to the mark and put a bit of pride in the Dublin goalkeeper autographs again, you could say he picked it off the ground again after it had been destroyed (unlike Paddy who never lifted anything up off the ground )...good, solid, reliable John. None of these fanciful Clucko or anything of the like. Just good honest John. You knew were you stood with an honest John autograph. 
Post by: seafoid on March 13, 2018, 01:30:31 PM
Cluxton obviously didn't sign because he has an ENGLISH name and it is GAELIC games and the whole thing must be very embarrassing to him.

If his name was Stephen O Flaithbheartaighin of course he would have signed. Simples
Post by: Snapchap on March 14, 2018, 04:29:18 PM
If anyone should happen to have the Irish News from last week, it would be well worth sticking up a photo of the article on this collection. It's a two page spread and tells the story of the historian collecting the autographs, some good backstories on the contributors etc. A very interesting read.

I see one poster stating that if Cluxton's autograph was got, it would "probably just go straight onto ebay". When you read the article and appreciate the work that this historian put in to gather the autographs, and the sheer love and knowledge of the game that motivated him, you'd realise just how inaccurate and downright cynical that ebay comment was.

A number of the messages accompanying the autographs were quoted in the article, and it was striking the number of them that expressed what seemed to be a genuinely felt gratitude for being asked for their autograph and how they felt humbled etc. I was particularly impressed by the note accompanying Kerry's Fionn Fitzgerald's autograph. His few short lines came across as particularly humble, polite and thoughtful.

In terms of Cluxton, he described how he has made numerous attempts to get Cluxton's autograph- through Cluxton himself and later through Jim Gavin, and that neither has replied. I can understand some saying 'well Cluxton has a right to ignore it' - but when you read the entire piece, and you see the work that went into the collection, and the emotional attachment the historian has to the collection, and against the fact that Cluxton's story is such a big part of any collection (his missing autograph leaves 4 blank years) it does end up making make you feel a bit disappointed in Cluxton. Especially against that fact that EVERY other person asked made the effort to respond. Interestingly, the historian himself doesn't make a single complaint about Cluxton for his non response. He just expressed how much it would mean to be able to complete the collection. I sincerely hope he gets the signature soon.
Post by: magpie seanie on March 14, 2018, 04:36:34 PM
Going public won't help his case. I know if it was me I'd have made arrangements to get his autograph.
Post by: Snapchap on March 14, 2018, 04:47:51 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 14, 2018, 04:36:34 PM
Going public won't help his case. I know if it was me I'd have made arrangements to get his autograph.

I do not believe for a second that getting Cluxton's autograph was the reason for the article. The Cluxton issue only makes up a fraction of the entire article. It seemed to me more like a sports columnist finding a man with an interesting story and devoting a full spread to telling it.

And the historian "made arrangements" to get every one of the autographs and making arrangements worked in every instance but one.
Post by: weareros on March 14, 2018, 08:51:11 PM
Quote from: Snapchap on March 14, 2018, 04:47:51 PM
Quote from: magpie seanie on March 14, 2018, 04:36:34 PM

I do not believe for a second that getting Cluxton's autograph was the reason for the article. The Cluxton issue only makes up a fraction of the entire article. It seemed to me more like a sports columnist finding a man with an interesting story and devoting a full spread to telling it.

And the historian "made arrangements" to get every one of the autographs and making arrangements worked in every instance but one.

Still unfair for article to call Cluxton out like this. The historian at end of day is a writer of a book, perhaps for profit, perhaps not. Cluxton is an amateur sportsman. If he didn't respond, it should have never been a public discussion. It's up to him where and when and if he wants to be quoted.
Post by: BennyCake on March 14, 2018, 10:58:38 PM
Good article. Think it was to highlight the uniqueness of his quest. And one captain said how honoured he was that he was actually remembered and that someone actually wanted his autograph. I guess when a player fades into obscurity, he can be somewhat forgotten, even an AI winning captain.

Think it highlighted how far and wide some dispersed to. One in California I think, and was interesting to hear his story, post AI-winner.
Post by: ONeill on March 14, 2018, 11:06:28 PM
Go on Cluxy....sign the buckin thing.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 14, 2018, 11:33:49 PM
That's Cluxton... when he scored winning point in 2011 after the game Tomas handed him the ball in a very sporting gesture. Cluxton booted it away. Not great on social skills.

Cluxton called him later on to make sure he hadn't been offended.  And by his own account, he hadn't been. 
Post by: longballin on March 14, 2018, 11:40:58 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on March 14, 2018, 11:33:49 PM
That's Cluxton... when he scored winning point in 2011 after the game Tomas handed him the ball in a very sporting gesture. Cluxton booted it away. Not great on social skills.

Cluxton called him later on to make sure he hadn't been offended.  And by his own account, he hadn't been.

was a strange reaction to a generous gesture all the same to boot it away.
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 14, 2018, 11:44:27 PM
Perhaps, but don't underestimate how much adrenaline must have been flowing through his system having just scored the winning point in a tight come-from-behind win to beat the county that had inflicted utter misery on Dublin football since the late 70's.

Nice gesture from O' Se, I agree.
Post by: Syferus on March 14, 2018, 11:50:47 PM
Quote from: Jell 0 Biafra on March 14, 2018, 11:44:27 PM
Perhaps, but don't underestimate how much adrenaline must have been flowing through his system having just scored the winning point in a tight come-from-behind win to beat the county that had inflicted utter misery on Dublin football since the late 70's.

I doubt it had anything to do with adeneline. Cluxton hardly seems like the sort of lad who goes around collecting memorbilia from matches so why would he have any interest in a ball?
Post by: longballin on March 14, 2018, 11:52:54 PM

aye I was there... was some excitement!
Post by: Jell 0 Biafra on March 14, 2018, 11:57:23 PM
Quote from: Syferus on March 14, 2018, 11:50:47 PM

I doubt it had anything to do with adeneline. Cluxton hardly seems like the sort of lad who goes around collecting memorbilia from matches so why would he have any interest in a ball?

I've never met him; I've no idea what kind of lad he is.  I wouldn't be judging his actions/character in those circumstances under normal gift-giving etiquette  is all.
Post by: Orior on March 15, 2018, 08:58:05 AM
Quote from: snoopdog on March 13, 2018, 10:52:55 AM
Why doesn't the guy who wants the autograph just go to Dublins next away league game and get it on the pitch after the game. I thinks it's Galway in tuam or salthill this weekend. Pointless thread.

Michael's mobility was rather impaired last year when he had a knee operation. Plus, he is in his late seventies.