Non GAA Discussion => General discussion => Topic started by: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:02:18 PM

Title: The official GAABOARD Poker thread.
Post by: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:02:18 PM
Since there appear to be a few renegade gamblers floating around the board and with the global explosion of Poker thanks to the world series, I thought Id open this thread. Any online players out there? Any real time table sharks?

My favourite game, although one I dont get to play too much due to limited ability in Reno is Omaha. There are Omaha high, and Omaha hi/lo split. I try and stick to omaha high, as its a little easier to follow at first.

The basic premise is the same as texas holdem, except each player recieves 4 down cards in the hole. This gives you a multitude of ways to make your hand as the community cards come out. The community cards are the same as texas holdem, with three cards dealt on the flop, followed by a round of betting. When this round is finished, the dealer deals the 4th card, or turn card. Again there is a round of betting. The players left after this round will see the 5th card, or the river.

The trick to omaha is that while the player is dealt 4 cards of their own in the hole, they may use only two of them to complete their hand at the end of the betting. Almost always, the winning hand is a flush, straight or full house. Whereas in texas holdem, you might feel fairly confident holding Ace King, with one Ace on the board, and a bunch of nothing cards, in omaha, top pair, or two pair is very rarely a winning hand when the cards are turned face up.

This is pasted from one poker site concerning omaha:

Omaha players all start with four cards. Each four card hand contains six Hold'em hands when the four cards are converted to all possible combinations of two. ie: ABCD = AB AC AD BC BD CD. (Players must
play two cards from their hands and three from the board). If you are in a pot with five other players after
the flop, it is sort of comparable to a Texas Hold'em game against thirty other players, because each of
your five competitors is holding six Hold'em hands instead of one. So if you get down to the river
with a very good hand, but one that can be beaten by some other two card combinations, brace yourself for a loss because they are likely to be out there somewhere.. . . Your high end straight on the flop runs into serious problems when the board turns up three suited cards or a pair. A flush or a full house will usually pop up to beat you. . . In Omaha, always play for the NUT!

Lets talk poker!

Title: Re: The official GAABOARD Poker thread.
Post by: tintin25 on November 20, 2007, 04:17:31 PM
Play from time to time on Paddy...nothing major. Usually 5/10 dollar sit n go's. Though last wkend I started playing the cash games...0.5/1 blinds. Defo easier to accumulate more cash this way but I suppose it depends how much you willing to gamble with!
Post by: supersarsfields on November 20, 2007, 04:20:44 PM
Booooo!!!! Feck Omaha. The games take too long. Can't beat a bit of Texas hold em.
Play on line on Party poker which is good.
Started of on the limit hold em and then moved up to the NL hold em. Doing alright out of it. Never play for big amounts but the sit and go tables are good.
Haven't had a proper real game in ages. Not many of the lads would be into it mores the pity!!
Post by: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:23:21 PM
This teenager from norway became the youngest ever world series of poker tournament champion just this year. She started her bankroll from scratch, winning only free rolls. Before long she had over 300000$ in her online account.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annette_Obrestad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annette_Obrestad)

Nothing beats the real tables for playing poker. There are too many internet warriors out there who just want to gamble, and have no concept of the game. I guess im lucky I live in a town that has 15 poker rooms to choose from. Thats why I dont play online.

Omaha takes longer because its generally limit games. Its a great game, and its much more mentally challenging than hold'em.
That said, I play holdem every week :-\
Post by: downredblack on November 20, 2007, 04:27:11 PM
See Guiness are giving away free poker stuff , chips etc .
Post by: supersarsfields on November 20, 2007, 04:30:49 PM
I know that a few guys on here play on party poker. It had been mooted before about trying to get a few together at the same time to try and get an online game going in pp. But I don't think it ever happened.
Have to agree about the internet warriors online. But they can be used to gain some very useful chips. As long as you stick to your strategy more times than not you'll catch them out. And when you do you'll usually win big.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 04:33:21 PM
love a game of texas hold em at the weekend. Any one reccomend any good poker books?
Post by: ludermor on November 20, 2007, 04:35:01 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:23:21 PM
This teenager from norway became the youngest ever world series of poker tournament champion just this year. She started her bankroll from scratch, winning only free rolls. Before long she had over 300000$ in her online account.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annette_Obrestad (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Annette_Obrestad)

Nothing beats the real tables for playing poker. There are too many internet warriors out there who just want to gamble, and have no concept of the game. I guess im lucky I live in a town that has 15 poker rooms to choose from. Thats why I dont play online.

Omaha takes longer because its generally limit games. Its a great game, and its much more mentally challenging than hold'em.
That said, I play holdem every week :-\
My mates cousin was playing in a tournament in Dublin a couple of weeks ago (in the merrion i think) and during the tournanment he was reading a poker magazine with yer one on the front cover. Got moved to a table and there she was in front of him! Not sure how he reacted!
Post by: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:39:26 PM
I read the same magazine - her acheivements are quite impressive. It just goes to show, if you have the basic game down, all you need is the bankroll to make it in the game.

Deel, i read one book, and only because it was a gift. Hellmuths texas holdem. Didnt really help me at all. I hear alot of people talking about two other books down in the casinos:

Harrington on holdem (padraigs cousin)
John Carrows book of tells.

I think the best strategy is to play online for free (.ie fulltilt.net, not fulltilt.com) and get yourself familiar with all the hands, styles, pot odds, and so on.
Then when you have the basic funamentals down to where you dont even have to think about it, try and find a game with lower limits in real time, so that you can work on the mental side of the game. Come to reno! ;)

Post by: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 04:42:53 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:39:26 PM
I read the same magazine - her acheivements are quite impressive. It just goes to show, if you have the basic game down, all you need is the bankroll to make it in the game.

Deel, i read one book, and only because it was a gift. Hellmuths texas holdem. Didnt really help me at all. I hear alot of people talking about two other books down in the casinos:

Harrington on holdem (padraigs cousin)
John Carrows book of tells.

I think the best strategy is to play online for free (.ie fulltilt.net, not fulltilt.com) and get yourself familiar with all the hands, styles, pot odds, and so on.
Then when you have the basic funamentals down to where you dont even have to think about it, try and find a game with lower limits in real time, so that you can work on the mental side of the game. Come to reno! ;)

Will do puckoon we might even get to play little ohama ;)
Post by: supersarsfields on November 20, 2007, 04:44:41 PM
Read Hellmuth's book as well and wasn't that impressed with it. Might be useful if your starting completely from stratch but not very good on the advanced play side of things. Would def recommend playing for play chips to begin with and then slowly move on to limit holdem.
Playing real life is twice the playing on line.
Post by: Puckoon on November 20, 2007, 04:46:07 PM
Just remember, if you look around the table and cant see at least one sucker..... Then the sucker is probably you! :D
Post by: Homer on November 20, 2007, 04:51:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 04:33:21 PM
love a game of texas hold em at the weekend. Any one reccomend any good books?

Oisin McConville's  The Gambler

The Theory of Poker by David Sklansky is generally considered the top authority on poker and I'd recommend it to anyone.

I have it in pdf format if you wanna have a look at it, PM me your email address or send an mail to cavanhomer@gmail.com, I'll send it on to you.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 04:54:14 PM
Quote from: Homer on November 20, 2007, 04:51:13 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 04:33:21 PM
love a game of texas hold em at the weekend. Any one reccomend any good books?

Oisin McConville's  The Gambler

The Theory of Poker by David Sklansky is generally considered the top authority on poker and I'd recommend it to anyone.

I have it in pdf format if you wanna have a look at it, PM me your email address or send an mail to cavanhomer@gmail.com, I'll send it on to you.
:D :D :D  thanks homer will do you can keep your horse racing tip book though ;)
Post by: supersarsfields on November 20, 2007, 05:06:47 PM
Dropped you a wee email there aswell Homer.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 20, 2007, 05:11:24 PM
could start a homer free stuff thread to go along with the guinness one ;)
Post by: downtown on November 20, 2007, 05:25:20 PM
www.pkr.com

very good online poker site.

play quite a lot on it for money. 10 and 20$. cant beat the game. you should try that site altho cant beat the proper game!
Post by: Homer on November 20, 2007, 05:32:47 PM
Sent on those email lads so you should have them now.
Post by: supersarsfields on November 20, 2007, 05:34:48 PM
Cheers Homer and it reads grand once you zoom in on the pages.
Does anyone play on party poker?
Post by: gerry on November 20, 2007, 11:04:21 PM
Play most weekends with a few mates hard to bet a game of Texas hold em.  Play online with Paddy Power weeknights while reading treads on here.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2007, 02:13:35 PM
Quote from: Homer on November 20, 2007, 05:32:47 PM
Sent on those email lads so you should have them now.

thanks homer will sort you out when i win a world series ;)
Post by: thejuice on November 21, 2007, 02:56:20 PM
Aye that takes me back........playing Texas hold-em' in college, with a cup of change and 24 cans of beer and a bottle of rum between 3 of us. Those were the days.
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2007, 02:58:53 PM
used to play southern cross in college great game at the time but i forget how to play it or else i was drunk when playing it
Post by: Puckoon on November 21, 2007, 03:01:27 PM
Quote from: the Deel Rover on November 21, 2007, 02:58:53 PM
used to play southern cross in college great game at the time but i forget how to play it or else i was drunk when playing it

Sounds like a baptist college in the deep south!
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2007, 02:47:08 PM
Managed to play my way into Harrahs freeroll  satellite tournament for the world series of poker tournament today. Two sessions, 9am until 1pm, then 6pm until the last man standing. Total prize pool of 20,000$ up for grabs - first place a seat at the 2008 world series main event (or 10,000$) Should only have to survive around 100 other players, to make the final table and hopefully some money.

Question - would you take the money, or the seat at the 2008 main event if you were lucky enough to win it all....?

With baby puck on the way, and militant Mrs Puck, my mind is already made up.... :-\
Post by: full back on November 30, 2007, 02:50:46 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 30, 2007, 02:47:08 PM
Managed to play my way into Harrahs freeroll  satellite tournament for the world series of poker tournament today. Two sessions, 9am until 1pm, then 6pm until the last man standing. Total prize pool of 20,000$ up for grabs - first place a seat at the 2008 world series main event (or 10,000$) Should only have to survive around 100 other players, to make the final table and hopefully some money.

Question - would you take the money, or the seat at the 2008 main event if you were lucky enough to win it all....?

With baby puck on the way, and militant Mrs Puck, my mind is already made up.... :-\

Has to be the main event - you might never get a chance to do it again
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2007, 02:59:33 PM
Aye, I hear what you are saying fullback.

Financially I couldnt let the money go this year. Hopefully in the future ill get a wee trip to vegas and play in the world series (although not necessarily the main event - too much of a lottery).
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 30, 2007, 03:09:42 PM
good luck puckoon aye take the money and run you will have plenty of time to get to vegas. Have you got this far before?
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2007, 03:21:58 PM
This is my second time playing in the freeroll final. The morning qualifying is tough (i didnt make it through the morning session last time), because the blinds double every 15 minutes, as opposed to the 20 minute rounds in most tournaments. So you have to make some moves even if you find yourself card dead. The other trouble is that harrahs invite a bunch of their diamond star gamblers to play in it for free. These people generally have no clue about the game, and can be very profitable for other players, but by the same token their cluelessness and desire to just gamble, can be very dangerous.
Id really love to make this evenings final table, If I get that far Id have to be happy with my chances.
Thanks for the luck! ;)
Post by: the Deel Rover on November 30, 2007, 04:06:29 PM
Are you a tight player or a gus hansen type player puckoon
Post by: Puckoon on November 30, 2007, 11:32:43 PM
Im not sure how to describe my playing style - I change gears as often as I can, especially when I think someone has figured me out a little. Gus hansen doesnt put too much consideration into what his opponents might have - hes almost asian in that respect. He just believes his cards are going to come and save him. That said, I have no problem with playing alot of junk cards. I play almost anything for the right price, except terrible hands like 8-2, Q-6, and so on. Little connected cards are my bread and butter. Sometimes when you are card dead you got to stick on the tool belt and build yourself a hand. I fyou know someone is raising with AK, or AQ, and you look down at 4,5 - you know you are good if you hit a card and they draw a blank. Alot of players fold cards because they think they are the underdog. Ill only fold If I can put someone on a pocket pair preflop, or if they spike a pair on the flop.
When Im short stacked, Im aggressive. When Im deep stacked Im aggressive. It depends on the table. Im loose at a tight table and tight at a loose table. Im tighter in cash games than tournaments. Most of the players around here who know me, would rather play me in a cash game than at a tournament. Im probably a better tournament player than cash player as Im 100% invested in a tournament with my buy in, I know I cant lose more than I have used to buy into the tournament. At a cash table sometimes its hard to walk away after losing a couple of racks.

Anyways, 15th out of 130 in the qualifying was good, but didnt quite make the cut for this evenings big money final. Gutted. Just ran out of chips in the end when the blinds hit 2 and 4 thousand, with a 100 dollar ante. I only had 3500 in the big blind, and my hand didnt hold up.

I hit the no limit game after that though, and pocketed 800$. So now Im home, happy, and scared to take a nap because Ill be playing cards in my sleep.
Post by: Puckoon on December 06, 2007, 03:44:05 AM
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2007/12/06/db0603.xml (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/main.jhtml?xml=/news/2007/12/06/db0603.xml)

Chip Reese, possibly the greatest poker player the world has ever seen passed away last night aged 56.

Post by: Puckoon on January 12, 2008, 02:40:54 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 30, 2007, 02:47:08 PM

Sunday Brings another shot at a seat in the world series of poker main event 2008. Or 10,000$. Now, if I can just beat 300 others, ill be a happy man. :-\
Post by: Surreal Steve on April 24, 2008, 11:38:33 PM
lads answer me this. been playing a bit online there recently. was down to the last 8 of a 300£ buyin, 4-500 entrants. top 5 very top heavy with payouts. i was 2nd in chips. two short stacks all in ahead of me, i was big blind. the chip leader then went allin in the sb.

i had 6 2 of spades. i was unsure of what to do as was getting a great price, so ended up calling as well.

jammy bastard had aces, the other two shorts had sfa lol. so ended up goin out in 6th, got like just over double my money back.

do uns think i should have folded or what then? i cudnt fold cos all nite i had been calling with suited cards and knocking people out. 3 times i beat aces, pity about the last time ha

after that bit of success going to start playing online. i seem to have taken to it like a duck to water
Post by: Yes I Would on April 25, 2008, 12:07:05 AM
chip leader all in and sittin with 6 2 suited. I would have let him have it, and bided my time.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 25, 2008, 04:32:52 AM
Quote from: Surreal Steve on April 24, 2008, 11:38:33 PM
lads answer me this. been playing a bit online there recently. was down to the last 8 of a 300£ buyin, 4-500 entrants. top 5 very top heavy with payouts. i was 2nd in chips. two short stacks all in ahead of me, i was big blind. the chip leader then went allin in the sb.

i had 6 2 of spades. i was unsure of what to do as was getting a great price, so ended up calling as well.

jammy bastard had aces, the other two shorts had sfa lol. so ended up goin out in 6th, got like just over double my money back.

do uns think i should have folded or what then? i cudnt fold cos all nite i had been calling with suited cards and knocking people out. 3 times i beat aces, pity about the last time ha

after that bit of success going to start playing online. i seem to have taken to it like a duck to water

I would have folded. If the chip leader bowed out its worth a shot to take out the little stacks but to put your tourny on a horrible hand -not smart.
Post by: gerry on April 25, 2008, 10:38:44 AM
6 2 suited not a great hand, even if you had flopped a flush your flush was a only six high.

were you getting bored or greedy?
Post by: Puckoon on April 25, 2008, 02:24:12 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote from: Surreal Steve on April 24, 2008, 11:35:36 PM

Steve, in all honesty that was a terrible play.
As was every time you'd beaten aces earlier in the tournament. Every now and then, depending on pot odds and the size of a raise maybe its acceptable to play like that, but in the long run when your luck runs out - you'll eventually lose all those hands (like you are quite rightly supposed to)

Anyways, what the hell you were thinking playing all your chips in A FOUR HANDED POT, is beyond me. You were in the big blind, and so you had the option to fold. Remember - folding is more skillfull than calling or moving all in. The likelihood of winning a 4 handed pot, even for the player with aces - is very poor. The more people play the pot, the decrease in potential winning value of all the hands - there are simply too many permutations. I would say when all the cards were turned up - your 6,2 had to be in last place. Last place is not a good place to put all your money in on a final table. At a final table you want to let the other bone heads knock each other out, until you are safe in the money. Then you can loosen up your play a little bit.

Ill tell you something, which you may not believe. In your situation Id have folded every hand - except aces. Id have folded pocket Kings, queens, and Ace King. Its a hard fold - but it becomes easier when you realise the bigger picture. That is, 3 people are already in this pot - realistically my chances of beating them are very slim, and If the chip leader knocks the two short stacks out - Im two places closer to the money. If I call and he knocks me out - im fucked. Therefore Ill wait and pick a better pot. Ive had times where Ive folded kings up against Ace king and aces in the one hand - and Id have flopped a King for a set. Still however, why put my money in in second place - in a situation where I dont have to - especially if im one of the chip leaders???

By the way, for an ordinary raise that doesnt constitute your entire chip stack, you are very correct about getting the right price to call. But for all your chips - forget about it. Youll be the sucker at the table if you continue to play like that. Unless you are the luckiest man in ireland.

Good luck with it.

Post by: the Deel Rover on April 25, 2008, 02:32:12 PM
any of ye you see the movie 21 ?
Post by: supersarsfields on April 25, 2008, 02:50:19 PM
Yeah saw it during the week. Not bad tho it was pretty predictable.

Playing some party poker here now lads if anyone fancys a game?
Post by: carnaross on April 25, 2008, 04:03:17 PM
Heard a looooooong story some years about a game in Queen's University in Belfast in the mid-sixties. Apparently, at that time QU was a hotbed for poker, probably amongst the toughest schools in the UK! I was told that they played each time for their whole grants.

There was one evening when a 7-man game was going on - the deal going round the table in turn. One lad was suspected of cheating, a break was called and it was realised by all at the table that it was going on. When they resumed they waited a while and when they challenged him, they decided to take a vote. They were deciding between ruining his reputation at QU (which would have meant at that time that he would never get to play again in Ireland or Britain), or cut his fingers off at the knuckle!! My informant tells me the vote was tied at 3-3 and the lad hasn't played a hand since. Also, my informant wouldn't tell me what way he voted, as he felt, I wouldn't have believed him. I'm assured though, the story is absolutely true.
Post by: Surreal Steve on April 25, 2008, 06:08:57 PM
Quote from: carnaross on April 25, 2008, 04:03:17 PM
Heard a looooooong story some years about a game in Queen's University in Belfast in the mid-sixties. Apparently, at that time QU was a hotbed for poker, probably amongst the toughest schools in the UK! I was told that they played each time for their whole grants.

There was one evening when a 7-man game was going on - the deal going round the table in turn. One lad was suspected of cheating, a break was called and it was realised by all at the table that it was going on. When they resumed they waited a while and when they challenged him, they decided to take a vote. They were deciding between ruining his reputation at QU (which would have meant at that time that he would never get to play again in Ireland or Britain), or cut his fingers off at the knuckle!! My informant tells me the vote was tied at 3-3 and the lad hasn't played a hand since. Also, my informant wouldn't tell me what way he voted, as he felt, I wouldn't have believed him. I'm assured though, the story is absolutely true.

Shocking carryon there. What do you mean he never played again, because he couldnt hold ards with no fingers or because he was barred/rep preceded him.

Yeah puck sounds like you know your stuff old hand. Looking at it again maybe I should ahve folded. I seen all those chips though and it was hard to lay down any hand in the circumstance I felt. Hopefully will  learn from myerrors. What about a gaaboard game of poker online somewhere.
Post by: Puckoon on May 05, 2008, 05:28:47 PM
Nevada state poker championships this week.

Headed out at noon to the 200$ buy in deep stack tournament. Hope my luck from this weekend holds up - what a cash story this is.

Friday night....

Im on the button. 4,5 of spades in the pocket.

Entire table calls the 5$ blind in the no limit cash game. Im getting 9-1 on a playable hand with my 5$ so I call.

The big blind doesnt check his option however, he raises the betting to 20$. The ENTIRE table calls around to me on the button. Now Im getting 9-1 on 20$ for 15$ more bucks - plus I have position on the table. No brainer for 15$ so I call.

The flop hits the deck and I have to really work at keeping the pulse down, as it comes 4,4,4. Im in conversation with the dealer, the cocktail waitress and just generally trying to keep myself from looking like I have just flopped the nuts. Theres 200$ in the pot - maybe If im lucky and wait uintil the turn or the river, some one will pair up and Ill get paid off.

What happens next is just f**king unbelievable.

The big blind (obviously holding a high pair) bets out 50$. Im thinking money!!!!

The next player raises him to 100$ - and he is immediately called by the two players to his left!!!! The action hasnt gotten around to me with my four 4s AND ALREADY THERE IS 550$ IN THE POT!

Ive got 500$ in chips in front of me so Im in good shape anyways, but this is a real bonus. Finally the action gets to me and I smooth call. The big blind realises someone has his high pair beaten and he folds.

The turn comes a 3 of diamonds. No one bets. The actoin comes to me, and I figure Ill let it ride incase someone hits again on the river. River comes a blank - everyone checks around to me. Im wondering how much to bet. Do I move all in? Nah - no one will call.

How about 100$ into a 550$ pot - surely someone will keep me honest.

YOU BETTER BELIEVE IT - TWO OF THEM WANTED TO PAY TO SEE MY CASE FOUR!

750$ pot.  Gifts like that dont come along that often, but when they do - its a great game.
Post by: Rav67 on May 05, 2008, 10:52:09 PM
Was that limit or NL? Either way, bet that turn 100% of the time, even when checked to you. Its a fourway pot like. Bet more on the river too, noone is folding their boats.
Post by: supersarsfields on May 06, 2008, 11:23:00 AM
Quote from: Surreal Steve on April 25, 2008, 06:08:57 PM
Quote from: carnaross on April 25, 2008, 04:03:17 PM

Shocking carryon there. What do you mean he never played again, because he couldnt hold ards with no fingers or because he was barred/rep preceded him.

Yeah puck sounds like you know your stuff old hand. Looking at it again maybe I should ahve folded. I seen all those chips though and it was hard to lay down any hand in the circumstance I felt. Hopefully will  learn from myerrors. What about a gaaboard game of poker online somewhere.

I had voiced this idea a while back. It would be easy enough to organise. I'm on Party poker, Paddy power and pkr.com. Have to say I find party power the most enjoyable by a mile.
Would be easy enough to get a game going?

We could just arrange a time and open a table.

Any takers?
Post by: supersarsfields on May 08, 2008, 10:03:14 AM
Well lads after two series of qualifiers I have qualified for the WSOP Satellite $580.00 in party poker. Prize pool is at $40,500 already with 36 entries. Top prize $13.5 package to the WSOP. 3 Packages guaranteed.

Bad news is that the game is on tomorrow so I have had to unregister as I've a god damn wedding tomorrow!! But It leaves me with a free roll for the next one.

Wish me luck!!
Post by: Rossie11 on May 08, 2008, 10:31:14 AM
Best of luck sarsfields.
Puckoon you seem to know your stuff. Love watching good players on tv and live to pick up tips.
Remembering them in a game then is the tough bit!!

From your game above Puckoon
If that turn was a higher card than a 4 would you have bet in case someone had made trips was waiting the river for a higher 4 of a kind than yours?
Post by: Homer on May 08, 2008, 11:12:59 AM
Pop Quiz!

In Texas Hold'em, what's the worst possible nuts after the river has been dealt?
Post by: supersarsfields on May 08, 2008, 12:05:41 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on May 08, 2008, 10:31:14 AM
Best of luck sarsfields.
Puckoon you seem to know your stuff. Love watching good players on tv and live to pick up tips.

If that turn was a higher card than a 4 would you have bet in case someone had made trips was waiting the river for a higher 4 of a kind than yours?

The chances of that happening against you be extremely unlikely!!  You'd be playing a very tight game if you saw that as a major risk. I'd agree with Rav, I would have betted on the turn just to try and build the pot. Even just the $50 - $100.
Post by: Rossie11 on May 08, 2008, 12:44:05 PM
QuoteIn Texas Hold'em, what's the worst possible nuts after the river has been dealt?

Nor sure if I'm getting this right.
if cards are 2 4 7 9 Q
QQQ
Post by: Homer on May 08, 2008, 12:46:02 PM
Quote from: Rossie11 on May 08, 2008, 12:44:05 PM
QuoteIn Texas Hold'em, what's the worst possible nuts after the river has been dealt?

if cards are 2 4 7 9 Q
QQQ

Spot on Rossie!
Post by: Rossie11 on May 08, 2008, 12:51:09 PM
lot of scribbling done here...
Post by: Puckoon on May 08, 2008, 02:55:28 PM
Best of luck sarsfields.

Quote from: supersarsfields on May 08, 2008, 12:05:41 PM
Best of luck sarsfields.

The chances of that happening against you be extremely unlikely!!  You'd be playing a very tight game if you saw that as a major risk. I'd agree with Rav, I would have betted on the turn just to try and build the pot. Even just the $50 - $100.

At least two of the players in the pot were on draws to ace king, ace queen full houses or draws other than full house draws (inconceiveable that people can be so stupid i know). I could have bet the board on the turn, but the net profit wouldnt have differed that much. people are stupid. If i leave the turn, people put me on a free card too and so when i bet the 7 on the river - the ALL (thats the key word) put me on the 7 and so called. This wasnt a loose tourist table (except for one guy) so I wanted to make sure Igot value from eeveryone.

two players both told me they only called because of the small nature of my bet. One because of the pot odds and the other because he thought I was trying to steal it.

you can play it many ways - i was happy with it and wouldnt have bet the turn ever.

If some one had went runner runner for higher quads than me rossie - id have won 30% of a 130,000$ BAD BEAT JACKPOT - so i wasnt to worried! ;)
Post by: Puckoon on May 08, 2008, 03:06:47 PM

if cards are 2 4 7 9 Q
QQQ

I dont understand the question homer?
Post by: Rossie11 on May 08, 2008, 03:14:22 PM
What is lowest value hand you can have and still have the nuts.
I picked cards where no straight could be formed and put you on pocket Qs

Was a good question Homer.. a few lads stumped here
Post by: Homer on May 08, 2008, 03:17:44 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 08, 2008, 03:06:47 PM

if cards are 2 4 7 9 Q
QQQ

Maybe it should read.... what is the lowest ranked nuts that it is possible for a player to have on the river?

So for Rossie's example a board of: 2s 4c 7h 9d Qs (Rossie did leave out the flush possibility  :P)

Gives a player holding Qh Qd the nuts
Post by: supersarsfields on May 08, 2008, 03:26:48 PM
Dink!!

Penny dropped. Wasn't understanding the question for a while there.

Was doing my head in.
Post by: Puckoon on May 08, 2008, 03:32:53 PM
Quote from: Homer on May 08, 2008, 03:17:44 PM

if cards are 2 4 7 9 Q
QQQ

Maybe it should read.... what is the lowest ranked nuts that it is possible for a player to have on the river?

So for Rossie's example a board of: 2s 4c 7h 9d Qs (Rossie did leave out the flush possibility  :P)

Maybe Im reading it wrong. Are you just asking in this particular 5 card scenario whats the lowest ranked nuts? Im thouroughly confused. The term "lowest ranked nuts" doesnt really make any sense to me. There is only one nuts in any given hand and in this hand its obvious that QQQ is the one and only nuts and therefore the highest ranked hand in the pot and the lowest ranked nothing!? :-\ ??? ??? ???
Post by: Rossie11 on May 08, 2008, 03:37:45 PM
Those were my 5 cards Puckoon.
What is lowest nuts out of all 52.
There are a few variations am sure but Q is lowest you can have so someone cant make a straight.
Post by: Homer on May 08, 2008, 03:45:52 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 08, 2008, 03:32:53 PM
Quote from: Homer on May 08, 2008, 03:17:44 PM

if cards are 2 4 7 9 Q
QQQ

Maybe Im reading it wrong. Are you just asking in this particular 5 card scenario whats the lowest ranked nuts? Im thouroughly confused. The term "lowest ranked nuts" doesnt really make any sense to me. There is only one nuts in any given hand and in this hand its obvious that QQQ is the one and only nuts and therefore the highest ranked hand in the pot and the lowest ranked nothing!? :-\ ??? ??? ???

Sorry I'm confusing you further...

I don't mean "lowest ranked nuts" in that particular hand I mean in any single game of holdem poker the "lowest ranked nuts" is trip' Queens.

e.g. you can never have a set of Jacks on the river and have the best possible hand
Post by: Puckoon on May 08, 2008, 05:05:42 PM
So basically what you are saying is that top set in a non straightening non flushing board is the nuts.

I think the penny just dropped. Every other set has to contend with a possible straight possibility. All it took was a cup of coffee. :D

Ive had a good week - Im 2300$ in the red (would have been 2500$ except for the buy in for that tournament on monday, in which I made a complete donkey play when I really didnt have to)

Sarsfields - good luck in the satellite. Im playing in a 200$ buy in satellite myself for the WSOP at the end of may.

On another note - I dont know if anyone of you have heard the WSOP decisions for this years main event final table. Silly silly decision, that makes little sense to me as a player - but sense to them as a marketing group.

The WSOP final table will be delayed until november 9th and broadcast live over 2 days. That means you have 3 months to study opponents, gain sponsorship and practice.

Or you have 3 months to run cold. If I got to a final table, I wouldnt want to take a 3 month hiatus. Poker luck runs in cycles. Play when you are hot.
Post by: Surreal Steve on May 17, 2008, 03:32:20 PM
well how/whats everyone doing poker-wise
Post by: Puckoon on May 19, 2008, 02:12:37 PM
Tough week at the office last week steve. Got stuck 400 in a no limit game. Flopped a full house 9,2,2 when I was holding pocket 9s. Was moved all in by two players. One had 4 deuces and the other rivered a Queen for Queens full of deuces. Thankfully Id just bought in for 300$ and hadnt accumulated too many chips, because the guy who hit the third queen on the river had about 1400$ in front of him - and he'd have taken everything from me.

Both other days I played I lost 80$ on the first hand once with kings against aces and the other time I held aces and got beaten by kings! Still cashed out 100$ profit both days.

Tough game somedays.

That said, im still well in the plus side this month.
Post by: Puckoon on May 29, 2008, 05:00:01 PM
Whats the best online poker site?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 29, 2008, 06:21:55 PM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 29, 2008, 05:00:01 PM
Whats the best online poker site?

Pokerstars

Tons of Tournys, easier to navigate, cash games, easy to get money into the site and they sent me to the Bahamas ;)

Post by: supersarsfields on May 29, 2008, 08:06:27 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on May 08, 2008, 10:03:14 AM
Well lads after two series of qualifiers I have qualified for the WSOP Satellite $580.00 in party poker. Prize pool is at $40,500 already with 36 entries. Top prize $13.5 package to the WSOP. 3 Packages guaranteed.

Bad news is that the game is on tomorrow so I have had to unregister as I've a god damn wedding tomorrow!! But It leaves me with a free roll for the next one.

Wish me luck!!

Firstly Puckoon I'd reccomend party poker. Eassy to use and very quick.

Secondly I've registered for this comp tomorrow nite. It's played every friday but for one reason or another haven't been able to play it over the last couple of weeks. But free tomorrow so going to give it a rattle. It's the biggest comp i've every qualified for so fingers crossed. Starts at 8.30 tomorrow nite.
Post by: Puckoon on May 29, 2008, 08:14:31 PM
Good luck horse.

I played my way to the final 10 at harrahs satellite last friday out of 240. The last 10 were guaranteed 250, with 5th place starting at 750 and it moving upwards until 1st took home either 7500 or a seat at the WSOP.

I was on the button, short stacked,  and folded queen 10 as the player in the big blind was all in. If he gets knocked out, he takes home 750 and I move up to 1500. His opponent flops two pair with the board showing Ace Jack of spades. The player in the big blind turns over his hand and calmly says "Im waiting for my royal flush" as he shows King Queen of spades. The dealer (a good friend of mine the hewer) promptly whacks the 10 of spades down on the turn to deal the all in player the nuts for his tournament life. He went on to take down the 7500$ dollar first prize and I crashed out in 5th for 10% of that.

Was greavsie talking about poker when he said its a funny old game? :D
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 29, 2008, 09:57:13 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on May 29, 2008, 08:06:27 PM
Quote from: supersarsfields on May 08, 2008, 10:03:14 AM

Wish me luck!!

Firstly Puckoon I'd reccomend party poker. Eassy to use and very quick.

PokerStars sight is easier to navigate then Party Poker.

Secondly I've registered for this comp tomorrow nite. It's played every friday but for one reason or another haven't been able to play it over the last couple of weeks. But free tomorrow so going to give it a rattle. It's the biggest comp i've every qualified for so fingers crossed. Starts at 8.30 tomorrow nite.

Good Luck!!

Puck,

Pokerstars lets you deposit through E-Checks after you have played for awhile on their site. At first I went through western union to make my deposits. The U.S. frowns on the internet sites since they are not getting a piece of the action, so going through Western Union alleviates this at the start. Some peoples debit/atm/credit cards can work to deposit but it depends on the bank/credit company.

I made three total deposits of 150.00 each in a 1 month span then a notice popped up stating I could use E-Checks.

I have played on Full Tilt, Party Poker and Bodog and by far PokerStars is easier to navigate and see everything as far as tournaments go.

Also they are connected with the Asian Poker Tour, European Poker Tour and the Latin America Poker Tour.

At this time they have 1093 players who have won entries to the WSOP.

Post by: Surreal Steve on May 29, 2008, 10:44:54 PM
Harp be wary there with cashing out with echecks, i heard something a few weeks back about there being a massive delay in cashing out through that method.
Post by: Puckoon on May 29, 2008, 10:46:59 PM
So basically I take my bank card, and use a payment processor to put the money into say Full Tilt.

Is there no way I can do it directly. As someone pointed out, its very strange Ive never played online for money before, but this is all new territory for me. Just want to get in (and hopefully get out) with the minimum amount of fuss/hassle. Having to register with multple payment processors will really put me off.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 30, 2008, 04:07:19 AM
Quote from: Surreal Steve on May 29, 2008, 10:44:54 PM
Harp be wary there with cashing out with echecks, i heard something a few weeks back about there being a massive delay in cashing out through that method.

Heard the same thing, if I do cash out I would go for cashier's check.

Post by: DrinkingHarp on May 30, 2008, 04:14:28 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on May 29, 2008, 10:46:59 PM
So basically I take my bank card, and use a payment processor to put the money into say Full Tilt.

Is there no way I can do it directly. As someone pointed out, its very strange Ive never played online for money before, but this is all new territory for me. Just want to get in (and hopefully get out) with the minimum amount of fuss/hassle. Having to register with multple payment processors will really put me off.

If your financial Institution allows it you can deposit directly, if not use western union.

Western Union takes 3 minutes at their location (due express) get home log on to poker site and enter the route number and your account has the money in about 2 minutes.

If you use Pokerstars in the real money section (cashier) click on Buy Chips, go to Western Union click that, it will give you a name and city in Costa Rica (copy this info). Go to WU and send money, go home and finish.

I was nervous the first time thinking someone in Costa Rica was enjoying cervasas on my dime but it worked.
Post by: supersarsfields on May 31, 2008, 01:15:36 AM
Well lads bowed out in 15th so didn't even make the final table.  :'( Ended up with 70 players.

To be honest I was kinda hanging on for a while. Never really got myself in a good spot and was getting trash cards mostly. Played very few hands. But as the blinds got bigger was forced into a few hands. Not a good nite!!
Post by: Puckoon on May 31, 2008, 04:49:00 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on May 31, 2008, 01:15:36 AM
Well lads bowed out in 15th so didn't even make the final table.  :'( Ended up with 70 players.

To be honest I was kinda hanging on for a while. Never really got myself in a good spot and was getting trash cards mostly. Played very few hands. But as the blinds got bigger was forced into a few hands. Not a good nite!!

Short Stack Torture - theres nothing worse.

Unlucky.
Post by: Surreal Steve on June 01, 2008, 12:53:14 AM
What levels is everyone playin at? Im currently grinding 25NL on party ::)
Post by: winsamsoon on June 05, 2008, 12:16:07 PM
I like it lads
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 09, 2008, 05:42:14 PM
This saturday playing on PokerStars 370 buy in with a guaranteed 200 seats to the WSOP main event. I expect about 2000 entrants so 1 out of ten odds looks good. ::) ;)

Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 13, 2008, 04:18:33 AM
You can watch the 2008 WSOP on espn360.com
Post by: the Deel Rover on June 27, 2008, 05:06:02 PM
phil ivy (spl)  is some player , i was watching the Poker on sky the other night and to see the way he won a hand with a 6spades 4heart was unreal a complete bluff and there were some great players at the table jesus ferguson, gus hansen. tony g
Post by: Sausalito Bay on July 02, 2008, 09:13:07 AM
Belfast's Marty Smyth has just won the $10k Pot Limit Omaha World Championship event at the WSOP, beating the world's best players and  picking up $859,549  in the process.   Well done Marty, great for Irish poker. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: downtown on July 29, 2008, 03:26:16 AM
any1 play in any local clubs around home? any of yas tryin 2 quality for WSOP Europe in London?
Post by: gerry on August 16, 2008, 11:10:05 AM
one of the final tables at wsop 08, heads up AK versus 10,4 suited

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q61aOvaHa4E (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q61aOvaHa4E)
Post by: the Deel Rover on August 16, 2008, 11:34:24 AM
Quote from: gerry on August 16, 2008, 11:10:05 AM
one of the final tables at wsop 08, heads up AK versus 10,4 suited

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q61aOvaHa4E (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=q61aOvaHa4E)

crikey just shows you i wouldn't have gone all in there i'd have thrown in my hand, what would ye boys have done ?
Post by: corn02 on August 16, 2008, 12:30:14 PM
It was a donkey play nand he got purew lucky., I assume he was short stacked because a pro wouldn;t have touched it normally.
Post by: Puckoon on August 16, 2008, 03:19:18 PM
He wasnt short stacked at all. Not a great play by any means, but there is slight rational in him pushing back over the top. In heads up play, you expect people to be raising with any two cards, and its not uncommon for the fella who re raised (i.e. the loser) to be holding something like King, 10. In this instance, the re re raise with 10, 4 of diamonds all in, is not a bad play, because the second hand cant really call. Infact, the fella with Ace King called so quickly, it was a little amateurish on his part. Ace King is a very over rated hand.

That said, I wouldnt put my tournament life on the line with 10, 4 however its two totally different things to move all in with that hand, and then be called, or to just call with it. If he'd called with 10, 4, then yes - a donkey of the highest order!
Post by: corn02 on August 16, 2008, 03:39:40 PM
True enough Puck!

Quote from: Puckoon on August 16, 2008, 03:19:18 PM
Ace King is a very over rated hand.

I would say the most over-rated hand. Peoiple just can't seem to realise that AK is nothing ion the hand.
Post by: ludermor on August 21, 2008, 01:00:55 PM
Do any of ye lads use any of the tracking sites? i got a fair shock one day when another player said to me that i was on a good run, i thought he was bluffing but he told me my last 5 finihses. he gave me the name of the site he uses and i got a fair shock when i put my name in it and seen how much i had lost to date!
Post by: corn02 on August 21, 2008, 01:06:45 PM
yeah checked it , total horro. Can't mind the name. sharkfinder or something.
Post by: ludermor on August 21, 2008, 01:14:13 PM
sharkscope is what yer man was using, its some tool , you can put in the game you are playing in and it gives info on all the players on your table.while i alwalys treat poker like a hobby i didnt realise it was an expensive hobby!!!!
Post by: corn02 on August 21, 2008, 01:14:54 PM
ditto. and the fact that it is in dollars makes it look a lot worse.
Post by: Puckoon on August 21, 2008, 03:13:50 PM
Very rarely will you get an honest answer from a gambler on how much he loses in the long run. We hardly even admit it to ourselves!
Post by: ludermor on August 21, 2008, 04:32:56 PM
Puck
i was very surprised, i know that i put money in every few months and i only play 5-10 dollar tables but when its in front of you in black and white it  hits home. But since i seen it i have tightened up a lot and seemed to have turned around. It might be for the best!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 21, 2008, 04:40:29 PM
You can also check it at                  www.OfficialPokerRankings.com
Post by: ludermor on August 21, 2008, 04:45:41 PM
FFS DH i dont need any more confirmation of my shiteness
Out of interest what level of profit or loss is everyone at?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 21, 2008, 04:58:51 PM
Quote from: ludermor on August 21, 2008, 04:45:41 PM
FFS DH i dont need any more confirmation of my shiteness
Out of interest what level of profit or loss is everyone at?

I have been on a BAD run

Prizes           Profit             ROI           ITM               Rating
8,869             0                -36%          15%              51.42%

Prizes             Profit            ROI           ITM                 Rating
17,586              8,195         87%          19%               98.79%

Have only been playing for 11 months ,need to study the game a little more.

Post by: Puckoon on August 21, 2008, 05:05:38 PM
I keep a rather loose record to be honest.

I try and keep a grand in my wallet at all times, and pay for everything with cash from my wallet, so that all that comes out  of my pay check/ bank are bills and petrol.

I had built up a nice bankroll of 6 grand cash (not in an online account) a few weeks back, and started to run a little bad - not big losses, but just bad losses. I purposely put all 6 grand down and 2 grand more from my savings account down on a new car and broke myself and my bank. By the time Id registered and insured it Id paid out over 9 grand - 6 of which came from poker. In my first year playing heavily, I probably lost 3 grand (playing 3-6 limit and tournaments), which I made back, paid off some credit cards, and then made 6 on top of it playing solely no limit hold'em a couple times a week. I resolved never to play limit hold'em again. It encourages you to play bad! Ive also stopped playing tournaments.

It sucks not to be playing right now, but I wanted to test myself and my resolve. I have no disposable income (for poker) until september, and then I hope to build my bank roll steadily from september until christmas.

Im relatively confident, there are a few big games in Reno, and Ive broken them well before, and have the discipline not to play when Im running bad. This year I wont be parlaying many bets on the football, just rather betting big and betting straight.

The future is bright - the future is smart gaming.
Post by: ludermor on August 21, 2008, 05:14:23 PM
DH you must have had some start to your career! What tables were you playing to have built up that profit or did you win 1 big tournament?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on August 21, 2008, 05:15:42 PM
I put 350 into Pokerstars at the start and have been using that. I play mostly sit n go (18-45 players), tournys w/3000 plus players at lower stakes(3.00-12.00) and when low on cash shoot over to the .50/1.00 table and build up till I get 100-250 then head back to the tournys.

What helped was I won my way into the PokerStars Carribean Adventure which is part of the European Poker Tour  (EPT).

Post by: gerry on October 20, 2008, 10:29:45 PM
just small stuff but was down to 300 chips with blinds 50/100, after going all in with bullets and getting called with pocket 7's all pre flop and he hit trips.

came back and won the tournment and $150,

as they say as long as you have a chip and a chair your still in with a chance

Post by: Puckoon on October 21, 2008, 12:48:51 AM
Good man Gerry. Chip and a chair is the motto alright.

Theres an auld boy plays down one of the clubs I frequent - name is earl the pearl. Old time mobster type from the bronx. Hard as nails. He loves to tell the story (and he isnt lying, as I was there to see it) of the day he was at the final table in the 2000$ buy in easter poker special in the Hilton in Reno. His opponent (a lady pro) mis counted his chips, and instead of putting him all in on the river - bet 12000$. He callled, and lost the hand, but had 13000$ when she bet the 12000$. He came back from one 1000$ chip to take the title.

On a personal note - took a hell of a beating in vegas last week. Shipped out 600$ in one three hour sesssion - losing with 4 deuces along the way in a room with no bonus hands or bad beat jackpot.

Slim pickings for the rest of the month.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 21, 2008, 05:28:12 AM
Chris "Jesus" Ferguson tried to turn zero$$$ into $10,000 dollars on Full Tilt Poker. He entered the freerolls were the top 27 out of 2,700 make the money. First is 15.00 and goes down from there. He won some money on the freerolls and then moved on to the small cash games .02/.05 and progressed up to the 5/10 tables and beyond. It took him 7 months to reach $6.50 in the freerolls then an additional 9 months from there to hit $10,000.00. He then donated his winnings to the Save the Children Foundation.

He also turned $1.00 into $20,000.00 using bank roll management. Takes alot of disciplne to do this but anyone could do it.

www.chrisferguson.com

Post by: ludermor on October 21, 2008, 10:55:48 AM
Came close to winning a big jackpot on Paddypower poker. I usually play the $5 dollar sit n'go table Maui. If you win 5 games in a row you win a minimum of 18k.If you get to the last 2 5 games in a row you win $200. I have won the 200 twice and came close to winning the 5 once.
Post by: orangeman on October 22, 2008, 10:12:08 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on October 21, 2008, 12:48:51 AM
Good man Gerry. Chip and a chair is the motto alright.

Theres an auld boy plays down one of the clubs I frequent - name is earl the pearl. Old time mobster type from the bronx. Hard as nails. He loves to tell the story (and he isnt lying, as I was there to see it) of the day he was at the final table in the 2000$ buy in easter poker special in the Hilton in Reno. His opponent (a lady pro) mis counted his chips, and instead of putting him all in on the river - bet 12000$. He callled, and lost the hand, but had 13000$ when she bet the 12000$. He came back from one 1000$ chip to take the title.

On a personal note - took a hell of a beating in vegas last week. Shipped out 600$ in one three hour sesssion - losing with 4 deuces along the way in a room with no bonus hands or bad beat jackpot.
Slim pickings for the rest of the month.

Horrible !!!!!!!!! Just horrible !!!!!!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on October 26, 2008, 06:13:06 AM
I was on Full Tilt watching the RailHeaven $500/$1000 NL table.

Phil Ivey took down a $485,000 + pot to put over a Million $$$ in front of him.

John Juanda went from $120,000 to over $580,000 +.

All you need is $50,000 to sit at the table ::) ::)

Post by: ludermor on November 03, 2008, 10:03:34 PM
My mates cousin won a EPT tournamnet last week in Budapest taking down 600k!! Only been playing a few years.

http://www.poker-king.com/poker-king-articles.php?article=548
Post by: tyssam5 on November 03, 2008, 10:15:52 PM
Heading to Vegas in a couple of weeks any one know the best card rooms currently? Would like to play a couple of tournament and a few low/medium cash games.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 03, 2008, 10:24:37 PM
Quote from: ludermor on November 03, 2008, 10:03:34 PM
My mates cousin won a EPT tournamnet last week in Budapest taking down 600k!! Only been playing a few years.

http://www.poker-king.com/poker-king-articles.php?article=548

See he plays on PokerStars good man.

Pokerstars has tournys running now to get to the PCA in the Bahamas, trying to get back this year.
Post by: Puckoon on November 04, 2008, 02:36:01 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on November 03, 2008, 10:15:52 PM
Heading to Vegas in a couple of weeks any one know the best card rooms currently? Would like to play a couple of tournament and a few low/medium cash games.

The Wynn and the MGM grand are the two hottest rooms in town right now.

I played the bellagio last time around, and its a nice room - but not worth the hype.

There is also ceasars palace and the rio.

You want to make sure a room pays bonus hands (i.e 4 of a kind and bigger) and also that it has a bad beat jackpot.

The bellagio doesnt have either. >:(
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 04, 2008, 03:37:43 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on November 04, 2008, 02:36:01 AM
Quote from: tyssam5 on November 03, 2008, 10:15:52 PM

The Wynn and the MGM grand are the two hottest rooms in town right now.

I played the bellagio last time around, and its a nice room - but not worth the hype.

There is also ceasars palace and the rio.

You want to make sure a room pays bonus hands (i.e 4 of a kind and bigger) and also that it has a bad beat jackpot.

The bellagio doesnt have either. >:(

Would you not want to play a smaller casino for the cash games, not as many sharks?

You can go to pokerpages.com to find tournys anywhere in the world and vegas

here is a sample

Major Poker Tournament Listings Search Results

November  2008
Poker Pages has found 55 major tournaments matching your search criteria. Now displaying results 1 to 10.

Click on the tournament name for a detailed schedule of events. We advise you to call the organizers to confirm tournament schedules prior to travel.

Date  Tournament Name  Casino, Location 
November 30 to December 12, 2008 Horseshoe Classic  Binion's Gambling Hall
Las Vegas, NV
USA

November 28 to December 19, 2008 Doyle Brunson Five Diamond World Poker Classic / WPT Event Season 7   Bellagio
Las Vegas, NV
USA

November 28 to 29, 2008 Party Poker Irish Poker Tour   Athlone Springs Hotel
Co. Westmeath, Ireland

November 26 to December 4, 2008 St Maarten Poker Open   Maho Beach Casino Resort
St. Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

November 26 to 30, 2008 Sinai Grand Poker Tournament   Sinai Grand Casino
: Exp Egypt

November 24 to 30, 2008 Christmas Cracker  Rendezvous Casino At The Marina
Brighton, Sussex
UK

November 24 to 30, 2008 Malmo Autumn Poker Week   Casino Cosmopol
Malmo, Sweden

November 24 to 30, 2008 Anniversary Tour   Olympic Casino Sunrise
Warsaw, Poland

November 24 to 30, 2008 The Grand Fall Classic Poker Series  Golden Nugget
Las Vegas, NV
USA

November 21 to 23, 2008 Campeonato de España   Casino de Torrequebrada
Malaga, Spain

Post by: Puckoon on November 04, 2008, 03:51:17 AM
DH - The game at the bellagio was so easy I was flabbergasted. That said - I went broke.

People were coming away with 800$ pots on top pair - on the board!

I lost with a set of kings, 2 straights, and finally my last 300$ on 4 deuces.

I just got unlucky - but the game (1$-2$ dollar blind no limit) was so easy it made me all the more vexed.

I think you might get alot of sharks in the heavier no limit games, and the 10-20, 15-30 limit games.

I also played in ballys for a few hours one morning - more locals, less tourists, and less pickings.

Hard to know.
Post by: the Deel Rover on December 20, 2008, 10:56:40 AM
meant to post this last week did anyone watch the sky sports poker millions last week? Marty Smith from belfast from Belfast won it having at one stage only  €15k in chips he went on to win it heads up against Donnacha o' Dea's son Eoin winning himself a cool 1 million Dollars
Post by: DrinkingHarp on April 12, 2009, 11:07:58 PM
Anyone playing in the Irish Open?

Some big names there, Phil Laak, Dan Harrington, Jamie Gold, Kara Scott (HOT) ;), Ciaran O'Leary and Marty Smyth.

Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 05, 2009, 07:51:28 PM
So how have people been running lately?

Less time to play since I am back in school but still getting some little tourneys in online.

My game has improved quite a bit after reading a couple books. That said, I seem to loose more showdowns with the best hand going against players with 1 to 3 outs at the river  ::).  I know in the law of averages I will be ahead in the long run but it is still frustrating.

You can catch all the action and recaps of The WSOP 09 at www.pokerpages.com

Phil Ivey just won a bracelet.

Post by: bigfrank on June 06, 2009, 11:42:05 AM
was site u play in drinkin harp??I play a good bit of willy hill and do ok,wats ur username and i can keep an eye out for ya
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 06, 2009, 09:14:27 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on June 06, 2009, 11:42:05 AM
was site u play in drinkin harp??I play a good bit of willy hill and do ok,wats ur username and i can keep an eye out for ya

Crossmaglen1 on PokerStars although I haven't played on there in sometime

Crossmaglen on Full Tilt

Mostly play small sit n go's, MTT tourneys  2.00-12.00 or .02/.05 nl cash tables 6-max.

Need to rebuild the bankroll.

Post by: bigfrank on June 07, 2009, 01:16:32 PM
The reason i ask is cause i know how to check up how u have been doin on each site,ur down playin full tilt but up playin poker stars:P I priavte mail u the facts ok
Post by: downtown on June 07, 2009, 03:08:18 PM
Sharkscope?!  ;)
Post by: Stalin on June 07, 2009, 04:39:08 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on June 07, 2009, 01:16:32 PM
The reason i ask is cause i know how to check up how u have been doin on each site,ur down playin full tilt but up playin poker stars:P I priavte mail u the facts ok

Ah go on frank, let us all in on how you get this top secret info  ::)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on June 07, 2009, 10:44:00 PM
You can check at

Official Poker Rankings

SharkScope

Poker Pro Labs

internet top poker rankings

there are tons of these sites

Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 15, 2009, 02:37:09 PM
FREE MONEY

We're giving all UK & Ireland PokerStars players the chance to claim a share of a $100,000 prize pool - for FREE!

The 'July Mega Freeroll' has the largest ever prize pool for a UK and Ireland PokerStars freeroll, and with 6,000 places paid, you have a great shot at winning some cash and giving your bankroll a serious boost.

Satellites giving you the chance to win your seat in the Mega Freeroll are running twice daily at 14:00 ET and 16:30 ET (19:00 and 21:30 UK Time) throughout July, with the top 150 finishers awarded a seat. Alternatively, you can play in our $1.10 satellite which take place a 15:00 ET (20:00 UK Time) daily where all players receive a ticket to the Mega Freeroll, and the top 15% of players are awarded cash.

The $100,000 Freeroll takes place on Sunday, August 2nd at 14:00 ET (19:00 UK Time), located together with all satellites under the Tourney > Regional tab in your PokerStars.com lobby.

See you at the tables,

Regards,
The PokerStars Team
Post by: stiffler on August 15, 2009, 08:36:59 PM
Anyone fancy a wee game of texas hold em, theres a £7,000 open starting at 9 o clock on skybet, £11 buy in.

400 players in it at the minute!
Post by: gerry on August 16, 2009, 12:56:24 AM
well stiff how you get on
Post by: Caid on November 11, 2009, 05:46:43 AM
Joe Cada

World Champion

I was rooting for Darvin and Ivey - ah well.  Cada looks like a decent lad. God knows Michigan can do with a lift now
Post by: David McKeown on November 12, 2009, 02:06:45 AM
Quote from: Caid on November 11, 2009, 05:46:43 AM
Joe Cada

World Champion

I was rooting for Darvin and Ivey - ah well.  Cada looks like a decent lad. God knows Michigan can do with a lift now

I hate to use the word luck when talking about poker, but the number of times Cada got his money in behind and outdrew his opponent was crazy at the final table.  It was one of the luckiest wins I can remember
Post by: the waffler on November 12, 2009, 01:30:09 PM
any of u play on paddy power could relieve yous of  a few quid  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Post by: DrinkingHarp on November 12, 2009, 03:23:19 PM
All PokerStars players in the UK and Ireland are talking about the new UK & Ireland Poker Tour (UKIPT): our very own local tour of exciting, important live events with buy-ins ranging from £500 to £2000.

There will added bonuses on every stop of the tour, plus a UKIPT leader board offering an amazing $10,000 online freeroll for the top 100 players and (for the top spot) the staggering prize of full buy-ins and hotel expenses for the complete UKIPT season 2. This is serious competitive poker, for affordable buy-ins, with easy travel and added extras. I don't know about you, but I'm waking up most mornings thinking WHY CAN'T IT BE NOW?

See the full schedule here: UKIPT Events Schedule.

Well, it basically can be now. The first event is in Galway this December and daily qualifiers are starting right away on Pokerstars, at http://www.pokerstars.com/ukipt/.

Every day (until November 19), freerolls will offer two seats into the daily $109 qualifier at 7.30pm the following day. The $109 event in turn feeds into the weekly $530 qualifier at 6.45pm on Sundays, which will offer full packages to Galway.
Post by: ludermor on November 12, 2009, 05:30:48 PM
Quote from: the waffler on November 12, 2009, 01:30:09 PM
any of u play on paddy power could relieve yous of  a few quid  ;D ;D ;D ;D
Id be up for a few games alright! Anyone else?
Post by: Puckoon on November 12, 2009, 05:37:56 PM
Never played a hand of online poker in my life. :-\
Post by: supersarsfields on November 12, 2009, 05:57:27 PM
I'd be up for that aswell. I mooted the idea a while ago for a Gaaboard game. I'm on Party poker, poker stars and Paddy so any one of them would be good.
Post by: ludermor on November 23, 2009, 09:19:40 AM
Not sure if anyone has been following this but there is some phenomonal games going on at the minute.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055737942&page=21

Its worth reading through some pages of the boards link to get an idea of the level of money been lost ( one lad lost €5m in a week)

http://www.pocketfives.com/online-poker-scene/isildur1-drops-1-3-million-online-poker-pot-to-patrik-antonius-4913935

The high-stakes action on Full Tilt Poker has been taken to a new level. Recently, Swedish online poker newcomer Isildur1 dropped a seven-figure pot to Durrrr Challenge participant Patrik Antonius. The $1.3 million exchange marked the largest online poker pot in history and is generating a considerable amount of buzz for Full Tilt as the $25,000 buy-in Pot Limit Omaha Heads-Up World Championship played out on this weekend on the world's second largest online poker site.

Post by: Lady GAA GAA on March 06, 2010, 09:11:33 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RfoTT_5bxWM&feature=player_embedded

EPT wuz robbed  :o
Post by: cookstownblue on March 10, 2010, 12:59:45 PM
Can anyone let me know where myself and a couple of the lads could get a game of texas hold'em in and around Belfast?
Post by: illdecide on March 10, 2010, 02:12:42 PM
Lads i run a Texas night once a month in our club rooms, i try to get it at the end of the month when people get they're pay. Any of you guys are more than welcome, we have the proper poker tables and chips and everyone seems happy with it.

I have paid out around £800 in the last two i run but obviously the more i get in the more i pay out as i don't hold any money back for the club, whatever's lifted gets paid out. the club benefit from the bar takings.

If any of you are interested let me know and I'll sort you's out, there's one due in a fortnight!!!
Post by: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 02:49:10 PM
Where is the club illdecide?
Post by: illdecide on March 10, 2010, 04:03:34 PM
Quote from: mikasas on March 10, 2010, 02:49:10 PM
Where is the club illdecide?

Clan na Gael club in Lurgan
Post by: mikasas on March 11, 2010, 10:12:42 AM
What time does it start and how much is the buy in? Is it a freezeout? What time does it usually read up? Could I ask any more questions?
Post by: illdecide on March 11, 2010, 02:29:05 PM
Quote from: mikasas on March 11, 2010, 10:12:42 AM
What time does it start and how much is the buy in? Is it a freezeout? What time does it usually read up? Could I ask any more questions?

Mikasas, it starts at 9:15 with a 9:00 registration. It is £20 in with one optional re-buy for £10. There is a cut off time off 11:00 for this and if you haven't bought in by 11:00 then it's too late. I know a lot of people would rather have a freeze out but the majority of the lads who play prefer one optional re-buy so thats the way i've done it.

It is usually finished for about 12:30 -01:00 but the latest it has dragged out was about 01:45 - 02:00 (but that was just two tight hoors who kept packing until they had at least a flush...lol)
Post by: RealSpiritof98 on March 11, 2010, 02:54:58 PM
Poker nite this friday in Armagh.

Anyone who enjoys a game of Texas Hold'em but does not fancy paying too much, a Friday nite at Qpoker will suit just fine.

Played upsatirs @ Qpoker Club, Cuchulainn Bar, Thomas St, Armagh, the buy-in is only £10. There is 90 mins play were you can rebuy if you bust out for only a fiver. You can rebuy as many times as you like and a nice pot does develop. Its a great place to learn the tricks and the trade of No Limit Texas Hold'em.

This game is held every Friday nite and starts at 8.30pm.

If you're interested or hav any queries drop me a pm

News to follow regarding higher stakes games
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 14, 2011, 12:00:26 AM
Anyone interested in a GaaBoard poker league/night on Pokerstars.com?

I can set it up on the Home Game section on their site. Would keep the stakes small for a friendly game and fun.
Would like to see the interest and best possible time for everyone around the world. I have been playing for about four years on Pokerstars and it is a legit site.
Post by: supersarsfields on January 14, 2011, 08:26:44 AM
I'd be up for that. Not on poker stars at the min as I use party poker but could get set up on it if this was happening!!
Post by: Boycey on January 14, 2011, 08:29:31 AM
Include me in..
Post by: sammymaguire on January 14, 2011, 08:39:51 AM
I'd be interested if the times were suitable....  8)  8)  8)
Post by: AbbeySider on January 14, 2011, 12:36:08 PM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on January 14, 2011, 12:00:26 AM
Anyone interested in a GaaBoard poker league/night on Pokerstars.com?

I can set it up on the Home Game section on their site. Would keep the stakes small for a friendly game and fun.
Would like to see the interest and best possible time for everyone around the world. I have been playing for about four years on Pokerstars and it is a legit site.

Id be interested but im hoping it will be a night that doesnt clash with football training! :)
Post by: Bensars on January 14, 2011, 12:47:24 PM
Yip.  drop me a pm of times.  Cheers
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 14, 2011, 10:53:05 PM
Well there is some interest, so the next question is which night and time would be best?

I am thinking a Mon or Fri night to either continue or kickoff the weekend or maybe the weekend.

Times would have to included people in Ireland, States and Oz and beyond.

PM me with day/time and country to accomadate all interested

Here are some thoughts on a league style

1) entry per tournament around 2.00- 3.00 can either be euro or u.s dollar
2) No Limit Hold-em
3) Knockout format, knock an opponent out of tourney receive .25
4) .25-.50 goes to a pool for end of league championship
5) league championship points for knockouts, top finishes and money leaders
6) have a quartley league (3 months, 1 week per month) then a big championship at the end of the year for league leaders from the 4 quarters.

Any other suggestings just add on to this post, league will vote on rules and style.

Post by: supersarsfields on January 14, 2011, 11:22:15 PM
Your best bet might be just to get a weekly sit and go table up and running first before going into the league set up. It's going to be hard to organise with the ex pats timewise. But I'd like the chance to take money of Puck if possible!!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 15, 2011, 12:29:16 AM
Quote from: supersarsfields on January 14, 2011, 11:22:15 PM
Your best bet might be just to get a weekly sit and go table up and running first before going into the league set up. It's going to be hard to organise with the ex pats timewise. But I'd like the chance to take money of Puck if possible!!

Supersarsfields, that makes sense. I have set up a GAA poker club on pokerstars where we will do sit n go's to start to see the interest.
Also there is a cash table - see below.

After we get players interested a league will be set up, say in May or June. Until then we will do sit n go's with a small buy in.

I will still show stats and all that but no points till a league is setup and running

Ok to get onto Pokerstars as a player 

you can choose any name for pokerstars but maybe your name on board would work better, I can't change mine Crossmaglen1

1) go to Pokertars.com and download the software.

2) deposit money  (there are different options on how to deposit for which ever country your are based).

3) in main lobby go to Home Games tab

4) click join poker club button

5) enter club ID  - 56042

6) enter invitation code - sliotar11

I set up a cash table  Table Name "Probitas" No limit holdem   .01/.02 blinds

There is a sit n go scheduled  for Fri 21 Jan  15:15 ET
Sit N Go #1
buy-in 2.20
5 min blinds
3,000 starting chips
I am already signed up.
Post by: ludermor on January 15, 2011, 01:02:28 AM
im signed up as well, should be a bit of craic!
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 15, 2011, 03:03:45 AM
You are invited to join my private poker club for Home Games online.

- If you don't already have it, download the free PokerStars software
from http://www.pokerstars.com/poker/download/
- Open the main poker lobby, then click on the Home Games tab
- Click the 'Join a Poker Club' button
- Enter my Club ID number: 56042
- Enter my Invitation Code: sliotar11

That's it! Once I've approved your membership request, we'll be ready to start playing Home Games online together.

If you want to find out more, visit http://www.pokerstars.com/poker/home-games/
Post by: AbbeySider on January 17, 2011, 09:21:52 AM
Quote from: DrinkingHarp on January 15, 2011, 12:29:16 AM

There is a sit n go scheduled  for Fri 21 Jan  15:15 ET

Is that Eastern Time in the US?
What time is that in Ireland?
Post by: Puckoon on January 17, 2011, 07:27:08 PM
That'd be 8.15pm GMT Abbey Sider.

I'd love to get involved in this - but I dont play much online (or live these days) poker - and second of all - I am on pacific time - so I wouldnt be able to make this kind of event.

Thanks for the invite though supersarsfields - and be careful what you wish for  ;)
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 17, 2011, 11:24:46 PM
I also set up a .01/.02 cash table so anyone can jump on there when they have free time.
Table Probitas Min .80 - Max 5.00

If anyone is interested in the sit n go with specific day and times just pm me.

Post by: AbbeySider on January 18, 2011, 09:27:49 AM
Quote from: Puckoon on January 17, 2011, 07:27:08 PM
That'd be 8.15pm GMT Abbey Sider.

I'd love to get involved in this - but I dont play much online (or live these days) poker - and second of all - I am on pacific time - so I wouldnt be able to make this kind of event.

Thanks for the invite though supersarsfields - and be careful what you wish for  ;)

Myself and half the board who would be playing football or hurling normally train on Friday nights lads so im out, unfortunately :( 
Post by: sammymaguire on January 18, 2011, 02:14:05 PM
would Thursday night be a go-er for most people, start of the weekend and all that?
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 18, 2011, 09:54:25 PM
CHANGED

Thursday Evening  (2 days and 3 hours from this post)

Sit N Go #1 changed to 20 Jan @ 20:00 ET

Entry 2.20
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 30, 2011, 08:22:58 PM
I was just wondering as I recently resumed my online poker'career'. Who polices these poker sites? Do they set up cards at times i'm not saying there out to cheat people out of money but are they fixed to give a big final card?? as the amount of times i've been involved in a showdown with another player the river usually lets the underdog out of the hole!!!
Post by: The Worker on March 30, 2011, 11:27:59 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on March 30, 2011, 08:22:58 PM
I was just wondering as I recently resumed my online poker'career'. Who polices these poker sites? Do they set up cards at times i'm not saying there out to cheat people out of money but are they fixed to give a big final card?? as the amount of times i've been involved in a showdown with another player the river usually lets the underdog out of the hole!!!

what site you playing RBY?
Post by: Radda bout yeee on March 31, 2011, 12:17:50 PM
Quote from: The Worker on March 30, 2011, 11:27:59 PM
Quote from: Radda bout yeee on March 30, 2011, 08:22:58 PM

what site you playing RBY?

Paddy Power
Post by: bigfrank on March 31, 2011, 02:06:37 PM
Anyone going???

The Irish Open is a five day-long festival of poker, which will take place in the Burlington Hotel from Thursday 21st April – Monday 25th April 2011. It includes a growing number of side events each year providing variety for all types of poker player.

The Irish Open Main Event, a €3,200 + €300 NLH Freezeout, will kick-off at 2:00pm on Friday 21st April and run for four days when the Irish Open 2011 Champion will be crowned on Monday 25th April. Ahead of the Main Event, a €200 + €20 NLH Re-buy Super Satellite will take place at 7:00pm on Thursday 21st April, giving people a last minute chance to win their seat in the headline event.

Below is schedule for the weekend...few decent side events :)

http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/irish-poker-open/schedule
Post by: Bingo on March 31, 2011, 02:59:09 PM
Never mind that mickey mouse one, this is where its at:

Castleblayney Faughs Texas Hold'em poker tournement

Friday 15th April - Corrigans Kitchen Castleblayney, Registration 8.30, early chip in operation.

Gurantaneed €2,500 prizepot, €50 in with €20 buyback and/or top up.

PM me for any details. Hibernian poker are running in.
Post by: David McKeown on March 31, 2011, 06:52:52 PM
Quote from: bigfrank on March 31, 2011, 02:06:37 PM
Anyone going???

The Irish Open is a five day-long festival of poker, which will take place in the Burlington Hotel from Thursday 21st April – Monday 25th April 2011. It includes a growing number of side events each year providing variety for all types of poker player.

The Irish Open Main Event, a €3,200 + €300 NLH Freezeout, will kick-off at 2:00pm on Friday 21st April and run for four days when the Irish Open 2011 Champion will be crowned on Monday 25th April. Ahead of the Main Event, a €200 + €20 NLH Re-buy Super Satellite will take place at 7:00pm on Thursday 21st April, giving people a last minute chance to win their seat in the headline event.

Below is schedule for the weekend...few decent side events :)

http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/irish-poker-open/schedule

Depending on work I might head down, stumbled into the WSOP Europe Main event last year when I was on holiday in London and it was a good days craic even without playing the main tournament, few little side games on the go and some good craic to be had from some of the pros
Post by: DrinkingHarp on July 16, 2011, 03:12:18 AM
ESPN 2 is showing the WSOP 211 Main event live. It is interesting without all the editing. Daniel Negraneu(sp) was talking to a player about a past hand from earlier in the night he watched from his IPOD/Iphone during the break so anyone can review critical hands/pots to help them later on against their opponents.
Post by: DrinkingHarp on February 09, 2012, 09:46:18 PM
UK and Ireland Poker Tour schedule for this year.

http://www.ukipt.com/tournaments/

UKIPT Season 3

The first stop on Season 3 of the UK & Ireland Poker Tour is UKIPT Galway. Players are advised to book their seats early to avoid disappointment. For more information on the next event, please visit the UKIPT Galway information page.

There are eight confirmed for UKIPT Season 3, and the tournament schedule can be found below.

Click on a tournament name for more detailed information about each event.

EVENT

VENUE

BUY-IN

MAIN EVENT DATES

GUARANTEE

CAP

GALWAY, Ireland

Radisson Hotel

€700 + 70*

February 16 - 20, 2012

€100,000

NOTTINGHAM, England

Dusk Till Dawn

£700 + 70

April 12 - 16, 2012

£200,000

DUBLIN, Ireland

CityWest

€700 + 70*

May 17 - 21, 2012

€250,000

NEWCASTLE, England

Aspers

£700 + 70

September 6 - 10, 2012

£100,000

SWANSEA, Wales

Aspers

£700 + 70

November 22 - 26, 2012

£250,000

TBC

EDINBURGH, Scotland

Balmoral Hotel

£700 + 70*

January 17 - 21, 2013

£250,000

TBC

CORK, Ireland

Rochestown Park

£700 + 70*

February 14 - 18, 2013

£250,000

TBC

LONDON, England

TBC

£700 + 70*

March 8 - 12, 2013

TBC

TBC

* 3% of tournament prize-pool will be withheld to cover the costs of floor staff and dealers.

The UKIPT reserves the right to cancel or alter details of listed events at its discretion.
Post by: GAA_Talk on October 12, 2012, 12:45:28 PM
So what sites are everyone using these days to play online? I've only really started playing online for about 9 months on and off. Started with 888 as it was voted the best this year so naturally thought i'd give it a go. Its pretty basic in terms of graphics and set-up but dead easy to understand. I've also tried PKR. That's a site with all the bells and whistles. However it can be a bit slow and also hard to get on a table. Gave a few others like Party Poker and Pokerstars a try also.

So was basically just wondering does anyone find a particular site better than the rest and it would be the one they would only use. Also what sort of tables would you's play as in small, medium or big enough size blinds? Big for me being about $1/$2 blinds. (fair f's to ya if you're hitting the $5/$10 blinds and above!!).
Post by: DrinkingHarp on January 05, 2013, 10:13:35 PM
Here is live streaming of the Dunlin WPT Event

http://www.pkr.com/dublinlive